engineer in malaysia

TSlordgod P
post May 12 2021, 05:50 PM, updated 5y ago

Probation
22 posts

Engineer in Malaysia, is it good to become one ??

SUS2feidei
post May 12 2021, 05:52 PM

Ayam tatau, ayam virgin (c)
3,158 posts

no
ken431256
post May 12 2021, 05:53 PM

255 posts

QUOTE(2feidei @ May 12 2021, 05:52 PM)
no
lordgamer3
post May 12 2021, 05:57 PM

848 posts

QUOTE(lordgod @ May 12 2021, 05:50 PM)
Engineer in Malaysia, is it good to become one ??
High class kuli, better find other profession. Msia engineer underpaid overperform. I transitioned from engineering to finance. My finance colleague not as bright as my engineering ex colleague but earning shit load more then my engineering ex colleagues. Disclaimer depending what industry for engineering la and also if MnC or small company. If banking sector all about contacts and politics, minimum talent. I know some banks especially compliance dept very political but gaji tinggi. In front boss berlagak do work behind all those Ah Lian will be shopee or lazadaing till 6 then show off by staying back and finishing work they could have done earlier and these pipul earn shitload of money though not very bright. If you willing to deal with favouritism, mandarin speaking and play politic go banking sector.

This post has been edited by lordgamer3: May 12 2021, 05:58 PM
Chanwsan
post May 12 2021, 06:02 PM

सोहम
1,406 posts

Engineer in Malaysia is mostly overglorified technician.
Fanvil1534
post May 12 2021, 06:02 PM

807 posts

Network engineer yes

Other kinds of engineer no
lordgamer3
post May 12 2021, 06:08 PM

848 posts

QUOTE(Chanwsan @ May 12 2021, 06:02 PM)
Engineer in Malaysia is mostly overglorified technician.
Technician can earn more then junior engineer these days though if take into consideration their allowance some can even make 10k month in MFG but engineer job is way more demanding compared to technician. Problem is oversupply of engineer's. but among all the profession engineer salary here is a disgrace for their competency. Try ask a mgmt fella earning 10k to do six sigma sure fail. Where as a 5k per month engineer expected to have greenbelt six sigma im talking about MFG perspective. Telco use to be lucrative but now all telco subcon here n there not worth to be engineer anymore unless you into project deployment. Finance job really no need much brain easy to pick up if bit hardworking and pay so much better.

This post has been edited by lordgamer3: May 12 2021, 06:08 PM
zack1919
post May 12 2021, 06:12 PM

519 posts

QUOTE(lordgamer3 @ May 12 2021, 06:08 PM)
Technician can earn more then junior engineer these days though if take into consideration their allowance some can even make 10k month in MFG but engineer job is way more demanding compared to technician. Problem is oversupply of engineer's. but among all the profession engineer salary here is a disgrace for their competency. Try ask a mgmt fella earning 10k to do six sigma sure fail. Where as a 5k per month engineer expected to have greenbelt six sigma im talking about MFG perspective. Telco use to be lucrative but now all telco subcon here n there not worth to be engineer anymore unless you into project deployment. Finance job really no need much brain easy to pick up if bit hardworking and pay so much better.
How do you jump from engineering to finance to begin with?
Jumping from senior engineer to senior finance, these company will accept you meh?

Please teach us senpai notworthy.gif notworthy.gif
I want to jump ship too if it's possible
roybreaker
post May 12 2021, 06:29 PM

183 posts

Yes if you are good at your work.
lordgamer3
post May 12 2021, 06:30 PM

848 posts

QUOTE(zack1919 @ May 12 2021, 06:12 PM)
How do you jump from engineering to finance to begin with?
Jumping from senior engineer to senior finance, these company will accept you meh?

Please teach us senpai  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif
I want to jump ship too if it's possible
MBA is one way i can suggest cz from MBA courses you will meet people, not now obviously due to Covid, when you network and work with people doing their masters, a fair bit of them are quite senior in terms of their positions, so if they like you and think you are trustworthy they willing to over-ride HR and take a risk in you.

Second way is to do relevant certifications, banks love those who have relevant certification CFP,CFA,ICAEW etc so even though you have say 3-4 years engineering experience and 0 years exp in banking with the right certification and if you can potray a positive character some managers willing to take risk esp investment bank if you have CFA. I have friend who manage to get hired by Investment bank after doing CFA n 0 exp in finance and only engineering experience. True story.

Third if fresh grad out of Uni do research which finance industry you want to join and do some research and apply terus. Can learn on the job but this route if you got good grade la. If so so can try sales but sales can be stressful cz of the target but if for professional banking jobs can apply terus and try luck.

But just one caution is finance institution banyak politic depending which bank. Some banks multiracial, some banks favour Ah Lian and quite toxic to other races by taichi work to the minority, boss quite paiseh to minority but Ah Lian play shopee take MC also they wont question but if from not same geng take one day leave they will make a big fuss and make life hell for you but the ah lian safe cz big boss sayang them. So the most important factor for survival in bank is good boss getting in is not that difficult but surviving is matter of politics even if you have no talent. My boss not very bright also earn 24k MYR she follow her previous boss and jump like 6 companies before her ex boss retire.

So as ex-engineer dont worry can enter finance just get the right certification but be ready to play politics. Thats the only thing I miss about engineer is much less talk cock n do work, finance more talk cock and politic then work lol.

This post has been edited by lordgamer3: May 12 2021, 06:35 PM
zack1919
post May 12 2021, 08:35 PM

519 posts

QUOTE(lordgamer3 @ May 12 2021, 06:30 PM)
MBA is one way i can suggest cz from MBA courses you will meet people, not now obviously due to Covid, when you network and work with people doing their masters, a fair bit of them are quite senior in terms of their positions, so if they like you and think you are trustworthy they willing to over-ride HR and take a risk in you.

Second way is to do relevant certifications, banks love those who have relevant certification CFP,CFA,ICAEW etc so even though you have say 3-4 years engineering experience and 0 years exp in banking with the right certification and if you can potray a positive character some managers willing to take risk esp investment bank if you have CFA. I have friend who manage to get hired by Investment bank after doing CFA n 0 exp in finance and only engineering experience. True story.

Third if fresh grad out of Uni do research which finance industry you want to join and do some research and apply terus. Can learn on the job but this route if you got good grade la. If so so can try sales but sales can be stressful cz of the target but if for professional banking jobs can apply terus and try luck.

But just one caution is finance institution banyak politic depending which bank. Some banks multiracial, some banks favour Ah Lian and quite toxic to other races by taichi work to the minority, boss quite paiseh to minority but Ah Lian play shopee take MC also they wont question but if from not same geng take one day leave they will make a big fuss and make life hell for you but the ah lian safe cz big boss sayang them. So the most important factor for survival in bank is good boss getting in is not that difficult but surviving is matter of politics even if you have no talent. My boss not very bright also earn 24k MYR she follow her previous boss and jump like 6 companies before her ex boss retire.

So as ex-engineer dont worry can enter finance just get the right certification but be ready to play politics. Thats the only thing I miss about engineer is much less talk cock n do work, finance more talk cock and politic then work lol.
Thank you sir for the great advice!
Once economy stable down, I might consider taking mba and see if I could jump ship!
SUSCmyong88
post May 12 2021, 08:38 PM

974 posts

QUOTE(zack1919 @ May 12 2021, 08:35 PM)
Thank you sir for the great advice!
Once economy stable down, I might consider taking mba and see if I could jump ship!
Your home no salt kah? biggrin.gif it's advisable to take things in here with a pinch of salt

I suggest you look for interviews with banks now and see what they say about you exchanging industry while maintaining rank and wage.
InitialB
post May 12 2021, 08:41 PM

700 posts

CIVIL ENGINEER ...only

The rest is bullshit. Work hand and leg call Engineer.

Bangla also can do. And by the way manager.

Some company hiring manyzer for 3k celeri.

Nabeh.....
narf03
post May 12 2021, 08:46 PM

4,547 posts

type of of engineer ? in malaysia the worst type should be software, cause most ppl think software can just download freely, why you need to pay them money.
ichimonster
post May 12 2021, 08:55 PM

25 posts

As far as I experiences in Engineering, I think if you looking for work that pay higher only then do not take engineering. Some may get paid higher for example my friend, when he is fresh graduate and started working with Petronas on 2014 his salary is RM4500 and his position is Platform Engineer. Spend 1 years just went to course to learn then the next year he start real work as platform engineer. As for me Started work as RM1800, hired by Singaporean Company as R&D Engineer (Firmware). So some engineer may have bigger salary some may have lower salary.
Take engineer if you are really interested with technical.
culain99
post May 12 2021, 09:00 PM

-----
765 posts

If you work in european mnc as engineer and get to be stationed at hq doing the same exact job.... You will learn about work life balance, going back on time yet highly paid. Have to fill form and sign that you voluntarily work extra hours, or on sat/sun.
Here if you get a place where you enjoy working go ahead, else maybe change to other line of work
ry8128
post May 12 2021, 09:03 PM

♣Just a noob♣
3,648 posts

Yes, only if you are good. Engineering field is 1 of the easiest field for u to climb up the corporate ladder, as results are easily seen.
9m2w
post May 13 2021, 11:08 AM

Victoria Concordia Crescit
1,035 posts

Firstly TS I take it you haven't decided on your degree yet right? I suspect so since your question is very broad.

If you haven't may I know how's your maths and do you have an inclination for all things technical or problem solving? Also what's your main motivation? Purely money? Of course money is why all of us work but are you the type that money is priority 1A, 1B and 1C? And if you don't hit your expected salary at a certain age are you the type that will get depressed

Depending on your answer and financial means, engineering might not be for you. Too many grads fighting for too little jobs. Not just high paying jobs but jobs period

9m2w
post May 13 2021, 11:20 AM

Victoria Concordia Crescit
1,035 posts

QUOTE(Cmyong88 @ May 12 2021, 08:38 PM)
Your home no salt kah? biggrin.gif it's advisable to take things in here with a pinch of salt

I suggest you look for interviews with banks now and see what they say about you exchanging industry while maintaining rank and wage.
My wife doesn't work in a bank but in tax advisory in a services firm. I know she has a consultancy department that I heard takes ppl from non finance background, mainly IT. So I tried my luck, asked her to drop my resume. I assumed my engineering degree (adjacent to IT) MBA, PMP and also working experience in an MNC would at least get me a sit down. I was bored stiff of my old industry and wouldn't mind a paycut if it came to that.

Nope..... Not even a second glance I think 😂 😂.

This post has been edited by 9m2w: May 13 2021, 11:21 AM
Stirmling
post May 13 2021, 11:24 AM

291 posts

QUOTE(2feidei @ May 12 2021, 05:52 PM)
no
This if you work for SME

0.0194sec    0.42    5 queries    GZIP Disabled