Cost of re-joining broken fiber?

TSKuzumiTaiga
post May 6 2021, 03:22 AM, updated 5y ago

Spends too much time with mechanical keyboards
3,317 posts

Hi, just wondering as I am going to commence renovations with my house after MCO

I need to core a 8" hole on my back wall, a spot somewhat near to my fiber termination box, I worry if the workers are not careful they may accidentally sever the fiber cable inside, if that happens, what's the typical cost to hire a technician to come and repair it?

TIA
adamtayy
post May 6 2021, 03:25 AM

1,400 posts

QUOTE(KuzumiTaiga @ May 6 2021, 03:22 AM)
Hi, just wondering as I am going to commence renovations with my house after MCO

I need to core a 8" hole on my back wall, a spot somewhat near to my fiber termination box, I worry if the workers are not careful they may accidentally sever the fiber cable inside, if that happens, what's the typical cost to hire a technician to come and repair it?

TIA
Using unifi,

TIME

or

Ytl fibre optic
TSKuzumiTaiga
post May 6 2021, 03:27 AM

3,317 posts

QUOTE(adamtayy @ May 6 2021, 03:25 AM)
Using unifi,

TIME

or

Ytl fibre optic
Unifi, landed terrace house.
adamtayy
post May 6 2021, 03:38 AM

1,400 posts

QUOTE(KuzumiTaiga @ May 6 2021, 03:27 AM)
Unifi, landed terrace house.
your exact location..

some fibre come from pole / TM tiang from above and link to the landed house

i got notice, a ISP, do their fibre optic cable following the drain / longkang lining

Fibre optic cable, are being glue to the wall skirting

almost same like astro cable

maybe, you can call up 1515, and check with their Cust service and ask them in detail..
TSKuzumiTaiga
post May 6 2021, 04:03 AM

3,317 posts

QUOTE(adamtayy @ May 6 2021, 03:38 AM)
your exact location..

some fibre come from pole / TM tiang from above and link to the landed house

i got notice, a ISP, do their fibre optic cable following the drain / longkang lining

Fibre optic cable, are being glue to the wall skirting

almost same like astro cable

maybe, you can call up 1515, and check with their Cust service and ask them in detail..
Eco Majestic semenyih... Actually I know the fiber cable is inside plastic conduit (white pipe)
p_otential_c
post May 6 2021, 04:11 AM

193 posts

TIA
About 100 plus. TM contractor will do it.
narf03
post May 6 2021, 04:58 AM

4,547 posts

will need to replace the entire fiber cable, cant just "join"

about 100-200 for the connection, only to ground floor, if you need it to be 2nd floor, through roof, additional of 300 even its simple enough.
azbro
post May 6 2021, 05:21 AM

4,403 posts

If wanna do during MCO also they won't come, so pick your timing correctly.

I kena 3 months without Maxis home broadband.
Instead, they give me a dongle with slow internet.
I dunno about unifi.

SUSrtk74
post May 6 2021, 05:41 AM

;"K]6pKBg;1]U)uSs!eF
1,151 posts

QUOTE(p_otential_c @ May 6 2021, 04:11 AM)
About 100 plus. TM contractor will do it.
This, neighbour didn't call TM rather their contractor to reconnect after his reno
maraippo
post May 6 2021, 05:46 AM

~PoPoPoPoPo~
1,165 posts

If tm staff free. Just the visit fee rm50.

If kontraktor, usually higher. Not sure but the staff say need to pay more. My fiber before got mouse@rat chew
CHIP CN
post May 6 2021, 05:48 AM

Tuned by CHIP CN
1,262 posts

QUOTE(narf03 @ May 6 2021, 04:58 AM)
will need to replace the entire fiber cable, cant just "join"

about 100-200 for the connection, only to ground floor, if you need it to be 2nd floor, through roof, additional of 300 even its simple enough.
Boleh sambung fiber... ada alat dia..
Newsray
post May 6 2021, 06:40 AM

1,022 posts

you cant join a broken patch cable.
pigtail you can still join but unlikely pigtail will even enter your property.

Momo33
post May 6 2021, 08:52 AM

1,448 posts

QUOTE(KuzumiTaiga @ May 6 2021, 04:22 AM)

TIA
you can disconnect the fiber connector inside the termination box to make the clearance . nod.gif

just unplug it out before worker commence work.

This post has been edited by Momo33: May 6 2021, 08:54 AM
empire23
post May 6 2021, 08:52 AM

Team Island Hopper
9,417 posts

About 100 to 200 ringgit. Optical fusion splicing is a very routine job. But if that were the case just get TM to send a fiber tech out.
Chrix
post May 6 2021, 09:00 AM

1,188 posts

ask them drill smaller hole to ensure noting in the way first

i've got contracts do this multiple times for work purpose

why cause potential damage & loss of time (for client) when can spend a small amount of time to be cautious
skybleu05
post May 6 2021, 09:05 AM

you an ask any contract with fiber equipments. same if you go to TM, they will end their contractor.
pretty23
post May 6 2021, 09:42 AM

1,791 posts

can rejoin the broken fiber. You just need the tools.
The_Rock
post May 6 2021, 11:18 AM

451 posts

TIA
RM 450/lot I charged
Zot
post May 6 2021, 11:23 AM

7,938 posts

It cannot be more expensive than installation fee. wink.gif

How much? 200? . I have no idea now.
keong_boy
post May 6 2021, 11:28 AM

165 posts

Can confirm, can join, tm fella came with a device, the didnt terminate the end of the cable, they had a pre-terminated cable and joined it to the cable which they pulled in. How much, x tau la.

0.0176sec    0.69    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 01:55 AM