Help advise on TM line copper phased out already?

SUSslimey
post May 2 2021, 11:06 PM

6,914 posts

QUOTE(lengzhai @ May 2 2021, 11:05 PM)
Yes, retain old number.
yes can retain old number when change plan or account.

done that before. just need to tell them
TSlengzhai
post May 2 2021, 11:07 PM

193 posts

QUOTE(anudora @ May 2 2021, 10:33 PM)
Probably trying to scam some commission fees.
I still using Streamyx but the bill stated as Unifi.
Still same number and same old snail speed.
I ask them to auto upgrade my line to Unifi without increase charges they reject me. So I assume they still maintain the copper line and no plan of phasing out anything.
Actually now my whole kampung no phone line because copper got stolen since last week. And TM contractor came to see and look but don't want to repair.
PJng
post May 2 2021, 11:07 PM

12,062 posts

Huh, my working place phone still use copper one oh
There is one time no service, TM ask me why don want change, copper phase out soon
fireballs
post May 2 2021, 11:09 PM

5,650 posts

https://unifi.com.my/personal/home/voice
rm48/month for unlimited calls

pretty23
post May 2 2021, 11:10 PM

1,791 posts

QUOTE(lengzhai @ May 2 2021, 11:07 PM)
Actually now my whole kampung no phone line because copper got stolen since last week. And TM contractor came to see and look but don't want to repair.
good. Just work as plan to eliminate those land line contract owner. You know the landline contract the phone is TM property. Warranty follow contract. Once contract die, free phone no more. No repair either.
TSlengzhai
post May 2 2021, 11:10 PM

193 posts

QUOTE(slimey @ May 2 2021, 10:49 PM)
if you are still paying on time and have no debt, tm CANNOT terminate the account or cut the line.
Memang paying on time. For over 30 years paid on time every time. And now TM really made us disappointed.

Last time I still remember the memory our neighbours come to my home to call to other places. Gotong royong bersama, now all ppl come kl kerja already
skywardsword
post May 2 2021, 11:11 PM

680 posts

in my case, I still retain my copper line, but it is tied to my unifi (which had a new line- voip - that I dont use, and forgot the number already).

** I dont have to pay for my old copper line. every month also free. in bill.
death_nite
post May 2 2021, 11:53 PM

Lossless Land...
2,366 posts

QUOTE(lengzhai @ May 2 2021, 11:07 PM)
Vandalism is a problem. Haih. Really hate those people. Suka suka curi copper. Menyusahkan org.

If u are unsure, go to tmpoint and check with them. Normally they give promo if want to migrate. And as some said u can retain the number.
TSlengzhai
post May 3 2021, 12:04 AM

193 posts

QUOTE(unknown_2 @ May 2 2021, 10:39 PM)
TM is full of shit i tell u.

yes, they are shutting down copper for good, cuz of the high maintenance cost.
yes, only will provide unifi + voip.
for existing streamyx subscriber, the line is migrated to unifi, maintaining thr old number.
but, bcoz nak kerja senang & avoid extra paperwork for migration, TM tells u to cancel streamyx & apply unifi.

how i know? cuz i edi oversees few of these migration of my company branches.
& yes, i retain the same phone number.
Do you mind to share what you have done for them to do migration?

Can help other people with the same problem too.

I asked my mum not to let them change account number unless the price to pay is the same like what I am paying now, approx 78 per month.

burn22
post May 3 2021, 12:13 AM

398 posts

bila gua apply for unifi, kena registered new number. since relatives gua only knows the old number, me can still maintained it without charges..

SUSagewisdom
post May 3 2021, 12:16 AM

729 posts

QUOTE(lengzhai @ May 2 2021, 10:24 PM)
Dear kopitard,

My relatives back in home town in Kelantan could not call my mum because my kampung house TM telefon line kena potong since last week.

My mum told me that TM asked my mum to change the phone number TM account because copper line already phased out in Malaysia. Everyone will have to use Fibre, so TM recommended my mum to use Fibre that comes with Internet unifi, therefore need to terminate the old account number and create a new account number under unifi.

Currently the TM account is phone line with streamyx, but memang my mum hardly use Internet since it was for me last time when I was still in hometown but since I came kl I still continued with streamyx since its linked with house phone number.

And I think the phone number itself is important because a lot older (near and far far away including from Indonesia) relatives still uses land line to call despite my mum has a mobile phone.

Can help to advise what should be done?
I don't want unifi to be honest because no one is using it...
But I think it's ridiculous TM staff told my mum copper is phased out.

Thank you. 😊
Wait till TM issues an official letter. Otherwise, just reseller scammer.
JimbeamofNRT
post May 3 2021, 12:24 AM

the Original Lanji@_ Chicken Rice Shop Since 2002
1,902 posts

QUOTE(LamboSama @ May 2 2021, 10:27 PM)
the italk prepaid service no longer offered to tm landline - meaning no more free landline

Effective 1 January 2020, important features of iTalk that existing and new
users should be aware of are:
a. Access number to iTalk is 1800 87 3535.

--------

unknown_2
post May 3 2021, 12:57 AM

573 posts

QUOTE(lengzhai @ May 3 2021, 12:04 AM)
Do you mind to share what you have done for them to do migration?

Can help other people with the same problem too.

I asked my mum not to let them change account number unless the price to pay is the same like what I am paying now, approx 78 per month.
dont cancel your streamyx, insist u wan to retain same number.
it might hav few hours to a day of downtime for the phone line.

there's no phone line only.
the lowest u can go is go wit cheapest package for home line, which is 30Mbps, 79 bucks.
DValentine
post May 3 2021, 01:00 AM

773 posts

BS TM trying to upsell ur mom
ihm11
post May 3 2021, 01:09 AM

62 posts

terminate all tm services, teach mom use henpon
SUSlurkingaround
post May 3 2021, 12:55 PM

Rule of Law
7,066 posts

https://www.nst.com.my/news/nation/2019/08/...work-challenges - 2019/08 - TM Unifi-remains-committed-addressing-copper-network-challenges
"Unifi remains committed to addressing the copper network challenges via various technologies such as fibre, wireless and Giga Wire in a network rollout which will involve a phased customer migration starting today until 2021."
Looks like TM has been phasing out its Copper/Streamyx network since 2019 and may now be doing it more aggressively or "by hook or by crook". Afaik, only in areas without TM Unifi Fibre or with not enough Fibre ports, will Copper/Streamyx customers be able to retain it.

0.0182sec    0.45    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 07:18 AM