make way for 2GB HD2900XT!
TSjinaun
Sep 1 2007, 10:47 PM, updated 19y ago
where are my stars???
QUOTE Diamond is known in the video card making world as the guy who puts a lot of memory into their products. Diamond is continuing that legacy by developing the VFX 2000 card, which is the workstation version of the HD 2900XT. What makes this card so special is the raw amount of DDR4 onboard: 2GB. There is no word as to how much this card will cost, how fast the RAM and GPU run at, but we do know that we will find out within the next couple of weeks. http://www.engadget.com/2007/09/01/diamond...x-2000-pro-gpu/This post has been edited by jinaun: Sep 1 2007, 10:47 PM
sHawTY
Sep 1 2007, 10:55 PM
Interesting. Will this VFX 2000 works like normal ATI HD2900XT?
iZuDeeN
Sep 1 2007, 11:03 PM
how many rams can you stuff on that board to get 2gb?
X.E.D
Sep 1 2007, 11:15 PM
Sorry to blow your bubble, but that's obviously the new Radeon based FIREGL cards. These cards are expected to kill, slaughter and err... slaughter again the Quadro FXs (even the 2600 FireGL can reach high-end Quadro FX scores with just a new driver, just don't know if it's 5500 or 5600, but nevertheless, very impressive for the price) What's particularly interesting is that R600 has a lot of computational power in itself, it just got bottlenecked by ROPs on general purpose gaming, but on the professional field it might be the next card to own. It seems that VLIW based GPUs do quite good in Workstation performance (Geforce FX anyone?  ) *Softmodplz* (Ikanayam doubts the possibility of that, but if ATI wants to get rid of remaining R600 inventory they'd better stick something obvious lol)
mypejon
Sep 1 2007, 11:18 PM

QUOTE(iZuDeeN @ Sep 1 2007, 11:03 PM) how many rams can you stuff on that board to get 2gb? waa..nice stuff there..  will grap it if haev budget loo
kmarc
Sep 2 2007, 12:03 AM
The future is here - Cryptocurrencies!
Oh, it's for workstations. When I saw the title, I thought my GC with 640mb was already too much!!!
jtcs87
Sep 2 2007, 12:05 AM
Ofcoz for workstation la.... Usually gamer wan dis GC for wat wor.... For me... 1GB is the max for it ady.... bcoz budget less...
likito
Sep 2 2007, 12:33 AM
OMG , 2gb memory ram . workstation gc . not for home user ..
ronaldjoe
Sep 2 2007, 12:47 AM
2Gb...very $$$ which i am short of
lehteck
Sep 2 2007, 03:13 AM
ikanayam
Sep 2 2007, 05:41 AM
QUOTE(X.E.D @ Sep 1 2007, 10:15 AM) Sorry to blow your bubble, but that's obviously the new Radeon based FIREGL cards. These cards are expected to kill, slaughter and err... slaughter again the Quadro FXs (even the 2600 FireGL can reach high-end Quadro FX scores with just a new driver, just don't know if it's 5500 or 5600, but nevertheless, very impressive for the price) What's particularly interesting is that R600 has a lot of computational power in itself, it just got bottlenecked by ROPs on general purpose gaming, but on the professional field it might be the next card to own. It seems that VLIW based GPUs do quite good in Workstation performance (Geforce FX anyone?  ) *Softmodplz* (Ikanayam doubts the possibility of that, but if ATI wants to get rid of remaining R600 inventory they'd better stick something obvious lol) If the firegl versions are really good, then it is in their interest to stop softmods. The margins on a firegl card are way way higher than the regular variants. At the prices AMD is selling their chips, i doubt they're making good margins. And workstation performance is not related to VLIW. The quality of NV's workstation card drivers have been the reason for their lead in that market. They make ridiculous profits there.
X.E.D
Sep 2 2007, 07:49 AM
QUOTE(ikanayam @ Sep 2 2007, 05:41 AM) If the firegl versions are really good, then it is in their interest to stop softmods. The margins on a firegl card are way way higher than the regular variants. At the prices AMD is selling their chips, i doubt they're making good margins. And workstation performance is not related to VLIW. The quality of NV's workstation card drivers have been the reason for their lead in that market. They make ridiculous profits there. Pros will always buy FireGL- softmods are too fickle and are never reliable enough for professional usage. Getting the softmod to pass should sway some of 3D people who game too get the 2900 instead of a 8800.
sniper69
Sep 2 2007, 12:01 PM
QUOTE(t3chn0m4nc3r @ Sep 2 2007, 11:59 AM) wow... and i thought the 1GB xfire review was scary enough...  4GB when Crossfired?  ... 80" display  , just kidding... i'm just over too excited... This post has been edited by sniper69: Sep 2 2007, 12:01 PM
fcuk90
Sep 2 2007, 06:18 PM
wakao 2gb .. want to play what game also can in this earth with high detail but no $$ to buy
dEvILrOx
Sep 2 2007, 06:22 PM
@@ i thought 640mb is overkill ... now 2GB omg ~~
SUSdattebayo
Sep 2 2007, 06:27 PM
would the R600 able to deliver the texture data that fast as to fill the 2 GB? in the sense of gaming
X.E.D
Sep 2 2007, 06:41 PM
QUOTE(dattebayo @ Sep 2 2007, 06:27 PM) would the R600 able to deliver the texture data that fast as to fill the 2 GB? in the sense of gaming  Welcome to the world's first consumer grade card with a 512-bit bus that happens to be sold in workstation levels. =p It can at least handle up to 1+GB (or even a lot more, I'm guesstimating) nicely, the other spaces might be pre/post-loaded geometry data that does not need to be interfaced with the GPU always. Older 256-bit FireGLs (R580 based) had 1GB of RAM already. This pushes it to the next level, though.
defconkiller
Sep 2 2007, 07:18 PM
it will cost a lot of my pocket money if i wanna buy it. >.<
t3chn0m4nc3r
Sep 3 2007, 01:16 AM
QUOTE(defconkiller @ Sep 2 2007, 08:18 PM) it will cost a lot of my pocket money if i wanna buy it. >.< 8600GTS also can't afford... how to get this...?
dEvILrOx
Sep 3 2007, 01:35 AM
hmm is 8600GTS better den 8800 GTX in terms of price / performance / OC ? so many ppl take 8600 compare 1 ><
skylinegtr34rule4life
Sep 3 2007, 09:55 AM
too much dy 4 gaming...even 512mb n 1gb is more than enough 4 gaming...like sumone said,this is only 4 workstation graphics
gengstapo
Sep 3 2007, 10:04 AM
QUOTE(dEvILrOx @ Sep 2 2007, 06:22 PM) @@ i thought 640mb is overkill ... now 2GB omg ~~ lol.. 640mb already u think enuff eh?? then, how bout those 786mb of gtx?? super overkill?? This post has been edited by gengstapo: Sep 3 2007, 10:06 AM
The Scent LYN
Sep 3 2007, 12:04 PM
Well that's y if not for gaming purpose right? Btw i think in less thn a year we'll have a 2gb PC graphics card.(Looking @ the rate graphics card tech is improving..  )
t3chn0m4nc3r
Sep 12 2007, 05:25 PM
QUOTE(The Scent LYN @ Sep 3 2007, 01:04 PM) Well that's y if not for gaming purpose right? Btw i think in less thn a year we'll have a 2gb PC graphics card.(Looking @ the rate graphics card tech is improving..  ) even procs are having 12MB cache on Intel's new Penryn...
dixonleong
Sep 23 2007, 02:00 AM
awesome 2gb ..
zeustronic
Sep 23 2007, 07:57 AM
QUOTE(yahn @ Sep 3 2007, 09:51 AM) i dun think in real time gaming will use up such amount of ram(2GB)...  Dude its a Workstation Card.
sHawTY
Sep 23 2007, 08:01 AM
QUOTE(dEvILrOx @ Sep 3 2007, 01:35 AM) hmm is 8600GTS better den 8800 GTX in terms of price / performance / OC ? NO.QUOTE(dEvILrOx @ Sep 3 2007, 01:35 AM) so many ppl take 8600 compare 1 >< That's because to mainstream users, graphic cards that goes more than RM600 is expensive to them. Or to put it as better statement, they can't afford to spend RM1K for a graphic card. This post has been edited by sHawTY: Sep 23 2007, 08:17 AM
Radeon
Sep 23 2007, 08:10 AM
i thought the normal hd2900xt can be softmod into firegl already?
and man this thing will cost like 4k if it has a firegl sticker
sHawTY
Sep 23 2007, 08:18 AM
QUOTE(Radeon @ Sep 23 2007, 08:10 AM) and man this thing will cost like 4k if it has a firegl sticker And there goes one "Semi-Retired Overclocker" with his own 2900XT. This post has been edited by sHawTY: Sep 23 2007, 08:19 AM
Bigblock
Sep 23 2007, 02:20 PM
2GB with DDR 4 card is overkill, workstation reasons maybe...
t3chn0m4nc3r
Sep 23 2007, 03:14 PM
QUOTE(Bigblock @ Sep 23 2007, 03:20 PM) 2GB with DDR 4 card is overkill, workstation reasons maybe... workstation GC price is up to ~RM6k+...  maybe higher...