QUOTE(dgrebel @ Sep 1 2007, 10:12 AM)
ok now, who's jazzy? i wanna learn sumthing too.
Me need a mentor too! I want to make an 18v Regulated PS........ My first kit built....:P, Simple 9v regulator
Sep 1 2007, 10:28 AM
2,171 posts Joined: Mar 2005 From: Subang Jaya |
QUOTE(dgrebel @ Sep 1 2007, 10:12 AM) ok now, who's jazzy? i wanna learn sumthing too. Me need a mentor too! I want to make an 18v Regulated PS........ |
Sep 1 2007, 10:40 AM
QUOTE(dgrebel @ Sep 1 2007, 10:30 AM) hye uncle, remember me.. hehehe... Sure dude. Your ram still going on strong in my notebook. Shall we try to get this jazzy to give us some lessons at McD's? |
Sep 1 2007, 12:23 PM
QUOTE(jazzy939 @ Sep 1 2007, 11:54 AM) March05: 18V regulated power supply is not a problem as most PSU (Power Supply Unit) kits are easy to assemble. 18V transformer is also available in Jalan Pasar(JP). How much (max) current do you need? I need 2 amps max. But I also need it to be powered from a 12 volt Car Battery.....so it's a little bit more complicated. A transformer is out....I want to make it small and as compact as posible. Currently I'm using one of those notebook adapters (with variable output) bought from Pasar Road, but it's like overkill for my purpose. QUOTE(jazzy939 @ Sep 1 2007, 11:54 AM) Those who wants to be guided (March05 & dgrebel) especially about kit building, sure I can give a pointer or two. And we can do this weekends or even weekday nites if time permits. Just drop a line here or PM me. Really appreciate the offer, hope we can get something going. |
Sep 1 2007, 02:21 PM
QUOTE(jazzy939 @ Sep 1 2007, 01:04 PM) Since you're using a notebook adaptor for the purpose, why not use those inverters meant for the car? 12 to 230Vac? then plug in your notebook adaptor... make life simpler... The cheapest I saw in JP is RM65. I got mine, small unit plug straight to the car cigarette lighter (120W max) from Bangkok for RM70. Can't find them here though Before I continue further, my apologies to MadZiz for hijacking his thread and his siffoo.Otherwise I am thinking of a DC to DC inverter.. 12 to 18 volts.. too much work So far I have MadZiz calling me now and then, you might want to tag a long with him. I already own a 12VDV to 220VAC power inverter (from LYN), a 220VAC to variable 12VDC-24VDC adapter, and also a 12VDC to variable 15VDC-24VDC adapter! (both of the latter from JP) However, I would obviously prefer to have a small single box dedicated 12VDC to 18VDC adapter if possible. For me, it won't be too much work learning to build a 12VDC - 18VDC inverter - the main thing I guess is to get the components, and the circuit diagram, then if you can tell me which side of the soldering iron to hold, I'm all ears to start..... The idea of the DIY is to keep my itchy fingers busy doing something productive. Otherwise they always get into trouble going where they are not supposed to. And of course, to make some new friends like you & MadZiz. |
Sep 1 2007, 09:50 PM
Actually part of the reason I'm building the inverter is because I want to use it to power the Cmoy which Eokboy built for me. So maybe Eokboy can give some idea of a suitable 18V PS design?
Sep 2 2007, 03:15 AM
QUOTE(Eokboy @ Sep 1 2007, 10:26 PM) Ehh I thought I built you a Class AB... I have no idea what you built for me...it just sounds great to my ears. Oops oh right it is another CMoy derivative too QUOTE(jazzy939 @ Sep 1 2007, 10:55 PM) 7812 regulator should be easy enough to do... RM3.52 listed by Farnell. Hang on a minute, I'm looking for 18 volts regulated, not 12 volts. Eokboy's CMoy is one of the devices I'm planning to use with the regulator. However, I do have some other stuff which needs an 18 volt supply.Some cabling and a cigarette lighter jack.. you're all set March05! How about it? |
Sep 2 2007, 04:08 AM
QUOTE(jazzy939 @ Sep 2 2007, 03:50 AM) If that is the case, looks like you still need a 12 to 18 volts converter... Unfortunately....that is so. Back to the drawing board, I guess. |
Sep 2 2007, 09:23 AM
QUOTE(jazzy939 @ Sep 2 2007, 04:34 AM) ....small, light and cheap.. Well, not necessarily cheap.......the main criteria is small and light, first and foremost.QUOTE(ijan @ Sep 2 2007, 08:18 AM) Eokboy, the amp u built for march, whats the layout about? ar there any regulation or whatsnot in there? Why must it use EXACTLY 18V? I don't know if Eokboy remembers, but I asked for the 18v because I wanted it to be able to drive my old inefficient pair of cans. It did it pretty well, using 2x9volt batteries. Also, as I mentioned earlier, I have other devices which require an 18v supply, and thus I'm trying to kill multiple birds with one stone.Hmmm...buck-boost capacitor dc-dc voltage double..phew...long name! Or get MAXIM voltage doubler. - ijan, if this can be designed to fit into a matchbox sized casing (ok, even slightly larger than that), it's worth a try. |
Sep 2 2007, 10:19 PM
So you guys think there's no point in providing an 18VDC supply for the amp? I might as well just run it straight off a small 12v Sealed Lead Acid battery then.
Sep 3 2007, 05:31 PM
QUOTE(jazzy939 @ Sep 3 2007, 12:41 PM) Yes. I think so too. Oh well, there goes my DIY project. And for my other 18v requirements, I'll just link 3x6v SLA batteries in series together. Simple old fashioned solution. Looks like I'll only be able to meet up with you and MadZiZ when we get the iBasso D1, eh? |
Sep 5 2007, 11:55 AM
QUOTE(jazzy939 @ Sep 3 2007, 05:39 PM) March05!Isn't this your lucky day.. errr night oledi........ I feel like I'm going to my DOOM! It's gonna cost u! PM me for price... Okay will pm you now. |
Sep 7 2007, 12:56 PM
QUOTE(MadZiZ @ Sep 7 2007, 12:50 PM) Haha Jazzy getting too technical for me la. HELP! Yalah, I'm just reading these posts with a dropped jaw....huh? huh? huh? |
Sep 7 2007, 10:34 PM
QUOTE(yeah_guyz @ Sep 7 2007, 06:21 PM) the bi-amp serve you nice? Well, I was trying to enrol in jazzy's DIY kindergarten here so that I could eventually learn to bi amp with those two darn sweet sounding tripath amps I bought from you.....but I think it's totally out of my league at the moment...... QUOTE(jazzy939 @ Sep 7 2007, 06:36 PM) Uncle March? Didn't you notice dgrebel already called me uncle in the first page? You can call me anything as long as you let me call you siffoo. Maybe Baby March ok 'cause that's what I am when it come to DIYing electronic stuff! |
Sep 14 2007, 09:32 AM
QUOTE(MadZiZ @ Sep 14 2007, 05:53 AM) Techies.........why make it so not understandable??? Whoa, this is swinging from electronics to chemistry lessons.....now my jaw has really dropped off my face. |
Sep 14 2007, 07:47 PM
QUOTE(jazzy939 @ Sep 14 2007, 05:24 PM) dgrebel, Hey_hey_hey! I wanna learn to do something like that too! Is that from a standard DIY kit?The PSU project that you wanted to do. This is my Bench PSU, 0-30VDC, 3A Max for my DIY power supply needs. You want to do the same, smaller or bigger scale than this? |
Sep 14 2007, 08:17 PM
QUOTE(jazzy939 @ Sep 14 2007, 07:55 PM) .....I almost went overboard initially of wanting to install a digital display! Heehee, dual digital displays for voltage and current output respectively was on the tip of my tongue....can do or not? I'm looking for a PSU with variable output control accurate to around 0.1 volts and 10 milliamps....analog readouts may not cut it.But I got to go through kindergarten first, so ya, I'll join dgrebel on this one. |
Sep 15 2007, 12:19 AM
QUOTE(jazzy939 @ Sep 14 2007, 09:58 PM) Me and dgrebel might meetup at JP tomorrow afternoon for his PSU parts shopping... you're welcome to join. Me and bsl555 have a lunch appointment bsl555 is our resident DIY sifu in usj.com lah. |
Oct 8 2007, 10:05 AM
QUOTE(jazzy939 @ Oct 8 2007, 04:59 AM) only two... You left me out....I enrolled, but always ponteng class. Not yet started on my first project (PSU) somemore. |
Oct 16 2007, 01:50 PM
How about a class when the iBasso arrives? yuheng indicates quite likely this weekend can COD, so maybe on Sunday in Sunway?
Meanwhile, I'll try to finish my PSU project over the next couple of days so sifu jazzy can check and criticize my handiwork........ I still can't figure out what this smilie |
Oct 20 2007, 10:41 AM
QUOTE(skma @ Oct 20 2007, 09:59 AM) We're seniors Seniors? Not much better......go to the bank, join the senior citizens counter, you'll get what I mean. However, I wouldn't mind being called an evergreen (old, but always a hit). No problem with telling it like it is. |
| Change to: | 0.0278sec
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 02:42 AM |