QUOTE(Skylinestar @ Apr 6 2021, 07:27 PM)
mine 1.2k celery...bought used gen2 around 4k...
bad choice?
Only salary >RM8k can buy Myvi
Apr 6 2021, 08:18 PM
1,534 posts Joined: Jul 2006 |
Apr 6 2021, 08:35 PM
787 posts Joined: Oct 2010 |
QUOTE(CyberKewl @ Apr 6 2021, 07:50 PM) I agree on need, family, business etc - that one make sense. But if need to gain respect..then sorrylah, that one if you want to impress people you dont know and dont like then no point - suffer for nothing to me Who talked about impress people you don't know?I said impress inlaws. Very important. |
Apr 6 2021, 08:36 PM
445 posts Joined: Aug 2018 |
QUOTE(Mondello @ Apr 6 2021, 07:53 PM) actually, i have alot of debt. far more than 20 mercedes benz.but I picked to have my debt in actual money making assets like property and stocks. whenever I save up 50k, which is quite frequently, I don't think about spending it, I think about investing it in a new house or buying more stocks. That's the difference here.. This post has been edited by Liamness: Apr 6 2021, 08:37 PM |
Apr 6 2021, 08:36 PM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
20 posts Joined: Jul 2009 |
Apr 6 2021, 08:39 PM
937 posts Joined: Jul 2005 |
/k with 5k celery also can afford toyol allfarts, so myvi is sap sap sui la...
Apr 6 2021, 08:53 PM
2,289 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Stairway to Heaven |
QUOTE(Liamness @ Apr 6 2021, 08:36 PM) actually, i have alot of debt. far more than 20 mercedes benz. Ok i laffedbut I picked to have my debt in actual money making assets like property and stocks. whenever I save up 50k, which is quite frequently, I don't think about spending it, I think about investing it in a new house or buying more stocks. That's the difference here.. |
Apr 6 2021, 09:22 PM
10,478 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Sarawak |
Apr 6 2021, 09:25 PM
685 posts Joined: Jun 2014 From: Earth |
Inb4 rather cry in a Mercedes than a Myvi
Hahahah |
Apr 6 2021, 09:47 PM
1,609 posts Joined: Sep 2005 From: KL |
QUOTE(ComingBackSoon @ Apr 6 2021, 06:55 PM) Your need is simple, so Myvi is enough. 1) ok agreeFor some, the need is more than taking one from point A to B. Must also: 1) big enough to carry more more passengers/stuffs 2) allow one to gaya to friends, inlaws etc 3) sit comfortable instead of sempit in small myvi with small legroom. Your VIP customer fly in from London, you fetch him using Myvi? I don't think so. 4) gain respect from other fellow road user (I duno about you, when Myvi flash me on fast lane I don't give a fuck. But when supercar me flash I give way to not stop the awesomeness of the supercar.) 5) gain respect from business partners/customers (I duno about you, if my lawyer drive a run down Myvi to come meet me, I don't think I will hire him) 2) gaya to friends and in-laws? pui ... not necessary 3) VIP customer fly in from London? When I went to London, my company sent a Mercedes with a driver to pick me up from the airport and drive me around. Was I impressed? No. Nothing to be impressed about. Doesn't matter if they sent a Mercedes or a Ford or a Kia. 4) gain respect from other fellow road user .... LOL!!! 5) gain respect from business partners/customers ... If you need to buy expensive cars just to impress people, then you are very superficial, artificial, skin deep. That is sad and pathetic. Every heard of managers that only knows how to talk and boast but cannot actually do anything or solve any problem? This post has been edited by CoffeeDude: Apr 6 2021, 09:47 PM |
Apr 6 2021, 09:49 PM
19 posts Joined: May 2019 |
QUOTE(Liamness @ Apr 6 2021, 08:36 PM) actually, i have alot of debt. far more than 20 mercedes benz. This is not a YLYL threadbut I picked to have my debt in actual money making assets like property and stocks. whenever I save up 50k, which is quite frequently, I don't think about spending it, I think about investing it in a new house or buying more stocks. That's the difference here.. |
Apr 6 2021, 09:52 PM
5,974 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: KL, Malaysia |
Why buy when you can rent ... ?
If go out with in-law, rent a Benz, when go out with friend, rent a myvi ... when go out with new gf, rent a bmw, when go out with wife, rent a motor ... No need to pay maintenance .. |
Apr 6 2021, 10:12 PM
787 posts Joined: Oct 2010 |
QUOTE(CoffeeDude @ Apr 6 2021, 09:47 PM) 1) ok agree The world is superficial. Learn to play the game.2) gaya to friends and in-laws? pui ... not necessary 3) VIP customer fly in from London? When I went to London, my company sent a Mercedes with a driver to pick me up from the airport and drive me around. Was I impressed? No. Nothing to be impressed about. Doesn't matter if they sent a Mercedes or a Ford or a Kia. 4) gain respect from other fellow road user .... LOL!!! 5) gain respect from business partners/customers ... If you need to buy expensive cars just to impress people, then you are very superficial, artificial, skin deep. That is sad and pathetic. Every heard of managers that only knows how to talk and boast but cannot actually do anything or solve any problem? Btw your company smart, didn't send you a Myvi. They know how to play the game. This post has been edited by ComingBackSoon: Apr 6 2021, 10:13 PM |
Apr 6 2021, 11:12 PM
445 posts Joined: Aug 2018 |
QUOTE(invinciblevoice @ Apr 6 2021, 09:49 PM) it obviously is. What KC says is the truth. only retards will think 8k is enough to buy anything more than a Myvi. Heck.. only earning 8k might aswell take public transport and grab la. save your hard earned money and invest in proper wealth generating assets. Car can come much later in life, if not at all. You want to retire earlier or you want to be a slave to your car. One of the WORST asset to carry since it depreciates in value at alarming rates.. haha54231 liked this post
Apr 7 2021, 12:09 AM
1,793 posts Joined: Oct 2008 From: UC Berkeley |
QUOTE(doppatroll @ Apr 6 2021, 08:14 AM) Assuming the car get old they breakdown alot.... then you spend as much as to revive it and kept it moving ah, then you gotta understand that maybe getting a new yet an affordable car is better for you financially. QUOTE(Liamness @ Apr 6 2021, 01:56 PM) I earning 5 figures a month also still driving a fully paid off 2014 Jazz. this is true and those people who said u have to get abetter car or else your life is boring just means that cars interests them but doesnt mean everyone enjoy cars more than being debt free.I used to have a swift but I sold it last year during MCO because under utilised. Now, family of 4 just get around with a Jazz. What I do with my money? Invested on stocks, and property.. QUOTE(ToddStarz @ Apr 6 2021, 06:41 PM) okay, i'll bite. how well is well equipped? how much comfort is comfortable? There has to be a point of diminishing return right for all these variables. If you were to draw a chart then i guess your answer what is want and need would be quite obvious to you, wouldn't it? |
Apr 7 2021, 12:25 AM
1,793 posts Joined: Oct 2008 From: UC Berkeley |
QUOTE(ComingBackSoon @ Apr 6 2021, 10:12 PM) The world is superficial. Learn to play the game. I agree the world can be superficial but it can also be many other things. You don't need to play the game. The best thing to have is the choice to play or not or how you want to play it. Being indebted because one chooses to buy a car beyond means and then forced into the superficial world is actually damn sad.Btw your company smart, didn't send you a Myvi. They know how to play the game. That said, if you going to play that game might as well play it on the highest degree and actually win. Don't just buy a merc. Get a porsche, mase or even the bentleys. |
Apr 7 2021, 01:29 AM
804 posts Joined: May 2010 |
QUOTE(Liamness @ Apr 6 2021, 08:36 PM) actually, i have alot of debt. far more than 20 mercedes benz. Topkekbut I picked to have my debt in actual money making assets like property and stocks. whenever I save up 50k, which is quite frequently, I don't think about spending it, I think about investing it in a new house or buying more stocks. That's the difference here.. |
Apr 7 2021, 02:17 AM
473 posts Joined: Dec 2009 From: Timbuktoo |
Apr 7 2021, 02:45 AM
11,667 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Klang/Subang |
QUOTE(clockpulses @ Apr 6 2021, 08:21 AM) Buying a myvi with 3k salary is perfectly fine lah This actually sums it up. I drive an old camry, one installment, well maintained, roadtax 740 one year..insurance cheap enough.. if drive new car every month cannot skip installment, must always go back official SC to service.. sometimes i wonder people really want to buy a big car but still wanna skimp on the 3 tanks of fuel (roadtax between a 2.0 n 2.4 about 300 bucks) but you lose out many features between the diff spec (E/G/V) But it is wrong to buy a myvi and spend on unnecessary mod (bodo where is ur priorities?) And/or Buy a myvi then put at home and ride moto or cab to work (bodo, buy car for what, if like this better buy cheap used car la) And/or Buy a myvi but later complain minyak mahal, roadtax, insurance (bodo, it just show that u cannot afford a car) And/or Buy a myvi but no money to spend on service, safe tyre etc (go die la, buy car for what) This post has been edited by ceo684: Apr 7 2021, 02:46 AM |
Apr 7 2021, 07:47 AM
6,620 posts Joined: Jun 2009 |
Apr 7 2021, 10:59 AM
27 posts Joined: Nov 2011 |
QUOTE(ComingBackSoon @ Apr 6 2021, 06:31 PM) When I was working with a bank, after new client meetings, my boss will ask me to walk the client to his car. hahahaYou think we are so courteous to walk you to your car. Actually we just want to know what car you drive, so we can budget how much time we should spend to serve you. If you drive Myvi, why we want to spend time on you? Come back later when you are more successful. Sounds very superficial but thats how it is. First impression matters. luckily my job is irrelevant to what the car i'm driving. so it's more like impression to others instead of those so called driving experience... |
| Change to: | 0.0234sec
5 queries
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 06:16 AM |