Room Temperature Advice needed, Room with no windows

TSfikri97
post Apr 4 2021, 05:50 PM, updated 5y ago

I am renting a room with no windows.
Electricity is unlimited, can use as much but no electrical appliances more than 1kw

The room is pretty hot at night.
does air dehumidifier could help with the heat ?
Or maybe anyone know portable mini aircond that does not exceed 1kw ?

The room is very small.
It should fit like approximately 2.5 single bed only

This post has been edited by fikri97: Apr 4 2021, 05:51 PM
SUSslimey
post Apr 4 2021, 05:59 PM

6,914 posts

at least negotiate with the owner for installing an exhaust fan.

small room with no window is not livable.

forget about those portable aircon. they suck.
Satori 14118a
post Apr 4 2021, 06:20 PM

1,006 posts

Problem is heat trapped in the room.

Need to ventilate to achieve any cooling.
ozak
post Apr 5 2021, 01:58 PM

17,024 posts

QUOTE(fikri97 @ Apr 4 2021, 05:50 PM)
Electricity is unlimited, can use as much but no electrical appliances more than 1kw

The room is very small.
Dehumidifier or humidier doesn't help. It is not for cooling purposes.

Get a 1hp aircon. It is running at 750w.

If you able to go philippine, they have 500w aircon.
TSfikri97
post Apr 8 2021, 08:58 PM

Thank you so much for the replyy, sorry for late responds from me.
Just started work at office. Very busy.
fireballs
post Apr 8 2021, 09:01 PM

5,650 posts

Try negotiate to install exhaust to ceiling at least.
No fresh air very cham one.

How did u arrive to 1kw?
e-lite
post Apr 8 2021, 09:05 PM

692 posts

The room is very small.
Most 1.0hp portable aircon operates below 1kW

This post has been edited by e-lite: Apr 8 2021, 09:06 PM
SUSceo684
post Apr 8 2021, 09:15 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

The room is very small.
Portable AC does cool a bit but is far from even the cheapest split AC.
It may be better to top up a bit more to get a room with window.

Unless owner is OK to hack a 3x3in hole through the wall to the outside wall where you can install a 1hp aircond. laugh.gif
Syie9^_^
post Apr 9 2021, 01:11 AM

Catwoman
1,072 posts

I think you better move out that place.
fireballs
post Apr 9 2021, 06:06 AM

5,650 posts

Can't use portable aircond.
The hot air no place to exhaust

Unless you leave the door open lah
Kiding
post Apr 14 2021, 12:13 AM

1,135 posts

The room is very small.
It is dangerous to rent a room without window, you only have one exit, if there is fire and you are trapped inside the room, no way to escape.

If I were you, I won't take the risk at all unless you are desperate and no choices

some more no air ventilation is bad for your health. it is not worth it just to save few hundreds bucks compare to standard room.
metalfire
post Apr 14 2021, 12:16 AM

1,310 posts

need ventilation and airflow circulation, otherwise there is no breathable air in the room, not counting those electronic gadgets that you will be putting up.
DragonReine
post Apr 14 2021, 12:08 PM

just another dog on the Internet
2,610 posts

The room is very small.
This is a fire and ventilation risk to rent a room with no windows. I would advise you to immediately look elsewhere, no matter how cheap or convenient the room is, you're putting your own life at risk. With only one exit you're living in a trap, if your door is blocked by debris or fire you'll burn/suffocate to death in the event of an accident.

Additionally if it's a subdivided/partitioned room, the narrow pathways in such units will cause even more hazard.

Do not give money to such predatory practices and look for a reputable landlord.

0.1060sec    0.93    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 08:09 PM