21 Pages « < 17 18 19 20 21 >Bottom

Military Thread V28

alexz23
post Oct 8 2021, 10:15 AM

QUOTE(Lampuajaib @ Oct 8 2021, 10:02 AM)
Maybe...if in 30 years WWIII is happened many Malaysian will cross the border and become PATI in indon
Helang boleh pigi mana mana tempat depa mahu, rakyat marhaen mana nak pigi?
In the next GE, if there is a 3rd choice other than the current government or opposition, better pick the 3rd choice.
alexz23
post Oct 8 2021, 10:25 AM

QUOTE(Lampuajaib @ Oct 8 2021, 10:02 AM)
Maybe...if in 30 years WWIII is happened many Malaysian will cross the border and become PATI in indon
Helang boleh pigi mana mana tempat depa mahu, rakyat marhaen mana nak pigi?
Which is also why, based on what little budget that we have, we need to prepare our defences for future threats, not based on past historical practices.

For our future threats

Our army needs shore based anti ship missiles, rather than expensive custom made 6x6s.

our navy needs more submarines, rather than dozens of expensive OPVs

our airforce needs AWACs in 10 years time, rather than buying brand new transport helicopters in that timeframe.

alexz23
post Oct 8 2021, 10:48 AM

QUOTE(Lampuajaib @ Oct 8 2021, 10:27 AM)
The economy crisis 97 and embargoed had knock ID head very hard that they learned the lesson a lot.
It is a blessing in the long run. They walk step by step.

Meanwhile MY always proud and feel strong that Malaysia boleh.....maybe it is MY turn to be knocked harder.
Knocked down now with weak leadership will turn us into another Philippines very quickly.

We cannot afford that.

We need a group of leaders free of past baggages like umno, keadilan, etc.

for example i wish i can root for khairy to be a future PM candidate, but i cannot see the whole of umno being the government again.
alexz23
post Oct 8 2021, 11:17 AM

Okay no more politic rant from me.

Ex Bersama Gold 2021 starts today.

somebody received their MD530 yesterday

alexz23
post Oct 8 2021, 11:27 AM

QUOTE(azriel @ Oct 8 2021, 07:24 AM)
For malaysian future MRCA requirements, I have no issues if TUDM go for the KF-X. We need a fighter that we can afford not just to buy, but a fighter that we can afford to fly, of which the F-35 is probably not. F-35 is single engined, while KF-X is twin engined, for redundancy on overwater missions. The fact that Indonesia is going to use it should not be a factor at all.
alexz23
post Oct 8 2021, 12:29 PM

QUOTE(Lampuajaib @ Oct 8 2021, 12:05 PM)
I think MY will get F35 or others 5th gen fighter later.
If MY want to buy KFX, we should look at SK-ID agreement first who has the right to sell to us. MY is closer to ID.

ID is the producer that will make TNI is initial user of KFX. The good thing for ID that ID can make changes/ modification/upgrade by themselves without any permission needed.
malaysian MRCA buy to replace the Hornets will only be in the 2031-2040 timeframe. Right now the priority is and should be the LCA/FLIT first.

By 2031, the KF-X development with internal weapons bay should already started. Current Korean plans for 40 production aircraft delivered to Korean air force by 2028, and 120 units by 2032.
alexz23
post Oct 8 2021, 03:54 PM

QUOTE(darth5zaft @ Oct 8 2021, 03:14 PM)
No u said sigma & other Damen ship are different platforms with no commonalities. I were the one who say the difference is mostly in it exterior design. A U shape hull help with economic of operation at the cost of increase radar cross section and a beef up equipment onboard.
A waste of money that we don't have really.

It's a limited production jet which makes the cost twice that of Real US jet,  but it still kinda US jet with all the limitations of US jet compared to something like rafales, It has limited user which limit future upgradability options. It looks like Raptor but without radar absorbing composite body and internal pod it has the RCS higher that then a Gripen and SK themselves are scared of china, which make the risk of them not sending parts during heighten tension higher. At the end it's really just a glorified hornet build with tech from the 70s.

Uncle Sam ain't stupid. They been burnt by Israel who sell US tech to china B4. But for Korean That's is the cost of self sufficiency and that's the price Korean pays to not be a strong US allies and want to have independent foreign policy.

You really have no idea what you are talking about.
alexz23
post Oct 8 2021, 05:50 PM

QUOTE(darth5zaft @ Oct 8 2021, 05:44 PM)
I think you know it already

KFX is exactly what people buy if they don't wish to pew pew china.
Says the person who wants to pew pew china with corvettes and M346.
alexz23
post Oct 8 2021, 06:22 PM

Some example of domestic russian prices for military equipment. some russian friendly countries such as Kazakhstan and Belarus are given the same price for them to buy russian equipment.

Ka-52M: 1.075 billion rubles ($14.7 million)
Su-30SM: 1.187 billion rubles ($16.3 million)
Su-35S: 2.287 billion rubles ($31.4 million)
Su-57: >3 billion rubles (>$41.2 million)

Even when russia sold SU-30MKM to malaysia for just $45 million each including all the modification that malaysia requested, they actually still make money from the sale. And all the things they learnt from the MKM they use that experience to develop the SM version.

https://iz.ru/1230276/anton-lavrov-bogdan-s...vykh-vertoletov
alexz23
post Oct 9 2021, 10:34 AM

QUOTE(jwst1313 @ Oct 9 2021, 10:10 AM)
TNI is spoiled of choices for heavy multi purpose frigate (Perform both AAW and ASW). Wonder which they might narrow down

1) Iver Class 6500 tons
2) AH140 (Type 31) 5700 tons
3) Fremm 6900 tons

A big business for those defence contractors though, at least 10 vessels of heavy multi purpose frigate. Who provide best deal and transfer of tech to PT PAL would likely have better chances.

You missed the bus on the latest news??

The AH140 design is to be implemented on the original Iver Huidfledt contract. So both are one and the same.

https://www.janes.com/defence-news/news-det...ariant-contract

FREMM contract also already signed.

Nothing to narrow down from your list of frigates.

alexz23
post Oct 11 2021, 09:52 AM

QUOTE(jwst1313 @ Oct 11 2021, 08:33 AM)
Question. Seems that Tldm do not install any ciws of such on their boats. Any reason why?

AK630 ciws
Goal keeper ciws
Dardo ciws
which country are you from?

TLDM is using DARDO 40mm, bofors 40mm and bofors 57mm for close in air defence.

alexz23
post Oct 11 2021, 09:55 AM

more pictures of TUDM F/A-18D in Bersama Gold 2021

alexz23
post Oct 11 2021, 11:03 AM

QUOTE(Naskah @ Oct 11 2021, 10:03 AM)
looks like Super Hornet to me.
Looking back at the pictures, yeah it does look like RAAF F/A-18F super hornets.

alexz23
post Oct 11 2021, 03:39 PM

Another country going for the TB2.
alexz23
post Oct 12 2021, 10:59 AM

QUOTE(nasi lemak 20 sen @ Oct 12 2021, 08:01 AM)
Kedah class upgrade proposal

original Kedah
[attachmentid=11007168]

Questions about your proposal.

1. top deck weight.
That area is designed to have just 1 RAM launcher of about 6tons of weight. Adding a total of nearly 30tons of weight (5 times the designed weight of that area) will seriously alter the ships balance. The ship would be bow heavy, and momentum of such heavy weight at that height will worsen the ship roll and pitch behavior.

1 RAM launcher = 6tons
1 Adaptable Deck Launcher = 7.5tons, 2 of them 15tons
8 Exocet missiles + launcher = 8tons

total of at least 29tons of weight

2. Area.
At most, the area is about 15m in length. As the area is at the bow, the width tapers towards the 76mm gun. So the minimum width is just around 6-7m. A single adaptable deck launcher size is 7.2m x 3.9m x 3.1m. You cannot fit RAM + Adaptable Deck Launcher + Exocet/NSM in that area. There is no space.

3. Putting Mk41 VLS.
Mk41 VLS shortest height is 5.2m and weighs 12.2t for the 8 cell version. A lot of things you need to remove, at least 2 decks below.

4. Shooting ESSM to the side.
You need a lot of extra space to shoot it, if you don't want to hit other ships.

alexz23
post Oct 12 2021, 11:07 AM

QUOTE(KLthinker91 @ Oct 12 2021, 01:40 AM)
Dardo, the 1st pic, is a CIWS (Close In Weapon System) of about the same generation as Goalkeeper, and it outranges Goalkeeper

Although to be fair in more recent pics of the Laksamanas I see the system seems to have been removed. In storage or decommissioned, I wonder.
Those DARDOs are still on the Laksamanas. Only the OTOMATs are removed, and the ASPIDE (sea sparrow) inop.

If we want to go for Type 31, to save money we can remove DARDOs and 76mm oto melaras from the laksamana class to fit them to the future Type 31 frigates.

Video of KD Laksamana Tun Abdul Jamil taken this year, still with DARDO

This post has been edited by alexz23: Oct 12 2021, 11:08 AM
alexz23
post Oct 12 2021, 11:19 AM

QUOTE(KLthinker91 @ Oct 12 2021, 11:11 AM)
This modification would entail opening up the hull I believe

modification for what, are you talking about.

alexz23
post Oct 12 2021, 11:25 AM

QUOTE(darth5zaft @ Oct 12 2021, 01:05 AM)

Let just forget about TB2.
Our primary security concerns is borders protection & to buy some deterrence from a freaking super power who do low intensity conflicts.
Exactly why long endurance drones like TB2 is ideal. Cheap, only need a budget of 70 million dollars for a whole squadron, unlike going for expensive corvettes.

QUOTE(darth5zaft @ Oct 12 2021, 01:05 AM)

Drone no matter how expensive are just a dumb flying camera.and funny enough we do the world best drone base remote sensing companies.

https://vulcanpost.com/763444/aerodyne-mala...providers-2021/

What we wanted is just to use off the shelf cheap drone to be automated and run by AI & algorithm to go round the border and allert operators if they sense something suspicious and has quick response team in the ground & sea to combat it. Next is to simulate those PATI landing as invasion and thus write AI to calculate and redirect the firepower from such landing.

Afterwards is to write the AI to hunt down insurgence in jungle, estate by training it to hunt down pochers finally write AI to use those drone for increase situational awareness in raids.
TB2 is cheap. TB2 is off the shelf

Also TB2 has long endurance of 25 hours. The off the shelf cheap drone that we need to use is the TB2.

This post has been edited by alexz23: Oct 12 2021, 11:36 AM
alexz23
post Oct 12 2021, 12:13 PM

QUOTE(KLthinker91 @ Oct 12 2021, 11:55 AM)
Your suggestion to mount the 76mm and 40mm guns on Type 31

You would have to clear that with the manufacturers of the ship and weapon system, and integrate the associated radars and power etc with the Type 31 internal architecture.

The 40mm mounting just needs deckspace if I'm not mistaken, but the 76mm Oto is a deck-penetrating mount so the builders will have to ensure it can fit the space inside. Shouldn't be a problem I think but just to tell you, it's not a "strap-on" like Phalanx...
???

They already have space for 76mm guns. Danish frigates even put up 2x 76mm guns up front.

For TLDM type 31, we could put

2x 76mm up front, 1x 40mm DARDO on the rear hangar location.

or

1x 76mm up front, 1x 40mm DARDO up front, 1x 40mm DARDO on the rear hangar location

alexz23
post Oct 12 2021, 12:39 PM

QUOTE(KLthinker91 @ Oct 12 2021, 12:17 PM)
It would save money of course. Although both weapon systems need upgrading to make full use of their capabilities.

But I'm done playing fantasy fleets rolleyes.gif
It would save quite a bit of money. Both systems can be used as is, with the accuracy to be mainly from the ship's fire control systems itself, not the guns.

no more fantasy fleets? okay, respect your decision. would be happy to discuss more with you.

21 Pages « < 17 18 19 20 21 >Top

0.1084sec    0.47    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 04:39 PM