Noob photo shooting adventure, My 1st post

TSjimmythw
post Aug 29 2007, 07:27 PM, updated 18y ago

308 posts

Hi! All sifu are welcome here give me some advice. sweat.gif I have get my D40 about 4-5 month already. Now i only use it for real shooting. tongue.gif Last time is just shoot for fun like using a compact digital camera sweat.gif

Hope all enjoy for my photo. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by jimmythw: Apr 20 2008, 09:54 PM

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image
wlcling
post Aug 29 2007, 07:30 PM

Hippidy Hoppidy
2,711 posts

a little underexposed to me but nice shots nevertheless.... wink.gif
diwant
post Aug 29 2007, 07:34 PM

295 posts

im happy to see some 'noob' posting rather different kind of photos from other 'noobs' would normally post.. don't worry about the technical aspect too much too early, get to know about composition and how to find interesting subject to photograph...

anyway not bad mate!!
xandman
post Aug 29 2007, 07:40 PM

When Darkness is the only Light U See.
7,214 posts

nice shots!
i wish i could have an eye for interesting subject like that! =)
killerloop81
post Aug 29 2007, 08:01 PM

SpLiTfIrE
1,429 posts

is it lighting a little bit skill less
TSjimmythw
post Aug 29 2007, 08:04 PM

308 posts

QUOTE(wlcling @ Aug 29 2007, 07:30 PM)
a little underexposed to me but nice shots nevertheless....  wink.gif
Eh... Are the weather can effect for the underexposed? Bcos is raining day and i wait until the rain stop then i shoot. tongue.gif

QUOTE(diwant @ Aug 29 2007, 07:34 PM)
im happy to see some 'noob' posting rather different kind of photos from other 'noobs' would normally post.. don't worry about the technical aspect too much too early, get to know about composition and how to find interesting subject to photograph...

anyway not bad mate!!
sweat.gif Wat is composition tongue.gif

QUOTE(xandman @ Aug 29 2007, 07:40 PM)
nice shots!
i wish i could have an eye for interesting subject like that! =)
If u guys git come to ipoh here, i can take u go for shooting too. thumbup.gif
Mavik
post Aug 29 2007, 08:05 PM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

Hey mate, you can try posting those images on Imageshack.us and resize them to a nice size (640x480) or smaller and link them back to the board.

At least the images are then larger for all to see smile.gif
diwant
post Aug 29 2007, 08:58 PM

295 posts

composition is how u arrange all the subject in ur camera viewfinder to make the photo look interesting and balanced. How u arrange all the subject in a frame is one of the most important factor in producing a photograph..

This post has been edited by diwant: Aug 29 2007, 08:59 PM
orenzai
post Aug 29 2007, 09:14 PM

3,114 posts

wa...nice shots of water..maybe can send in to DCM ler...esp the shot of water droplets...
NasiLemakMan
post Aug 29 2007, 09:16 PM

oh hai! wan naslemak?
962 posts

From noob to noob, nice shoots overall. The water flow pics somehow hmm.gif . Maybe its me.

This post has been edited by NasiLemakMan: Aug 29 2007, 09:18 PM
soulfly
post Aug 29 2007, 09:21 PM

revving towards 10,000 rpm
15,903 posts

Maybe need faster shutterspeed for the water shot to make the water look more splashy
orenzai
post Aug 29 2007, 09:24 PM

3,114 posts

haha...but i see more people prefer the silky look of waterfall ler...dunno why...i like to have that splashy look more...
gregy
post Aug 29 2007, 09:30 PM

411 posts

For a noob you did quite well. Exposure is quite subjective, and it depends on what kind of mood that you're after. There's no right or wrong, unless you're shooting typical subjects and expecting typical results, i.e., everything is exposed as if they were shot in bright daylight under 5500 Kelvin temperature smile.gif If it had been a cloudy day and the sky is bluish, you may reduce the blue cast slightly, but doing too much and you alter reality to a point that people may think you shot that pic in daylight. I don't think you want everyone to think all your shots were done only when the sky is bright, yes?

The most important thing to understand about exposure is to determine first hand what it is in a composition that you want to focus on and expect your audience to see. Then determine whether or not you want to properly expose the main subject, or purposely underexpose it for dramatic effect.

As for your waterfall shots, you may want to consider different shutter speeds to create different results. Sometimes shooting a waterfall can become so cliched that the only way to shoot it is with a long shutter speed, but at times it pays to experiment with perhaps shorter speeds to freeze the droplets or a very long speed to create that dragon beard effect. I feel the shutter speed you chose for this series is a little too fast (if you were going for the dragon beard effect).

On your nature study shots, interesting compositions; at least you didn't place the main subject dead centre as what many noobs would have done. I like the shot in the middle, but maybe you could have done some photoshopping to bring out the shadow areas in the foreground a little bit to balance the background that is exposed properly. Shooting in raw will also help to increase dynamic range. I see that you used your lens wide open or nearly wide open to bring out the interesting bokeh from the highlights in the background. Perhaps moving in a bit closer would have given more priority to the bokeh presentation.

For the dragonfly shot, it is nice and I know it's hard to shoot them since they like to fly like crazed lunatics. However I would have picked a slightly different coloured background to make it stand out more.

As for the flowers, they're ok, but I would like to suggest that you not show two similar shots in the same presentation; people would either prefer one over the other, or they will hate both. Either way you lose smile.gif Same goes for the waterfall shots, try not to show too many similar shots in the same montage.

It would have been nicer to find some accompanying colours in the background to complement your flower, otherwise it would appear a little one dimensional and lacking dynamism.

Good luck and keep on shooting

This post has been edited by gregy: Aug 29 2007, 09:32 PM
orenzai
post Aug 29 2007, 10:11 PM

3,114 posts

QUOTE(gregy @ Aug 29 2007, 09:30 PM)
For a noob you did quite well. Exposure is quite subjective, and it depends on what kind of mood that you're after. There's no right or wrong, unless you're shooting typical subjects and expecting typical results, i.e., everything is exposed as if they were shot in bright daylight under 5500 Kelvin temperature smile.gif  If it had been a cloudy day and the sky is bluish, you may reduce the blue cast slightly, but doing too much and you alter reality to a point that people may think you shot that pic in daylight. I don't think you want everyone to think all your shots were done only when the sky is bright, yes?

The most important thing to understand about exposure is to determine first hand what it is in a composition that you want to focus on and expect your audience to see. Then determine whether or not you want to properly expose the main subject, or purposely underexpose it for dramatic effect.

As for your waterfall shots, you may want to consider different shutter speeds to create different results. Sometimes shooting a waterfall can become so cliched that the only way to shoot it is with a long shutter speed, but at times it pays to experiment with perhaps shorter speeds to freeze the droplets or a very long speed to create that dragon beard effect. I feel the shutter speed you chose for this series is a little too fast (if you were going for the dragon beard effect).

On your nature study shots, interesting compositions; at least you didn't place the main subject dead centre as what many noobs would have done. I like the shot in the middle, but maybe you could have done some photoshopping to bring out the shadow areas in the foreground a little bit to balance the background that is exposed properly. Shooting in raw will also help to increase dynamic range. I see that you used your lens wide open or nearly wide open to bring out the interesting bokeh from the highlights in the background. Perhaps moving in a bit closer would have given more priority to the bokeh presentation.

For the dragonfly shot, it is nice and I know it's hard to shoot them since they like to fly like crazed lunatics. However I would have picked a slightly different coloured background to make it stand out more.

As for the flowers, they're ok, but I would like to suggest that you not show two similar shots in the same presentation; people would either prefer one over the other, or they will hate both. Either way you lose smile.gif Same goes for the waterfall shots, try not to show too many similar shots in the same montage.

It would have been nicer to find some accompanying colours in the background to complement your flower, otherwise it would appear a little one dimensional and lacking dynamism.

Good luck and keep on shooting
nod.gif rclxms.gif
goldfries
post Aug 29 2007, 10:26 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

me finds your shots under-exposed. composition and idea - all there already!

and yeah, like this la good. not get DSLR straight 1 hour later post crappy pic. your pics are nice. just more practice!
orenzai
post Aug 29 2007, 10:30 PM

3,114 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Aug 29 2007, 10:26 PM)
...not get DSLR straight 1 hour later post crappy pic. ...
thats me whistling.gif biggrin.gif
R a D ! c 4 L
post Aug 29 2007, 10:34 PM

Linc | Nox
4,744 posts

i personally like the insect shot. Its very artistic in my sense. You have talent man. Hone your skills and you can do much much better. smile.gif
aba9785
post Aug 30 2007, 08:22 AM

el aba9785
743 posts

the dragonfly pics is nice..
ur first time is much better than mine..
happy shooting n post more
kjin
post Aug 30 2007, 08:45 AM

227 posts

the composition for both orchids can be improved smile.gif only the dragonfly and the water droplet is nice to me though. have fun shooting smile.gif
TSjimmythw
post Aug 31 2007, 12:00 AM

308 posts

Thanks for all your comments. I will try to improve it. For the lense i use for all those pic is the AF-S 55-200mm VR lense. So the background are a bit not clear bcos can't get the best focus on it. For the waterfall, i will try slower bit the shutter speed. I also will not post the similar pic again. tongue.gif

I'm very thanks for all those comments u all gave. notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by jimmythw: Aug 31 2007, 12:07 AM

0.0192sec    0.80    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 11:00 AM