4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

New Toyota Fortuner or CX8? (7-Seater class)

New Toyota Fortuner or CX8?

Toyota Fortuner 2021 [ 53 ] ** [34.19%]
Mazda CX8 [ 102 ] ** [65.81%]
Total Votes: 155
Guests cannot vote 

Brotherjoe
post Mar 28 2021, 06:33 PM

2,217 posts

QUOTE(Jedi @ Mar 28 2021, 05:33 PM)
x70 parts got issues waiting waiting waiting
and its a proton batch, whatever innovation they keluar, its still a proton. Personal ego issues no pun intended.
Reliability and maintenance of VW vs Mazda, I think Mazda is a tad better.
+ tiguan dont have all the safety features standard for 2020 car, the 3rd row is more narrow compared to my 2 options
Very ugly, and no to korean cars. and fuel consumption is shit.
Are you looking for Petrol or diesel variant?
Petrol variant for Fortuner can be very bad. It is a 2ton ride.

This post has been edited by Brotherjoe: Mar 28 2021, 06:34 PM
LTZ
post Mar 28 2021, 06:43 PM

36 posts

QUOTE(rcracer @ Mar 28 2021, 06:24 PM)
fortuner after 20 minutes will vomit, soft suspension on truck chassis to try and make it luxury
Some mention that new facelifted has better ride quality...the one with legender face. I am looking into this now..... CX8 & Tiguan Allspace too
ze2
post Mar 28 2021, 06:47 PM

319 posts

Fortuner can take u to many places.... Cx8 only for light off road.
JackySP
post Mar 28 2021, 06:49 PM

25 posts

Cx8. Fortuner is hust a glorified hailat
lowyatfag
post Mar 28 2021, 06:51 PM

124 posts

y the fortuner looks like x50?
arcadicus
post Mar 28 2021, 07:03 PM

213 posts

Topup a bit n get a bmw X1
judas
post Mar 28 2021, 07:09 PM

144 posts

city driving, go for mazda, fortuner is for site access and rough terrain..the ladder frame is not comfortable, but damn rugged and safer in case of collision
paskal
post Mar 28 2021, 07:10 PM

armchair commando couch potato
2,801 posts

QUOTE(LTZ @ Mar 28 2021, 04:50 PM)
Ur mind like me....and I am thinking the same option now 😅😅

Never drive or ride with fortuner....some said too bumpy due to body on frame. If the ride is good I can consider that...downside is the head unit looks really aftermarket.

CX8 if flagship only 6 seater... and headunit quite small
Go test drive. Bring entire family with you.

Those people that said bumpy are blanket comment from their past experience with body on frame.
I've driven hilux fortuner pajero a lot of pickup truck, suvs and currently living with a truck find that new gen of body on frame is even more comfortable than prev gen sedans and SUV.

Some body on frame truck is even more comfortable than a luxury sedan.
NuKkE
post Mar 28 2021, 07:12 PM

187 posts

The new fortuner still on ladder frame chasis?
atrashcan
post Mar 28 2021, 07:17 PM

100 posts

QUOTE(NuKkE @ Mar 28 2021, 07:12 PM)
The new fortuner still on ladder frame chasis?
Yes, new fortuner is just a facelift.
fantasy1989
post Mar 28 2021, 08:26 PM

4,707 posts

QUOTE(Jedi @ Mar 28 2021, 05:33 PM)
x70 parts got issues waiting waiting waiting
and its a proton batch, whatever innovation they keluar, its still a proton. Personal ego issues no pun intended.
Reliability and maintenance of VW vs Mazda, I think Mazda is a tad better.
+ tiguan dont have all the safety features standard for 2020 car, the 3rd row is more narrow compared to my 2 options
Very ugly, and no to korean cars. and fuel consumption is shit.
it used diesel (2.2L turbo diesel) .. if you compare against CX8 which used 2.5L petrol NA and Fortuner (assuming you are using petrol ..that is 2.7L NA) - both FC will be shit as well ; might be better if you opt for 2.8L turbo diesel [that variants will reach 200k OTR]

if you plan to carry 5 to 6 adult ..NA engine you have to rev it higher to gain the momentum ..else you feel it very powerless.

exterior wise i no comment la laugh.gif
i am still waiting CX8 to release 2.5L turbo variants..that will be the best combination for its size ..i heard it's coming soon..but dunno when

This post has been edited by fantasy1989: Mar 28 2021, 08:36 PM
JustAskingOnly
post Mar 28 2021, 08:39 PM

401 posts

Tested both.

Fortuna
-cheaper
-better spec
-4wd
- looks like a tank and unrefined
- interior looks lousy
-drive like a Toyota

Mazda
- better look both interior and exterior
- more refined
-better driving experience
- more expensive
-lower spec 2wd
-3 row no aircond

Conclusion.

I would go for mazda.

Learjet35
post Mar 28 2021, 08:50 PM

500hp
1,931 posts

QUOTE(Jedi @ Mar 28 2021, 04:48 PM)

vs

Mazda CX8 looks more 'atas', especially the high spec Nappa Leather
Toyota Fortuner is sound atas, but interior a little let down. The 2021 I think is still good price wise.

Which one to choose based on fuel consumption, Comfort (put baby car seat) for family if budget is about there for these two cars?

Test drove D segment.
Mazda 6 back no good for family 175cm above (hit the top), driving mechanics is good, feels atas without paying BMW, Mercedes pricing.
Camry, comfort no need to say, but engine I think wait for Dynamic Force (if UMW bring in - since rumor at Q2 will release new D segment)
Passat and Arteon out of the way - because of maintenance and reliability.
If 7 seater suv u considering now, should put Santa fe as well.

Test drove the fortuner underpower. I’ll consider if they bring in the 2.8 version like Thailand. My family own 2015 Santa Fe, nice ride and better driving feel. Personally I like that Santa Fe when compared the my mother X5. X5 high speed driving really unstable.

This post has been edited by Learjet35: Mar 28 2021, 08:53 PM
fireballs
post Mar 28 2021, 08:57 PM

5,650 posts

Get a van for comfort. These are never designed to ferry 7 passenger. More like 5+2kids
Want luxury can get merc
Faidzal
post Mar 28 2021, 09:01 PM

240 posts

fortuner is just hilux with a fixed roof
fantasy1989
post Mar 28 2021, 09:04 PM

4,707 posts

QUOTE(Learjet35 @ Mar 28 2021, 08:50 PM)
If 7 seater suv u considering now, should put Santa fe as well.

Test drove the fortuner underpower. I’ll consider if they bring in the 2.8 version like Thailand. My family own 2015 Santa Fe, nice ride and better driving feel. Personally I like that Santa Fe when compared the my mother X5. X5 high speed driving really unstable.
yes. they do bring in latest 2.8L diesel engine ..just the price is 203k otr
and85rew
post Mar 28 2021, 09:32 PM

Red Devil
877 posts

QUOTE(LTZ @ Mar 28 2021, 05:42 PM)
Mazda quite good in term of 3rd row space
Last time sit behind on fortuner 1st gen 3rd row seat
From kl to johor
My knee so numb
SUStikaram
post Mar 28 2021, 09:36 PM

10,722 posts

Ayam voted Tf

8 y o car so far only Aircond need changed.

Low maintenance.
MR_alien
post Mar 28 2021, 09:49 PM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,582 posts

i don't think u should get neither of those car for "fuel consumption"

if not wrong, those are 2 completely different car...u better go test drive and see which one u like more
SUSAsquith
post Mar 29 2021, 12:01 AM

647 posts

After 8 months of driving a 7 seater SUV, all I can say is these are strictly 5+2 seater vehicles. If regularly need to ferry 7 around get a Vellfire.

The better body on frame SUV is the Ford Everest. Much better comfort and refinement than the Fortuner.

C-segment 7 seater? C-sgment SUVs are best as a 5 seater. Honda got it right with that formula with the CR-V.

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.1573sec    0.70    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 02:12 PM