Dunlop SP Sport J6, New tyre

TSz800r
post Mar 26 2021, 12:45 PM, updated 5y ago

394 posts

I was looking for affordable tyre for my axia before. Looking for tyre that has good wet grip. Tried cc6 and toyo neo3 before. But both has poor grip during raining.

On my list, cc6, hankook eco2 and xm2+. But few people said xm2+ is not worth it to be installed on axia. Then i read review bout dunlop j5. Which they said better wet grip than cc6 and even xm2+.

So i ordered online 4 donuts of j5. Then the shop called me, the j5 tyre no stock liao, we have j6 now, would u like to try the j6 or change to other brand. But you have to topup la she said.

So yeah. New tyre, why not. Should be better than j5 (hopefully). So rm138 per donut. The thread almost similar to dunlop j5. No info on any website yet. Hopefully the wet grip is better than cc6, neo3 and even xm2+

Using 175/65r14 before. Now change to 185/60r14.
*treadwear 340

This post has been edited by z800r: Mar 26 2021, 12:47 PM

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image
TSz800r
post Mar 29 2021, 11:07 AM

394 posts

QUOTE(littlefire @ Mar 29 2021, 10:23 AM)
Did you consider your original sport rim width before changing to 185/60/R14?

Standard rim size width should be 5'5~6' for 185 tires for a balance handling & comfort.

If yours original sport rim should be just 5" just imagine your small feet with a bigger shoe size what will happen when running in high speed or enter a corner fast?
Yes. Considered already. Been asking my friend working as tyre pomen for the suitable tyre size. But didnt change my tyre w him as he worked at my hometown far far away. I changed my tyre in kl.

For 185/60r14 tyre. Can used jj5 up to jj6.5. The recommended one of course jj5.5
TSz800r
post Mar 29 2021, 02:41 PM

394 posts

Update.

-After 200km.
The tyre is quite good. Better than previous toyo neo3 and conti cc6. This j6 is really quiet. Now i only hear my engine running during driving, not the tyre sound. not like before, the sound of the tyre running on the road was like so loud. Performance during rain is also good. But i only drive 60-80 km/h during rain.
TSz800r
post Apr 7 2021, 07:15 AM

394 posts

Update after 1100km.

- this tyre is really quiet. I couldnt hear the sound of my tyre like before when i used cc6 or neo3. Just hear my engine sound now. Which is really good

Wet grip is much better than cc6 and neo3. Confirmed. I drove in karak highway last week for work purpose.

Overall, a good tyre w cheaper price tag than cc6, neo3,xm2+ and proxes cr1

0.0139sec    0.56    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 04:47 PM