Penang Cholesteatoma surgery, i m scared😭

TSLA773
post Mar 26 2021, 05:07 AM, updated 9 months ago

1,063 posts

Hi all sifus, anyone had experience on this cholesteatoma surgery? Based on my Google search for past 2 days, all recommended was surgery? It means cannot take medication for cure?
Im now in penang, looking at all options as i was recommended for this surgery due to hearing problems,. After CtScan found some fluid in my middle ear.
May need 2nd or 3rd opinion, any recommendations specialist or penang GH, even in kl is ok.
craxors isaw ur posts on this before, hows tje experience, n any advive bro?
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4604046/+40

Suddenly feel lost

This post has been edited by LA773: Mar 26 2021, 09:54 PM
Justin.Loong
post Mar 26 2021, 12:26 PM

8,327 posts

Although surgery is rarely urgent, once a cholesteatoma is found, surgical treatment is the only choice. Surgery usually involves a mastoidectomy to remove the disease from the bone, and tympanoplasty to repair the eardrum.
Source: Mount Sinai conditions cholesteatoma treatment.
Sean77
post Mar 26 2021, 06:28 PM

172 posts

QUOTE(Justin.Loong @ Mar 26 2021, 12:26 PM)
Yea, my colleague went for this many yrs ago, not sure niw wats new or improved method, sometimes i hv feeling specialist always ask for surgery, but maybe we can try medicine or even chinese traditional medicine to cure the cysts?
But i m not sure if anybody tried before Traditional chinese medicine? Maybe can input
MrBaba
post Mar 26 2021, 06:53 PM

2,506 posts

QUOTE(Sean77 @ Mar 26 2021, 06:28 PM)
Yea, my colleague went for this many yrs ago, not sure niw wats new or improved method, sometimes i hv feeling specialist always ask for surgery, but maybe we can try medicine or even chinese traditional medicine to cure the cysts?
But i m not sure if anybody tried before Traditional chinese medicine? Maybe can input
Cysts and tradionak Chinese med don't mix
taiping...
post Mar 26 2021, 07:51 PM

1,056 posts

U cant tag ppl in first post

craxors

This post has been edited by taiping...: Mar 26 2021, 07:51 PM
Justin.Loong
post Apr 6 2021, 05:51 PM

8,327 posts

QUOTE(LA773 @ Mar 26 2021, 05:07 AM)
Hi all sifus, anyone had experience on this cholesteatoma surgery? Based on my Google search for past 2 days, all recommended was surgery? It means cannot take medication for cure?
Im now in penang, looking at all options as i was recommended for this surgery due to hearing problems,. After CtScan found some fluid in my middle ear.
May need 2nd or 3rd opinion, any recommendations specialist or penang GH, even in kl is ok.
craxors isaw ur posts on this before, hows tje experience, n any advive bro?
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4604046/+40

Suddenly feel lost
Hi bro. Any updates?
Hope everything is going well.

TSLA773
post Apr 6 2021, 08:58 PM

1,063 posts

QUOTE(Justin.Loong @ Apr 6 2021, 05:51 PM)
Hi bro. Any updates?
Hope everything is going well.
Im Currently on medication for 3 weeks, followup checkup next week

This post has been edited by LA773: Apr 6 2021, 08:59 PM
vhs1
post Apr 7 2021, 12:47 AM

2,829 posts

QUOTE(LA773 @ Apr 6 2021, 08:58 PM)
Hope everything will be fine for you. God bless.
Justin.Loong
post Apr 7 2021, 06:06 PM

8,327 posts

QUOTE(LA773 @ Apr 6 2021, 08:58 PM)
Get well soon bro! thumbup.gif

QUOTE(vhs1 @ Apr 7 2021, 12:47 AM)
Hope everything will be fine for you. God bless.
thumbsup.gif
SUSRaikkonen
post Apr 8 2021, 05:37 AM

I'll be your ♡ ☁ ☼ ☂
8,635 posts

Look scary.

Cutting the ear shocking.gif

This post has been edited by Raikkonen: Apr 8 2021, 05:38 AM
craxors
post Jul 4 2021, 07:25 AM

2,528 posts

sorry to here that bro....

how bad is it? sad.gif

the surgery went well.

but doc said they will need to leave a hole in the ear for easy checkup later... so advised cannot dip into water/lake/pool etc. scare water get in there.

can but have to wear ear plug.

checkup every few months or when feel necessary. its not coming back but some time got fungus inside so go see doc for clean up.

so far all ok. hopefully yours too.

*btw mine; doc suck out that thing as big as an egg. already covered whole area in the ear. "simpan" too long already. sweat.gif

This post has been edited by craxors: Jul 4 2021, 07:29 AM
TSLA773
post Jul 4 2021, 12:53 PM

1,063 posts

QUOTE(craxors @ Jul 4 2021, 07:25 AM)

how bad is it? sad.gif
the surgery went well.

but doc said they will need to leave a hole in the ear for easy checkup later... so advised cannot dip into water/lake/pool etc. scare water get in there.

checkup every few months or when feel necessary. its not coming back but some time got fungus inside so go see doc for clean up.

*btw mine; doc suck out that thing as big as an egg. already covered whole area in the ear. "simpan" too long already.  sweat.gif
Oic...
Urs is the endoscopic method?
Or the cut through the ear shape outside the earlines?

Need to leave a hole there & Cannot go to water or pool is temporary few weeks after the surgery or permanently?
Mine is quite minor, so use endoscopic method

TSLA773
post Jul 4 2021, 12:56 PM

1,063 posts

And mine from ct scan is small like pinples only, probably 1cm2
craxors
post Jul 4 2021, 04:00 PM

2,528 posts

hopefully all is well for u. smile.gif
ar188
post Jul 4 2021, 04:33 PM

9,206 posts

how bad is it? sad.gif
the surgery went well.

*btw mine; doc suck out that thing as big as an egg. already covered whole area in the ear. "simpan" too long already.  sweat.gif
damn.. got pic ah? so big like egg?
craxors
post Jul 4 2021, 09:00 PM

2,528 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Jul 4 2021, 04:33 PM)
damn.. got pic ah? so big like egg?
hahaha.. didnt took any photos... sweat.gif
WaNaWe900
post Mar 19 2025, 12:50 AM

చąហ ąచҽ™
1,397 posts

QUOTE(Raikkonen @ Apr 8 2021, 05:37 AM)
Look scary.

Cutting the ear  shocking.gif
Just Google on the Tympanoplasty Surgery and looks really scary confused.gif

how bad is it? sad.gif
the surgery went well.

Oh my... hope mine not getting that bad catching cholesteatoma since it just few months sweat.gif

QUOTE(LA773 @ Jul 4 2021, 12:53 PM)
Oic...
Urs is the endoscopic method?
Or the cut through the ear shape outside the earlines?

Need to leave a hole there & Cannot go to water or pool is temporary few weeks after the surgery or permanently?
Mine is quite minor, so use endoscopic method
Mine just found that there's a hole in right eardrum last Nov 2024... and still open until today.. after several occurrence of ache effect, the clinic ask me refer to ENT specialist... first consult with one specialist not bother on the holes and given me betaserc 24 mg cost 3+++ then after catches another relapse I consult another ENT specialist with audiology test cost 4++ and scheduled for operation this week sweat.gif

Still not sure on either Endoscopic or Microscopic but the method looks like Type 1 Tympanoplasty (Myringoplasty) from the explanation
Googling some YouTube and looks kinda scary blush.gif

Any advice for those going similar conditions highly appreciate notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by WaNaWe900: Mar 19 2025, 12:51 AM
TSLA773
post Mar 19 2025, 01:10 AM

1,063 posts

QUOTE(WaNaWe900 @ Mar 19 2025, 12:50 AM)
Just Google on the Tympanoplasty Surgery and looks really scary  :confused:
Oh my... hope mine not getting that bad catching cholesteatoma since it just few months  sweat.gif
Mine just found that there's a hole in right eardrum last Nov 2024... and still open until today.. after several occurrence of ache effect, the clinic ask me refer to ENT specialist... first consult with one specialist not bother on the holes and given me betaserc 24 mg cost 3+++ then after catches another relapse I consult another ENT specialist with audiology test cost 4++ and scheduled for operation this week sweat.gif

Still not sure on either Endoscopic or Microscopic but the method looks like Type 1 Tympanoplasty (Myringoplasty) from the explanation
Googling some YouTube and looks kinda scary  blush.gif

Any advice for those going similar conditions highly appreciate  notworthy.gif
Mine was endoscopic

Took me many months before deciding to proceed with surgery o not
Before deciding which hospital and specialist, make sure know that the doctor is well experienced in the surgery..
Ask every details u have doubt in

And what are the after effect for each method of surgery

U going to which hospital? How much is the surgery?
TSLA773
post Mar 19 2025, 01:14 AM

1,063 posts

QUOTE(WaNaWe900 @ Mar 19 2025, 12:50 AM)
Just Google on the Tympanoplasty Surgery and looks really scary  :confused:
Oh my... hope mine not getting that bad catching cholesteatoma since it just few months  sweat.gif

Googling some YouTube and looks kinda scary  blush.gif

Any advice for those going similar conditions highly appreciate  notworthy.gif
They didn't do any ctscan to see if any foreign stuff inside ur middle ear?
Then how they decide what to do during the surgery?
WaNaWe900
post Mar 19 2025, 01:20 AM

చąហ ąచҽ™
1,397 posts

QUOTE(LA773 @ Mar 19 2025, 01:10 AM)
Mine was endoscopic

Took me many months before deciding to proceed with surgery o not
Before deciding which hospital and specialist, make sure know that the doctor is well experienced in the surgery..
Ask every details u have doubt in

And what are the after effect for each method of surgery

U going to which hospital? How much is the surgery?
Yeah sound few more doubt need clarify tomorrow after read thru the thread thumbup.gif thanks a lot

Will be admitted in KPJ Specialist sweat.gif just applied for GL, no estimation seen yet unsure.gif

QUOTE(LA773 @ Mar 19 2025, 01:14 AM)
They didn't do any ctscan to see if any foreign stuff inside ur middle ear?
Then how they decide what to do during the surgery?
CT-scan schedule for tomorrow to confirm the middle ear conditions after admission, from scope seem no foreign stuff inside yet as eardrum quite transparent sweat.gif
TSLA773
post Mar 19 2025, 01:28 AM

1,063 posts

QUOTE(WaNaWe900 @ Mar 19 2025, 01:20 AM)
Yeah sound few more doubt need clarify tomorrow after read thru the thread  thumbup.gif thanks a lot

Will be admitted in KPJ Specialist  sweat.gif  just applied for GL, no estimation seen yet  unsure.gif
CT-scan schedule for tomorrow to confirm the middle ear conditions after admission, from scope seem no foreign stuff inside yet as eardrum quite transparent  sweat.gif
U won't be able to see through the eardrum, if the foreign particles are too small or more inner

But why are u admitted if haven't do those scan?
Suppose to do ct scan, go home few days and wait for the result and analysis.. Then the doctor share what he propose.. If u agree only schedule a surgery
WaNaWe900
post Mar 19 2025, 01:35 AM

చąហ ąచҽ™
1,397 posts

QUOTE(LA773 @ Mar 19 2025, 01:28 AM)
U won't be able to see through the eardrum, if the foreign particles are too small or more inner

But why are u admitted if haven't do those scan?
Suppose to do ct scan, go home few days and wait for the result and analysis.. Then the doctor share what he propose.. If u agree only schedule a surgery
Yeah the doctor had highlight about this yesterday and since the hole obviously there quite some time.. I thought of doing it together during in-patients coverage med card instead of going separate ways sweat.gif notworthy.gif
TSLA773
post Mar 19 2025, 01:41 AM

1,063 posts

QUOTE(WaNaWe900 @ Mar 19 2025, 01:35 AM)
Yeah the doctor had highlight about this yesterday and since the hole obviously there quite some time.. I thought of doing it together during in-patients coverage med card instead of going separate ways  sweat.gif  notworthy.gif
Ok
Have u consult a few other specialists before decide on the surgery?

IF it is not urgent, take few weeks to explore ur options
WaNaWe900
post Mar 19 2025, 01:44 AM

చąហ ąచҽ™
1,397 posts

QUOTE(LA773 @ Mar 19 2025, 01:41 AM)
Ok
Have u consult a few other specialists before decide on the surgery?

IF it is not urgent, take  few weeks to explore ur options
yup did see few doctors and 3 ENT specialist for consideration, can't hold it anymore since almost every few week since Nov 2024 affected with it sweat.gif
gashout
post Mar 19 2025, 07:23 AM

⭐ My stars are growing ⭐
5,741 posts

i see this thread has been for a few years. did ts do the surgery? how was it?
WaNaWe900
post Mar 21 2025, 11:37 PM

చąហ ąచҽ™
1,397 posts

notworthy.gif done mine yesterday, discharge just reach home with patch in ear sweat.gif follow-up next week icon_rolleyes.gif so far not so painful but still monitoring...

0.0333sec    0.19    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 03:19 AM