Home Theatre pls recommend me lcd/plasma tv thread, please use this thread :)

Ngto
post Nov 29 2007, 10:46 AM

4,350 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Nov 29 2007, 09:58 AM)
A53 in showrooms shows much better PQ compare with their previous px and bx models, displaying the same material
dunno they set it or wat lar
100Hz supposed to be clearer mah.
Ngto
post Nov 29 2007, 11:05 AM

4,350 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Nov 29 2007, 11:02 AM)
i tot 100hz only applies to watchnig normal OTA channels?
Not too sure myself.
Ngto
post Nov 30 2007, 06:39 PM

4,350 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Nov 30 2007, 03:51 PM)
but i read the specs, all others tat aint 100hz is actually 120hz ler
Don't understand what you mean? hmm.gif

Added on November 30, 2007, 6:40 pm
QUOTE(ICDeadPeople @ Nov 30 2007, 04:29 PM)
Really? Never seen any.
I saw 1 JVC model which supports both 100hz and 120hz.

This post has been edited by Ngto: Nov 30 2007, 07:13 PM
Ngto
post Dec 7 2007, 01:05 AM

4,350 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Dec 5 2007, 04:46 PM)
tats why, then wats the fuzz with all these 100 hz thingy as advertise?

actually our unit aredi 120 hz mar
All normal units only 50Hz and 60Hz.

Added on December 7, 2007, 1:08 am
QUOTE(berd696 @ Dec 5 2007, 05:10 PM)
if im not mistaken HDMI1.3 only support 60HZ, so maybe 100hz or more for future and no used for now.
The 100Hz is through the TV itself, not input through the HDMI.

This post has been edited by Ngto: Dec 7 2007, 01:08 AM
Ngto
post Dec 8 2007, 11:50 AM

4,350 posts

From what I have gathered so far, (correct me if I am wrong)

Those LCD TV which can input 24p is not that useful unless the TV set itself support 120Hz. That's because in order for smooth judder free video, the frequency must be in multiples of 24 ... e.g 24, 48,..... 96 or 120hz, for perfect synchronization. Otherwise, even if the TV can input 24p, it will still have to do some sort of pulldown technique.

Currently those TV which claim can input 24P but does not have 120hz frequency is just marketing hype. It's akin to those TV which claim can input 1080P signal but the panel itself is only 1366x768 resolution.

Ngto
post Dec 10 2007, 10:06 PM

4,350 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Dec 10 2007, 03:46 PM)
I think you guys mixed up the issues, whether the input can accept 24p (film based source) is not the same topic as the LCD panel refreshing at 100/120Hz la.

and also the capability to input signal 1080p has nothing to do with the panel resolution 1366x768 output.. 2 separate topics.

for example, if a LCD TV has 1366x768, it would be better for the TV's internal scaler to accept this full HD signal and discart additional information from a 1080p24 based signal rather than try to upscale a 720p signal to 1366x768p or convert 1080i to 1366x768
I think you have mixed up what we were discussing. We are discussing one thing and you are talking about another.

My point is , If you want to input 24p then the best combination is with a 120Hz TV.

On A 100Hz TV which can input 24P, there will still be judder because of the uneven match (24p can't be multiplied to exactly match 100Hz frequency) . It will have to use some sort of technique to fill in the missing frames. How well the manufacturer implements the technique will determine how smooth the video will be.

On the other hand , if you have 120Hz TV which can input also input 24P signals, it won't have to do any pulldown because it just multiply the 24 by 5 times.

btw, I only mentioned the topic of 1080P input on a panel with resolution of 768 just to show an example of how people are sometimes misled into believing that any panel which can input 1080P signal is automatically a Full HD Panel itself.

Just like how people are misled that just because the TV can input 24P , it will automatically have the optimal frequency to handle the signal smoothly.

The two examples are not meant to be related, other than the fact that they are sometimes used to mislead people for marketing purposes.

This post has been edited by Ngto: Dec 11 2007, 03:07 AM
Ngto
post Dec 11 2007, 01:56 PM

4,350 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Dec 11 2007, 12:17 PM)
lets examine your point... if that's the case, why are LCD TVs promoting this 100HZ/120Hz and not plasmas? if such feature is really made primarily for anti judder 24Hz filmbased source.?
Since the topic is about LCD TV, there's where my main focus is on. LCD TVs are already going towards 100hz/120hz, so given the situation the best match for a judder free 24fps input would be a 120Hz TV.

But it doesn't mean 120Hz is the only option for 24fps. My main contention all along is that the best combination would be in multiples of 24 i.e - 48, 72, 96, 120hz.

Then again there is also no denying that other factors also contribute the smoothness of video. This is another topic in itself so I don't want to go into that.

As for Plasma TV, there already existed those with 72Hz before we started hearing about LCD TVs with 120hz. So that's one of the reasons why Plasma has a headstart in judder free 24fps input.

I might be wrong in some of my assessments, since you seem to know more than what I have been able to gather so far.

I am still in the learning process smile.gif

This post has been edited by Ngto: Dec 11 2007, 01:59 PM
Ngto
post Dec 11 2007, 07:36 PM

4,350 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Dec 11 2007, 02:17 PM)
ICD and Ngto, all of us in same boat, me also learning process.. so many new tech to keep up..

anyway it's just a discussion, good to share info with fellow forumers.. smile.gif
I also initially thought 120HZ will benefit 24fps but looks like current LCD TVs do the doubling after the 3:2 process.. I was like WTF?...  biggrin.gif

Added on December 11, 2007, 2:22 pmNgto, yeah, plasma 72Hz is for 3:3 pulldown on 24fps.

But I don't think able to do 120Hz yet esp 1080p, I think got some technical hurdles on plasma panel technology to improve 1st before able to get down to 120HZ (on the electronics processor side, no problem)..
Isn't the above problem due to the DVD player itself which does a pulldown before sending the signal to the 120Hz TV.

With a Blu-ray player which can directly output pure 24fps to the 120Hz TV (with 24fps input) , wouldn't that result in smooth judder free video?

Added on December 11, 2007, 7:37 pm
QUOTE(LittleCow @ Dec 11 2007, 05:19 PM)
Just received my new Toshiba Regza 32A35000....bought from the L shop at SS2...the price is Rm2,5xx
called Toshiba centre...the customer service don't know much about the difference....between A3000 and
A3500.... so far the different are
a) 2 HDMI input (A3500)
b) the stand different
c) speaker location slightly different!

others I am not sure...just buy it for watching Movies...don't really care about other features!!! icon_rolleyes.gif
What's the current price difference between the 3000 and the 3500?

This post has been edited by Ngto: Dec 11 2007, 07:37 PM
Ngto
post Dec 11 2007, 08:14 PM

4,350 posts

So it's just the current crop which aren't doing it the proper way?

In time can I presume they will have direct 5:5 pulldown especially when 24fps HD movies start appearing in numbers?
Ngto
post Jan 4 2008, 10:26 AM

4,350 posts

QUOTE(sinclairZX81 @ Jan 3 2008, 07:26 PM)
I tried a VGA cable first. From PC, used a DVI-VGA adapter for the VGA cable to the LCD's PC input. But bad news, is bcoz of analogue signal, the highest resolution attainable is 1024 x 768, whereas the LCD is capable of 1366 x 768.

So...then bought a DVI-HDMI cable, tadaaaa.... bcoz of digital signal, can get 1360 x 768 and enjoy full resolution. Playing Doom3 and HalfLife at full res, summore 32" wow!
The fact is not whether it's analog VGA or digital DVI/HDMI. It's whether the manufacturer provides VGA with 1360x768 support or not.

In this case Toshiba doesn't provide 1360x768 support via VGA (reasons only known to them) while most other manufacturers does.

Do you know that LG LCD TV even provides support up to 1366x768 (including 1360x768) for VGA. If you have a video card which can enable 1368x768 resolution, then you can display that resolution on a 1366x768 setting on the LG using VGA. Only one line on each side of the panel is cut off.

This post has been edited by Ngto: Jan 4 2008, 10:55 AM
Ngto
post Jan 5 2008, 06:12 AM

4,350 posts

QUOTE(marky @ Jan 4 2008, 02:35 PM)
hmmmm saw those sony ones 1360x768 but can support 1080p...what does that mean....
It means it can input a video signal up to 1080P. But since it is not really a 1080P panel , the image will downscaled back to it's native resolution.

Added on January 5, 2008, 6:37 am
QUOTE(johantkk @ Jan 4 2008, 02:38 PM)
Thanks for the info. I never knew that not all manufacturers provide the same VGA support for their LCD TVs.

Actually I was seriously considering Toshiba 32a3500 or 37a3500 if I had not known about this fact. Now I have changed my mind. No Toshiba for me because I want the LCD TV to replace my existing 15 in LG LCD monitor. Then I can use the LCD TV as monitor, TV and watch DVD.

Before I start looking for another brand, any idea what other manufacturers that do not provide full 1360 x 768 VGA support?

My next choice is Panasonic.

Would have considered LG since they provide value for money. But had a bad experience with their service centre last time with my LCD monitor.

Haven't see any discussion threads here on Haier. Seems like they don't have many supporters in Malaysia.
Previously I had wanted to buy the older Toshiba model too (before the new model came out) , but when I discovered the VGA port did not support 1360x768 I changed my mind.

But now since the newer 3500 model has 2 HDMI, maybe you can consider using one of the HDMI for video and the other through HDMI-DVI converter use it for PC 1360x768. Can leave the VGA unused.

From my experience most salesman are not well versed on the PC connections of LCD TVs. They will tell you everything also can, when you ask them. The best is to look at the user manual and check out the PC VGA connections specs to make sure, or directly test with your notebook computer.

Tip for setting 1360x768 resolution on TV

1) Select the proper aspect ratio on your TV (16:9)
2) Set your TV to 1360x768 resolution for PC mode (unless it is auto detection) and also the correct frequency 60hz, 75hz etc. (if it support multiple frequency).
3) Set your PC graphic card to match the resolution and frequency of your TV above.
4) If the screen picture is out of position and size, words fuzzy etc., make use of the "Auto Adjustment" feature of your LCD TV to automatically sychronize and optimise the signal to your Graphic Card. (This will involve some automatic changes to the Phase, position etc.).

I think Panasonic should be able to support 1360x768 60hz through VGA. But do make a confirmation yourself.

This post has been edited by Ngto: Jan 5 2008, 06:41 AM
Ngto
post Jan 8 2008, 10:22 PM

4,350 posts

QUOTE(chrono_breaks @ Jan 8 2008, 01:09 PM)
I'm a user of Toshiba 37A3500E, I'm using GC XFX 7600GT for my pc. My LCD tv can display to resolution of 1360 x 760. I'm using VGA cable to view it. So far very satisfy with my LCD.
Can you please confirm that you are connected directly from your computer VGA to VGA input on Toshiba TV? Not DVI/HDMI converter using HDMI input on TV, but directly from PC VGA out to VGA in TV? Also can you confirm that your 7600GT is set at 1360x768 resolution (VGA) and your TV (VGA/RGB) is also set at 1360x768 resolution?

I have been asking Toshiba users for feedback before but no one has responded. I even called up Toshiba technical people, but no one there even knows for sure.

The reason I want to know is because the specs for the old A3000E model shows only the following resolution through VGA :-

1) VGA 640x480 (60/75hz)
2) SVGA 800x600 (60/75hz)
3) XGA 1024x768 (60/70/75hz)
4) S-XGA 1280x1024 (60hz) - Compressed

The A3500 model also shows the following specs (refer to local Toshiba website -http://www.toshiba.com.my/servlet/svtUProductPage?func=spec&proID=7528037000 )

RGB
-----
1) VGA: 640 X 480 / 60Hz - YES
2) SVGA: 800 X 600 / 60Hz - YES
3) XGA: 1024 X 768 / 60Hz - YES
4) S-XGA: 1280 X 1024 / 60Hz - YES (Compressed)
5) W-XGA: 1360 X 768 (60Hz) - N/A
6) W-XGA: 1052 X 768 (60/70/75Hz) - N/A

So from their technical specs above it doesn't show that their TV support 1360x768 resolution through VGA.

I would appreciate if you can confirm that the specs above are wrong.

This post has been edited by Ngto: Jan 8 2008, 10:28 PM
Ngto
post Jan 9 2008, 02:34 AM

4,350 posts

Thanks for taking the trouble to post the pics. Very thoughtful of you.

I have a 7600GT too but it has one VGA and one DVI. I had wanted to buy the 3000E model (only 1 HDMI port) about 2 mths back (that time the 3500E not available yet). I opened a separate and specific thread in Audiopile forums asking about the VGA discrepency in Toshiba specs, but no Toshiba users could provide feedback. So I decided not to buy the Toshiba.

If you had been around then, I would be using a Toshiba right now doh.gif

This post has been edited by Ngto: Jan 9 2008, 02:37 AM
Ngto
post Jan 9 2008, 09:43 AM

4,350 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ Jan 9 2008, 09:02 AM)
I can't see the image from my office...does this means the Tosh support 1360 x 768 from VGA??

I'm considering a Toshiba also..
He was using the DVI to VGA adaptor since his Graphic Card doesn't have a VGA port but has 2 DVI. Don't know if direct VGA to VGA will be the same. Should't be any different, but better to check it out just to make sure before buying.

This post has been edited by Ngto: Jan 9 2008, 09:45 AM
Ngto
post Jan 9 2008, 09:47 AM

4,350 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ Jan 9 2008, 09:44 AM)
WHat i meant is i can't see Chrono Breaks imageshack image coz my office firewall block it... blush.gif
Haha I know , my mistake. But I already edited my reply before I saw your current reply.
Ngto
post Jan 15 2008, 05:24 PM

4,350 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ Jan 15 2008, 04:27 PM)
Noob Sharp A53M user alert!!! tongue.gif

One question, i got the Shapr LC32A53M. I don't really understand the 100Hz thingy.

When i press "Display" on the remote, it always either says "50Hz" or "60hz" (depending on the disc). Astro also same. Isn't it suppose to mention 100Hz?? I've already set the "Fine Motion XxXXx" in the advanced setup function. Is this referring to the 100Hz??

There's a demo button hidden in the remote under the cover, i suppose this is  to show the difference between 100Hz and 50Hz??? So far haven't test much...no time yet.

Any sifus care to explain??
I am not a Sharp owner so I am just guessing. Possibly the 50hz/60hz just show the original source signal frequency. If fine motion is turned on, then probably it's already converted to 100hz. But the smoothness is only good for 50Hz sources because of the perfect doubling match. For the 60Hz source I guess it will still have to do pulldown before displaying in 100hz, so it won't be smooth.

Let's wait for feedback from other A53M owners.

Have you tried calling Sharp Malaysia, how to check for sure. Whatabout the User Manual? I am sure there must be some documentation there.

This post has been edited by Ngto: Jan 15 2008, 05:26 PM
Ngto
post Jan 15 2008, 05:58 PM

4,350 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ Jan 15 2008, 05:37 PM)
I dun think anything was mentioned in the manual......maybe i try calling Sharp tomorrow. Tonight I'll play some action movie DVDs and switch on the split screen comparison thingy. Hmm..is our DVDs 50hz or 60hz?? ASTRO is 60Hz as TV is PAL system in Malaysia...so no difference for ASTRO i suppose.

Another question, if my DVD player upscale, will the TV upscale again? I read this in wikipedia:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Video_scaler

So if like that it defeats the purpose of a DVD upscaler? Or the TV smart enough to realized the signal already been upscaled (say 1080i) and just read the signal as raw input without doing anything??  rclxub.gif
Our TV signals are 50Hz (PAL). DVD movies are mostly 60Hz (NTSC).

On your second question, If your LCD TV is 720P (which is the case of the A53M) then

1) if you select 1080i in your DVD player, your TV will scale it to 720P
2) if you select 720P in your DVD player, it will pass through untouched (720P).
3) if you select 480i or 480P in your DVD player, your TV will scale it to 720P.

The rule is whatever compatible signal you input to your LCD TV it will always be scaled to the native resolution.

btw, the purpose of a upscale DVD player is to upscale normal DVD (which is 480P) to 720P/1080i. Although your TV can also scale 480P to 720P , stand alone upscale player normally do the job better. That's why people buy good upscalers e.g Sony 76H, instead of letting the TV do the upscale from a normal (Non upscale) 480i/P DVD player.

This post has been edited by Ngto: Jan 15 2008, 06:14 PM
Ngto
post Jan 15 2008, 07:46 PM

4,350 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Jan 15 2008, 06:45 PM)
the current 100/120HZ promotion is a LCD phenomenon, due to sample and hold technique used to display images on LCD panels causing "motion blur"... don't get confused with refresh rate of source or plasma planel 72Hz technology.. besides for HD there is no 1080i/720p 100HZ player output option... so the current function of "doubling the frequency" is definitely done in LCD TV section... not the source..

Added on January 15, 2008, 6:50 pm

A53M native resolution is 1366x768 (not 720p) , so if you input 1280x720p or 1920x1080i or what ever, it will definitely have to map it to the native rez of 1366x768... there is definitely a final round of scaling done just before displaying it on the panel.. if you input 720p and if you don't want any scaling, i.e mapping it 1:1 (then it should have 4 black bars all around...cos 720p is smaller size than 768p
Well it's not quite 720P, but most people use the term for 768 panels because of the small diff which is negligible. It's understood what I meant.

This post has been edited by Ngto: Jan 15 2008, 07:51 PM
Ngto
post Jan 15 2008, 09:17 PM

4,350 posts

QUOTE(blueautumn @ Jan 15 2008, 07:59 PM)
But if u compare sharp 100Hz and samsung 50Hz for Astro, then u will be able to see the different, the picture in Sharp is better compare to samsung ? do you have any idea?
You are confusing the 50hz/60Hz thing to the post about resolution which I was replying to Matrix. Two Different thing.

Added on January 15, 2008, 9:27 pm
QUOTE(ar188 @ Jan 15 2008, 08:43 PM)
I don't think you can assume such, as for example 720p LCD projectors  will display 720p signal with 1:1 pixel mapping (when overscan disabled) but not so with LCD TVs using 1366x768 panels.. it will not do 1:1 720p mapping (hence a layer of upscaling required inside the TV) so definitely there is a visible difference between the 2 rez mentioned, i.e. 1280x720 and 1366x768...
As I have said before most people refer to 1368x768 panels as 720P panels. Technically of course it's not entirely true (apart from the small diffference), but it's just a matter of relative convenience when they use the term to compare 720P and 1080P. If you want to go on about small technical differences whch your super sharp vision can detect, then good for you rclxms.gif

In the meantime try to help Matrix out with his problem , instead of trying to show how much you know smile.gif

This post has been edited by Ngto: Jan 15 2008, 09:27 PM
Ngto
post Jan 16 2008, 10:39 AM

4,350 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ Jan 16 2008, 09:08 AM)
Thanks to Ngto for helping with my problem. I solved a few mysteries last night i think.

(1) I figured how to upscaled from the Samsung HT already. So far i tested 1080i, not 720p. Is there a difference, frankly, i dunno, unless i have two same system side by side to compare. In fact, i'm not sure if it's any better than my old SONY player at 480p...still, since i paid so much for it, have to believe it's better...ha-ha. btw, i tested with a true D9 disc with DTS soundtrack..DieHard 3. I also realized how crummy those D5 disc is now that i have a big screen...i dun think i wanna buy ahem D5 disc anymore...must look for true ahem D9 disc!!! LOL.

(2) When in upscaled DVD mode, the Sharp TV will disable all the wide screen mode (like Normal, Paranoma, 16:9 etc etc) and it's defaulted to "FULL".

Thanks for taking the time to provide feedback. I learn a lot from feedback smile.gif . Last time I was also looking around for LCD TV and A53M was one of them, but I couldn't get any feedback from users.

Most people do not notice any difference or minimal diff between 720P and 1080i because it is eventually scaled back to the native resolution 720P (or 1366x768 if you want to be exact ) by the TV anyway. Sometimes even if there are noticeable differences it is mostly by chance and the the way it is upscaled by the player.

Perhaps you could try borrowing the Sony 76H or 78H HDMI upscaler from someone and see if the upscale quality is better than your Samsung HT. Samsung upscaler are not very well known for their quality.

Btw, do you have a computer connected to the Sharp A53M. If you do can you let me know about how it is connected (HDMI/DVI or VGA) and what is the resolution and refresh rates it supports. Thanks.

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0190sec    0.18    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 04:34 PM