Investment Perks of being in Joint Management Body, JMB Perks

Matchy
post Mar 25 2021, 09:03 AM

1,328 posts

I'm baffled that ppl nvr read the JMB meeting minutes... most of the issues already been address during those meetings, yet the owners keep complaining during the AGM and wasting everybody's time.
TSKopiMalaysiano
post Mar 25 2021, 09:15 AM

252 posts

QUOTE(Matchy @ Mar 25 2021, 09:03 AM)
I'm baffled that ppl nvr read the JMB meeting minutes... most of the issues already been address during those meetings, yet the owners keep complaining during the AGM and wasting everybody's time.
There is no harm in keeping oneself updated on the issue again and again if it matters.
But I think all unkers and aunties that solely rely on the meetings is for the reason that they are simply not literate enough to understand the minutes.

xlss
post Mar 25 2021, 11:13 AM

169 posts

JMB is indeed very important. But the Management Company is equally important.

Common issues with a failed condos is because JMB try to outsmart Management Company advice. Anything that Management Company proposese that involves money/budget also get shot down (such as preventative maintenance, service & repairs).

Far too often Management Company will be changed once new committee or chairman masuk, then they brought in their cronies and the MO is messed up.

That being said, there are also far too many super lousy Management Company around. Super unprofessional and all they want is just to collect management fees every month.

DragonReine
post Mar 25 2021, 11:26 AM

just another dog on the Internet
2,610 posts

QUOTE(KopiMalaysiano @ Mar 25 2021, 09:15 AM)
There is no harm in keeping oneself updated on the issue again and again if it matters.
But I think all unkers and aunties that solely rely on the meetings is for the reason that they are simply not literate enough to understand the minutes.
to be fair there's a lot of jargon and sometimes legalese in reports that makes it very pening kepala to the average layperson

especially if it's in a language they're not fluent in (English/BM usually) 😅

there's also some who really genuinely clueless about what's happening until you explain it step by step in person cos they cannot visualise it when reading words on paper haha

but also got good percentage people who really Lazy™ and only go there to complain LOLOL
nexona88
post Mar 25 2021, 12:13 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,579 posts

QUOTE(DragonReine @ Mar 25 2021, 11:26 AM)
to be fair there's a lot of jargon and sometimes legalese in reports that makes it very pening kepala to the average layperson

especially if it's in a language they're not fluent in (English/BM usually) 😅

there's also some who really genuinely clueless about what's happening until you explain it step by step in person cos they cannot visualise it when reading words on paper haha

but also got good percentage people who really Lazy™ and only go there to complain LOLOL
the complain kakis is quite big percentage...
like above 50% mostly places I know bruce.gif
thus live up the the concept... Malaysian only know how to complain everything under the sun devil.gif
DragonReine
post Mar 25 2021, 12:20 PM

2,610 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Mar 25 2021, 12:13 PM)
the complain kakis is quite big percentage...
like above 50% mostly places I know  bruce.gif
thus live up the the concept... Malaysian only know how to complain everything under the sun  devil.gif
Many don't read, only listen to rumours, complain banyak but when ask if they got ideas or want to take action suddenly diam 🤣🤣🤣 Mouth lots of action points but hands always tied LOL
TSKopiMalaysiano
post Mar 25 2021, 12:21 PM

252 posts

QUOTE(xlss @ Mar 25 2021, 11:13 AM)
JMB is indeed very important. But the Management Company is equally important.

Common issues with a failed condos is because JMB try to outsmart Management Company advice. Anything that Management Company proposese that involves money/budget also get shot down (such as preventative maintenance, service & repairs).

Far too often Management Company will be changed once new committee or chairman masuk, then they brought in their cronies and the MO is messed up.

That being said, there are also far too many super lousy Management Company around. Super unprofessional and all they want is just to collect management fees every month.
hmm.gif

If u ask me start right away JMB i can only think about cleaning + security + Pool as mentioned. Lift maintenance, structural all that I think condo developer might step in to assist, idk I heard only its co-chaired.

i also dun feel is an easy job la this one, unless there are synergies brows.gif

that also synergies are other committee's core performance (e.g. their business), but I fear kena taken advantage only as idk la but seems committee that are too peaceful just feels like smth wrong inside swhy everybody comfortable (get good paycheck) - rclxub.gif
nexona88
post Mar 25 2021, 12:49 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,579 posts

QUOTE(DragonReine @ Mar 25 2021, 12:20 PM)
Many don't read, only listen to rumours, complain banyak but when ask if they got ideas or want to take action suddenly diam 🤣🤣🤣 Mouth lots of action points but hands always tied LOL
laugh.gif biggrin.gif tongue.gif
well it's like that...
cannot change the mindset
Babizz
post Mar 25 2021, 01:12 PM

12,529 posts

QUOTE(KopiMalaysiano @ Mar 24 2021, 10:21 PM)
hmm.gif

If u ask me start right away JMB i can only think about cleaning + security + Pool as mentioned. Lift maintenance, structural all that I think condo developer might step in to assist, idk I heard only its co-chaired.

i also dun feel is an easy job la this one, unless there are synergies  brows.gif

that also synergies are other committee's core performance (e.g. their business), but I fear kena taken advantage only as idk la but seems committee that are too peaceful just feels like smth wrong inside swhy everybody comfortable (get good paycheck) -  rclxub.gif
Once the condo is handed over to the owners developer is not in the picture ya.
DragonReine
post Mar 25 2021, 01:27 PM

2,610 posts

QUOTE(KopiMalaysiano @ Mar 25 2021, 12:21 PM)
Lift maintenance, structural all that I think condo developer might step in to assist, idk I heard only its co-chaired.

Developer presence on management committee only lasts for as long as strata parcel titles not issued, once the master title has been split up into strata then developer zero involvement in the maintenance and management of the property.

check this out here: https://www.propertyguru.com.my/property-gu...-malaysia-15782

Even then developer only really step in if it involves things that are structural that invokes the clauses for defect liability period.

This post has been edited by DragonReine: Mar 25 2021, 01:29 PM
xlss
post Mar 25 2021, 03:35 PM

169 posts

QUOTE(DragonReine @ Mar 25 2021, 01:27 PM)
Developer presence on management committee only lasts for as long as strata parcel titles not issued, once the master title has been split up into strata then developer zero involvement in the maintenance and management of the property.

check this out here: https://www.propertyguru.com.my/property-gu...-malaysia-15782

Even then developer only really step in if it involves things that are structural that invokes the clauses for defect liability period.
i beg to differ. Developer's liability will cease upon expiry of DLP. After that JMB is on its own. Most of the time commitee members have no idea how to manage & run the building but they refuse to take in Management Company advice. JMB only afraid residents will go harass them if they raise maintenance charges because it will make them unpopular and condo enemy no. 1. Some JMB appreciates the fact that an increase in maintenance charges is unavoidable however getting it passed in AGM is more difficult than landing themselves on to Mars.

its a thankless job. All responsible and committed committee member shall be entitled a nobel prize
TSKopiMalaysiano
post Mar 25 2021, 04:37 PM

252 posts

QUOTE(Babizz @ Mar 25 2021, 01:12 PM)
Once the condo is handed over to the owners developer is not in the picture ya.
QUOTE(DragonReine @ Mar 25 2021, 01:27 PM)

well I checked with lawyers and my agent, seems first will be solely developer handle thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by KopiMalaysiano: Mar 25 2021, 04:38 PM

3 Pages < 1 2 3Top

0.0177sec    0.55    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 04:49 AM