Recommend me a mountain bike, For taman and Kampung use. Not main road

TSmystvearn
post Mar 22 2021, 09:54 PM, updated 5y ago

6,639 posts

Been using my wife's 10 year old mountain bike {mongoose), for riding almost daily around housing and Kampung area with rear child seat to bring my 1+ year old daughter around 6 km/30 mins. Target 10 km. After 3 sets of tyre changes and 3 pedal changes the crank finally worn out and the pedal just slips through. No more screw grooves. Now currently the bike is in the 4th shop since the first 3 cannot repair due to cannot find part. I thought bicycle 3 gear crank was a common thing. The 4th shop quoted rm 300 though will message me later. Current crank is shimano.

If it is more than 300, I might as well buy a new bike? Like to cycle but not into groups and only to keep fit while I bring my daughter around.

Any recommendations on a bike? <2k. I see lots of bikes in 500 on shopee. Seems good. Not to sure though. Any thoughts on this? My height is 5' 10". Been told by a friend that I need a L size bike and 27.5" size. Will mount the rear child seat back on the new bike.

Thanks for the recommendations
pretty23
post Mar 22 2021, 10:01 PM

1,791 posts

2k budget, so it is under hard tail category.

complete bike or DIY bike ?
whyseej00
post Mar 22 2021, 10:05 PM

731 posts

26" wheel should suffice.

If you want quality ones, forget about shopee. Go to a proper bike shops and ask for recommendations

Pacific and BNB are Indonesian made. The rest usually China
CertifiedHomphobe
post Mar 22 2021, 10:21 PM

376 posts

Spend a bit more on a good one.

Polygon xtrada might be what you're looking for.
vhs1
post Mar 23 2021, 01:03 AM

2,830 posts

Better you head to the bicycle shop to test for fit & comfort & to your requirements . Don't encourage to buy online
vhs1
post Mar 23 2021, 01:28 AM

2,830 posts

Oh ya... You can go to Decathlon.

Revoz
post Mar 23 2021, 01:40 AM

679 posts

At ur height, size 27.5 much ideal.
I think better go for under rm1000 budget. Now a day under rm500 mtb no tahan one, especially gear easy rosak, plus heavy cos steel frame.
Many brand out there u can get alloy frame n 11 speed below rm1000. Better go to the bike shop than online. I not sure other budget brand but i can rekemen like raleigh and trinx, quite gooding on their budget line mtb. My view is base on many my friends go for trinx now a day if wanna budget bike, sell like hotcake.

Edit: Sorry just noticed ur budget below rm2k, then u got so many option there. No worry. Just go to the bicycle shop to check it out.

This post has been edited by Revoz: Mar 23 2021, 01:43 AM
Revoz
post Mar 23 2021, 01:43 AM

679 posts

Double post

This post has been edited by Revoz: Mar 23 2021, 01:43 AM
TSmystvearn
post Mar 23 2021, 08:08 AM

6,639 posts

QUOTE(pretty23 @ Mar 22 2021, 10:01 PM)
2k budget, so it is under hard tail category.

complete bike or DIY bike ?
Complete bike. I don't mind buying the parts, but has to be complete.

QUOTE(whyseej00 @ Mar 22 2021, 10:05 PM)
26" wheel should suffice.

If you want quality ones, forget about shopee. Go to a proper bike shops and ask for recommendations

Pacific and BNB are Indonesian made. The rest usually China
I see. OK.

QUOTE(CertifiedHomphobe @ Mar 22 2021, 10:21 PM)

Second person to recommend me this brand. Where is Polygon from?

QUOTE(vhs1 @ Mar 23 2021, 01:03 AM)
Better you head to the bicycle shop to test for fit & comfort & to your requirements . Don't encourage to buy online
ok, will do.

QUOTE(vhs1 @ Mar 23 2021, 01:28 AM)
Oh ya... You can go to Decathlon.
Not sure it is available in Kota Bharu.

QUOTE(Revoz @ Mar 23 2021, 01:40 AM)
At ur height, size 27.5 much ideal.
I think better go for under rm1000 budget. Now a day under rm500 mtb no tahan one, especially gear easy rosak, plus heavy cos steel frame.
Many brand out there u can get alloy frame n 11 speed below rm1000. Better go to the bike shop than online. I not sure other budget brand but i can rekemen like raleigh and trinx, quite gooding on their budget line mtb. My view is base on many my friends go for trinx now a day if wanna budget bike, sell like hotcake.

Edit: Sorry just noticed ur budget below rm2k, then u got so many option there. No worry. Just go to the bicycle shop to check it out.
Ok, will go and see.

Any suggestions on bike shop in Kota Bharu?
Been to Wan's cycle, NAZ bicycle, Lie's bicycle shop. Want to see the rest.
pretty23
post Mar 23 2021, 08:52 AM

1,791 posts

QUOTE(mystvearn @ Mar 23 2021, 08:08 AM)
I see. OK.
ok, will do.
Ok, will go and see.

If you are familiar with assembly bike you can buy frame and group set to DIY a complete bike. This is significant different with those branded complete bike which prefer mix group set and avoid cut cost from it.

Besides, polygon is Indonesia brand. World second large bike manufacture which provide OEM service too.
ah_suknat
post Mar 23 2021, 09:22 AM

whoooooooooooooop
5,170 posts

Sounds like you are a regular rider? Then invest in a good bike.

Saw many people just ride on the hype and bought expensive bikes only to collect dust after a few ride.
CertifiedHomphobe
post Mar 23 2021, 10:00 AM

376 posts

QUOTE(mystvearn @ Mar 23 2021, 08:08 AM)
I see. OK.
ok, will do.
Ok, will go and see.

Polygon is Indonesian.
But don't get deceived by that. Polygon is one of the biggest bicycle brands in the world. Especially prominent in the mtb scene with international sponsorships.
Maria Takagi
post Mar 23 2021, 10:19 AM

1,039 posts

QUOTE(CertifiedHomphobe @ Mar 22 2021, 10:21 PM)

Eh ? I thought Polygon sudah bungkus.

Last time I saw one shop in Subang Jaya selling Polygon bikes from Indonesia.

then closed down.
Maria Takagi
post Mar 23 2021, 10:20 AM

1,039 posts

Spend a bit more lah

3k can get Giant

Hard tail
how many gears ?
I haven't cycle for years since I started family
24 gears I think.
CertifiedHomphobe
post Mar 23 2021, 10:49 AM

376 posts

QUOTE(Maria Takagi @ Mar 23 2021, 10:19 AM)
Eh ? I thought Polygon sudah bungkus.

Last time I saw one shop in Subang Jaya selling Polygon bikes from Indonesia.

then closed down.
Haha who say??

Meletup ada la mang.

Bikes sold out non stop. Their bikes preorder like ps5 already now.
TSmystvearn
post Mar 23 2021, 10:59 AM

6,639 posts

QUOTE(pretty23 @ Mar 23 2021, 08:52 AM)
If you are familiar with assembly bike you can buy frame and group set to DIY a complete bike. This is significant different with those branded complete bike which prefer mix group set and avoid cut cost from it.

Besides, polygon is Indonesia brand. World second large bike manufacture which provide OEM service too.

Now I know.

QUOTE(ah_suknat @ Mar 23 2021, 09:22 AM)
Sounds like you are a regular rider? Then invest in a good bike.

Saw many people just ride on the hype and bought expensive bikes only to collect dust after a few ride.

Yes, but afraid if spend too much or no time, will end up like that.

QUOTE(CertifiedHomphobe @ Mar 23 2021, 10:00 AM)
Polygon is Indonesian.
But don't get deceived by that. Polygon is one of the biggest bicycle brands in the world. Especially prominent in the mtb scene with international sponsorships.
I see. Will look for it.

QUOTE(Maria Takagi @ Mar 23 2021, 10:20 AM)
Spend a bit more lah

3k can get Giant

Hard tail
how many gears ?
I haven't cycle for years since I started family
24 gears I think.
I started riding because my wife brought back her bike from UK. Need to keep fit and keep small one busy-converted it into riding in Taman. I don't think I will ever become those road cyclist with tight clothes etc. Before that, the last time I regular rode a bike was 16 (just before getting my motorcycle). Commuting to school with mtb. Gave bike away to friend 3 years later - since the bike was collecting dust. Afraid of spending a lot more than that actually.
TSmystvearn
post Mar 23 2021, 11:04 AM

6,639 posts

Thanks all for the suggestions. Will look at it.

0.0212sec    0.47    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 03:11 AM