4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

Anyone know about foreign FD?

Hansel
post Oct 25 2023, 12:36 PM

9,347 posts

TOS and gents,... I've browsed thru the spreadsheet last night,... easy to understand, and I'm okay with getting that amt as shown in your speradsheet. I may be wondering why does the final line show am IRR of 2.7% though,... what formula did you use,...

But no issue-lar,... I can go with TOS' calculations and receiving the amt shown at the top cells of the spreadsheet.

To me,... it's indeed 3.50% per annum,... "divided by 365 days, then multiplied by the number of days inside the savings acct." The interest paid out on last day of said mth AND on the 20th of the following mth..

Probably my funds won't last till end-March 2023. I'll be starting to average down into my REITs and into the high-yield bond funds as I hear Feds talks.
Hansel
post Oct 25 2023, 12:41 PM

9,347 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Oct 25 2023, 12:32 PM)
your data confuses old ppl... and hard to validate...  tongue.gif

so i rolled my own... for <25k account, is 3.2% effective rate... 3.33% if they didn't forfeit bonus... so not as bad as you think, but anyways, main issues are initial 1st 20-day offset, flat rate calc not daily rest, and zero bonus if less than previous month...

did not do next tiers... but template is here if you wanna try... biggrin.gif

[attachmentid=11483175]
No bro,... bonus amt references amt in Savings Acct at end-September, 2023. Does not benchmark against previous mth unlike the Maybank Singapore program a few years ago. So, if you've "been lucky" and your amt at end-September was $0, you will ALWAYS be receiving bonus interest till the end of program, being March 2024.
Hansel
post Oct 25 2023, 12:44 PM

9,347 posts

You know, guys,... I feel really pathetic,... fighting and debating over a 3.50% or 2.70% interest rate today, when I used to be earning more than 6% in my REITs earlier.

Think I better spend more time speculating in forex or IPOs to make more capital gains-lar,....
Hansel
post Oct 25 2023, 12:49 PM

9,347 posts

Checked this morning : The SGD is stronger than the Canadian Dollar this morning.

Good news pour moi. My daughter is in Canada now and needed to use CAD,.......

SGD is GOD vs the JPY and the AUD (my needed currencies), and today,... the SGD is beating the CAD too,... yeah,... Majulah,...
Hansel
post Oct 25 2023, 12:52 PM

9,347 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Oct 25 2023, 12:49 PM)
Yup, in the second Excel I posted yesterday I got an IRR of 3.11% for about 2 months of interests with money kept in account and rolling.

A tiny correction is the compounding period is 365 days used by CIMB SG, not 365.25. I think their convention is ACT/365 if I recalled correctly. 

And as what Hansel says, it's based on September month-end balance.

So from what we see, it's indeed not 3.5% but the drop in 40ish basis points does not explain the low 2.7% p.a. IRR I am getting.

I am suspecting that the drop from 3.1/3.2% to 2.7% is probably also because we treat it as a saving account and hence money moving in and out reduces the IRR. What do you think?
Sorry bro,.. I'm out of this discussion,... you win,... thumbsup.gif
Hansel
post Oct 25 2023, 01:03 PM

9,347 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Oct 25 2023, 12:55 PM)
this one here is what i was referring to...

so, if maintain account, you'll get the final bonus in April, this makes the effective interest 3.33% max for <25k account throughout campaign period...

anyways...
Hmm,... your reference above says : PREVIOUS month-end balance.

But my eg says COMPARISON month-end balance !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Hansel
post Oct 25 2023, 04:23 PM

9,347 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Oct 25 2023, 01:04 PM)
This is for new customers... You need to check the table for existing customers.

There is a slight difference in the way they define the month-end balance criterion.
It's harder for new customers. They have to have incremental mth-after-mth.
Hansel
post Oct 25 2023, 08:14 PM

9,347 posts

QUOTE(xander2k8 @ Oct 25 2023, 06:42 PM)
CAD drop now because of oil prices and it is good to buy some if you need the hedge the risks full blown war soon
It it's a full-blown war,... could be better,.... I'd like to buy the CAD cheaper.
Hansel
post Oct 26 2023, 11:54 AM

9,347 posts

QUOTE(abcn1n @ Oct 26 2023, 02:29 AM)
Hansel What forex broker is good? Have been wondering whether to go into this (most likely won't be anytime soon if I ever go into forex but good to know of one if I ever do). Thanks.
Hi bro,...

I do forex programs with my private bank. One needs to qualify and join the bank first. Then,.. the RM 'might' select the client to participate.
Hansel
post Oct 26 2023, 02:57 PM

9,347 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Oct 26 2023, 02:23 PM)
His bank's traders are taking position against him and he still doesn't realize that. brows.gif
They can do that,.. but I'm still highly in winning position. Read my previous posts, I'm still holding on to different tranches of the AUDJPY.
Hansel
post Oct 26 2023, 02:59 PM

9,347 posts

QUOTE(xander2k8 @ Oct 26 2023, 01:16 PM)
Btw the full blown wars starts 🤦‍♀️ it is too late CAD will fly already

CAD price is highly correlated to oil prices as they are major producers of the commodity and coupled with BOC not planning to raise interests with inflation is highly stable and not going up expect the loonie to fly when ground assault starting
I have a contrarian opinion,.......With the interest rates so high now, then we 'couple' this with a fullblown war in Gaza. the world will be very cautious, economic activities will slow down drastically,... oil demand will drop.

Resulting in oil price plunging.
Hansel
post Nov 1 2023, 12:59 PM

9,347 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Nov 1 2023, 12:02 PM)
No issue,... AUDJPY is at 98++ now,... I don't even remember my entry prices,... but I do see my positions (entered over a few tranches) having many green zeroes at the back,... even after servicing my loan interests,...

I might take profit at year-end,... thot of taking profit two days ago before BOJ Mtg yesterday but glad that I did not.
Hansel
post Nov 1 2023, 01:52 PM

9,347 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Nov 1 2023, 01:06 PM)
Oh my god.. You take up your banker's loan offerings...

Not too long ago HNWIs take up loans from private banks to buy Credit Suisse AT1 bonds... 6% yield not enough back then apparently... You know what happened thereafter.

Yes, I know,... I was staying in Sydney for three mths when the above happened this year,.... I am wary of my currency pairs,...

By the way,... just to let you know : you are right in your calculations on the interest to be paid out for that,... emm,... you call is 'fake' FD by CIMB SG. I received exactly $51.16 for my 100K today,... thumbsup.gif

I won't monitor anymore after this,... better do other more 'profitable' things,... I monitored the above just to share with you and to express my appreciation and gratitude for your spreadsheet.

Thank you again.

Edited by adding,..... I'll track again on the bonus interest, but after witnessing the above, I think it shld be correct. I'll have to pump in more money or my funds will be sitting idle,...

How do you know if I don't have a 'U' in front of the HNWI ??? biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by Hansel: Nov 1 2023, 01:54 PM
Hansel
post Nov 1 2023, 07:45 PM

9,347 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Nov 1 2023, 05:28 PM)
Wow you have at least 30 million USD... thumbup.gif

Next time you come to SG, drive your Ferrari come to NTU and pick me up... laugh.gif Then we visit your good-class bungalow in Tanglin or Bukit Timah laugh.gif

Most of my funds are used to boost my financial standing in the bank,... not outside of the bank,.... biggrin.gif
Hansel
post Nov 2 2023, 07:57 PM

9,347 posts

I'm getting keen on Stashaway too,... thank you, folks,....
Hansel
post Nov 3 2023, 12:22 PM

9,347 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Nov 3 2023, 09:43 AM)
just as you have no proof they do... biggrin.gif

but against the law is one... rogue employee notwithstanding...

unless is a systemic and systematic program to front run clients... paltry sum ah from bro Hansel not worth the risk...
QUOTE(TOS @ Nov 3 2023, 10:01 AM)
https://www.nytimes.com/2016/07/21/business...ent-orders.html

https://www.nytimes.com/2009/03/05/business...specialist.html

https://www.ft.com/content/9a09df46-4f18-11...c5-db83e98a590a

Some examples above are from brokerage firms and corporate banking side, can't find a private bank example. But in theory it's not impossible, especially for banks with multiple banking segments in one umbrella like JP Morgan (which has private banking, corporate banking, investment banking etc).

This one comes close: https://www.euromoney.com/article/b12kkwwzh...t-the-beginning

Front-running is very common actually, even in Malaysia.
I know of all the above, bros,...

QUOTE(dwRK @ Nov 3 2023, 11:51 AM)
bro... check the dates oh...

every 'crime' is legal... until it becomes illegal...

every law that is passed is because of some shit hit the fan...

but just like polis advice me last time... can speed dun get caught... wink.gif

but front running still rampant on crypto exchanges... got bots doing it... amusing to watch but frustrating to trade... hahaha...
But if I'm still winning,.. I guessed I'm better than their rows and rows of analysts and 'manipulators' sitting in the office.
Hansel
post Nov 5 2023, 02:48 PM

9,347 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Nov 4 2023, 12:43 PM)
bro TOS still young... lots of energy to sweat the small stuff... biggrin.gif

internalization lah... fake 3% lah... bank front running lah... hahahahaha...

edit... forgot to add... pidm/bnm cannot protect mca lah... hahahahaha...

but still good lah... share what he learn...

You are right, bro,... but I think,... he's also trying to 'extract info/knowledge by releasing catalysts to stir-up conversations",.... biggrin.gif

Better not tell too much too,.... Slow down his pace of learning a bit,...
Hansel
post Nov 5 2023, 02:49 PM

9,347 posts

...have a good weekend, bro DWRK and other bros too.
Hansel
post Nov 6 2023, 03:24 PM

9,347 posts

QUOTE(abcn1n @ Nov 5 2023, 03:50 PM)
You are very naughty.  smile.gif  TOS is a nice person. I am personally very grateful for the help he has rendered here
That would be undeniable,... thumbsup.gif
Hansel
post Nov 11 2023, 10:59 AM

9,347 posts

QUOTE(CommodoreAmiga @ Nov 11 2023, 10:13 AM)
What are SG FD rates like now? CIMB is 3.4% for 6 mths, 3.35% for 9 mths and 3.15% (puke.gif) for 12 mths.
Rates are dropping as the tenure increases,....Futures are pricing in a rate cut,...

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0437sec    0.93    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 08:17 PM