[ Outline ] · Standard · Linear+

> Seeking Opinions about Epiphone Les Paul 100

TSKagekiyo
post Aug 29 2007, 01:38 AM, updated 19y ago

572 posts

Heya Peeps,

I've been reading through this board for quite sometime already and i'm in midst of deciding on whether i should go for the Epiphone Les Paul 100 as my very first guitar. My second choice is a Ibanez GRG 150, btw.

Being a complete beginner (although i do know how to play 'Nothing Else Matters' by Metallica on Acoustic relatively well) and making a shift from drumming, i would like to seek opinions about this particular model.

Judging from the numerous positive reviews i've read while doing research over the net on websites such as Ultimate Guitar.com and other miscellaneous sites, it seems that this budget model has almost all the stuff i would love to have for my first E-guitar. The thing is quite heavy though, thanks to the mahagony body!

However, i would love to know what you guys(who own this model or have played it) have to say about this model such as its tone, its build quality and reliability.

As for me, i lean towards indie rock(i think fender stratocasters is more appropriate for this genre), hard rock, alternative, jazz and the blues. From what i read, this guitar has proven to be versatile at playing almost any genre out there.

What amp model will you guys recommend to me to pair up with this baby? I'm looking at a 15-watt one in the meantime as foresee myself doing alot practicing at home before i go jamming in studios or perhaps later, on stage(!) one day.

Lastly, i would like to know what is the effect(sound) like if i modify the humbacks(to better ones) or lower the strings. Also, do the number of frets matter much? For example, i notice some Ibanez or ESP models have 24 instead of 22.

Oh, i forgot to mention i'm a big fan of Dreamtheater, John Petrucci, Steve Vai and his bassist, Phillip Boyle and Joe Satriani!

Pardon me if this general post is meant to be in a completely different section. If it is, i'll relocate it to the appropriate topic post.

Thanks guys!

This post has been edited by Kagekiyo: Aug 29 2007, 01:39 AM

Posts in this topic
Kagekiyo   Seeking Opinions about Epiphone Les Paul 100   Aug 29 2007, 01:38 AM
blacktrix   If you want to shred? Forget about the LP-100........   Aug 29 2007, 01:42 AM
Kagekiyo   Thanks for the quick reply, dude. I read you...   Aug 29 2007, 01:50 AM
Rossie   Maybe this will sound irrelevant, but as your favo...   Aug 29 2007, 01:45 AM
Dead Eye   and when u have decided, kindly pm me for prices i...   Aug 29 2007, 01:49 AM
Kagekiyo   Thanks for the headup. I've bookmarked your...   Aug 29 2007, 01:55 AM
fatboythin   Yea, an RG would be more suited since Steve Vai an...   Aug 29 2007, 01:53 AM
Kagekiyo   Yes, if i do plan to go into shredding, i do thi...   Aug 29 2007, 02:05 AM
Dead Eye   no prob bro, so incase that ur eyeing on buying a ...   Aug 29 2007, 02:02 AM
Dead Eye   how bout this one bro, RG321ex, for RM1000 :)   Aug 29 2007, 02:13 AM
Rossie   TS: Great deal. Get that!   Aug 29 2007, 09:06 AM
fatboythin   The Squier Tele is not too bad a guitar, you might...   Aug 29 2007, 02:16 AM
Snipe_EX`   own the lp100 for less than a week and then conver...   Aug 29 2007, 02:43 AM
blacktrix   Agreed to that....... I semi-regretted getting the...   Aug 29 2007, 10:18 AM
Everdying   dont la get RG321ex. you want the RG321MH, mahogan...   Aug 29 2007, 10:25 AM
fatboythin   Haha, RG321MH discontinued lah bro. Very hard to f...   Aug 29 2007, 12:17 PM
freakfingers12   Discontinued?I thought Bentley selling for RM1100...   Aug 29 2007, 03:50 PM
Rossie   Yeah... But RM1k for a new RG321 is a darn good de...   Aug 29 2007, 12:36 PM
SweetTooth   you want a 2nd hand rg350? i THINK my friend wants...   Aug 29 2007, 05:02 PM
fatboythin   Its been discontinued for quite a while. I don...   Aug 29 2007, 05:08 PM
Everdying   arent bringing in any more stock doesnt mean its...   Aug 29 2007, 08:27 PM
fatboythin   Grr, darn Bentley. I wanted that guitar so bad. I...   Aug 29 2007, 10:09 PM
PetroToxin   Did you try Woh Fatt? I remember seeing one qui...   Aug 29 2007, 10:23 PM
Everdying   the LP-100 should still be in woh fatt. IIRC the p...   Aug 29 2007, 11:29 PM
asura_86   there's always the S/SA/SZ series that provide...   Aug 29 2007, 11:36 PM
fatboythin   Though the S series body is too thin, even if it i...   Aug 29 2007, 11:45 PM
Everdying   oh man, it has started, the descent into crappines...   Aug 29 2007, 11:52 PM
fatboythin   Basswood?! Don't get it dude! Haha.   Aug 30 2007, 12:01 AM

0.0154sec    1.16    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 06:36 PM