Q&A Seeking Opinions about Epiphone Les Paul 100

TSKagekiyo
post Aug 29 2007, 01:38 AM, updated 19y ago

572 posts

Heya Peeps,

I've been reading through this board for quite sometime already and i'm in midst of deciding on whether i should go for the Epiphone Les Paul 100 as my very first guitar. My second choice is a Ibanez GRG 150, btw.

Being a complete beginner (although i do know how to play 'Nothing Else Matters' by Metallica on Acoustic relatively well) and making a shift from drumming, i would like to seek opinions about this particular model.

Judging from the numerous positive reviews i've read while doing research over the net on websites such as Ultimate Guitar.com and other miscellaneous sites, it seems that this budget model has almost all the stuff i would love to have for my first E-guitar. The thing is quite heavy though, thanks to the mahagony body!

However, i would love to know what you guys(who own this model or have played it) have to say about this model such as its tone, its build quality and reliability.

As for me, i lean towards indie rock(i think fender stratocasters is more appropriate for this genre), hard rock, alternative, jazz and the blues. From what i read, this guitar has proven to be versatile at playing almost any genre out there.

What amp model will you guys recommend to me to pair up with this baby? I'm looking at a 15-watt one in the meantime as foresee myself doing alot practicing at home before i go jamming in studios or perhaps later, on stage(!) one day.

Lastly, i would like to know what is the effect(sound) like if i modify the humbacks(to better ones) or lower the strings. Also, do the number of frets matter much? For example, i notice some Ibanez or ESP models have 24 instead of 22.

Oh, i forgot to mention i'm a big fan of Dreamtheater, John Petrucci, Steve Vai and his bassist, Phillip Boyle and Joe Satriani!

Pardon me if this general post is meant to be in a completely different section. If it is, i'll relocate it to the appropriate topic post.

Thanks guys!

This post has been edited by Kagekiyo: Aug 29 2007, 01:39 AM
blacktrix
post Aug 29 2007, 01:42 AM

Scott Pilgrim Vs The World!
13,063 posts

If you want to shred? Forget about the LP-100......
If you need a semi-heavy sounding guitar? Go for an LP Standard.....

LP-100 would only sound decent with new pickups......
I swapped mine out for EMGs and it was my work horse for many a year.....

I now use it as my down-tuned guitar (all the way to Dm) with thick strings and put through a wall of overdrive..... sounds good for a metal guitar.

Would suggest maybe an Ibanez RG series guitars instead for your budget.......
Rossie
post Aug 29 2007, 01:45 AM

Mr. JR
1,170 posts

Maybe this will sound irrelevant, but as your favourite guitarists suggest maybe you'll need a 24 fret guitar?

An Ibanez RG would better suit your description...

Dead Eye
post Aug 29 2007, 01:49 AM

Where Musician Get Their Gears
677 posts

and when u have decided, kindly pm me for prices
i'm offering good price smile.gif
TSKagekiyo
post Aug 29 2007, 01:50 AM

572 posts

QUOTE(blacktrix @ Aug 29 2007, 01:42 AM)
If you want to shred? Forget about the LP-100......
If you need a semi-heavy sounding guitar? Go for an LP Standard.....

LP-100 would only sound decent with new pickups......
I swapped mine out for EMGs and it was my work horse for many a year.....

I now use it as my down-tuned guitar (all the way to Dm) with thick strings and put through a wall of overdrive..... sounds good for a metal guitar.

Would suggest maybe an Ibanez RG series guitars instead for your budget.......
Thanks for the quick reply, dude. I read you're quite a hardcore supporter for the Gibsons and Epiphone models, eh? Haha

Although i've listed rock as my primary focus, i don't think i'll be shredding anytime soon(i think i would need a whammy bar for that aswell if i'm going to emulate Steve Vai). From experience(even though i have little), i think i'm more geared towards being a rhythmic guitarist. If so, do you guys think that this model will be appropriate if i'm going to be a rhythmic guitar player? What about normal strumming?

I forgot to add, i got quoted RM 880 for this model. Discounted to RM 830, which i think is a very reasonable price for this entry model.

This post has been edited by Kagekiyo: Aug 29 2007, 01:53 AM
fatboythin
post Aug 29 2007, 01:53 AM

LYN Insomniac
816 posts

Yea, an RG would be more suited since Steve Vai and JP are more shred oriented, which would be really hard to do on the LP. And make sure you get a hardtail RG. The ones in that price range that come with trems are a real pain in the a$$.

But if you're set with an LP, at LEAST get the Epi LP Standard. With a pickup swap it could last you a long time. Pair any of those guitars with a Roland Microcube. Thats the best i can recommend for your budget. smile.gif
TSKagekiyo
post Aug 29 2007, 01:55 AM

572 posts

QUOTE(Dead Eye @ Aug 29 2007, 01:49 AM)
and when u have decided, kindly pm me for prices
i'm offering good price smile.gif
Thanks for the headup.

I've bookmarked your sales thread.

Dead Eye
post Aug 29 2007, 02:02 AM

677 posts

no prob bro, so incase that ur eyeing on buying a certain guitar, just pm me or post at my thread. i'll offer u my price smile.gif
TSKagekiyo
post Aug 29 2007, 02:05 AM

572 posts

QUOTE(fatboythin @ Aug 29 2007, 01:53 AM)
Yea, an RG would be more suited since Steve Vai and JP are more shred oriented, which would be really hard to do on the LP. And make sure you get a hardtail RG. The ones in that price range that come with trems are a real pain in the a$$.

But if you're set with an LP, at LEAST get the Epi LP Standard. With a pickup swap it could last you a long time. Pair any of those guitars with a Roland Microcube. Thats the best i can recommend for your budget. smile.gif
Yes, if i do plan to go into shredding, i do think a Ibanez will suit that style of play.

However, because i'm looking for a guitar below the RM 1000 price range, my choices are somewhat limited....

Since you highlighted the RG series, i believe a RG150 or RG270 will hover below RM 1000 if i'm not mistakened. If so, which should i go for then? A 270 or 150?Oh, i just want to add that the RG 350DX looks gorgeous in person and sounds wicked too. But that baby costs RM 1400, if i saw correctly.

Bentleys now is having some wicked discounts up to 50%. Spotted some nice Fenders. When i saw the Squire Telecaster California Series going for Rm 570, i was surprised.
Dead Eye
post Aug 29 2007, 02:13 AM

677 posts

how bout this one bro, RG321ex, for RM1000 smile.gif
fatboythin
post Aug 29 2007, 02:16 AM

LYN Insomniac
816 posts

The Squier Tele is not too bad a guitar, you might want to check that out. With a budget below 1k, you're really limiting yourself man. Why don't you try out some SX guitars? Good, cheap beginner guitars.

Dont really know the diff between those 2 RGs, but i don't suppose they're much different anyway. I have the RG370DX, which is like the RG250's twin brother. Awesome guitar besides the trem and stock pickups. Setting up the trem and changing tunings/strings really is a chore. After a while you just get sick of it. And the Edge 3 trem has quite a short lifespan, you will most prob have to swap it for an OFR later on which is going t set you back even more money.

But yeah, avoid any trem equiped RGs below the RM2k range.

EDIT: Dead Eye hit the nail right on the head. Get that guitar, you wont regret it. Best choice for your budget. Just swap out for some better pickups later on when you have money and you'll have yourself a good guitar. And besides, he's giving you a really good price already. thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by fatboythin: Aug 29 2007, 02:19 AM
Snipe_EX`
post Aug 29 2007, 02:43 AM

128 posts

own the lp100 for less than a week and then convert to a tele. i would really recommend the Ibanez RGs. personally dont like the gios! also stay away from squier affinity! AND save some money for a good entry amps! even if your guitar is not that great, a good amp can sure cover it!
Rossie
post Aug 29 2007, 09:06 AM

Mr. JR
1,170 posts

QUOTE(Dead Eye @ Aug 29 2007, 02:13 AM)
how bout this one bro, RG321ex, for RM1000  smile.gif
TS: Great deal. Get that!
blacktrix
post Aug 29 2007, 10:18 AM

Scott Pilgrim Vs The World!
13,063 posts

Agreed to that.......
I semi-regretted getting the LP-100, but at my budget that time, I think it did the job.........

But since you want to open your world to guitars, get that RG 321ex...... good price and a better guitar for versatility.

Get the LP-100 only if you just want a down and dirty guitar....... with the proper modifications of course.......and that will add to the cost again.
Everdying
post Aug 29 2007, 10:25 AM

Two is One and One is None.
30,735 posts

dont la get RG321ex.
you want the RG321MH, mahogany power tongue.gif
fatboythin
post Aug 29 2007, 12:17 PM

LYN Insomniac
816 posts

Haha, RG321MH discontinued lah bro. Very hard to find.
Rossie
post Aug 29 2007, 12:36 PM

Mr. JR
1,170 posts

Yeah... But RM1k for a new RG321 is a darn good deal thumbup.gif
freakfingers12
post Aug 29 2007, 03:50 PM

Honor thy father
2,283 posts

QUOTE(fatboythin @ Aug 29 2007, 12:17 PM)
Haha, RG321MH discontinued lah bro. Very hard to find.
Discontinued?I thought Bentley selling for RM1100?
SweetTooth
post Aug 29 2007, 05:02 PM

2,650 posts

you want a 2nd hand rg350? i THINK my friend wants to sell his(half a year old) to get a jackson dk2
fatboythin
post Aug 29 2007, 05:08 PM

LYN Insomniac
816 posts

QUOTE(freakfingers12 @ Aug 29 2007, 03:50 PM)
Discontinued?I thought Bentley selling for RM1100?
Its been discontinued for quite a while. I don't think Bentley sells them. I wanted to buy one during the new year, they told me its discontinued and they aren't bringing in any more stock. Maybe the one you saw was the new model, the RG321EX. That one is basswood and has EMG DESIGNED(important word!) pickups if i'm not mistaken. The RG321MH was mahogany.

But i might be mistaken. If you find an MH, get that instead of the EX. Everdying is right, mahogany power! Haha.

This post has been edited by fatboythin: Aug 29 2007, 05:16 PM

0.0190sec    0.49    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 12:50 AM