Q&A Composing solos, HOW?!

TSfatboythin
post Aug 29 2007, 01:02 AM, updated 19y ago

LYN Insomniac
816 posts

Sorry if this has been done before, the search bar is kinda causing problems, don't know whats wrong. I was just wondering, how do you write a solo that will be in key with a song? I've got a few compositions (songs) of my own, but i feel like they need a few solos to spice them up. How do you know what key a song is in? And how would you go about composing a solo?

Sorry, but the only aspect of guitar that i'm 'guitarded' in is theory. The only scales i know are pentatonic and harmonic minor, but all i do is play them in their 'box' shapes. Anytime i improv, i just mess around within that 1 box. Gets pretty repetitive after a while. Don't get how i can connect different 'boxes' across the fretboard. I can sweep, tap and all that stuff but i just don't know how to utilise theory to create a solo. Haven't had a lesson in my life, don't think i'll be able to attend any also for the time being, busy with uni. Can someone point me in the right direction? Thanks a lot. icon_question.gif
RustReaver4D1
post Aug 29 2007, 01:14 PM

1,100 posts

wow... if you can sweep, tap etc. then soloing shouldn't be a problem so long as you know what notes you're playing...

you can probably wikipedia or google some scales etc and match them to the notes on the fretboard, then you'll know which notes are "in key" and which aren't... course you could just play whatever you want and if anyone gives you grief, just tell them that they're too n00b to understand your music... brows.gif laugh.gif
zeroglyph
post Aug 29 2007, 03:05 PM

woot!!! senior member now?
1,255 posts

QUOTE(RustReaver4D1 @ Aug 29 2007, 01:14 PM)
... course you could just play whatever you want and if anyone gives you grief, just tell them that they're too n00b to understand your music...  brows.gif  laugh.gif
laugh.gif damn funny but it's actually true.

solo is an improvisation of scales plus creativity and add in some talents and skills. it's like programming. if you're a master in PHP, it does not mean you can actually create good looking web page.

you seems to have talents,skills and scale knowledge. but do you have the creativity?

also what seems creative to you, may not be undestandable to others. laugh.gif . so all this jibberish means that the quoted statement is true. doh.gif

This post has been edited by zeroglyph: Aug 29 2007, 03:29 PM
TSfatboythin
post Aug 29 2007, 03:16 PM

LYN Insomniac
816 posts

Haha, ok, i think i get what you're trying to say. Yeah, i gotta go get my creative juices flowing a little, then maybe i can come up with something. Maybe i'll just go google some articles on keys and such. Thanks guys.
freakfingers12
post Aug 29 2007, 03:42 PM

Honor thy father
2,283 posts

For me,I just simply mess around with my guitar until I find something that sounds cool.Took a lotta time for me to do that though,so I'd recommend to learn some theory.
blacktrix
post Aug 29 2007, 03:46 PM

Scott Pilgrim Vs The World!
13,063 posts

Learning a few licks won't do harm too.......
Most great guitarist has lots of licks under their sleeve when it comes to improv spots. Listen to Slash, Zakk, SRV, Angus Young..... and you'll get ideas for some great licks.
RustReaver4D1
post Aug 29 2007, 04:06 PM

1,100 posts

Yeah, and since you've already got sweeping/tapping under your belt, you can just fool around with those...

Like if you're playing in the key of Em, just throw in a few E min sweeps here and there... or tap out the E min arpeggio (E G B)... heck, if you know both the major and minor sweep patterns, you're pretty much set already... smile.gif

My RM0.24...
TSfatboythin
post Aug 29 2007, 04:41 PM

LYN Insomniac
816 posts

Ok, thanks for all the help guys, i'm getting a few ideas already for the solos already. Cheers. biggrin.gif
led_zep_freak
post Aug 29 2007, 06:01 PM

5,231 posts

You could start with the major and minor pentatonics, arpeggios and then move on to major scale and its modes.

QUOTE(RustReaver4D1 @ Aug 29 2007, 01:14 PM)
course you could just play whatever you want and if anyone gives you grief, just tell them that they're too n00b to understand your music...  brows.gif  laugh.gif
Or you could call it a jazz-inspired death metal but notsofusion solo.
RustReaver4D1
post Aug 29 2007, 06:04 PM

1,100 posts

QUOTE(led_zep_freak @ Aug 29 2007, 06:01 PM)
You could start with the major and minor pentatonics, arpeggios and then move on to major scale and its modes.
Or you could call it a jazz-inspired death metal but notsofusion solo.
why bother? he can just call it prog... hehe... jk! icon_rolleyes.gif
gapnap
post Aug 29 2007, 07:16 PM

1,782 posts

my old trick ...improvise your solo by using different technique !

bend.. and slow stuff --> get more aggressive and starts legato-ing! --> alternate picking --->sweeps picking ---> end with a bend

HELL YEA ! tongue.gif

anyway...

just wanna let you know ...

1. there is nothing wrong playing inside the box
2.there is nothing wrong playing inside the box
3.there is nothing wrong playing inside the box

this idea of "playing inside the box" ..is more of a...

"you are a noob , you play in the box" " i am pro , i play all around the fretboard" mentality ...

which isn't true...i can name you countless of songs .. guitar Gods played "inside the box" ..from For the love of God , tender surrender ,wonderful slippery thing , greg howe's / shawn lane's...etc..

in the end..we forget about the purpose of playing guitar... we just wanna have fun and we wanna hear something nice smile.gif

in fact , so far i found the pentatonic box the NICEST area to play solo..the feeling of the pulls and vibrato is just right on ! wink.gif

This post has been edited by gapnap: Aug 29 2007, 07:28 PM
RustReaver4D1
post Aug 29 2007, 07:21 PM

1,100 posts

wei... deep mou... rclxms.gif

err... what are "pulls"? blink.gif
gapnap
post Aug 29 2007, 07:26 PM

1,782 posts

QUOTE(RustReaver4D1 @ Aug 29 2007, 07:21 PM)
wei... deep mou...  rclxms.gif

err... what are "pulls"?  blink.gif
ah..sorry..noobie like me..forgot the formal term..

pulls = bends la...hahaha..okok i go edit
asura_86
post Aug 29 2007, 07:46 PM

**blank**
1,217 posts

i only know pentatonics, what i did was just connect the 'dots' or notes from one box to another one, run them from the 1st pattern till the last, from the top strings till the last...it may not sound very dynamic, but at least i know what i'm doing laugh.gif

and oh yeah, i also cheat by tapping the penta notes, when i run out of things to play... sweat.gif sweat.gif
SweetTooth
post Aug 29 2007, 08:14 PM

2,650 posts

the ending of the solo for Everytime I Die by Children of Bodom has a very nice pent box run (stolen from zakk wylde iirc) thumbup.gif
still trying to nail that part for months now..
sean392
post Aug 29 2007, 08:14 PM

Hirano Aya-Tard
6,339 posts

i know.... nothing....
T_T

blacktrix
post Aug 29 2007, 08:15 PM

Scott Pilgrim Vs The World!
13,063 posts

Pentatonics are always a great scale if you're playing Rock, Metal or Blues..... it just FITS.....

Which is why I rely TOO much on it already........

SweetTooth
post Aug 29 2007, 08:25 PM

2,650 posts

my theory knowledge is horrible.. dont even know the notes on the fretboard yet haha
echobrainproject
post Aug 29 2007, 08:48 PM

4,765 posts

one of the best advice for playing good improv solo is from bb king himself. search guitar mags for interviews with him.

oh ya, train your ears too. that has really helped me alot especially when improvising on slower solos where melodies are very important.

take a look at asura. first jam session he didnt really play much. the next jam session he was kicking trio of terror's asses already. you should ask him how he improved so fast.
led_zep_freak
post Aug 29 2007, 09:15 PM

5,231 posts

Ohhh speaking of good advice on soloing, here's a great one:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CKhSzbhn_oo

Even though he only touches on the fundamentals, these are points that a lot of us tend to forget when we solo. biggrin.gif Watch it til the end, especially the end! Freaking hilarious! laugh.gif

This post has been edited by led_zep_freak: Aug 29 2007, 09:17 PM

0.0152sec    0.77    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 11:27 PM