will you be going to the talk at sunway end of this month?
Public Mutual, PM/PB series fund
Jun 1 2009, 10:31 PM
1,504 posts Joined: Apr 2007 From: Petaling Jaya |
will you be going to the talk at sunway end of this month?
Jun 1 2009, 10:50 PM
venue: sunway resort hotel & spa
date: saturday, 27 june 2009 time: 2:30pm - 5:30pm as usual, it's a 2 program talk (or the so called seminars), by public mutual. i went for it a couple of times but i find it rather "lonely" as i know more working pmutual staff there than other attendees.. i once tried to strike a conversation with this lady siting beside me.. it's tough, there is this seemingly invisible apprehension when dealing with strangers there.. maybe because, you need to have money to be there.. and folks are protectively when it comes to this turf about personal money. This post has been edited by lwb: Jun 1 2009, 11:44 PM |
Jun 11 2009, 07:47 PM
it's sad that you don't even know why you're loosing money.. perhaps it would be more unfortunate if and when you feel you had enough of loosing money and decided to quit unit trust.. your experience in this asset class has been marred.
(you've actually and already broke one of the cardinal rules about investing.. to begin with QUOTE(lieck @ Jun 11 2009, 12:45 AM) hi there.. Just want to ask... im already invest about rm 10k in Public Ittikal Fund for a year.. and when i call PB.. the amount has decrease to rm 7k.. is it normal in unit trust?? what i have to do? if im just waiting for several years is it the fund will be loss? |
Jun 13 2009, 11:38 AM
it's a terrible no-no.. to have insurance+investment or purchase investment from an insurance company.. goodness grief, how gullible can you guys get?
Jun 13 2009, 05:16 PM
that's the first cardinal rule of investing you've broken.. putting money into something that you have no idea about.
yes, unit trust is a viable asset to invest.. i took nearly 2 years to learn about it before i plonk down my savings onto it. i've made exceptionally good money this year from unit trust... my 6 years of investment in this asset has not put me in a loss position at each calendar year's close. but i guess this statement is a sucker for you to indulge without any discernment towards the rule of the game in unit trust. QUOTE(lieck @ Jun 12 2009, 01:45 AM) erm sorry to say.. im really no experience with this asset.. so, could u please explain to me.. so that i can learn something from u.. This post has been edited by lwb: Jun 13 2009, 05:19 PM(im join this unit trust becos my boss said this is the best place to save and invest my money) |
Jun 14 2009, 03:04 PM
which is more important? the investment or the investor itself?..
if you pick the latter, your better chance is to invest in some financial education.. if you pick the earlier one.. here's a saying that perhaps you can consider "if you've just realized that you've dug yourself in a hole.. dig no further".. |
Jun 14 2009, 10:08 PM
market's at/near the bottom? i highly doubt so.. some funds have shot up in excess of 45% since march..
Jun 15 2009, 01:30 PM
speculating? well.. the best fund to invest using kwsp now is probably "hor fund"
Jun 15 2009, 09:43 PM
the market has hit bottom? well, unless you're referring to something over 3mths ago.. i don't see the relevance of what you're saying here.
however.. i got a feeling a "w" is on the way.. so, you might have a new bottom to put it back to relevance again |
Jun 16 2009, 11:39 AM
Jun 16 2009, 12:50 PM
the rules of the game in unit trust has changed..
i see that you're still sticking to the old rule of holding it 'long-long'.. |
Jun 17 2009, 10:32 AM
i didn't say it for the sake of seeking self praise..
i read several articles on managed funds and noted on the changed perspective.. i've got in excess of 5 years in the managed fund industry, both professionally and longer as an hands on investor. i disagreed with what i've read initially.. but i learnt to test it and i was enormously surprised, i'd say. a lot of rules changed in life.. some are subtle but unfortunately, alot of people are not aware of the changes and continue to accept the retail advice.. because it's "safe" of course, you can retain your own opinion.. |
Jun 17 2009, 06:29 PM
i'm sorry to have left out this element.. which is "read critically".. not just any casual reading.
your experience is no doubt valid and shall enrich your life.. i'm not dumb-witted enough not to recognize the value of mistakes. so long as we've done our due dilligence (with varying methodologies/principles/past experiences/etc).. it's good enough. that's the essence of a good steward of God's given resources.. which in this context, is money. |
Jul 19 2009, 03:53 PM
feel a little worried on the liquidity in china..
i hope china wouldn't do something drastic (like what thailand has done in the past).. but then again, draconian and drastic measure will create panic.. and in moment of panic, good opportunity presents itself.. right? aaaih.. it's like the pain before the child is born. Added on July 19, 2009, 3:58 pmwaaa... multimillionaire de!! this is quite a clear case of error.. mine comes in multi-million on the fixed income asset allocation too. lets see if pmutual will follow up with an apology letter.. or i'll write to their ceo about this QUOTE(wankongyew @ Jul 18 2009, 12:33 PM) This is funny. I just received my Quarterly Statement of Accounts today and Public Mutual made a mistake on it. It says I have RM42,385,804.10 in Fixed Income funds on it. This post has been edited by lwb: Jul 19 2009, 03:58 PM |
Jul 20 2009, 12:25 AM
if the multi-million ringgit figure is printed on the first page then shiiok la.
otherwise.. last page, boh euong eh. |
Aug 14 2009, 10:08 PM
i always believe that if you value your own hard earned money(investment).. it's your own prerogative/responsibility to take care of it..
blindly out-sourcing the babysitting of one's own money to agents may not be of your best interest.. of course, if you're just a small investor, the effect is negligible.. but you loose the great opportunity to gain crucial hands-on experience.. (i don't pay agent commission on my investment and because of it, i'm on my own..) This post has been edited by lwb: Aug 14 2009, 10:09 PM |
Aug 15 2009, 06:52 PM
the hong kong page was probably designed with smaller screen resolutions
maybe you can write them some suggestion about improving their website(local site).. btw, do you bank with pbank? QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Aug 15 2009, 02:31 PM) I couldn't agree more !!!! Yes. Great customer service. I find it kind of ironic that Public Bank Hong Kong website is much more user friendly than Public Bank Malaysia. The layout of Public Bank Hong Kong website is much more organized too. Compare yourself below : PUBLIC BANK HONG KONG PUBLIC BANK MALAYSIA |
Aug 15 2009, 06:58 PM
investment is always a life long journey.. although you may have an exit strategy, but that would probably reshuffle your portfolio/asset allocations.. do spend some time understand the nature of a fixed-income asset(bond) as opposed to an equity.. they're both important, if you ask me.
but i dread what most newbies would do is to blindly plonk down some money.. "close their eyes" and come back to see how things are going 3-5 years later.. this principle of investing is already a dead dinosaur! vigilance is the new keyword. from the look of it.. you have lots to read.. before you can start asking good questions.. QUOTE(Penangite @ Aug 15 2009, 05:10 PM) May I ask your opinion,between these 2 fund (BOND FUND vs GROWTH FUND),which is better to invest if I plan to invest around 3 to 5 years?? Or do you have any mutual fund better than the fund that i mentioned above? Another silly question is ,where to buy the fund.Is it just register at public bank and they will settle it for you?? I would be grateful if you share your opinion with me. Thank you. |
Aug 16 2009, 02:49 PM
perhaps they're done by web-designers in hk? i guess you're right about the nicely spaced layout (well balanced between text and pictures) in the hk variant..
waah.. siiooyk, your first account being an import! mine was the tiger "rimau".. i found it too troublesome to deal with the counter-service and hence i went "red" .. i'm so red today that nearly all my assets are parked with them QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Aug 15 2009, 08:17 PM) Somehow Public Bank Hong Kong website gives me a more professional feel. I find this a bit "surprising" and unacceptable. I mean come on, why is the wholly-owned subsidiary has a better website ? Yes. I do. It is my second bank account ever. My first bank account being HSBC. I find Public Bank staff very efficient |
Aug 17 2009, 11:15 AM
fixed.. no more ot (but a good ot anyhow)
QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Aug 17 2009, 12:13 AM) Dad helped me to open it back in 2002. Was a joint account then as they did not allow minor to open an account with them. Dad negotiated with them and finally a manager came out and told us they will open a joint account for me. Initial |
| Change to: | 0.0624sec
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 04:16 AM |