5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

Nice to eat rice with the hand, say Asian experts, gastronomic experience

iGamer
post Mar 10 2021, 09:07 AM

Toxic ktards probably losers irl
1,374 posts

QUOTE(kuntilanak @ Mar 10 2021, 08:51 AM)
on the topic of eating rice with hand, i actually asked a Malay friend about the reason behind it. She explained that if the food is too hot (temperature wise) to hold, then it is not suitable to put into your mouth. kind of make sense... hmm.gif
Why need to test food temperature with hand when you can also observe the food with eyes if it is "steamy" hot? You don't eat with hand and how many times did your tongue got burned as a result? None right? biggrin.gif

The risk of getting burnt by food is when drinking soup when one is not careful. Last I check nobody test soup temperature with bare hands also.... biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif
SUSskyblu3
post Mar 10 2021, 09:09 AM

157 posts

on the topic of eating rice with hand, i actually asked a Malay friend about the reason behind it. She explained that if the food is too hot (temperature wise) to hold, then it is not suitable to put into your mouth. kind of make sense... hmm.gif
But your hands/fingers have higher tolerance to hear compare to your mouth, tongue.
iGamer
post Mar 10 2021, 09:10 AM

1,374 posts

QUOTE(pretty23 @ Mar 10 2021, 09:07 AM)
human evolve to use tool instead of just use hand.
True, that is how human were able to transcend beyond the physiological limit and gain the biggest advantage over animals.
CeDhhVss

92 posts

eat rice use mouth.
Slowpokeking

19 posts

Got wrong way to eat rice meh?
empyreal

2,036 posts

i dont understand all this fuss, with some people even going as far as to say some methods are best.

'civilised' people will know that the proper conduct (for a guest) is to graciously adapt to whatever method their host prefers. if an asian host invites you to eat dinner with fork and spoon, do so. if a western host invites you to eat dinner with your hands, do so. if someone invites you to eat using nothing but your elbows, you do so.

the purpose of learning how to use cutlery (or any other method of eating) is for the guest to adapt to the host, not the other way round.

SUSskyblu3
post Mar 10 2021, 09:11 AM

157 posts

QUOTE(iGamer @ Mar 10 2021, 08:55 AM)
When the food is soaked then it's gross.

Also if the food is soaked with gravy meaning the liquid easy to travel in between your fingernails gaps and the food hence less hygienic than eating dry food with bare hands.
I cannot stand the sight of gravy wet hands, oily and the bits of rice still on the hand makes it worse. Yucks.
johnsdoes

257 posts

QUOTE(LamboSama @ Mar 10 2021, 08:42 AM)
How to eat rice also triggered?
musim pkp semua jadi lemah
fun_feng

One Cat to Rule Them ALL
2,289 posts

Actually eat rice with hand quite nice...

Should try it sometimes
tungfunglaw
post Mar 10 2021, 09:12 AM

259 posts

QUOTE(iGamer @ Mar 10 2021, 09:10 AM)
True, that is how human were able to transcend beyond the physiological limit and gain the biggest advantage over animals.
Some claimed that eating with hand is more sedap which i've no idea why.

Good food is good no matter using what to eat.

whistling.gif

kuntilanak
post Mar 10 2021, 09:13 AM

978 posts

QUOTE(iGamer @ Mar 10 2021, 09:02 AM)
The traditional Chinese way of eating rice with chopstick is also eating with a small bowl, they scoop up the rice with chopstick while holding the rice bowl close to the mouth.

Since most chinese nowadays uses dish to place their rice and do not hold up the dish next to their mouth, it doesn't make sense to try eating rice with chopstick anymore.  hmm.gif
I know, but I can eat rice on a plate with chopsticks. No issue. Sometimes I prefer to do it due to few friends eating slow. laugh.gif laugh.gif
tahfeikei
post Mar 10 2021, 09:15 AM

TALK TO MY ENGRISH
1,248 posts

problem is, after using hands, the smell kenot be washed off with soap
iGamer
post Mar 10 2021, 09:16 AM

1,374 posts

QUOTE(tungfunglaw @ Mar 10 2021, 09:12 AM)
Some claimed that eating with hand is more sedap which i've no idea why.

Good food is good no matter using what to eat.

whistling.gif
The main concern is hygiene, germs and dirt easily hid in the fingernails gap and almost impossible to clean thoroughly. Food soaked with gravy make it even more likely for the germs in the fingernails to travel onto your food and into your mouth.
touristking
post Mar 10 2021, 09:17 AM

5,831 posts

I have friend who's a Chinese who grew up near the Kampung. She can use hand and chopstick but say rice taste better with hands.
KLthinker91
post Mar 10 2021, 09:18 AM

227 posts

Harrold may not be entirely correct

But using hands is just fucking barbaric

If I have to choose between fork and hands, I know which one I'm choosing, and that's not acting like a fucking caveman

P.s. Harrold is correct in the sense that it is traditional table manners to eat even loose items like rice or peas with a fork. But since vast majority of aSiAn ExPeRtS barely even know how to use a spoon and fork properly... well...

QUOTE(iGamer @ Mar 10 2021, 09:02 AM)
The traditional Chinese way of eating rice with chopstick is also eating with a small bowl, they scoop up the rice with chopstick while holding the rice bowl close to the mouth.

Not entirely correct

That is peasant way. Educated way is to use chopsticks and pick up the rice, NEVER slurp from bowl.

You think the Emperors, queens, concubines and eunuchs etc will "pa fan" like that?

This post has been edited by KLthinker91: Mar 10 2021, 09:21 AM
iGamer
post Mar 10 2021, 09:18 AM

1,374 posts

QUOTE(touristking @ Mar 10 2021, 09:17 AM)
I have friend who's a Chinese who grew up near the Kampung. She can use hand and chopstick but say rice taste better with hands.
added flavors with hands, meaning everyone also get their own secret flavor biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif
pretty23
post Mar 10 2021, 09:20 AM

1,791 posts

QUOTE(iGamer @ Mar 10 2021, 09:10 AM)
but maruah dicabar now
iGamer
post Mar 10 2021, 09:20 AM

1,374 posts

QUOTE(KLthinker91 @ Mar 10 2021, 09:18 AM)
Harrold may not be entirely correct

But using hands is just fucking barbaric

If I have to choose between fork and hands, I know which one I'm choosing, and that's not acting like a fucking caveman
Not entirely correct

That is peasant way. Educated way is to use chopsticks and pick up the rice, NEVER slurp from bowl.

You think the Emperors, queens, concubines and eunuchs etc will "pa fan" like that?
I don't know leh, do we have actual documentary video of actual Tongshan royalty eating rice? hmm.gif
loserguy
post Mar 10 2021, 09:23 AM

500 posts

I don't like eating rice using my fingers unless I have to. Just feel more comfortable with a spoon.

I'm ok with kuih, pizza, fried chicken, fruit etc. Just not rice. Don't know why.
koja6049
post Mar 10 2021, 09:23 AM

615 posts

no wonder malay food always served cold biggrin.gif

chinese food usually steamy piping hot when served and must be eaten immediately

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0196sec    0.93    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 11:36 AM