Chat IBM Cyberjaya shutting down for good?, Saw my friend post in fb today
jayraptor
Mar 5 2021, 10:23 PM

QUOTE(Zaryl @ Mar 5 2021, 09:09 PM) Oh my. So this new is true then. So many affected in this trying times. But i wonder what went wrong? IBM makes computer & chips ya? What’s the nature of their business really? Servers Z,I,P, X series, software, lotus notes, POS, ATM, PC and laptop. IBM cyber is call centre mainly for ASEAN region providing 24*7 or 9*5. Most of the staff on contract like intel, amd & most US companies, subbed to employment agencies. Many jilat US think US talks abour rights and very good but in reality, many of their companies prefer contract based, can easily dispose workers and close without paying compensation.
loui
Mar 5 2021, 10:24 PM
QUOTE(Zaryl @ Mar 5 2021, 09:09 PM) Oh my. So this new is true then. So many affected in this trying times. But i wonder what went wrong? IBM makes computer & chips ya? What’s the nature of their business really? Share services Other companies engage IBM to run their HR, finance, account, IT.... Departments This post has been edited by loui: Mar 5 2021, 10:37 PM
shotgun
Mar 5 2021, 10:25 PM
thats why dont breed too many children
khaimitoban
Mar 5 2021, 10:27 PM
another PN failure
jmas
Mar 5 2021, 10:41 PM
cyber office is mainly technical support, and customer service, since IBM stopped selling hardwares, so no need so many ppl support (read: cutting ppl, many ppl kena VSS) they are consolidating to new offices, nowadays everyone wfh, no longer need office spaces also, IBM GTS services (largest brand) is going to spin-off to newco, so even less support is needed for IBM source: IBMer internal news
SUSagewisdom
Mar 5 2021, 10:43 PM
QUOTE(khaimitoban @ Mar 5 2021, 10:27 PM) what failure? the Grand Strategy of focusing on dunia akhirat and religious studies is working well. in fact, we should accelerate this and kick all MNCs out. Then we can better nurture our GLCs.
li_hat
Mar 5 2021, 10:43 PM

most of gov infra are starting moving away from IBM. i already saw this coming. China company are slowly eating the pie.
SUSagewisdom
Mar 5 2021, 10:46 PM
QUOTE(DarkAeon @ Mar 5 2021, 09:53 PM) most of our neighbours are enjoying new mnc setups wake up or we will never recover from this downward spiral bodoh statement. PN Gomen is focusing on Blue Ocean strategy. No point chasing for new MNC setups. We focus on religious studies and moral studies. No point on focusing on material wealth. Spiritual wealth is superior.
lucifer_666
Mar 5 2021, 10:48 PM

For all the "jaya" suffix, it sure doesn't live up to its name.
SUSFenix98
Mar 5 2021, 10:52 PM
QUOTE(li_hat @ Mar 5 2021, 10:43 PM) most of gov infra are starting moving away from IBM. i already saw this coming. China company are slowly eating the pie. Which IT sectors nao hot?
jmas
Mar 5 2021, 10:52 PM
QUOTE(jayraptor @ Mar 5 2021, 10:23 PM) Servers Z,I,P, X series, software, lotus notes, POS, ATM, PC and laptop. IBM cyber is call centre mainly for ASEAN region providing 24*7 or 9*5. Most of the staff on contract like intel, amd & most US companies, subbed to employment agencies. Many jilat US think US talks abour rights and very good but in reality, many of their companies prefer contract based, can easily dispose workers and close without paying compensation. server I, X series, pc, laptop sold to lenovo lotus notes sold to HCL POS ATM stopped long time ago since ~4yrs ago IBM already reducing contract worker, hired those essential as permanent but still, many kena sold to Lenovo ~2yrs back, along with some of the business
hirano
Mar 5 2021, 10:53 PM
QUOTE(Doomsday @ Mar 5 2021, 10:02 PM) Then GG Liao.. shared services tutup and moving out to cheaper country. Etc India Mine closing malaysia branch also. Putting all the headcounts in philippines instead. Sad
syahmie8
Mar 5 2021, 10:55 PM
QUOTE(Zaryl @ Mar 5 2021, 08:58 PM) Is it true? IBM Cyberjaya closed shop already? AFAIK, that company has been in Cyberjaya for quite some time, since 2004 if i am not mistaken. Got a few of my friends working there also. Feel hesitant if want to ask them, afraid they are affected also. /k can confirm this news? Thanks. Stay strong to those who are affected!  Yea.. My friend work there confirmed it.
TSZaryl
Mar 5 2021, 10:58 PM
QUOTE(agewisdom @ Mar 5 2021, 10:43 PM) what failure? the Grand Strategy of focusing on dunia akhirat and religious studies is working well. in fact, we should accelerate this and kick all MNCs out. Then we can better nurture our GLCs. You really got a beef with that Religion of Peace eh? Come on dude. Give proper reasoning la. Kesian those affected workers. Or do you wish yourself to be part of them too?
fun_feng
Mar 5 2021, 10:58 PM
QUOTE(red4900 @ Mar 5 2021, 10:02 PM) LOL people rly condemn govt even though they do ntg wrong India are dirt cheap, hard to compete lah. Same experience level RM4k in here can get RM2k in India how?? The big tech companies in Bangalore all have higher pay than msia... But it's true they have more experience
Chee
Mar 5 2021, 10:59 PM
QUOTE(Zaryl @ Mar 5 2021, 08:58 PM) Is it true? IBM Cyberjaya closed shop already? AFAIK, that company has been in Cyberjaya for quite some time, since 2004 if i am not mistaken. Got a few of my friends working there also. Feel hesitant if want to ask them, afraid they are affected also. /k can confirm this news? Thanks. Stay strong to those who are affected!  confirmed.
TSZaryl
Mar 5 2021, 11:00 PM
QUOTE(syahmie8 @ Mar 5 2021, 10:55 PM) Yea.. My friend work there confirmed it. Pity them. Hope they can find better opportunities elsewhere.
TSZaryl
Mar 5 2021, 11:01 PM
I don’t mind we all tok kok sing song bash here there in /k biasa la kan? But when it comes to ones’ rice bowl, we better respect them & pray for the best. Because we don’t know when will our time is up. Let’s support those who are affected and possible give potential “lubangs/opportunities” to them.
soyusa
Mar 5 2021, 11:03 PM
This definitely a bad news for CBJ community... ><
SUSagewisdom
Mar 5 2021, 11:03 PM
QUOTE(Zaryl @ Mar 5 2021, 10:58 PM) You really got a beef with that Religion of Peace eh? Come on dude. Give proper reasoning la. Kesian those affected workers. Or do you wish yourself to be part of them too?  Don't worry, we got Ebit Lew and kerajaan prihatin to help. Besides, without hardship - how to reach the Promised Land?