EOS5D or EOS1D Mark III, Cannot Make up Mindddddd

calvin_gsc
post Aug 27 2007, 08:20 PM

10,261 posts

I second wlcling says, If you have to ask on which to buy, you obviously don't need the Mark III.

Are you that serious of using such a big amount of money to buy a Mark III?

That costs close to 16K? Gosh....

Don't you feel guilty of spending that much of money from your parents?

And you're going overseas, which means they're gonna spend even more when you're abroad.

Hey bro, I seriously suggest you to get a 40D or well.... maybe the 5D. Save up the money and use it wisely.

You're dealing with a big sum of money. I could only dream of what you're getting.

Just my 2 cents.
calvin_gsc
post Aug 27 2007, 11:39 PM

10,261 posts

I guess if TS has the money...

Let's see how wise he spends his money...

If he gets a great body but just stick with his kit lens. You know what type of photographer he is....
calvin_gsc
post Aug 28 2007, 04:45 AM

10,261 posts

QUOTE(empire23 @ Aug 28 2007, 03:20 AM)
Good point, but i love shooting in low light without flash, any extra ISO or sensor size appeals well to me and that's why i'm making the switch.

Either way it's a good suggestion.
I'm sure my folks will survive tongue.gif

Like i said, if i wanted to spend it wisely i'd stick in ASW2020 to get a 10 percent divident and a 13.8 percent usual bonus, i'm sure there are times we like to splurge abit.

I can't get a car because i already drive my mom's one like a bat out of hell, RapidKL good enough lah
I can't get house because my old man is the kind that doesn't like his kids moving out early
I can't get a new PC because i just got one

Thus i get photogear. It's either that or i burn the money in front of poor people when i die laugh.gif.

Understandably it's a big sum of cash, but better than some who ask their folks to get them a car right?
I think you wkkay make a good point, the only thing i'm skeptical about is the ability of the existing EOS350D sensor to maximize the capabilities of these lenses, and that's the main reason. After many horrible triages out in the dark even with a tripod and apeture open wide (even with a few HQ borrowed lenses), i find the quality lacking.

I just wish my camera could see as well as i do in the dark, and heck i have astigmatism sad.gif
No cars for me, the last time i was lent one all i did was drive 240 and above on every highway near my place. I know i can't control myself when it comes to motor vehicles, so i think the bus is better for my long term health. Anyways the 350Z is balls when it comes to handling, far too stiff, far too unfriendly, you'd get bored of it if you were forced to take it out to go giant on sundays to do shopping  tongue.gif

Well, who knows, i'm studying EE, but i'm quite sure it isn't one of those things i wanna do for the rest of my pathetic life, might get more serious as time goes along, although if you ask me at the end of the day, my main motivation is to just get some nice i see into my view finder and keep it with me.

Added on August 28, 2007, 3:24 am

No worries, except for abstract photography, i do consider myself quite competent with a camera. But there are hardware limitations i just can't get over, especially in low light.
Well, looks like you are determined to get the camera that you need. I guess this is more of a show off thread than actually asking for what you really need.

Well, some of us understand how hard is it to earn money. Lucky for you, you were born with a golden spoon. icon_idea.gif

Some of us may also be born with a golden spoon but yet they're are contented and they value the money their parents earn. nod.gif

For lowlight problems, a great lens would do the trick. You just need a L lens with constant aperture.

Anyway, if you have the $$, by all means, spend it the way you like it.

Some of us could only envy you. rclxms.gif

Mind to share some of the photos you have taken to see what you actually need?

This post has been edited by calvin_gsc: Aug 28 2007, 05:09 AM
calvin_gsc
post Aug 28 2007, 01:07 PM

10,261 posts

QUOTE(empire23 @ Aug 28 2007, 11:08 AM)
Let's no turn this into a thread where you bash my ability to spend, i've given up alot of luxuries people take for granted here, first of all i don't get pocket money, what i use daily is what i earn, i walk to use public transport when most get the luxury of cars, 2km back on foot daily from Ampang Point, so beat that sissy legs, and i'm sure you damn well do not know what it's like to work as b**** labour with indonesians on saturdays and sundays driving lorries and working as a loader, i also put off going overseas for 3 years too, you instead are younger than me and are already overseas in MTU. My folks are well to do, yes we have gazillions in the bank, and i understand the value of the almighty dollar thank you, but if they're ok with giving me the cash, i'm ok with taking it.

Geez if i wanted a lecture on morals, i would've gone somewhere else with less pretentious b****es who "think" they work harder than me when they're still in some cushy uni across the world rolleyes.gif
Well, I am really sincerely sorry that I mentioned things that were sensitive to you. notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif

It was just my 2 cents.

Anyway, all the best in getting a camera.

Hope you can share your experience with us.

Oh yeah, about your gallery? Can share some shots with us?

empire23, really hope you'll get either cam and pair it with a good L lens.

This post has been edited by calvin_gsc: Aug 28 2007, 02:21 PM
calvin_gsc
post Aug 28 2007, 01:20 PM

10,261 posts

QUOTE(wKkaY @ Aug 28 2007, 01:14 PM)
Of course it won't. But neither would some cheapie lenses maximize a 1D or 5D smile.gif
I second that!

But...

it also depends... hmm.gif A good photographer can use any P&S cam and yet produce the best photographs ever.

I personally think photos are not based on just gears. But primarily it's the photog's intuition, perception and imagination. Experience plays a very very big role too.
calvin_gsc
post Aug 28 2007, 02:21 PM

10,261 posts

QUOTE(nairud @ Aug 28 2007, 02:14 PM)
seems to me,  you had some history with empy huh? Other ppl's comments are about some other alternatives apart from the 5D and 1D. I do sense some "personal attack" on empy in your posts.

-happy shooting-
My bad nairud, that's why I apologized...

Wont repeat it. notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif

0.0587sec    1.15    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 01:07 PM