no regrets |
Dec 12 2021, 08:48 PM
Return to original view | IPv6 | Post
112 posts Joined: Apr 2014 |
QUOTE(Bug Juice @ Dec 2 2021, 01:14 PM) Good day, tumpang thread kejab you are lucky you can still post here!!!I haz got my first multimeter, it's uni-t that cost me 50 bucks, I just wanna know if my dumbass has fucked up the meter already, I buy this to do one thing only, to read the lamp current drawing off a compatible ballast. Here is what I do, I just do what some utuber did anyway ![]() I turn the dial to 6 o'clock, which says "10A", if I understand correctly it mean it would read up to 10A and anything above would blow the fuse after 10 seconds? I've tested several lamps that ranging from 0.37A to 3.25A operating current but all it does is 0.00 on the LCD, the lamp do fire up normally. Or maybe I connect the wrong way or something? Any inputs from otai sifus will be appreciated. ![]() I would get this meter if it is capable to measure both AC/DC amperage!!! |
Dec 12 2021, 09:40 PM
Return to original view | IPv6 | Post
112 posts Joined: Apr 2014 |
QUOTE(Bug Juice @ Dec 12 2021, 09:30 PM) I wasn't be able to get the readings of amps draw so I gave up. Because I suspected some ballast using the wrong label to run different wattage lamps, like manufacturers trying to save cost by making one ballast for 40W fluorescent lamps, then they also put a different label on the same ballast to run 20W lamps which severely overdriving a smaller lamp, they are the same thing with different label but they don't care since it could light up both lamps but doing so will kill the lamp and overheat the ballast so much quickly. i would buy from this manufacture if they really do like what you mention...I've tried various settings and it never went pop so I'm safe, at worst I may just trip the circuit breaker. a 40w supply is much better if the load only draws 20w compared to a supply that only gives 20w!!! correct me if I am wrong altho I am no engineer but I know my stuff |
| Change to: | 0.0150sec
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 05:15 PM |