Condo unit, very hot....

TSIrresistible
post Feb 28 2021, 11:12 PM, updated 5y ago

3,283 posts

Due to the location and higher floor, my condo is very hot...

It's got Big windows & I put curtain, anything else I can do at minimum cost so my condo not so hot/ heaty?

*facing afternoon sun
* management does not allow reflective tint. My floor 26th floor...

This post has been edited by Irresistible: Mar 3 2021, 11:45 AM
post Feb 28 2021, 11:18 PM

67 posts

1. Tint your windows. Get good tints, don't cheap out.

2. Install high power air-con, and switch them on 24/7.

3. Move to lower floor.

4. Remove windows.
raydius
post Feb 28 2021, 11:21 PM

41 posts

QUOTE(Irresistible @ Feb 28 2021, 11:12 PM)

It's got Big windows & I put curtain, anything else I can do at minimum cost so my condo not so hot/ heaty?
Get advice from www.tint-titans.com.my
lakini80
post Feb 28 2021, 11:35 PM

334 posts

QUOTE(11674896 @ Feb 28 2021, 11:18 PM)
1. Tint your windows. Get good tints, don't cheap out.

2. Install high power air-con, and switch them on 24/7.

3. Move to lower floor.

4. Remove windows.
No use, the concrete wall or brick wall will release heat at night. Try touch your wall.
post Mar 1 2021, 12:22 AM

67 posts

QUOTE(lakini80 @ Feb 28 2021, 11:35 PM)
No use, the concrete wall or brick wall will release heat at night. Try touch your wall.
Suggest to use double layer walls with an air gap insulation in between. Confirm gooding.
TSIrresistible
post Mar 1 2021, 12:38 AM

3,283 posts

QUOTE(11674896 @ Mar 1 2021, 12:22 AM)
Suggest to use double layer walls with an air gap insulation in between. Confirm gooding.
Cost high ba?

Somemore, condo allow to do? 7
ChuanHong
post Mar 1 2021, 12:48 AM

I <3 Xperia
4,412 posts

Make sure air flow. Other than that, AC is your best option. Don't make it as your Deco only.. use it after you've install it. If no AC, then most cost effective ways, increase shower frequency..
ccsmka
post Mar 1 2021, 01:01 AM

24 posts

u put that black shade plastic used in greenhouse plantation (dunno the name) and switch AC
TSIrresistible
post Mar 1 2021, 01:04 AM

3,283 posts

QUOTE(ccsmka @ Mar 1 2021, 01:01 AM)
u put that black shade plastic used in greenhouse plantation (dunno the name) and switch AC
The black net? Got Pic?

But, mine is condo... Not landed
SUSceo684
post Mar 1 2021, 02:27 AM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(Irresistible @ Mar 1 2021, 12:38 AM)
Cost high ba?

Somemore, condo allow to do? 7
Technically you can also have the wall facing ths sun insulated as if it was a roof with *monier radenshield or use rockwool insulation behind a faux wall (drywall) or (as suggested earlier) to add another layer of bricks with airgap in betwen.

* Like how angmoh (wooden house) insulate their home.

Install ventilation fan running 24/7. When the air at the hot room keeps getting changed then it has very little time to heat up before it goes bye-bye.

This post has been edited by ceo684: Mar 1 2021, 02:29 AM
calvin_ng
post Mar 1 2021, 11:04 AM

TeamCity | HCC | Insighters
1,583 posts

Install ventilation fan at Bathroom / windows

Suck air in and eject hot air
blancpain4470
post Mar 1 2021, 12:57 PM

1,063 posts

If your management allows, just get the mirror type tinting film. It is the cheapest of all tinting films but very effective as it reflects most of the lights and hence heat. I didn't use it on my house but on my awning glass and improvement is significant. Only thing is looking from outside it is highly reflective and your management may not approve.

It is only about RM6 psqft vs other type of tinting films which are from RM13-40 psqft
blanket84
post Mar 1 2021, 12:57 PM

1,521 posts

Install AC and switch them on when hot is the only solution. You can minimize the heat coming from the wall, but it's not easy to reduce the heat that comes from the floor. Hot air rises, hence your floor will always be "heated up" by the units below.
hungrygodzilla
post Mar 1 2021, 03:33 PM

456 posts

My impression is that higher level should be cooler, more wind. Maybe your problem is ventilation not "heat". With proper cross ventilation, which is a lot easier to achieve in apartment unit, you will feel that the whole unit is a lot cooler.
TSIrresistible
post Mar 3 2021, 11:47 AM

3,283 posts

QUOTE(blancpain4470 @ Mar 1 2021, 12:57 PM)
If your management allows, just get the mirror type tinting film. It is the cheapest of all tinting films but very effective as it reflects most of the lights and hence heat. I didn't use it on my house but on my awning glass and improvement is significant. Only thing is looking from outside it is highly reflective and your management may not approve.

It is only about RM6 psqft vs other type of tinting films which are from RM13-40 psqft
Ur input valuable.

Management not allow... But, already see a few people install.
Tinting Co. Said no problem one.
TSIrresistible
post Mar 4 2021, 06:36 AM

3,283 posts

QUOTE(blancpain4470 @ Mar 1 2021, 12:57 PM)

The mirror type tinting... During night time, are we still able to view outside after install d tint?
blancpain4470
post Mar 4 2021, 07:26 AM

1,063 posts

QUOTE(Irresistible @ Mar 4 2021, 06:36 AM)
The mirror type tinting... During night time, are we still able to view outside after install d tint?
Whatever films the bright side can't see the dark side very well at all. So in day time outside can't see inside because outside is much brighter. At night, it is the reverse. So you still need curtain for privacy at night.
TSIrresistible
post Mar 4 2021, 07:46 AM

3,283 posts

QUOTE(blancpain4470 @ Mar 4 2021, 07:26 AM)
Whatever films the bright side can't see the dark side very well at all. So in day time outside can't see inside because outside is much brighter. At night, it is the reverse. So you still need curtain for privacy at night.
Bcoz my condo is city view.... During night time, the view quite nice...

If after tint, m I able still see the exterior view? During night time
For reflective film...

Then, according to what u say, its not a good point le, sacrifice the view.

This post has been edited by Irresistible: Mar 12 2021, 06:51 AM
ericcc
post Mar 4 2021, 07:56 AM

216 posts

apart from AC
ventilation is important, i open all windows and doors to ensure air flow. luckily my place is windy.
also i installed blinds at balcony - helps with the direct sunlight.
handyboy
post Mar 4 2021, 09:04 AM

119 posts

an idiom from chinese - peaceful feeling will cool you down

心静自然凉

0.0202sec    0.28    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 06:55 AM