Discussion about Dating Apps & Agency, Tinder, OKC, CMB, Lunch Actually, others

SUSTOS
post Jan 14 2024, 04:45 PM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(Imaginebreaker @ Jan 14 2024, 12:16 PM)
I got a match on CMB last week. She literally asked me for a lunch this week as we both worked nearby. I was surprised and a little bit cautious about it (thought she might be an mlm seller etc).

Anyway, I accepted her invitation and she was late to the lunch 20 min lol. And what follows was not something I expected in the 1st meetup.

She was very direct in her questions, its basically talking terms. Ie What is my plan for the relationship, What restrictions I have (vegan, religion etc), What do I want in life.

Honestly, I gave the crappiest answers that can ever be  rolleyes.gif  and she definitely was not impressed. She also kept telling me to meet more girls.

Well, there's that then. Is this kind of meetup via dating apps normal moreso in the 1st meetup?
You are so lucky... I want to go out with my CMB match also cannot... cause they are in KL and I am in SG... laugh.gif

Maybe you can introduce her to me. I have very good and clear answers to her questions. laugh.gif
SUSTOS
post Jan 15 2024, 01:07 AM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jan 14 2024, 06:09 PM)
You went to stay Singapore, just find JB or Singaporean girls. No need so far until KL.
Have to maximize chances mah... laugh.gif

KL girl not too bad leh. MYR's weakening purchasing power makes Malaysia girls more humble than their JB/SG counterparts. After all, coming from SG side, I have better bargaining power hehe.

By the way, one of the KL CMB match says she is open to moving to SG if she "met the right person". The other CMB match is super obsessed with 藏传 Buddhism... lol

They are pretty interesting girls I wouldn't have thought I would meet in real life...
SUSTOS
post Jan 17 2024, 07:25 PM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jan 17 2024, 12:30 PM)
I don't date 30+ woman. My limit 26-29. Haha...
Competitor spotted... tongue.gif
SUSTOS
post Jan 20 2024, 12:49 PM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jan 19 2024, 03:28 PM)
Non smoker
No pubs and those happy hour. I am ok with social drinking.
Must want kids
Frugal

Very simple. Cannot fulfill these, sorry la. These are my main ones.
Damn similar to mine... laugh.gif Looks like setting location in KL's a wrong choice...

I lose out to you on age... Girls like to go out with older ones...
SUSTOS
post Jan 21 2024, 04:18 PM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(redracer2004 @ Jan 21 2024, 12:41 AM)
I think if too old also not good choice. The age gap too big will be an issue.
The eldest one I am talking to is 3 years, should be ok...

Just learnt that my match is no longer a virgin... doh.gif

The Shanghai girl in SG also the same...

Both went for hookups when they were young... Body count for both = 2... sweat.gif

Luckily both also think hookups are terrible so both into long-term relationship only...
SUSTOS
post Jan 22 2024, 12:34 PM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(Cubalagi @ Jan 22 2024, 10:29 AM)
Are u virgin also?

Quite common for girls to understate body counts. Like 1 is actually 2 or 3.
Of course still virgin bro... I admit I have sexual needs and I usually just "settle it myself" in my own room.

You can still explore sexuality without losing your virginity.

This post has been edited by TOS: Jan 22 2024, 01:44 PM
SUSTOS
post Jan 22 2024, 06:27 PM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(Cubalagi @ Jan 22 2024, 10:29 AM)
Even exclude the mythical virgins, its very hard to find attractive but low demand/maintenance young women.
The Shanghai girl seems attractive but spends a bit too. I told her I am thrifty and she says we are incompatible in that respect... But then she says fortune teller informed her that she will 旺夫 (makes her husband rich and wealthy...) and 剋夫 (reduce her husband's lifespan) at the same time... laugh.gif

QUOTE(-mystery- @ Jan 22 2024, 03:15 PM)
25 and still Virgin?
Its either being a "high" quality guy or just being naive in this sexual marketplace. Just stay blue pill yah
Maybe you sounded sarcastic but uhmm I think Ramjade and I share similar characteristics in many respect. I was raised in a very strict and disciplined manner. If I tell my mom I slept with someone else she will most probably canned me all the way to the street...

I think Ram and I both agree that sexuality is not a taboo and not something can't be explored. I read men and woman's health articles from time to time, understanding fertility and various sexual health topics and I become informed via this way.

Having sex with a partner means taking responsibility towards her... It's not a trivial decision to be made. Are both of you ready to be parents? Is she the woman you want to stay with for the next couple of decades? Are the couple's financial strength strong enough?

I don't sleep with a girl for the sake of sleeping with her. Can I take care of her? I will ask myself.

I am glad that my matches so far are no longer into hookups etc. As the Shanghai girl told me herself, she find hookups tiring and can finally understood why parents are very against sex prior to marriage due to the risks involved. (She satisfies her "own needs" herself too these days...)

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jan 22 2024, 03:28 PM)
Not everyone wants to be promiscuous.
Yea...

QUOTE(Cubalagi @ Jan 22 2024, 04:58 PM)
Thats like saying one can drive just by playing Gran Turismo 😆

But no worries, still got time.

Anyway, the girl in attachment you deleted was being very honest. Thats why most girls prefer more experienced men.
25 years old not young liao... laugh.gif

Honesty is the no. 1 selling point for ISTJ person... I think it works both ways, I treat my matches well, so do they. It took only half an hour strolling around the shopping mall for the Shanghai girl to say "you look like a very responsible man" biggrin.gif

Uhmm in terms of sexuality you mean? That I got no comment. My matches tend to look at people hollistically I think, sex is just part of the equation.

A successful marriage is more than just sex, after all.
SUSTOS
post Jan 22 2024, 07:35 PM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jan 22 2024, 07:13 PM)
Don't look money in bank acocunt or staying with parents. Why? I will give you an example. I have only RM1.00 in my bank account and still staying with parents but I can do LEAN FIRE. I was doing that just last year.

My ultimate aim is of course FAT FIRE and delayed gratification. Of course girls don't like the idea of waiting. So I just move on if they cannot do delayed gratification like me.
It's hard to find girls who can delay their gratification these days. Young people fail to appreciate the power of compounding...

This post has been edited by TOS: Jan 22 2024, 11:04 PM
SUSTOS
post Jan 22 2024, 08:42 PM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jan 22 2024, 07:36 PM)
There was one I saw. But sadly didn't like her profile that time. Now cannot find back her profile.

There's one I am talking to now. Work 75% in Singapore and come back regularly to Malaysia. She just hit 30. So she heard about FIRE and want to do FIRE but I don't think she will succeed as she keep asking me, will I travel until I am FAT FIRE. Told her straight no. Let's see if she sticks around. Some stuff she mentioned in the profile, work hard, play hard.
Damn where do you set your location in CMB laugh.gif

I set my location at KL with radius of 400 km so I cover whole West Malaysia + Singapore (and accidentally part of Indonesia).
SUSTOS
post Jan 22 2024, 10:58 PM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(Cubalagi @ Jan 22 2024, 09:23 PM)
I had to google ISTJ 😆

25 yo is still young...enjoy your 20s please. Thats one phase of life u wont get back when u hit your 30s and beyond.

And making money is important, but life is not just about money.

Same like sex..true that marriage is more than just sex. But sex is damn important (Unless u.think regularly fapping and cheong are what a successful marriage looks like).

All.the best in your hunting.
My 20s is all about reaching millionaire in MYR by 30 and dating to prepare for marriage.

If I accidentally marry a gold digger and divorced then yea, my 20s' lifestyle is gonna repeat again... laugh.gif

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jan 22 2024, 10:44 PM)
If you are brave can try those Thailand/Vietnam/Indonesian Chinese working in Singapore. They are better than China people. I think more wifey material.
Hard to explain to my family lah... let me try dating the Shanghai girl and see how things go. At least she's in SG and err doesn't look like a gold digger. In fact she told me you would hope you won't meet a gold digger... laugh.gif
SUSTOS
post Jan 23 2024, 10:15 AM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(MasBoleh! @ Jan 23 2024, 09:55 AM)
1 mil in assets right? In this case, does housing under mortgage loan consider as asset or only consider as asset when the loan fully repaid? smile.gif
I won't be buying a house until I get married/almost married under the fiance scheme from HDB.

I think by 30 I would be close to marriage and looking for houses seriously with my partner tongue.gif

The mortgage should be liability, the house is your asset. As you pay off your mortgage gradually, the asset side increases and the liability side decreases.

I haven't checked the terms and conditions for housing loans/mortgages in SG yet though. Will need to talk to my girl on that matter as well. nod.gif
SUSTOS
post Jan 24 2024, 11:39 AM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(MasBoleh! @ Jan 24 2024, 09:56 AM)
The fiance scheme in this context required one of the partner to be SG citizenship or both PR also can?
https://www.hdb.gov.sg/residential/buying-a...es-and-families

Under the HDB Fiancee Scheme, one of them must be Singaporean and the other can be PR or Sporean.

For new HDB flats and Prime location resale flats, if I am a PR I will need to pay 10k SGD to the SG government as "compensation" which can be clawed back with a grant when I become a Sporean in the future.

Both new flats and Prime resale flats are subject to income cap of 14k SGD a month, which I will likely exceed if I work at a hedge fund after my PhD... sweat.gif

Next up the rank is executive condo, EC in short. That one has similar citizenship requirement but no more claw-back grants from the SG government (they only subsidize the land price). Income cap 16k SGD a month... If my Shanghai girl still works probably our combined income will exceed this limit as well... So,

One level above is the condominium... No subsidies at all from SG government... Super expensive... But the quality is probably the best, got private pool, gym, BBQ pit etc. biggrin.gif

There is another level above condo, it's called landed property, like bungalows and good class bungalows (GCBs) but uhm unless you have significant contribution to SG and a Sporean, you won't get to buy one. And it's super super expensive. One GCB can fetch 20-50 million SGD depending on location.

This post has been edited by TOS: Jan 24 2024, 11:40 AM
SUSTOS
post May 26 2024, 02:01 PM

8,667 posts

FT

Young women fall out of love with dating apps
Gen Z is a priority for Tinder and Bumble but threats and unsolicited material from potential suitors often turn users off

https://archive.ph/IqpWD

Original article: https://www.ft.com/content/b0862016-e225-42...c9-4825c2c56000
SUSTOS
post Jun 26 2024, 06:45 PM

8,667 posts

WSJ

Dating Apps Once Ran on Novelty. For Some Users, the Fun Is Over.
Ad campaigns for online dating companies have become flashpoints for frustrated online daters

https://www.wsj.com/articles/dating-apps-on...share_permalink
SUSTOS
post Jul 27 2024, 07:54 PM

8,667 posts

FT Match Group

Targeted dating apps make match with mainstream rivals left on shelf
Community knowledge is helping sites such as Grindr and Feeld reel in users, while Tinder and Bumble lose lustre

by Stephanie Stacey (16 minutes ago)

https://archive.ph/93dOL
SUSTOS
post Aug 31 2024, 04:07 PM

8,667 posts

FT Social Media

Dating apps develop AI ‘wingmen’ to generate better chat-up lines
Tinder, Hinge, Bumble and Grindr are racing to create chatbots that can coach Gen Z users to flirt

https://archive.ph/EfFml
SUSTOS
post Sep 20 2024, 12:28 PM

8,667 posts

FT Opinion | Lex

Activists have fallen hard for dating apps. Investors shouldn’t
Match and rival Bumble have struggled with post-pandemic slowdown in growth

https://archive.ph/5mYSQ
SUSTOS
post Sep 28 2024, 08:23 AM

8,667 posts

FT Technology sector

Dating apps search for users who want to be ‘just friends’
Bumble and Match Group launch friendship and social products to help reverse post-pandemic slowdown

https://archive.ph/HJzBS
SUSTOS
post Oct 8 2024, 09:50 AM

8,667 posts

WSJ CIO Journal

Grindr Aims to Build the Dating World’s First AI ‘Wingman’
The dating app is testing an AI bot for gay and bi men that would scout for long-term relationship prospects, set up dates—and even date other wingmen for you

https://www.wsj.com/articles/grindr-aims-to...share_permalink
SUSTOS
post Nov 14 2024, 01:44 PM

8,667 posts

WSJ Lifestyle

Singles Want to Find Love in Real Life Again, if Only They Could Remember How
Many find their in-person meeting skills are rusty. ‘People are trying to figure out, where do we go? What do we do?’

https://www.wsj.com/lifestyle/singles-datin...share_permalink

0.0343sec    0.58    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 03:58 PM