8 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

Hardware The New MacBook/MacBook Pro Users Thread, Share your joy and your pain here

allvin
post Jan 25 2008, 10:55 PM

4,506 posts

QUOTE(Raven_lee @ Jan 25 2008, 10:46 PM)
Hi guys & gals, juz got my white macbook 2.2 ghz...... I've one question,

i used to take out the batteries when using the laptop wiv charger. But now,

do i need to take out as well? Cos bought Spek clear case for my mb, its kind

of difficult to take out the battery everytime while using the mb wiv charger.

Tq.
you don't have to take out. wink.gif Recommended as well
allvin
post Jan 26 2008, 12:52 AM

4,506 posts

QUOTE(wjie20 @ Jan 26 2008, 12:11 AM)
darn it....anyway a student like me can get cash?
hmm i just wondering, how can you buy your mbp? Since a student like you got no cash? whistling.gif

PS: mbp is very powerful laptop liaw compare to my macbok. And what application need extra HP? Don't tell me you play games la.. shakehead.gif If not powerful enuf, go get a mac pro la. rolleyes.gif
allvin
post Jan 26 2008, 05:38 PM

4,506 posts

QUOTE(yongkailoon @ Jan 26 2008, 03:47 PM)
Hello Abang pOp, haha actually quite simple to decide. How much is the keyboard protector and sleeves ? If it is not more than the RAM then take option 1 lor but if the protector and sleeves is more than RAM then take option 2 and then get the RAM stick from LYP. However I think no need until 3GB because Mac OS is very "clever" not like Windows keeps on eating your RAM and hunger for more. biggrin.gif
i think you are wrong. laugh.gif Who told you that mac osx is not hunger for ram? Especially for mb (due to integrated graphics), you require to have more ram. I would say at least 2Gb is recommended.

This post has been edited by allvin: Jan 26 2008, 05:38 PM
allvin
post Jan 26 2008, 06:50 PM

4,506 posts

QUOTE(-Jonathan- @ Jan 26 2008, 05:39 PM)
i'll seriously avoid going different speeds on ram, its either 1x1 gig, 2x512, or 2x2 gig even if macbook doesn't support up to 4 gig
different speed? Do you mean dual channel? Btw, it does not affect much on the performance itself even the ram are not running on dual channel. Capacity is more important here or more "noticeable" here wink.gif
allvin
post Jan 26 2008, 09:14 PM

4,506 posts

QUOTE(yongkailoon @ Jan 26 2008, 06:54 PM)
Yes going for 2GB is good but take a look at Vista ? If you run it with integrated graphic card and you have only 2GB of RAM, have fun cursing when you run applications which are resource hungry. biggrin.gif
who ask you to install vista anyway? whistling.gif tongue.gif

laugh.gif well i fully support winxp. Like my macbook (before upgrade to 3Gb ram), running games or like those CS3 app (just for testing biggrin.gif ) in winxp no problem as well. I'm not sure about vista la. Winxp serve me well for some of the apps which only works in windows environment. wink.gif
allvin
post Jan 26 2008, 11:10 PM

4,506 posts

QUOTE(yongkailoon @ Jan 26 2008, 10:56 PM)
Yes Windows XP is by far the most loved OS in the Windows family however some still choose to go over to Vista because of DirectX 10 support. Well, at least Mac OS has its own specialty so it depends on the user. I like both Windows and Mac but for laptops I guess I am 100% in love with MacBook.
1GB still able to support and run but 2GB is much more recommended for some higher demand application.
yea. guess no choice for gamers. For laptop la, it better to go for winxp rather than vista, unless you wan to show off the candyeye. Gaming in laptop? It is a no-no, even with 8600GT. The mobility 8600GT is not powerful to play DX10 game, such as crysis. Better go for desktop. brows.gif

yea.. second that bolded. 1Gb is enuf for normal usage. If you doing photoshopping, you will feel abit slow la and usually notice the "ball" keep rolling.. whistling.gif
allvin
post Jan 27 2008, 06:10 PM

4,506 posts

QUOTE(lilredridinghood @ Jan 27 2008, 04:32 PM)
a question here, why is everybody rating the Apple RAM so highly? Are there any differences between the Apple RAM and other RAM?
the main reason is Apple ram are 100% compatitble with apple product (of cos la) and it is tested by Apple or some-sort. On the other hand, 3rd party ram *might* have problem. If you very very *soi* or unlucky, you will get the WSOD or kernel panic once you insert the 3rd party ram. Well, normally it turns out to be "fine". I use corsair brand in my macbook wink.gif

Added on January 27, 2008, 6:17 pm
QUOTE(yongkailoon @ Jan 27 2008, 04:26 AM)
Not unless you have Dual GeForce 8700M GT on your laptop, I am still waiting for the MacBook to have its own dedicated graphic card. Wonder when will Apple decide to do add in a dedicated graphic card.
laugh.gif In your dream la.. But still, even the laptop got DUAL. it will be fugly and bulky looks shakehead.gif

Well, I doubt it will have dedicated graphic card on macbook due to Intel share (Intel GMA chips) and also his big bro issue, mbp.

This post has been edited by allvin: Jan 27 2008, 06:18 PM
allvin
post Jan 27 2008, 10:34 PM

4,506 posts

QUOTE(yongkailoon @ Jan 27 2008, 06:42 PM)
Have you seen Dell's XPS and Alienware's laptop range ? Not fugly in my opinion. biggrin.gif

Well it doesn't have to be a powerful graphic card but a decent one to help ease things off on the graphics side.
really got 2 gc in one laptop? unsure.gif

Like I say, due to Intel Share. If not, those Intel is not "happy" about it. Besides that, Apple wants to make a big different between mb and mbp. If let say now Intel got develop dedicated gc, i bet Apple going to use it. That's why macbook will not happen to have a dedicated graphic (even it is low-end version).

QUOTE(GA11AGH3R @ Jan 27 2008, 07:21 PM)
Hi folks,

Just wondering if anyone out there is experiencing the same symptoms with the MacBook as I am. Didn't think of it as much in the beginning but then started to notice the pattern.

Whenever I plug in a thumbdrive to the USB port, the built-in Airport drops from the wireless network that I was connected to. Can't detect any wireless signal, it was full strength before the thumbdrive was connected. It'll be able to detect the wireless signal again after the thumbdrive is removed.

I'm on the updated MacBook MB062ZP/B. Not that it's a major problem, but just gets annoying sometimes (eg downloading halfway and unknowingly plug in the thumbdrive). Don't have the problem when using external hard disk.
err... i think it is better to go Apple store and have a check. It is not normal, dude.
allvin
post Jan 28 2008, 12:12 AM

4,506 posts

QUOTE(Bad Cyborg @ Jan 27 2008, 10:35 PM)
You mean this?
It's not fugly per se. Just... different. To each his own.

(If you asked me, it's still kind of fugly to me, but in a good way.)
wow... sweet for the spec but design wise. Not really fugly la. Just bulky for me. Expected the thickness.. shakehead.gif

Added on January 28, 2008, 12:14 am
QUOTE(yongkailoon @ Jan 28 2008, 12:11 AM)
Yes of course they do have SLi in laptops already else I wouldn't be talking about it. Well, as long as the MacBook is good enough for occasional work and some multimedia, it is still a good laptop. biggrin.gif
i heard about SLi in laptops, but 8700GT got SLi? My bad for my old news.. blush.gif

This post has been edited by allvin: Jan 28 2008, 12:14 AM
allvin
post Jan 28 2008, 04:13 PM

4,506 posts

QUOTE(eugeneyou @ Jan 28 2008, 08:36 AM)
can mbp use for web designing?html?wat else windows can but mac cant?sorry im new
sweat.gif Bro, sorry if i seems to offense you la. Mac or Apple machines use to be in designing area. Of cos it can use for web designing. laugh.gif

most popular applications support both platforms (win and mac). So it doesn't really matter nowadays. But some application only develop for one platform, such as Final Cut Pro (for mac) and 3Ds Max (for win) or autocad (for win). Anyway, there also got alternative applications. It really depend on what tools (app) you going to use.
allvin
post Jan 29 2008, 01:08 AM

4,506 posts

QUOTE(eugeneyou @ Jan 28 2008, 10:58 PM)
oooo. thx bro...me now waitin for new processor....u got macbook r?
yep. Btw, you going buy macbook or macbook pro? if mb, i would recommend you buy right now. It surely won't have new processor cos mb always LAST to get the goodies, whereas mbp will get it FIRST.

QUOTE(smashpOp @ Jan 29 2008, 12:11 AM)
hi all

i just bought my 2.2ghz white macbook from EpiCenter Pavilion. Bought the ACPP for RM809 (10% discount)

Went to Machines KLCC at first.. but they ran out of stock.. so I rushed to Epicenter to buy it biggrin.gif

Now charging. 7 hours and 50minutes left.
It's time to join the "dark side" world of mac brows.gif

PS: Happy playing.. especially the sudden motion sensor part
allvin
post Jan 29 2008, 12:37 PM

4,506 posts

QUOTE(duxz @ Jan 29 2008, 02:55 AM)

I m new to mac and was a windows user all these while. Just purchased my first mac end of oct with the old mac software and was given a free upgrade to leopard.

After upgrading to leopard, i notice my bootcamp doesnt seem to allow me to install my windows XP. Anyone here can help me out with this?

(sorry if this Q & A have been posted before)

Thanks in advance.
Hmm.. btw, your "bootcamp" is older version or what? Install the bootcamp software from that leopard disc wink.gif If the problem still occur, then "clean" install leopard
allvin
post Jan 30 2008, 02:22 PM

4,506 posts

QUOTE(towjin @ Jan 30 2008, 12:31 PM)
hey...just want to know sthing more abt mac books...any specialty which wins the other brands on the market?
just the OS la. Mac OSX. rolleyes.gif
allvin
post Jan 31 2008, 01:15 PM

4,506 posts

QUOTE(IvanKang @ Jan 31 2008, 12:19 PM)
My brand new macbook doesn't comes with boot camp..
yes it has. It is at your leopard installation disc 1. You have to search for it.
allvin
post Feb 1 2008, 01:52 AM

4,506 posts

QUOTE(smashpOp @ Feb 1 2008, 01:17 AM)
can someone tell me how do i connect my mb to my dsl modem via ethernet?

i plugged in the ethernet cable from my model to my mb and it says connected... but then it says error when i login to my streamyx account..

and asked me to create a pppoe thingymajig

actually whats the step by step ah?
btw, you got setup auto-dail in your router? If you setup auto-dail or auto-connect via your router, then you just plug the cable to your mb and it will auto connect to the internet.

If it is not, then you have to setup PPPoE connection. Read this site. It is almost similar, anyway, you should not have trouble wink.gif
http://homepage.mac.com/shah/streamyx/osxdynamic/

PS: mac office 2008 where got SUPER big sweat.gif doh.gif less than 1 normal cd size doh.gif doh.gif

This post has been edited by allvin: Feb 1 2008, 01:54 AM
allvin
post Feb 1 2008, 02:05 PM

4,506 posts

QUOTE(chrono_breaks @ Feb 1 2008, 11:12 AM)
If I have register the ACCP to my Macbook, can they do anything?
Technically, of cos can't do anything la. It is like those Digi reload card. Once you use it, can other use it again? No right? Same concept at here wink.gif
allvin
post Feb 2 2008, 12:42 PM

4,506 posts

QUOTE(smashpOp @ Feb 1 2008, 03:47 PM)
thanks a lot mate. ill kaotim it haha

Added on February 1, 2008, 11:58 pmcan someone tell me if its bad for the MB if i put in 1x2gb and 1x512mb ram in it? so total is 2.5gb ram.

i heard its better if both slots have the same amount of ram.. like 1gb + 1gb, or 2gb + 2gb.///

so 2.5gb is bad?
don't think have any "bad" experience for me. When I buy, i got free 1Gb upgrade, so total ram is 1.5Gb ram. No problem so far. Then currently i upgrade myself. Total ram now is 3Gb. Everything works fine icon_rolleyes.gif

Technically, I think due to Dual-channel la. Do you know how dual-channel ram works right? But in here, capacity is more noticeable rather than the clock speed.

QUOTE(ibrick @ Feb 2 2008, 11:58 AM)
Hai guys,

I heard that MacBook RAM suit with KTA RAM. So i try to upgrade my MacBook from 1GB  to 2GB RAM or may up to 4GB RAM.

Any RAM brands recommendations? And price perhaps..

Your helps kindly appreciated. Tq
You can try corsair brand. It works for me wink.gif
allvin
post Feb 2 2008, 08:58 PM

4,506 posts

QUOTE(slacker @ Feb 2 2008, 07:36 PM)
It still didn't mention whether it uses Intel Mobile 965 Express chipset. However, the wireless module is AirPort Extreme Wi-Fi. So....it's a non-centrino notebook. Thanks.
wht you mean non-centrino? Btw, intel don't use centrino nowadays. Now they use "santa rosa". Yes. The latest macbook and macbook pro are use santa rosa platform. 2.2Ghz macbook and macbook pro are use T7500 core2duo processor 4MB L2 Cache, which support 800Mhz FSB. Of cos, those specific spec you can't find in apple site. Apple machines using so called "AirPort Extreme" but it is the same thing, just the name change. It is draft-N Broadcom brand. wink.gif The mainboard is using the latest Intel chipset.
allvin
post Feb 3 2008, 12:37 PM

4,506 posts

QUOTE(slacker @ Feb 3 2008, 12:55 AM)
Santa Rosa is the latest implementation of the Centrino platform. In order to qualify as a Santa Rosa notebook, it need to have at least the following component:

- Intel Core 2 Duo (Merom or Penryn processor)
- Intel Mobile 965 Express chipset
- Intel Wireless WiFi Link 4965AGN mini-PCIe Wi-Fi adapter

Apple wireless is using Broadcom chipset. Then, it is certainly not a Centrino notebook.

Just to be sure. Can Macbook owner try to run the below utility to confirm it?

http://downloadcenter.intel.com/download.a...D=1697&lang=eng
[1]yes
[2]yes (should be la. Lazy to boot to winxp to check biggrin.gif )
[3]no

Well, if you notice for the normal laptop like acer or benq brand, some laptop stll using b/g wifi card in their santa rosa notebook due to cut some cost. Apple laptop or macbook is consider santa rosa platform. The most common is the processor. Processor which support 800FSB is consider santa rosa. Non-santa rosa laptop can't use 800FSB processor.

Btw, even it is not using intel punya wifi, that broadcom support draft-n, that's good enuf
allvin
post Feb 4 2008, 10:47 PM

4,506 posts

QUOTE(supazta @ Feb 4 2008, 08:31 PM)
hi.
wana know what is the max ram i can put on my black macbook:

Model Name: MacBook
  Model Identifier: MacBook2,1
  Processor Name: Intel Core 2 Duo
  Processor Speed: 2 GHz
  Number Of Processors: 1
  Total Number Of Cores: 2
  L2 Cache (per processor): 4 MB
  Memory: 1 GB
  Bus Speed: 667 MHz
  Boot ROM Version: MB21.00A5.B07
  SMC Version: 1.13f3

also..what software can i use to open .rar and winzip????????
reply ASAP!
should be non-santa rosa macbook right? Apple say max of 2Gb ram, but you can go up to 3GB, should not be a problem. wink.gif

u can use stuffit which is not free. Freeware is unrarX, http://www.unrarx.com/

8 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0517sec    0.89    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 10:09 PM