Recruiter / HR not responding - Good/Bad culture?

KopiMalaysiano
post Feb 24 2021, 01:43 PM

252 posts

Most job applicant are simply applying. Cashier applying IT job like wth how to reply u wor and there is like 50 of these then imma very busy right.

If employ auto reply also can but most big company also want to KIV all if they do need.

They also duwan u upset.

I still have a stupid company that had guts to reject me after 3 w days applying. Then I was employed by bigger greater firm.

SO I lost respect for the previous reject co,
sweet_pez
post Feb 24 2021, 02:07 PM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(ziling60 @ Feb 24 2021, 11:13 AM)
Mocking? Which part of my post was making fun of the HR/recruiters? Nor I have laughed abt this.
No, i didn't mean that you were mocking but i meant applicants in general who didn't get a reply. Maybe i forgot to elaborate - personally have friends who resorted to bad mouthing HR of certain companies who ghosted them. Seems to me like mocking the HR. I don't judge unless i come across it through own experience. For all we know, it could be due to several isolated cases of the HR for missing out, or forgetting to reply the email etc.

So end of the day, my opinion is that - they don't reply, call them to check - like someone said here. If they couldn't even inform you on the phone, then don't bother. Consider it gone.

You can't change someone else's response or behavior, only your way in managing this kind of issue/ people. End of the day, move on. The more you go for interview, the higher the chance of stumbling into this kind of situation. They're not the only company around, go on towards a better one.
karteh
post Feb 24 2021, 04:43 PM

73 posts

to me if they didn't get back to me within 1 or 2 weeks, i will just move on
do have experience hr call me back after 2 mths and said im shortlisted for 2nd interview but im alrd on board new job so i just decline it
Cloudrant
post Feb 26 2021, 12:28 AM

13 posts

to share my experience

I have dealt with numerous agencies from Robert Walters, Hays, Ranstead, and other smaller firms, all of them are professional enough to follow up pre/post interviews. Many of these guys will go to the extent of providing tips, sharing insights on the interviewers and will follow up with you post interview

all the head hunters I dealt with so far will provide me updates on the outcome, whether its a go/no go from the companies. Very transparent and no nonsense. Got one time one of the Big4 consulting firm ghosted me, but the headhunter that represented me asked me not to wait for them anymore

let me share with one of the recent f---ed up case, it truly reflects how low can a company be, it is an SG based company, after having 2 rounds of interviews with them (one technical, one HR), they ghosted me after that.

Although they did reply to some of my queries via email after that, but I heard zero news at all regarding the application progress. YES, I did follow up with them with "what is the status" thingy before CNY, still nothing coming up from them to date. I had even submitted my IC copies, payslips, and personal details to them after the 2nd interview. Very very unprofessional and will avoid these kinda company at all cost in the future. I applied this role via their job posting in LinkedIn, this is one of the downside to apply a job without recruiter representing you in.

This post has been edited by Cloudrant: Feb 26 2021, 12:33 AM
SUSBrookLes
post Sep 16 2022, 12:11 AM

1,354 posts

QUOTE(Cloudrant @ Feb 26 2021, 12:28 AM)
to share my experience

I have dealt with numerous agencies from Robert Walters, Hays, Ranstead, and other smaller firms, all of them are professional enough to follow up pre/post interviews. Many of these guys will go to the extent of providing tips, sharing insights on the interviewers and will follow up with you post interview

all the head hunters I dealt with so far will provide me updates on the outcome, whether its a go/no go from the companies. Very transparent and no nonsense. Got one time one of the Big4 consulting firm ghosted me, but the headhunter that represented me asked me not to wait for them anymore

let me share with one of the recent f---ed up case, it truly reflects how low can a company be, it is an SG based company, after having 2 rounds of interviews with them (one technical, one HR), they ghosted me after that.

Although they did reply to some of my queries via email after that, but I heard zero news at all regarding the application progress. YES, I did follow up with them with "what is the status" thingy before CNY, still nothing coming up from them to date. I had even submitted my IC copies, payslips, and personal details to them after the 2nd interview. Very very unprofessional and will avoid these kinda company at all cost in the future. I applied this role via their job posting in LinkedIn, this is one of the downside to apply a job without recruiter representing you in.
Actually, if you applied directly to a company, very seldom this happen. Or if it happens, that company is probably a china man company anyway even if on the surface it looks like an MNC.

Anyway, here is my recent whatsapp chat

As you can see never even replied to me back.

At least if he reply to me back, I will discuss with him once I am looking.

Malaysians in general are hopeless.

Mavik
post Sep 16 2022, 08:09 AM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

QUOTE(BrookLes @ Sep 16 2022, 12:11 AM)
Actually, if you applied directly to a company, very seldom this happen. Or if it happens, that company is probably a china man company anyway even if on the surface it looks like an MNC.

Anyway, here is my recent whatsapp chat

As you can see never even replied to me back.

At least if he reply to me back, I will discuss with him once I am looking.

Malaysians in general are hopeless.
Well you did already shown that you have no interest so it isn't a top priority for them to respond back to you. Again, what do you expect? Immediate respond? So what if he doesn't respond back to you, you aren't interested in any opportunities. He is there to do a job, not go have a chat with every tom dick and harry who wants to know the market conditions.
SUSBrookLes
post Sep 16 2022, 05:32 PM

1,354 posts

QUOTE(Mavik @ Sep 16 2022, 08:09 AM)
Well you did already shown that you have no interest so it isn't a top priority for them to respond back to you. Again, what do you expect? Immediate respond? So what if he doesn't respond back to you, you aren't interested in any opportunities. He is there to do a job, not go have a chat with every tom dick and harry who wants to know the market conditions.
Ok, I am just some Tom dick and Harry for him to spend the effort to whatsapp me.

And you confirm what I think about Malaysians.

Ppl like you are so short term it's incredible.

Actually, I did not show no interest. Because if I did, I would not go find out market conditions right. I mean if say it's heavily favoured towards the employer, why would I go waste my time going for interviews when there is a very high chance I will not get a job anyway. I have to check the market conditions before I decide whether I am going to waste my efforts preparing for interviews and then kena ghosted by ppl like you right?

I can see you are not brought up in the right way. Have you ever wondered why ppl use the words thanks and please in their conversation. Maybe you ought to thank your candidates for making the effort to go for the interview?

To be honest, when I tell job agents to talk to me through WhatsApp I normally have the courtesy to reply them back. Something which you guys really should learn. Of course random ppl, I just ignore. Actually I just do not understand why job agent just randomly call others especially when there is WhatsApp or LinkedIn. I mean dun you guys realize that you are disturbing the candidates while they are working.

And you job agents really are not that bright to be honest. I mean seriously besides just getting numbers, do you actually use any strategies to ensure that your candidates actually aced the interview. Just pushing your candidates for interview is a recipe for disaster. Actually do you make sure that your candidates are well prepared before going for interview. Do you even ensure that your candidates can do those algorimatic interviews first before you send them for interviews. I mean seriously, it is really not the candidates fault if they did not do well for the interview rather it's your fault for not setting the expectations. But then you ghost your candidates even though you did not set the expectations right and it's your fault. In fact you guys just push the candidates without even finding out whether they are prepared. And you give false assurance to candidates that they will do well just to ghost them when they did not do well. Maybe the company is not even seriously looking out but then because you dun seek candidate feedback you just continue wasting your time.

But I found out, you job agents are not alone, other Malaysians are probably like you.
Mavik
post Sep 16 2022, 06:48 PM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

QUOTE(BrookLes @ Sep 16 2022, 05:32 PM)
Ok, I am just some Tom dick and Harry for him to spend the effort to whatsapp me.

And you confirm what I think about Malaysians.

Ppl like you are so short term it's incredible.

Actually,  I did not show no interest. Because if I did, I would not go find out market conditions right. I mean if say it's heavily favoured towards the employer, why would I go waste my time going for interviews when there is a very high chance I will not get a job anyway. I have to check the market conditions before I decide whether I am going to waste my efforts preparing for interviews and then kena ghosted by ppl like you right?

I can see you are not brought up in the right way. Have you ever wondered why ppl use the words thanks and please in their conversation. Maybe you ought to thank your candidates for making the effort to go for the interview?

To be honest, when I tell job agents to talk to me through WhatsApp I normally have the courtesy to reply them back. Something which you guys really should learn. Of course random ppl, I just ignore. Actually I just do not understand why job agent just randomly call others especially when there is WhatsApp or LinkedIn. I mean dun you guys realize that you are disturbing the candidates while they are working.

And you job agents really are not that bright to be honest. I mean seriously besides just getting numbers, do you actually use any strategies to ensure that your candidates actually aced the interview. Just pushing your candidates for interview is a  recipe for disaster. Actually do you make sure that your candidates are well prepared before going for interview. Do you even ensure that your candidates can do those algorimatic interviews first before you send them for interviews. I mean seriously, it is really not the candidates fault if they did not do well for the interview rather it's your fault for not setting the expectations. But then you ghost your candidates even though you did not set the expectations right and it's your fault. In fact you guys just push the candidates without even finding out whether they are prepared. And you give false assurance to candidates that they will do well just to ghost them when they did not do well. Maybe the company is not even seriously looking out but then because you dun seek candidate feedback you just continue wasting your time.

But I found out, you job agents are not alone, other Malaysians are probably like you.
Oh all of that which you mentioned are already working for the job agents, just because you didn't get the response you wanted doesn't mean they don't do it to all candidates. Similar like all roles that require a wide net to reach, whether it may be insurance, telemarketing, job agencies, scam calls (its also a job for them) and more, every single one if it is human has a finite amount of time. If you are not a lead, why bother wasting time. Which is why scam operators are resorting to using automated calling to blast out and whoever believes in the automated calling, that is when the human would take the effort to lead the person on.

Courtesy? Coming from WhatsApp, if you have the decency to establish the connection with the person who came up with the opportunity, you would have just dialled the number and called instead of ranting on an online forum crying boohoo.

0.0185sec    0.88    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 01:54 PM