Contractor request 50% deposit?, Surely it is risky

soulred777
post Mar 7 2021, 12:01 AM

803 posts

QUOTE(kelvin_ck1 @ Feb 22 2021, 07:28 PM)
I was shocked  doh.gif  to notice that now it is a norm for a renovation contractor to get 50% deposit/preliminary sum for them to accept and start on their renovation project. As long I am in construction industry handling even billions ringgit value for a project, the norm for the preliminary sum is always less than 10%. Thereafter, the payment shall be based on the progress work of the project.

I am not sure why a lot of the consumers are accepting 50% deposit as this really expose them to the risk of contractor running away without even starting the project. Bear in mind the contractor does not only collect the money from you but a lot more people out there like you who are giving in to their request for 50% deposit.

This disadvantage arrangement reminds me of the mega failed pipeline project in Malaysia whereby 80% payment had been made but only 13% pipeline is completed. Therefore guys, please be prudent and don’t give in to the 50% deposit/preliminary sum to the renovation contractor.

Sometimes, the contractor will give excuse that these 50% sum would be needed to buy materials and etc. You should be worried with this kind of contractor because their cashflow is not in a good position and would be at risk to run away. This risk should not be carried upon consumers.

Therefore, if everyone does not give in to the 50% deposit then we can filter out unscrupulous renovation contractors and thus leaving the good renovation contractors which will finish the work and being paid on their project progress. Heck, even banks pay developers based on Housing Development Act progress payment which do not have the nonsense 50% deposit.

That's all from me guys  thumbup.gif
I just got a quotation. When I read the payment term got shocked. Need to pay 100% upon confirmation πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚
iAlien
post Mar 7 2021, 01:55 AM

Interior Designer
1,043 posts

i known some of the carpenter collecting 40% deposit upfront, and "promise"
follow my drawing, end up Owner call me said their work are very bad, some size are totally wrong, very upset and fed-up

but, paid up 40% already, what to do?

i would suggest 20% for deposit, 7 days of work would be another 20%, it would be fair to owner and designer/ contractor company

but true~ If RM10k, deposit RM5k is reasonable (base on how reliable of the company)
nexona88
post Mar 7 2021, 12:07 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,519 posts

QUOTE(soulred777 @ Mar 7 2021, 12:01 AM)
I just got a quotation. When I read the payment term got shocked. Need to pay 100% upon confirmation πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚
Crazy..
For me 50% also too much already...
apalexar
post Mar 7 2021, 11:05 PM

apalexar
1,383 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Mar 7 2021, 12:07 PM)
Crazy..
For me 50% also too much already...
3kim asking for 70% for first payment.
kesvani
post Mar 7 2021, 11:08 PM

955 posts

QUOTE(winter-X @ Mar 6 2021, 08:24 PM)
I just encounter a kitchen cabinet contractor. The price is attractive. But they had no showroom and office. Only have a factory for you to visit.
When asked to visit on-going project, they say management not allow due to covid-19.
They had proper quotation with letter head, have a proper facebook page.
They asked to pay 50% for deposit.
In the end I choose not to go ahead as they have little to no review in everywhere.
You can't even differentiate contractor and designer
nexona88
post Mar 7 2021, 11:40 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,519 posts

QUOTE(apalexar @ Mar 7 2021, 11:05 PM)
3kim asking for 70% for first payment.
Damn...
What they thinking?
We don't pay huh?
apalexar
post Mar 8 2021, 02:09 AM

apalexar
1,383 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Mar 7 2021, 11:40 PM)
Damn...
What they thinking?
We don't pay huh?
Perhaps their end products cost is higher and high risk to loss if first payment less than 70% when customer suddenly cancel booking, or perhaps can assume 70% is their cost and 30% is profit brows.gif
nexona88
post Mar 8 2021, 09:46 AM

The Royal Club Member
48,519 posts

QUOTE(apalexar @ Mar 8 2021, 02:09 AM)
Perhaps their end products cost is higher and high risk to loss if first payment less than 70% when customer suddenly cancel booking, or perhaps can assume 70% is their cost and 30% is profit brows.gif
Hmm..
Possibilities is there...
70% could be their cost.... So if u already covered that... Then u safe to go / proceed πŸ‘
SUSceo684
post Mar 8 2021, 01:52 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Mar 7 2021, 11:40 PM)
Damn...
What they thinking?
We don't pay huh?
Commercially some customer can even renege on PO (cancel PO and do not honour) so I guess that 70pc is to cover their costs and avoid flight risk.
Then their time and material total loss since once cut to size already it is almost useless for other project.
TSkelvin_ck1
post Mar 12 2021, 08:56 AM

73 posts

Talking about small contract, in our everyday life we had entered a small contract unknowingly to us. For example when we order food, we are entering an oral contract whereby the food seller agrees to prepare your food and you thereby agree too to pay the price of the food. In addition to that, most of the time we only pays when the food is served to us or even when we finished our food. Do we pay 50% deposit for them to buy food materials?
TSkelvin_ck1
post Aug 9 2021, 04:09 PM

73 posts

I think those people who had paid 50% deposit or even more must be quite worried now because deposit had been paid and renovation works can't start or can't continue during this stupid government MCO ... in addition to that, those people would be worried if those contractor would still be around and be contactable after MCO is lifted which we don't even know when ... thus i always advocate to pay the most minimum deposit that you can get and continue to pay the contractor based on their progress on site rclxms.gif
TSkelvin_ck1
post Jul 5 2022, 10:00 AM

73 posts

https://www.malaymail.com/news/singapore/20...-and-2021/15783
nexona88
post Jul 5 2022, 08:37 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,519 posts

QUOTE(kelvin_ck1 @ Jul 5 2022, 10:00 AM)
Don't expect Malaysia would have this kind of strong law 😁

0.0224sec    0.38    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 01:09 PM