QUOTE(kelvin_ck1 @ Feb 22 2021, 07:28 PM)
I was shocked

to notice that now it is a norm for a renovation contractor to get 50% deposit/preliminary sum for them to accept and start on their renovation project. As long I am in construction industry handling even billions ringgit value for a project, the norm for the preliminary sum is always less than 10%. Thereafter, the payment shall be based on the progress work of the project.
I am not sure why a lot of the consumers are accepting 50% deposit as this really expose them to the risk of contractor running away without even starting the project. Bear in mind the contractor does not only collect the money from you but a lot more people out there like you who are giving in to their request for 50% deposit.
This disadvantage arrangement reminds me of the mega failed pipeline project in Malaysia whereby 80% payment had been made but only 13% pipeline is completed. Therefore guys, please be prudent and don’t give in to the 50% deposit/preliminary sum to the renovation contractor.
Sometimes, the contractor will give excuse that these 50% sum would be needed to buy materials and etc. You should be worried with this kind of contractor because their cashflow is not in a good position and would be at risk to run away. This risk should not be carried upon consumers.
Therefore, if everyone does not give in to the 50% deposit then we can filter out unscrupulous renovation contractors and thus leaving the good renovation contractors which will finish the work and being paid on their project progress. Heck, even banks pay developers based on Housing Development Act progress payment which do not have the nonsense 50% deposit.
That's all from me guys

To be fair, (commenting from the point of a contractor), it depends on the scope of works as well as the project sum. I personally handled multi-million construction project before as well. Now, I am just running a start-up ID renovation company.
And logically, the bigger sum of a contract, it is more ideal to pay by stages and less deposit upfront. And preliminary is not even the same as deposit.. not sure why you compare them as they are not equivalent. For a big commercial project, even preliminary is claimed by stages according to progress.
On the other hand for a small project (depending on work scope), it is understandable why the renovation contractor will likely request the amount of 20-50%.
For example, if your renovation work is RM10,000 comprises painting and built-in cabinet works only. Without taking a fair share of the deposit, the contractor takes great risk to fabricate the cabinet.
Scenario 1: Owner pay right after the cabinet completely installed.
- Happy endings for both owner and contractor
Scenario 2: Owner somehow refuse to pay a single cents after work is done
- Total loss to contractor. Assume the contractor only earn 10% of each job, it will take another 10 jobs of similar size for the contractor to recoup the losses.
Scenario 3: Owner only pay 80% of the work and delay balance 20% of payment.
- Not the worst case for the contractor... But let's say 3 out of 10 customers delay payment. Can you imagine how much additional cash flow the contractor will need to run the business?
What I am trying to tell is, you have to see the situation from both sides, especially you mentioned that you are working in the construction industry.
For big project, both clients and main contractor are bound by legal compliance and there is form of contract. Those additional legal costs are to be borne by the client. Then, the main contractor will have to get a performance bond and so on.
So, it is like comparing apple to orange. If you are handling billions project, I think you may aware that for certain M&E service like lift, they do take up to 30% deposit before they even lift their finger to put a purchase order of material from China

Renovation works simply don't have the luxury to prepare all these legal documentation, other than a simple quotation that is agreed by the client and contractor.
It is a give-and-take situation.
I do understand from the standpoint of an end-user, it feels very risky to pay the contractor anything before they even start work.
As long as you do your due diligence, communicate with your contractor, you could at least sense whether they are honest. Check their track record, whether they are a properly registered company, are they registered with CIDB etc.
By the way, just to share. For our company, we normally take 30% of the deposit upon confirmation fo work. Then, depends on the project sum, we will either claim by stages or claim by weekly progress.
For a larger sum project, we can reduce the deposit to 15-20%. That just makes sense. 30% of RM10,000 is only RM3,000, while 10% of RM500,000 is already RM50,000. Hope you understand what I'm trying to convey.
And sorry for the lengthy mumbling, I just hope I clear up this contractor vs. client deposit thing a bit.