intel thread, 2021 budget superpowah

Vannus
post Oct 21 2022, 08:45 PM

Geeks
909 posts

QUOTE(Sesshoumaru @ Oct 21 2022, 08:25 PM)
Asus Z690 Prime-A. Didn't have much choice, very very early adopter before choices trickled in.

I don't think it's the mobo, but rather the CPU (12700KF) itself. So I tuned it for stuff like 6200 CL30-38-38 instead on 1.4V.
Could also be a bios version, as extensive googling showed that some had problems after a particular version (which we can't rollback after 2xxx version).
6400 MT/s seems to be the barrier for non-experienced OCers like myself on 12th gen.

Nonetheless, I don't dwell too much on it. Don't think I'll be updating to Raptor Lake, but good to see how far the 2nd Gen DDR5 controllers goes.
Same here bro, let's wait till Jan 2023 for the Ryzen 7 X3D something. Compare first before pull your trigger. blush.gif
Vannus
post Nov 19 2022, 12:53 AM

Geeks
909 posts

QUOTE(babylon52281 @ Nov 17 2022, 11:35 PM)
Want to ask those who used LGA1700 ILM bend correct frame, would you recommend to use it even if not for OCing?
I am concern the stock ILM might permanently warp the CPU and long run will damage it but will that be an issue or I'm just overworrying?
All good, just don't screw it hard, when you tighten it about 20% strength then it's good to go. laugh.gif

Vannus
post Nov 19 2022, 01:15 AM

Geeks
909 posts

QUOTE(Vannus @ Nov 19 2022, 12:53 AM)
All good, just don't screw it hard, when you tighten it about 20% strength then it's good to go.  laugh.gif
On a 360 AIO, surprisingly at low/silent fan speed, the idle temp hovers around 36c -37c in aircon room and only consumed 120w (monitored from 3pin socket power meter). blush.gif This processor running stock settings when run 3dmark TimeSpy extreme with rtx4090 at stock settings as well, it didn't go beyond 660w (monitored from 3pin socket power meter) and temperature is around 60c plus not exceeding 70c. I think it's because not productivity workload and when on gaming workload the temperature and power efficiency are fantastic.
To me I feel there is no need to purposely undervolt or cap the PL1 PL2 TDP, just let it at stock because it feel great to have this auto overclocking feature to boost up when it requires the speed and power.
Btw in normal life scenario, i think only 1% of the world population will run 100% load 24/7 right. We are definitely not them, so no need to be over worrying about the 100c temp you see in youtube review.

Vannus
post Nov 19 2022, 02:30 PM

Geeks
909 posts

QUOTE(babylon52281 @ Nov 19 2022, 08:49 AM)
Gee thanks for your review. Im tempted to get it since its quite cheap but I wasn't gonna OC anyhow so was thinking if I need it to prevent bend damaging the CPU in long run.
Just do it bro, but don't get the one without brand. Mine is the Thermaltake one or grizzly which is stupidly overpriced at rm1xx
Vannus
post Dec 13 2022, 08:02 PM

Geeks
909 posts

QUOTE(Bonchi @ Dec 13 2022, 01:17 PM)
All non K 13th gen will be alderlake. If upgrading next year better just wait for another 9-10 months for 14th gen unless you cannot tahan AMD's shit any longer.
Bro, it seems you dislike AMD haha

Vannus
post Jan 6 2023, 09:02 PM

Geeks
909 posts

***Deleted repeat posting***

This post has been edited by Vannus: Jan 7 2023, 08:41 AM
Vannus
post Jan 7 2023, 08:39 AM

Geeks
909 posts

QUOTE(Vannus @ Jan 6 2023, 09:02 PM)
Go to bios set CPU Package PL2 limit for turbo boost to 253W.Tested cinebench ans it won't hit thermal throttle. BTW even if don't set PPL2 also can just hit 100c n your cpu sendiri slow down itself until temp recover back to normal. On air cooler also can work nicely.

Don't undervolt la cause will impact stability.

BTW cpu running with this Intel is very smooth and responsively fast. Not a single hiccup after using about a month plus.

Vannus
post Jan 7 2023, 08:53 AM

Geeks
909 posts

QUOTE(kmarc @ Jan 7 2023, 08:42 AM)
Yeah, I only knew about that after I built the rig. Nowadays I am just happy gaming without tweaking and tinkering with the rig.
I set it to 230w. Not much help as probably have to set it lower.  smile.gif
Maybe it's your case airflow issue liao. You need to find a Airflow case like Phantekx P500A or Fractal Design MESHIFY 2 XL if you have giant RTX4090 or FRACTAL DESIGN Torrent if using average size GPO. tongue.gif

Just go get AIO 360 or 420 to directly blow out the heat from your CPU without kacau the case internal space is the best. I last time also got thinking like you dislike AIO for long run, will leak la, unreliable la, this la that la. But after tested it one time, it's the best solution to throw CPU heat out from the case. All you need to do is maybe on the 3rd year of using just look at your cpu temp got go abnormal or not, if yes just replace with a new AIO, not that expensive AIO after all if you know how to choose 1.
Vannus
post Jan 8 2023, 03:03 PM

Geeks
909 posts

Missclicked

This post has been edited by Vannus: Jan 8 2023, 03:04 PM

0.0976sec    0.57    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 01:14 AM