intel thread, 2021 budget superpowah
targon
Aug 20 2021, 12:16 AM

QUOTE(cawan @ Aug 19 2021, 03:19 PM) in AMD community, lot of undervolt cpu being discuss. to lowered cpu heat. likely not fully utilize the cpu they own. 10th and 11th gen cpu you guys doing? but why? Isn't what those zen fellas always say intel is hot and power hungry ? now look what they need to do to :lower" heat with zen. so it's hot after all with zen. intel doesn't need to be undervolted to enjoy low temps and low idle power draw, In real world usage for most ppl , it's not gonna hit those numbers u see in those bias reviews. beyond that, u look at platform stability. if it works, it will work fine from day one without issues with intel. But with zen, it's random and a game of chance of getting a good stable silicon. If the thing f*** on day one, chances are it will continue to give stability issues unless u RMA it and got back a better (stable) silicon. U will know u got a lousy silicon if it WHEA/BSOD straight at your face in idle. That's the world of Zen.
targon
Sep 9 2021, 01:18 PM

Prices of Asus boards in Aus (quoted in Mwave):
Strix 590-E Aus499 M13H Aus719 M13A Aus749 M13E Aus1199
Giga Master 549 Tachyon 759 Xtreme 1299
Now when the M13E is cheaper than the Gay Xtreme in Aus, it shows how crazy expensive Asus is charging (milking consumers) in MY.
This post has been edited by targon: Sep 9 2021, 01:20 PM
targon
Sep 14 2021, 01:14 PM

Ebucket now has 11400 in stock. Anyone interested shld act FAST.
Added: YES It distribution also has it.
This post has been edited by targon: Sep 14 2021, 01:20 PM
targon
Sep 16 2021, 12:02 PM

Finally what we hope will happen arriving soon: New Intel Feature Allows Updating Motherboard UEFI Without a Reboot https://www.tomshardware.com/news/intel-sea...-without-reboot
targon
Sep 17 2021, 12:57 PM

QUOTE(Bonchi @ Sep 17 2021, 12:32 AM) although dont really feel it's that super useful for intel...... afterall rarely update bios unlike AMD lol. In fact I've been using the stock mobo bios till now with no issues only flashed to test for re-bar but reverted because of profile settings and lazy to run hours of stability stress test all over again... I normally will run memtest for at least 100 hours and prime95 for 20 hours (to "set" the thermal paste) it's not reason. the real thing is it's more favourable to be with intel platform. -less likely to update the bios . errr i update mine just once since i bought it. and have forgotten abt it ever ever since. -With Amd, it's more like endless waiting for a good agessa and trying out each new release in the hope it solves all the issues.
targon
Oct 18 2021, 11:37 PM

Coming soon.
Intel Officially Launches 12th Gen Alder Lake Unlocked Desktop CPUs & Z690 Platform on 4th November, Unveiling Next Week on 27th
targon
Oct 28 2021, 01:04 AM

QUOTE(Bonchi @ Oct 28 2021, 12:53 AM) DDR5 might be abit confusing with its dual channel 32bit in one dimm vs ddr4 single channel 64bit in one dimm. That's why I insisted on keeping the comet lake first haha, let the pro mess with DDR5 on alderlake first so by the time i adopt it, there's more information about it. Especially for raptor/meteorlake. Hopefully we don't get screwed up on DDR 5 pricing in MY. otherwise it can be a terribly expensive platform.
targon
Oct 28 2021, 10:55 AM

QUOTE(cstkl1 @ Oct 28 2021, 10:44 AM) ram msi depends on toppc asus has very good fae working with testers on both cpu/ram pushing limits, thinking out of the box. hence y they just cant compete.. many brains across the globe vs few brains in tw. Asus has Sham on the team.
targon
Oct 29 2021, 10:13 AM

QUOTE(Bonchi @ Oct 29 2021, 12:55 AM) Derp the person i sold my amd cpu to informed me the cpu died and sent for rma. Now im convincing him to go for alderlake  My ex 3900x kaput within 1-2 mths . It's not even OC yet. Shameful.....
targon
Nov 2 2021, 02:39 PM

QUOTE(Bonchi @ Oct 30 2021, 12:40 PM) That's xmp jer. Limits are meant to be broken  Our good fren is already having fun with adl. U can see his thread in OCN.
targon
Nov 4 2021, 10:30 AM

QUOTE(cstkl1 @ Nov 4 2021, 09:34 AM)  happy diwali, deepavali folks. again this only on 6400c36 1T like 2 weeks ago havent redone this on c28/30 orher ppl have better kits 6600-6666 at same tcl Beautiful. saw that in OCN earlier. problem is getting a good pair of D5 in MY.
targon
Nov 5 2021, 04:25 PM

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Nov 5 2021, 03:05 PM) Will wait for Raptor Lake. Perf jump from 5900x > 12900k is not huge enough to justify the moronic pricing for DDR5 at the moment. Also, the price of the Z690 Hero.... Glad to see Intel back at the top though. Dun u recall how much DDR4 cost in 2014 ? that's when haswell E came out. and the exchange rate is more favorable then. i remember i paid 1.8k for the dominator platinum 4 sticks pack 16 GB. It will drop over time once mass adoption starts......
targon
Nov 5 2021, 04:32 PM

QUOTE(TristanX @ Nov 5 2021, 04:10 PM) Asked the wrong guy. cstkl1 will know. asus has been doing this for a long time especially transitioning to a new socket. so consumers can reuse back existing coolers.
targon
Nov 5 2021, 05:19 PM

QUOTE(llk @ Nov 5 2021, 05:12 PM) Processor price is quite okay, only problem is the motherboard & DDR5  i been eyeing that since last night. Ebucket is not bringing in DDR5 at the moment due to the cost. But what i m waiting for is the Z690 Xtreme. And do note that Z690 Master is in EATX form factor. might not fit into some casings.
targon
Nov 5 2021, 05:59 PM

QUOTE(TristanX @ Nov 5 2021, 05:25 PM) Yeah, CPU price is great this time. Waiting for DDR5. That CPU is abt 2.7k alone. Slightly More than a 5900x but less than 5950x This post has been edited by targon: Nov 5 2021, 06:15 PM
targon
Nov 5 2021, 10:52 PM

QUOTE(Bonchi @ Nov 5 2021, 06:53 PM) Luckily no nice itx boards for z690. So the poison not too strong for me hahaha Z690I Aorus Ultra