Maxis Messed Up Its Equinix SG Link?, It's Choking At This Point

SUSCandy12
post Feb 5 2021, 03:46 PM, updated 5y ago

1,878 posts

Please take note that Maxis network is experiencing very high latency to Equinix SG servers.

The servers are getting choked to a point that from Ipoh to Singapore latency is registering over 100ms.

Posted a trace chart as proof. As soon as the hop reaches 9009.sgw.equinix.sg, the latency shoots up to over 100ms.

Can you do something about it Maxis?
SUSCandy12
post Feb 5 2021, 10:03 PM

1,878 posts

QUOTE(popopi @ Feb 5 2021, 03:55 PM)
what really is the root cause for this issue?
Could be 2 reasons which I can think of.

FYI Maxis as peering arrangements with Equinix but it seems M247 is not prioritizing packets which are reaching from Maxis as seen in the screenshot where the hop just right before 9009.sgw.equinix.com is as low as only 11ms belongs to Maxis Broadband (202.146.80.x)

Either Maxis doesn't want to increase their upstream link to cope with the traffic surge, Equinix doesn't want to grant them more bandwidth by not honoring their peering arranegements.

Apart from that everything seems resolved from last Wed's national backbone incident.

Better than before. Now ping from Ipoh to Maxis's Speedtest server can reach as low as 4ms even at 9PM (05/02/21)

SUSCandy12
post Feb 6 2021, 03:40 PM

1,878 posts

Thank you to those involved for resolving this issue.

Latency spike issue to M247 Singapore is already resolved.

Average latency to M247 is now 13ms.

SUSCandy12
post Feb 19 2021, 06:47 PM

1,878 posts

Maxis
Please forward this to your NOC team!

I'm re-opening this topic because the issue crept back just days after getting resolved.

Had to bear with it through the entire CNY last week but I'm not going to allow this to slip anymore.

Are you aware Maxis that Equinix SG is the culprit here despite them denying it all these while? Will you allow them to play you backs again and again?

At first I really thought that it was a congestion issue but after using a local COMPETITOR ISP to MTR and ping the same source speed.sg.m247.ro, I found its routes were very different.

Both sources were pinged and MTR tested at around 6PM 19/02 today so there's little variance in traffic peak times to prove it's due to congestion.

Pinging via Shinjiru (Using Time/GlobalTransit uplinks), I could maintained a steady 14ms ping to M247 Infra SG as below:

MTR results to M247 Infra SG(AS9009) via Shinjiru:

But at the same time when I use Maxis directly:

MTR results to M247 Infra SG(AS9009) via Maxis-Equinix SG:

Clearly as you can see Equinix is messing up your routes, Maxis. Please screw them real bad if you need to Maxis or better consider in long term getting rid of them in favor of SGIX which other Malaysian ISPs have already made that decision.

Also DO SERIOUSLY CONSIDER peering with M247 Infrastructure (AS9009).
Currently the other Malaysian telcos which have already peered with them include:

TM
Global Transit
Time dCom

When are you going to join them to make the right move?

SUSCandy12
post Feb 20 2021, 04:06 AM

1,878 posts

Maxis oh Maxsucks

Why your Europe connectivity so jialat one?

Other ISPs only need to cross 1 single continent , yours crosses 2 major oceans - Pacific Ocean and Atlantic Ocean the big way round earth to reach Continental Europe countries such as Switzerland, Austria, Luxembourg, Belgium and even Germany?

Is it because you got USELESS Telecom Italia Sparkle - SEABONE as your 2nd major upstream provider?

Should have dropped them in favor of TELIA and GTT instead. Why you continue to subscribe so much UPSTREAM capacity from them when they're PRACTICALLY USELESS?

AS6762 - Telecom Italia Sparkle

Just look how M247 Infra Singapore routes to major EU countries compared to yours:

Via M247 Infrastructure Singapore

Via MaxSucks and its USELESS T-BONE!!

How come ALMOST double? 180ms(M247 SG) vs 350ms (Maxsucks)
SUSCandy12
post Feb 23 2021, 09:39 PM

1,878 posts

QUOTE(FourIsVeryHot @ Feb 23 2021, 09:34 PM)
Not just this. They are messing with other routing as well. Im getting terrible speeds to my work server in Canada and dropping about 50% of my packets.
I asked some friends on TIME/Unifi to help me in doing tracert to my server and the route they are going through is much more direct. I'm getting bounced all around EU and dropping alot of packets there before heading over to canada.
East or West Canada?

I'm guessing Toronto and Montreal East Canada.That one yeah sure guaranteed very high ping.

Missing Cogent Communications(AS174) and GTT Communications Inc (AS3257) peerings.

NTT America is good only for Pan East Asia and Across to Pacific to West USA. Beyond that Maxis's routes are unreliable at most even to Europe.

SUSCandy12
post Feb 24 2021, 04:05 PM

1,878 posts

QUOTE(FourIsVeryHot @ Feb 23 2021, 10:23 PM)
East. Quebec. Prior to about maybe a week or two ago. I was getting about 300 ms/ 200 down 50 up to canada. Right now im getting like 600 MS and 1.5 down/50 up. They definitely mess something up. I had to keep my PC on for 3 days to download some files over FTP (500-600 mb only).
If you need to connect to Canada and want to avoid the round the world route across 2 continents(Europe and Trans Atlantic to US East Side), try using routes which prioritizes taking you directly across the Pacific first to West Side US/Canada. Servers which are based in Vancouver/British Columbia(West Side), thereafter your packets will be routed via national backbone to reach East side instead. Latency will be reduced considerably somewhere between 260-300ms which is still way better than spanning 2 major regions the other way around the world.

Ideally a Canadian West side hosting server but a West side US server will also be almost as good.

0.0180sec    0.49    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 03:13 PM