[WTA] Magnetic Clutch Replacement Cost, Not sure if I kena cutthroat or not

TSCygnusLeo
post Feb 1 2021, 02:07 PM, updated 5y ago

Hi guys, I just recently got my Perodua Axia aircon compressor magnetic clutch replaced, because it's spoiled already.
The workshop charged me RM335 for the part (not original part) and RM50 for the labour cost. hmm.gif

I understand workshops usually mark-up the prices of spare parts to increase their profit margins, but I need to know if I kena cutthroat ady or is it a fair price to pay ~RM380 to replace aircon compressor magnetic clutch / magnetic coil. blink.gif

If I really kena cutthroat, how much should it actually cost?

Any mechanics or experienced car owners can shed some light on this?
TSCygnusLeo
post Feb 1 2021, 02:34 PM

QUOTE(waghyu @ Feb 1 2021, 02:14 PM)
What is the issue with your aircond in the first place ? If overfill gas also can trip/sabotage the aircond compressor so they can claim the clutch broken.
The clutch memang broken ady. Magnetic power is very weak. Gas wasn't overfilled before.
Since 1 week ago, my car takes about 5 to 10 mins of engine running for the aircon to start blowing cool air. Already wanted to service aircond soon, but mana tau today the aircon just stopped blowing cool air.
TSCygnusLeo
post Feb 1 2021, 02:36 PM

QUOTE(fireballs @ Feb 1 2021, 02:21 PM)
should calculate this way, part rm100, labour 280

Malaysia culture don't appreciate labour, I think that's why the bill come as clutch 300 labour 50
I actually don't mind the labour cost to be RM200+ if they can be upfront about it though.
TSCygnusLeo
post Feb 1 2021, 02:38 PM

QUOTE(svchia78 @ Feb 1 2021, 02:27 PM)
A NEW compressor for small car like Axia would probably cost just as much?
Then I guess they put me on the chopping board and butchered me ady
TSCygnusLeo
post Feb 1 2021, 02:39 PM

QUOTE(cempedaklife @ Feb 1 2021, 02:33 PM)
My honda city, rm280, 3rd party part. All in. 2 years ago was in KL
I see... lesson learnt. moneyflies.gif
TSCygnusLeo
post Feb 1 2021, 02:52 PM

QUOTE(fireballs @ Feb 1 2021, 02:41 PM)
Well.. lazada say the clutch is rm100
But the amount of time spent to troubleshoot, take apart
The guy probably used 2 hours at least.
So consider labour rm100 per hour lah
True, took two hours+ to finish fixing it.

0.0189sec    0.68    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 09:40 PM