Life insured: 200k, expiring age 100
TPD: 210k, expiring age 60
CI: 150k, expiring age 100
Premium waiver

2. AIA Assurance 2
Life insured: 100k, expiring age 100
TPD: 100k, expiring age 60
CI: 50k, expiring age 100
Medical card: 90k annual, lifetime 300k, room & board 150 expiring age 70 (with co-insurance but cant recall how much already, maybe 10-15k)
Premium waiver

3. Allianz PowerLink
Life insured: 100k, expiring age 100
TPD: 100k, expiring age 65
Medical card: 120k annual, lifetime 1.2m, room & board 200 expiring age 100
Premium waiver

4. Tokio Marine Medic Plus
Medical card: 150k annual, room & board 500 (deductible 10k per disability)

Thinking of optimizing both AIA policies but what would be a better option with the newer policies or just maintain them? To me, the more important is medical card and CI coverage.

Appreciate views from all. Thanks.

jutamind
post Feb 7 2021, 03:23 PM

2,429 posts

QUOTE(lifebalance @ Feb 7 2021, 03:08 PM)
1. You mention your priority is Medical and CI coverage, have you figure out how much you're looking to cover? - there are few methods of finding it out

Based on what i read, CI coverage could be 3x annual income but this is quite high to be honest and might not be affordable. I think 200-300k could be good enough for now. Is there any standalone CI policy in the market?

2. Perhaps you can look into consolidating into a single policy if you'd prefer an ease of making claims / managing your policies. I.e a single medical card with high annual limit (nowadays they come min RM1 mil annual limit and above) instead of the current set up which has low annual limit + covering another card's deductible/co-insurance.

3. You can look into upgrading on the existing policy (if it is allowed). Probably get your servicing to quote for you.

Issue is these 2 AIA policies were very old policies bought from 2 agents which i dont have any contact now. Not sure whether can change agent or even upgrade the coverage.

4. I can only give a general comment as I don't know you personally.
This post has been edited by jutamind: Feb 7 2021, 03:23 PM
jutamind
post Apr 29 2021, 07:50 PM

2,429 posts

Any difference for medical card sold by general insurance companies compared to those sold by life insurance companies?
jutamind
post Jun 25 2021, 12:35 PM

2,429 posts

Seeking opinion on the need for early CI given the Premium is much higher than normal CI.

How often in real life that claims come from diseases apart from the main 36 diseases?
jutamind
post Jul 3 2021, 04:44 PM

2,429 posts

any online portal that can recommend to purchase standalone family PA policy?
jutamind
post Mar 3 2022, 11:14 AM

2,429 posts

is the annual premium statement for Prudential already issued to policy holder? doesnt seems to be available to be downloaded yet for me.
jutamind
post Jul 13 2022, 01:36 PM

2,429 posts

How is the CI policies under KWSP i-Lindung plans differ from the other CI plans in the market nowadays?

Premium seems to be rather cheap but not much details available
jutamind
post Mar 13 2023, 09:50 PM

2,429 posts

Is it common for those after retirement age to remove critical illness rider/cancel CI policy, assuming medical card is still effective?

This post has been edited by jutamind: Mar 13 2023, 09:52 PM
jutamind
post Mar 13 2023, 11:34 PM

2,429 posts

I understand that CI is to cover you financially in case if you have dreaded disease that might put you out of work for good or for short term.

However if you're already retired, is there such a need for CI anymore? I know this could be a personal choice but what's a good financial advice/practice for continue to pay for CI coverage for those that have retired

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Mar 13 2023, 11:14 PM)
Up to person. Different people different thoughts.
Some people just want to cover as long as they work. Cause if you got critical illness, means likely your job will be affected and likely laid off from work, hence you lose your income. So this critical illness is to cover for loss of income.
Some people want to cover for life cause pay insurance so much for what? Need to claim back the money.

Medical card confirm will use eventually.
jutamind
post Oct 16 2023, 07:24 PM

2,429 posts

Long term performance of investment link funds from insurance companies are pathetic.

Is there any recommended equity/managed funds from AIA or Allianz for those regular premium IL policies?
jutamind
post Oct 16 2023, 07:45 PM

2,429 posts

Problem with checking on the web site is that a lot of those funds listed are not eligible for regular premium IL funds. Need to confirm with agent/customer service only know which fund regular premium IL can buy/switch.

As for S&P 500 fund, I think only GE has it (Lion US i-fund) which I think is advantage for GE customers

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Oct 16 2023, 07:31 PM)
Well said. Look for one that is global or more US focus. Avoid Malaysia based or China based.

Not sure if it exist maybe BMM or SC mandate that insurance companies must invest majority in Malaysia (just speculation from observation that majority of the funds offered are either Malaysia or China focus and little US/global focused).
QUOTE(lifebalance @ Oct 16 2023, 07:33 PM)
You can refer to their funds listed in their website and look into it.

There are also S&P500 funds available.
jutamind
post Oct 17 2023, 08:16 PM

2,429 posts

Just to share with everyone that has investment linked funds, you can check the performance of your funds periodically from this link:

https://www.liam.org.my/library/?c=29&ct=4
jutamind
post Aug 24 2024, 12:15 AM

2,429 posts

Is there any recommended sum insured for personal accident coverage, for eg 3x of your annual pay?
jutamind
post Aug 24 2024, 02:28 PM

2,429 posts

While I agree that most of the recommended sum insured is commercially driven, I still think PA coverage is necessary as accident might happen unexpectedly. Just need to know how much to cover for sufficiently without being over insured

QUOTE(adele123 @ Aug 24 2024, 12:54 PM)
Truth be told, any formula is more for the insurance company sell you something.

Why 50:30:20? Only 20% to savings is to me quite bad. Why not 30:10:60?

Most people who earns a 9 to 5 sitting in an office hardly justifies additional coverage for PA coverage. You should be focusing having enough life insurance.

If you working at as a grab rider, construction worker than i would recommend you getting it (the PA)
jutamind
post Oct 10 2024, 08:37 PM

2,429 posts

Recently my ILP with medical card rider premium is being revised and I'm given 2 options by the insurance company:

1. Maintain current premium but policy might lapse earlier due to higher premium.
2. Opt for 5k deductible with new premium and policy will sustain much longer (can't recall hour many years longer)

Which is a better option to choose? Alternatively, I'm thinking about removing the medical rider and buy standalone medical card. Is this a better option than option 2 assuming that I don't have underlying medical conditions?

Appreciate the input from the insurance experts over here
jutamind
post Oct 10 2024, 11:47 PM

2,429 posts

QUOTE(adele123 @ Oct 10 2024, 10:48 PM)
There should be a 3rd option, which is pay the revised premium to support high charges in future.

Having said that, i would go with 5k deductible. Good amouny to start.

There is not many standalone medical plan in the market. If you dont have a policy now, buying another standalone medical plan is fine. If you already have a policy now, if you surrender buy new, it is usually not advantageous. Because you are paying new "fees" when you buy a new policy. But it really depends on the situation.
The option 2 mentioned by me is the one with revised premium.

I know for ILP, the first 7 years of the policy will need to deduct the commission. No idea whether the same commission structure applies to standalone medical card.

Oh another point forgot to mention is I'm in the 50s. Advisable to still drop the medical rider and change to standalone medical card?

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Oct 10 2024, 11:28 PM)
Very simple.
1. Can you do your own investment to pay for the future insurance or do you prefer your insurance company to do for you and gove you subpar return (at best EPF return if you really good. Majority are giving around 3-4%p a or some even negative)
2. Are you able to cough out RM20-30k of premium at around 80-100 years old?
3. Are you ok if those ILP keep issuing you those letter asking you to increase premium or else your policy age will decrease?
1. Yes
2. My suspect is that by the age of 80 and above, the COI for ILP or premium for standalone medical card should be more of me the same? Correct me if I have the wrong understanding
3. I do expect either ILP or standalone card to increase prices in the future. Just not too sure which type of policy has higher quantum of increases historically.

In short just looking at option to balance the coverage and cost over the long term

jutamind
post Oct 11 2024, 12:21 AM

2,429 posts

Based on your understanding/research, standalone card won't have ad hoc premium increase if the claims ratio is higher than anticipated?

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Oct 11 2024, 12:14 AM)
I won't talk much here as this thread got lots of agent cari makan by selling ILP which are very touchy if you bash ILP.

Really depends on what you want. If you are able to do your own investment and want pure insurance, then get standalone.

You saved on
1. Annual management fees
2. Lousy returns
3. The need to top-up every time the fund is not performing hence sustainability become an issue

I went with standalone because read too much every few years keep asking to increase premium or do voluntary top-up to make sure it is sustainable. Could be wrong. But too much smoke definitely much have a fire some where.
jutamind
post Mar 19 2025, 09:44 PM

2,429 posts

Actually don't understand why all insurance companies coming out with these 5m, 8m medical coverage when the majority can't even pay the premium for 1m coverage.

If I need to spend 5m for medical fees, I think I should be 6ft under already or seek treatment at gov hospital. But that's just me....

QUOTE(trumpkampung @ Mar 18 2025, 09:32 PM)

stated here annual limit
jutamind
post Apr 14 2025, 08:45 PM

2,429 posts

Since you've provided a rating of C for GE and B for Prudential in your previous posts (according to your analysis), what's the rating that you're going to give to AIA, Allianz, HLA etc?

QUOTE(hafizmamak85 @ Apr 13 2025, 02:06 AM)
The average medical pool claims cost per policyholder for a Great Eastern policy is only RM 730. You can derive this figure by multiplying Great Eastern's average medical claims size per claimant (RM 8.8k) with the proportion of claimants (8.3%).

The average medical pool claims cost per policyholder for Prudential's PruHealth policies is RM 1.1k (RM 14.7k average medical claims size per claimant with 7.4% proportion of claimants).

Guess what Malaysia's current (2023) per capita health expenditure is??? It's around RM 2.5k. Went from RM 1.2k in 2011 to RM 2.5k in 2023. Growth of 6.2% per annum.

Guess what the average annual premium paid for an investment-linked policy is??? Over RM 4k for more than 7 million policies in 2023.

Guess what the average sum assured (death) for an investment-linked policy is??? Less than RM 150k

Guess why a National Health Insurance Scheme funded by a 5% payroll tax may not be feasible in Malaysia??? It would be too burdensome for nearly half of the households, those within the higher income bands, and does not add any benefit to them. Good enough to only raise around RM 46 billion or equivalent to RM 1.3k per capita. Not worth it.

Guess what should be available for purchase by a 35 yr old with RM 4.2k? An insurance policy with:
- RM 3100 in average medical pool claims cost (12.1% proportion of claimants and average claims size of RM 25.4k)
- RM 200k death benefit
- Up to RM 200k in short and long term disability benefits

Assuming there are 12 million lives within households earning 10k and above per month, it's possible to collect RM 39.3 billion in medical insurance premiums or RM 3.3k per capita.

Guess why IL policyholders should sue BNM and the kootu ITOs (PRU, GE, AIA, Allianz, HLA)????
jutamind
post May 8 2025, 11:21 AM

2,429 posts

common guidance for critical illness (CI) coverage is 3-5x of your annual income.

If you have annual income of 100k, that's 300k of CI coverage which is probably not cheap for most folks.

What's your CI coverage currently? is it following this common guidance/guideline of 3-5x of your annual income?

0.0367sec    0.62    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 02:37 AM