Insurance Talk V7!, Your one stop Insurance Discussion

WaCKy-Angel
post Feb 10 2021, 08:10 AM

PeACe~~
21,961 posts

Any AIA agents here can confirm whether Covid is categorized as infectious disease or not?

WaCKy-Angel
post Feb 11 2021, 07:45 AM

PeACe~~
21,961 posts

QUOTE(ckdenion @ Feb 10 2021, 09:49 PM)
hi WaCKy-Angel, based on WHO (COVID-19 info by WHO), it is an infectious disease. hope the article helps. just curious why do you specifically ask AIA agents? Mind to share?
QUOTE(Ewa Wa @ Feb 10 2021, 09:59 PM)
Do note that Covid has 5 category: 1-5 (1 is mild 5 is very severe that on ventilator.) We need the AiA agent Rajan CFP to clarify which category is cover and which is not cover.

As I heard 1 & 2 admission to private hospitals is non-coverable.
QUOTE(lifebalance @ Feb 10 2021, 11:08 PM)
Yes, it's an infectious disease
Because i'm claiming death benefit due to Covid but its under AIA Flex PA.
The agent and AIA says Covid is NOT covered under the 23 infectious diseases mentioned in the brochure, however MERS and SARS (Cov) is in the list, So since the brochure probably was old/not updated im hoping Covid is included.
Otherwise i would only get 10K as opposed as 60K (+10K?) for infectious diseases.

https://www.aia.com.my/en/help-support/impo...ge-no-cost.html
This is the only 10K get for Covid i can claim since it was FLEX PA policy.
Even the hopitalisation benefit not able to claim because AIA says it is only for non-death situation.

This post has been edited by WaCKy-Angel: Feb 11 2021, 07:56 AM
WaCKy-Angel
post Feb 11 2021, 11:09 AM

PeACe~~
21,961 posts

QUOTE(lifebalance @ Feb 11 2021, 10:43 AM)

I do not see that it covers/recognize Covid-19  within the policy terms & condition as part of the infectious disease

There is also no extra circular to further supplement the policy's T&C besides the extra RM10,000 that will be paid as per the link of the website.

Cheers.
Yeah i can see that. I guess insurance companies are not willing to lose money just yet since Covid is still rather new and on-going.
It will probably be included later after few years when its become rare occurrence just like MERS and SARS situation.

WaCKy-Angel
post Oct 5 2021, 02:46 PM

PeACe~~
21,961 posts

I got a question about having 2 or more medical card.
One is company medical card and another is personal medical card.

Company card annual limit 40K, personal card limit 100K
Lets say hospital bill is 100K.
Can i split using company card to claim 40K and balance 60K claim using personal card?

I recalled my Accounts teacher told me can..
But afaik hospital only issue One (1) original receipt right? and insurance company wants the original receipt.
So is it possible? If yes, what are the procedures?
WaCKy-Angel
post Oct 5 2021, 03:44 PM

PeACe~~
21,961 posts

QUOTE(lifebalance @ Oct 5 2021, 03:25 PM)
You can either claim 100k under your personal or pay 60k first (40k from company card) and claim back from the 100k personal card.
ohh that is how it works ya.

So how to claim back? like i mentioned official receipt (total 100K bill although only claim 40K) only issue one and submitted to company card insurance liao.
accept duplicate meh?
WaCKy-Angel
post Oct 5 2021, 04:13 PM

PeACe~~
21,961 posts

QUOTE(lifebalance @ Oct 5 2021, 04:10 PM)
Request from the insurer that you've made a claim with. They'll provide the doc.
Cool learnt new things liao..

Oh next question.
I have 2 medical cards.

1st card company card have deduction/co-insurance (not sure which term suitable) due to R&B above rate so insurance only reimbursed around 90% of the bill.
Can i use the 2nd card to claim the balance of above?

p/s: that time i didnt know got co-insurance of 10% if above R&B rate. I thought i only need to fork out the balance of the R&B spent.

Why i use company card to claim? I have this perception that company card insurance premium not bourne by me if the premium increased not really affect me so i will use company card to claim 1st.
Is that correct perception?

This post has been edited by WaCKy-Angel: Oct 5 2021, 04:18 PM
WaCKy-Angel
post Oct 5 2021, 04:35 PM

PeACe~~
21,961 posts

QUOTE(lifebalance @ Oct 5 2021, 04:32 PM)
Can
owhhh cool. Just that it was 2 years ago lel.
Need to contact my agent see can help claim or not
WaCKy-Angel
post Nov 18 2021, 01:49 AM

PeACe~~
21,961 posts

This post has been edited by WaCKy-Angel: Nov 18 2021, 01:50 AM
WaCKy-Angel
post May 19 2022, 04:05 PM

PeACe~~
21,961 posts

QUOTE(henrytamfh @ May 19 2022, 03:56 PM)
i have a question about cancelling life insurance policy, maybe someone here can answer.
i have a life policy about 30 years ago , would like to cancel terminate it and get the cash value , as it is more than the policy payout . but when i inquire to surrender it , am told that i need to get the beneficiary signature as well else cant be done. problem is there is bad blood between beneficiary and me - so stuck at this . is there any way to go about this , surprise as i am the policy holder and paid for it all. so i basically have no rights as a policy holder ?
Are u sure the term they use is beneficiary?
WaCKy-Angel
post May 19 2022, 04:26 PM

PeACe~~
21,961 posts

QUOTE(henrytamfh @ May 19 2022, 04:18 PM)
in the surrender form - it is written Trustee

though i would understand it to be beneficiary , meaning upon death that would be the beneficiary,
i dont know how it is now called trustee
No choice u need to get them to sign.

This post has been edited by WaCKy-Angel: May 19 2022, 04:30 PM
WaCKy-Angel
post May 19 2022, 10:06 PM

PeACe~~
21,961 posts

QUOTE(Kakwen @ May 19 2022, 10:00 PM)
Hi sifus, i am currently not on any insurance policy

I am wondering whether anyone can gave advice on what type of insurance is worth it and necessary and what type to avoid

Whether i should buy fron insurance agent or maybe online type

Tq all
Insurance mainly divided into life insurance (payout when u died), medical insurance (hospital admissions).

What does "worth" means to u?
Are u worried u cant afford hospital bills? Or worried what will your dependant need after u are gone?

If u buy online u may not understand what u really need or what u are paying for. And also wont get dedicated person to help/advise u how to submit claims.
Buy thru agent u can ask anything until u satisfied. And they will help u submit claims (although mostly will vanish so u have ro choose right agent)

p/s: im not agent

This post has been edited by WaCKy-Angel: May 19 2022, 10:09 PM
WaCKy-Angel
post May 19 2022, 10:15 PM

PeACe~~
21,961 posts

QUOTE(Kakwen @ May 19 2022, 10:08 PM)
Is it worthed it to buy medical insurance for hospital in case of anything or just put money into stock and let it earn then take out if needed
Insurance is about risk transfer.

U wont know if u kena cancer next year or get into accident. So the question is u want to take the risk or pass the risk to insurance by paying minimal fee?

Last time i bought and cancelled life insurance and medical card atleast twice (due to financial issues) thinking im young and healthy. Luckily nothing happened to me.

2 years ago i had stones and admitted for surgery. I didnt have medical card then. Luckily i have medical card from company but the limit was low. So i hard to fork out some money myself.
I take it as i "paid" few years insurance.
WaCKy-Angel
post May 19 2022, 10:27 PM

PeACe~~
21,961 posts

QUOTE(lifebalance @ May 19 2022, 10:24 PM)
It doesn't work that way.

It's funny how you're trying to beat the law enacted by Bank Negara. These safe guards are meant to be bullet proof guidelines. I'll be very interested if you have ways to bypass a trustee signature other than forging the signature.
Does it only applies for beneficiaries that is above legal age? Below legal age no need approval?
WaCKy-Angel
post Apr 9 2023, 10:26 PM

PeACe~~
21,961 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Apr 9 2023, 10:05 PM)
lee82gx
If you want outpatient only AXA have them. But I believed the number of visits are limited.
https://www.generali.com.my/medical-health/...medi-outpatient

Unless it's some cancer than only choice is critical illness insurance.

Malaysia does not have but I think Singapore may have what you are looking for. It's call disability insurance. It's different from critical illness. This disability insurance is in case you have a disability which prevent you from working, then they will kick in.
You can check out here.
https://www.moneyowl.com.sg/insure/
They are salaried based and not commission based so you will get good unbias advise.

Downside is the premium is charged in SGD and you need to be in person there to sign the insurance agreement.

Upside
They have better plans than what we have in Malaysia (cheaper, better value for money)

PS I have personally look at some of their critical illness plans and no insurance company in Malaysia can match what they offer me in terms of money or value.

You can joint this link
https://t.me/sgfinindependence
Look for the admin name Kyith. He's a nice guy. He have psoriasis. Just message him and asked him what insurance he takes for his psoriasis.

Hope this helps.
Interesting anyone knows more info about outpatient benefits?
Pead can?
WaCKy-Angel
post Apr 9 2023, 10:32 PM

PeACe~~
21,961 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Apr 9 2023, 10:29 PM)
If you got company insurance, they cover outpatient. Only personal insurance cannot use for outpatient.

3 years old above based off the brochure. So yeah.
Yeah too bad company does not cover dependant. Pead is dammmnnnn expensive brah
WaCKy-Angel
post Apr 9 2023, 10:48 PM

PeACe~~
21,961 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Apr 9 2023, 10:34 PM)
Actually paeds generally is virus infection which mean self limiting illness. They will go away on their own. Well they cover 3 years old above.

GPs are unlimited visit while specialist are limited to 12 or 6. Depending on the plan.

You can download their brochure and PD's for more info. I download it as was like wow. Finally a outpatient medical insurance.
The brochure didnt mention paed does that mean considered as GP? Or when comes to paed it is consider specialist?

The premium is yearly or monthly? If yearly its cheap
WaCKy-Angel
post Apr 9 2023, 10:52 PM

PeACe~~
21,961 posts

QUOTE(lee82gx @ Apr 9 2023, 10:46 PM)
my own experience with paeditricians is that you go for a quick visit then try to get the same meds at GP.
Lol go GP for adult to get med? Can lah if already kawan with the Dr.
WaCKy-Angel
post Apr 9 2023, 10:57 PM

PeACe~~
21,961 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Apr 9 2023, 10:50 PM)
Based off the PDS and brochure looks like annual premium.

If see paediatrician means consultant. You can visit 12x/year if you take the premium plan.
Quite interesting even if its 12x visit only.

Will contact them to clarify paed consider GP or Specialist.
WaCKy-Angel
post Apr 9 2023, 11:15 PM

PeACe~~
21,961 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Apr 9 2023, 11:00 PM)
Glad I helped someone. Btw most likely it's on a pay and claim but you better clarify with them.
Pay and claim no issue.

QUOTE(lifebalance @ Apr 9 2023, 11:00 PM)
They are known as specialist.
Ahhh still ok lah 10% co-payment better than nothing still can save min RM20/visit lol.
Cheapest paed visit i went is RM80 (PPUM RM60 + 2-3 hours wait) and highest visit is RM200.

WaCKy-Angel
post Apr 9 2023, 11:34 PM

PeACe~~
21,961 posts

QUOTE(lifebalance @ Apr 9 2023, 11:25 PM)
laugh.gif just don't abuse it, the plan can be withdrawn at any point of time.  wink.gif
Well insurance is all about risks no?

Any other company has such benefit?

0.0294sec    0.39    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 02:26 AM