Insurance Talk V7!, Your one stop Insurance Discussion

Ramjade
post Jul 19 2023, 03:12 PM

24,346 posts

QUOTE(adele123 @ Jul 19 2023, 02:49 PM)
I will be abit real on a few things. In principle, overseas hospitalisation sounds good but unless you get the rarest of rarest disease, seeking medical treatment overseas is not a fun experience.

Being away from home, away from most family member, away from familiar food etc. The good thing malaysia medical facilities is really not bad for the price point. Look, our fellow indonesians friends do frequent malaysia for treatment.

The thing about ILP is like a all-in-one plan (i use nasi lemak as analogy for today). When you eat nasi lemak you want the basic, rice, cucumber, sambal, ikan bilis, maybe1/4 egg. For the ILP you can add on egg, chicken, squid if you feel like it. But everything you add on there is price tagged to it.

Standalone is standalone. Some maybe got some add-on, but usually very limited.
I would like to add in, overseas usually hospitalisation basically Singapore and Brunei only. Cause insurance company aren't stupid and generous. If one goes for overseas treatment, if the thing is available in Malaysia, they will only pay the price in RM and not overseas currency.

I like to counter your analogy too. If I just want to buy nasi lemak, why do want to add on extra kuih and pay for it/ayam and pay for it.

Another like from me. Haha...

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Jul 19 2023, 03:14 PM
Ramjade
post Jul 19 2023, 05:04 PM

24,346 posts

QUOTE(YoungMan @ Jul 19 2023, 04:33 PM)
How do we calculate the rate of premium base on our age? Just follow the projected rate?
Yes. But different insurance companies different rates. If you take. ILP, can't see the the premium include in the extra stuff.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Jul 19 2023, 05:37 PM
Ramjade
post Jul 21 2023, 02:16 PM

24,346 posts

QUOTE(-kytz- @ Jul 21 2023, 01:25 PM)
Thank you both for your very useful inputs!

I'm currently looking at AIA Med Regular + Booster for higher annual limit of almost RM2 mil. I think my concern for now is Medical card first... however noted that there could be limitations as to whether I could upgrade/downgrade or add on plans.. where ILP is way more flexible in this area.

Ramjade Might PM you tongue.gif
You are welcome to Pm. I am not an agent hence I am unable to sell you anything.

People here said aia med regular have been discontinued and replaced with medi flex. Not sure how true is that.

For me, I just take the rm200 plan. No need so expensive cause I don't want to give insurance company so much money and I feel RM1.375M of coverage is more than enough for me. tongue.gif
Ramjade
post Jul 21 2023, 09:38 PM

24,346 posts

QUOTE(YoungMan @ Jul 21 2023, 09:05 PM)
RM200 which plan? aia Medi Flex?
RM200 is the plan. Room and board plan. My is AIA med regular..For mediflex should be RM250 room.
Ramjade
post Jul 21 2023, 11:08 PM

24,346 posts

QUOTE(Holocene @ Jul 21 2023, 11:05 PM)
It is gone.

Used to be at the A-Life Mediflex area.
I see the med regula have slightly higher coverage. But cost wise macam same only.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Jul 21 2023, 11:57 PM
Ramjade
post Jul 22 2023, 02:23 PM

24,346 posts

QUOTE(Yenshefu @ Jul 22 2023, 02:15 PM)
Thanks Ramjade and Adele for the insight. Will shop around to find one that suit my needs. Not really in a rush for now.
Btw, Generali plan can apply directly without agent. Maybe can get abit discount on the premium
Nah. They are still more expensive than AIA long term based off my calculation. Those cheap one are like gathercare (the on with the highest coverage), generally emedic (coverage only RM150k)

Shop around, get quotation, do your own calculations then decide. Price is not everything. It's part of the factor.
Ramjade
post Jul 28 2023, 12:42 PM

24,346 posts

QUOTE(karazure @ Jul 28 2023, 10:54 AM)
HI all Sifus,

Unker got this today, it advise me to increase premiums by 80/month.

I read say can maintain but will effect sustainability, anyone know what exactly does that means?

Yes, this policy is investment linked.
It means, eg if your insurance can cover you until say age of 80. Now it can only cover you until 75. How long is your sustainability, need to ask your agent or login to the website. On the website, they should write how long will the insurance sustain you.
Ramjade
post Jul 28 2023, 03:31 PM

24,346 posts

QUOTE(Wedchar2912 @ Jul 28 2023, 03:21 PM)
That is not my question.

say in 30 years time, the medical card component comes out to be 800rm per month, while the funds is 10 ringgit,
one just pay 800rm diligently every month to keep the whole policy alive.

right?
You cannot do that. You still need to pay RM810. Why? It's called investment link for a reason. You cannot remove the investment part of it. Even if your funds not enough, you need to pay for the investment part.
Ramjade
post Jul 28 2023, 05:02 PM

24,346 posts

QUOTE(contestchris @ Jul 28 2023, 04:49 PM)
Let's say you go for a pre employment medical at a private clinic that does everything - urine, blood, ecg etc.

Will insurance companies have access to this information?

1. That you had a medical examination done at so and so date
2. The results of said medical examination
3. Any particular adverse findings, but no formal diagnosis
4. If yes to the above questions, how far back can insurance companies dig back?
5. What if you do your own blood test at a lab, does insurer have access to that too?
From what I know (this is what the agent tell me, don't shoot me), if you claimed for stuff and insurance ask to pay and claim first, the time when you submit the claim to time of payment, the insurance company will send a letter to all clinics and hospitals within 40km of your house/working place, have Mr xyz have come here before. If yes for what reason? If no then you are clear. If yes, then you kantoi. Not sure how far back they can dig it up.

Someone mentioned before here before the PDPA law, insurance company exchange information with one another. Say you got rejected by insurance A and you decided to buy insurance B but you didn't tell insurance B you got decline for insurance A, insurance B will ask around other insurance company have this person been your customer? Not sure if it's still done today with PDPA law.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Jul 28 2023, 05:04 PM
Ramjade
post Jul 28 2023, 06:39 PM

24,346 posts

QUOTE(Wedchar2912 @ Jul 28 2023, 06:26 PM)
So scary meh? but that is a lot of letters to send out and would that not be a breach of doctor/patient confidentiality?
If I am a doctor, I also will ignore cos it is silly and a waste of my time.
If I am not mistaken, the insurance company pay for it. It's not free. Another word my agent use, insurance company will know. You cannot run away if you try hiding it.
Ramjade
post Jul 29 2023, 08:52 AM

24,346 posts

QUOTE(WinkyJr @ Jul 29 2023, 08:49 AM)
any insurance to cover kids from illness up until their working ages?

concern since many kids seems healthy when they are toddler and suddenly become sick when they grow up
All insurance can cover from kid until working age. All you need to do is pay on time and full.
Ramjade
post Aug 7 2023, 06:12 PM

24,346 posts

QUOTE(vvip @ Aug 7 2023, 05:47 PM)
Recently got a letter from my insurance mentioning "If you do not take any futher action, your current policy coverage is projected to last for the next 8 years and 5 months only based on your current premium."
The revised premium is a whooping 80% increment.
Is this kind of thing only happens to Investment Link?
Yes.
Ramjade
post Aug 8 2023, 08:58 AM

24,346 posts

QUOTE(heresy666 @ Aug 8 2023, 04:35 AM)
What do you think on plan with limited days for room? Is it worth it? Should I go for unlimited one?
Don't be greedy. Unlimited all marketing. Whatever extra feature in the insurance have already been calculated in. You pay more in premium. A word my agent use. No free lunch in insurance.
Ramjade
post Aug 8 2023, 03:43 PM

24,346 posts

QUOTE(vvip @ Aug 8 2023, 03:20 PM)
What would be the best choice if were to avoid premium revise from time to time?
To buy Life Insurance and Medical Insurance separately?
Yes. You cannot run away from premium increase. Medical insurance premium will also go up with time. Plan for it.

ILP premium increases because
1. not enough money left in the pool (too many people claim)
-this also happen for standalone
-this you cannot avoid
2. Fund not performing
- this one you can avoid. How? Do your own investment, avoid ILP. If you don't know how to invest, just dump it into EPF. You will beat majority of the ILP returns over time.

Medical premium will increase with age. You cannot run away from it. Is whether you get additional increase vs the projected returns. In theory you are not supposed to get additional increase when you buy ILP, but that's not the truth. Some people get it as early as 2 years of buying. Some get it like 2 yearly sad.gif Also depending on insurance company. Some standalone medical insurance follow the projected increase to the dot. Some standalone do not. You need to research before buying.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Aug 8 2023, 03:49 PM
Ramjade
post Aug 8 2023, 03:50 PM

24,346 posts

QUOTE(lifebalance @ Aug 8 2023, 03:41 PM)
There are no ways to avoid it. Term insurance are subject to repricing as well. If you can find one that doesn't at all, please let me know.
I found critical illness insurance with fixed premium which is fixed for the entire duration of the insurance term.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Aug 8 2023, 03:50 PM
Ramjade
post Aug 8 2023, 04:10 PM

24,346 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Aug 8 2023, 04:02 PM)
Will this premium be more expensive than the normal type?

Like, perhaps, maybe you pay 25% more than normal, then this 25% will sustain the future premium increases?
On the contrary, it's 50% cheaper than what I found in Malaysia. eg.
RM500k coverage. AIA charges me RM14k/year fixed for the entire term of insurance. Sg insurance charges me only RM7k/year. No other charges. No increases. The payout coverage is RM500k but if you factor in multiplier, it's 2x more and they cover for relapses of diseases (more coverage and cheaper). Basically a better deal.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Aug 8 2023, 04:13 PM
Ramjade
post Aug 8 2023, 05:58 PM

24,346 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Aug 8 2023, 05:00 PM)
Oh, ...so it is a Spore policy instead of Malaysia one.

Hope you can sustain the premium if when you did not earn SGD or will not be impacted by the ever increasing SGD if you are earning MYR
Hope that SG insurance policy had some mature payout.
Even if RM is depreciating, RM7k is still cheaper than RM14k.

Mature payout from GE and AIA is a joke. Pay you at 80 years old all your premium paid without any interest provided you never claimed.

QUOTE(TOS @ Aug 8 2023, 05:03 PM)
You pay premium in MYR or in SGD?
SGD

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Aug 8 2023, 06:07 PM
Ramjade
post Aug 8 2023, 06:10 PM

24,346 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Aug 8 2023, 06:01 PM)
Oh

Do note that if your income is in MYR, buying SGD products will expose yourself to FX risk.
Don't look at oh FX risk. Why? Payout will be in SGD. You are getting double payout Vs what you get in Malaysia. And at current price it's RM7k Vs RM14k. RM7k and RM14k is big difference. Yes I know ringgit will weaken with time, but it is still a very good deal.
Ramjade
post Aug 8 2023, 07:30 PM

24,346 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Aug 8 2023, 07:05 PM)
Can share the product name and insurance company name?

Singlife? Aviva?
Go get it via moneyowl. They are not agent. Also you get 30% or 50% of first year commission back. They even have disability insurance (something Malaysia don't have). Eg if you use your hand to work, you fall down and break your hand, you are unable to work, you can claim the disability insurance until your hand heals. It's nice to have I feel.
Ramjade
post Aug 12 2023, 04:41 PM

24,346 posts

QUOTE(dwks @ Aug 12 2023, 02:26 PM)
Hi, is there any individual insurance with OP coverage?
Here you go.
https://www.generali.com.my/medical-health/...medi-outpatient

QUOTE(totoro2018 @ Aug 12 2023, 02:36 PM)
I am looking for HLA Medistarter medical card (stand-alone medical card). I found not many people commenting on HLA insurance in this forum.

Benefit of HLA Medistarter attractive me :
15% for no claim
TCM treatment claim

What I want to know is will the HLA insurance claim be difficult? Especially when you are admitted to the hospital, will you be delayed in applying for GL?

[email=@Ramjade]@Ramjade[/email] please help me to see if the HLA medistarter is reliable?
https://www.hla.com.my/CMS/Product-Services...Starter%20Rider
A rider plan. Likely it's an ILP. I think it's pretty clear how I feel about ILP. Only good thing is TCM la.

I only know GE GL is the one problematic (based off conversation with friends). They ask all kind of questions.

Sorry not much help. For me if I see ILP, I run far away.

32 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 12 > » Top

0.2753sec    0.16    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 11:23 PM