Bass LYN Bassist's Groove 2.0, on Whacker's orders *salute* ;P

stefanong
post Jun 27 2008, 03:40 PM

322 posts

QUOTE(Bassraptor @ Jun 27 2008, 10:07 AM)
You need double-ball end strings for headless basses ... there're no conventional machines heads to wrap them around ... hard to find here, maybe in s'pore ...

Added on June 27, 2008, 10:07 amBTW, this is TOMORROW!
BASS & FRENZ DAY

June 28 (Sat), 5-8pm
Wisma Bentley (3rd Floor)
Mutiara Damansara, PJ

Calling all musicians, come jam, bring your friends, get specials deals on a range of music gear and accessories. Bentley Music has given us a place to let our collective music hair down for the evening, so let’s do it!

All gear provided by Bentley Music, so there’s no need to bring your own. If you must, it has to be Bentley-distributed stuff like Fender, Ibanez, Marshall, Ibanez, Digitech, etc.

See you there. Queries to 012-3094001
Did someone say Jam? Hmm goood excuse to drop in and buy me some cables and maybe jam for abit
stefanong
post Dec 26 2008, 11:54 AM

322 posts

Wishing Everyone a Groovy Christmas!
stefanong
post Apr 8 2009, 11:00 PM

322 posts

Tried picks but not being nimble most of the time, the picks would prob end up on the floor...so gave up after a while. I stick to fingers cos at least you cant lose them....(unless its some freak bass playing accident)
I always dreamed of using four fingers but couldn't do it so ended up with three sad.gif Find it helpful but not exactly essential now that most of the music I play now is a bit more toned down.
stefanong
post Jul 9 2010, 06:22 PM

322 posts

Good day all you bass sifus. Im looking for a good reliable fretless bass and a good set of flatwounds to complement. Been searching in guitar stores but cant seem to find em...any body have a recommendation on a good source locally?

Noobmeister

update:

Tried out a cort curbow fretless in Guitar collection in Damansara Perdana [Bentley didnt have any sad.gif ] but was disappointed. Body looked nice but too small and very uncomfortable playing without a strap. Didnt have any "Mwwwaaahh" at all...prob the action settings were off..back to hunting again... let me know if you guys see any fretless bass' around ya. Much appreciated.

This post has been edited by stefanong: Sep 14 2010, 02:21 PM
stefanong
post Oct 8 2010, 02:16 PM

322 posts

QUOTE(Naruki @ Oct 8 2010, 05:09 AM)
I have already whored this pic in the sticky-ed picture thread but oh bby i just love my new bass, it purrrrrrrrrrrrs biggrin.gif

Fuyoh....this is one sexy bass.
stefanong
post Dec 1 2010, 03:17 PM

322 posts

his answer worries me.

QUOTE(lordie @ Nov 26 2010, 06:27 PM)
welcome to the bottom lovers club!
stefanong
post Feb 28 2011, 07:45 PM

322 posts

If you really are hard pressed to get an effects pedal maybe (a big maybe) an overdrive and definitely a volume pedal. (really useful in switching from solo mode to support mode without having your fingers ever having to leave your fingerboard)

QUOTE(Tamsin @ Feb 23 2011, 05:18 PM)
Guys,what are the use of effects pedal on bass?

I heard bassists say no need buy,jus need get good amp
stefanong
post May 8 2012, 02:38 PM

322 posts

Interesting article from talkbass forums..some random thing I came across that encapsulates the wisdom of many bass veterans.

Enjoy.

stefanong
post May 25 2012, 02:43 PM

322 posts

QUOTE(StevenCheah @ May 22 2012, 12:39 PM)
Hi Guys! I am bringing Ampeg Bass Amp as well as MTD Kingston and Sandberg Basses! For more information check out candormusic.blogspot.com!

Thanks and have a nice day!
Wow..if only you posted this sooner. I bought my MTD Kingston Z6 recently second hand from another Muso in Singapore. Fantastic basses the MTD's, the asymetrical neck makes playing super easy and the maple neck and fretboard is super fast and responsive. Don't get me started on the zero fret....love it love it.

Great to know youre bringing these fantastic basses to the Malaysian musos.

Some reference pics if youre interested fellow bassists:

stefanong
post Jun 22 2012, 01:14 PM

322 posts

Its just a normal hair scrunchee (is this how you spell it) or hair tie. Bassists use it as a cheap effective means to stop the other strings from ringing when we want to tap a phrase or a series of notes.

Hope this helps

PS the picture is a GruvGear fretwrap..which is just a more stylish scrunchee with attached velcro band for easy wrapping.

QUOTE(dlwl @ Jun 21 2012, 07:31 PM)
it looks like this:
[attachmentid=2906353]

even see some electric guitarists do it too..

it looks like the things that people wear on their wrists while exercising..i dunno what is it called tongue.gif
This post has been edited by stefanong: Jun 22 2012, 01:15 PM
stefanong
post Jun 25 2012, 04:13 PM

322 posts

QUOTE(dlwl @ Jun 22 2012, 02:25 PM)
i see..cool..thanks for explaining! wink.gif

is it a good thing to have on the bass, even for beginners and for bass players like me who dont do much tapping and slapping?
Well....to be honest this whole scrungee (scrunchee??) thing started and was really popularised with Victor Wooten and his brother. They had these really oversized fuzzy ones...and then they explained its purpose and BAM! people started using em to great effect.

I agree its really up to personal preference. You may have a spare scrunjee(?) lying around and decide to put it on yer bass so you dont lose it... dont use it though cos it does mute your sound somewat
stefanong
post Jul 4 2012, 01:51 PM

322 posts

Groove? Yes probably the most important role of any bassist in any band.

0.0460sec    0.37    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 10:52 AM