Empire: Total War, Multiplayer Campaign Beta Available Now

TSfrags
post Feb 21 2009, 10:09 AM

The Wizard
1,640 posts

Yeah i can only play it at medium...but it still looks amazing...loading times are a bit long..
TSfrags
post Feb 21 2009, 12:49 PM

The Wizard
1,640 posts

QUOTE(fujkenasai @ Feb 21 2009, 12:18 PM)
Damn after the demo I cant access any of the official forum sites. including http://www.twcenter.net/ and http://www.clanlong.com/forum/forum-537-1.html chinese ones too.
They are probably down...heavy traffic...

My initial impression...

Technically its good...graphics look good, runs well enough(naval battles are a bit demanding though)...
Gameplay is really good, land battles are where it's at...its a lot slower and a lot different from Medieval(for obvious reasons)...I think need more time to get use to the new combat tactic...

Bad
Naval battles are a lot more difficult and require more control...
the default camera i feel is too zoomed in...
loading times are a loooooooooooong
some sound bug...crackling sound when zoomed in
some graphics bug(i have issues changing resolution) and sliding units in 2d mip map at times...
Sound effects are not so impressive...

Overall I definetely noticed bugs(maybe because i play these total war games a lot), but the engine is pretty good, the size of the map is a lot bigger...the gameplay is good...and i think that is what matters...ohhh and it makes me want to get a new PC rclxub.gif

BTW for those that have a 256MB card like me, you can force graphics setting in the preference script file...you can ask me if you want to know the location of this file...
TSfrags
post Feb 21 2009, 10:04 PM

The Wizard
1,640 posts

QUOTE(Abyssio @ Feb 21 2009, 09:49 PM)
Wow! this game is fantastic! it totally didnt fall short of my expectation! The battle is huge, the animation is very lifelike, great graphics AND performance.  Grasses, trees, soldiers' uniforms, the sea and most importantly the ships are so incredibly detailed. Its so cool watching ship cannons fire different kind of projectiles and ripping enemy ships apart.

I mean this is RTS at its finest. Except the loading time.

Anyway i have a question: Is there any friendly fire in the game? will i accidentally killed my soldiers when i order my rifleman firing into a group of meleeing mess?
All total war games have friendly fire....this one is no different...glad you liked it...i suppose you have a good gaming rig... tongue.gif
TSfrags
post Feb 21 2009, 11:24 PM

The Wizard
1,640 posts

QUOTE(Cheesenium @ Feb 21 2009, 10:22 PM)
Im looking forward to try the demo.

Just waiting to go back to Sydney to get the demo.

How many GB of files i need to download?
It's 2 GB
TSfrags
post Feb 23 2009, 01:08 PM

The Wizard
1,640 posts

QUOTE(fujkenasai @ Feb 23 2009, 01:00 PM)
I've been having great difficulties playing the naval battle though this is just a demo, have any of you guys finished the naval demo yet?

Another thing I wonder if it is a bug or some sort when I zoom out abit my soldiers looks like 3 pixel graphics with 2 frames. Do you guys have the same problem?
I have one successful naval battles. On the pixel thing...isn't it the same with all previous total wars? There are some animation issues though that I admit.

Total War games all based on this type of engine....zoom in 3d zoom out 2d...that is how they draw that many units on screen.

Exactly what is the issue with naval battle? Is it a technical problem or tactical problem?

This post has been edited by frags: Feb 23 2009, 01:09 PM
TSfrags
post Feb 23 2009, 02:43 PM

The Wizard
1,640 posts

QUOTE(Gormaz @ Feb 23 2009, 02:17 PM)
Might be because it's the demo since in the graphic details I cant seems to choose high options, maybe they didnt put high unit resolutions in yet?

I will check tonight also, I didnt pay much attention to super close zoom yet.

Edit: Yar, the only naval battle I tried yet ended up as a "Close Victory" so it did go through for me.
The game(the demo) limits your options based on your hardware.
TSfrags
post Feb 23 2009, 03:51 PM

The Wizard
1,640 posts

QUOTE(fujkenasai @ Feb 23 2009, 03:44 PM)
The strange thing is that upclose it looks quite good just that when I zoom out it looks really crappy. Atleast they should make it look zoomed out instead of just some simplex pixel I think its a driver thing or my card isnt utilized .
I really don't see what you're seeing. I'm playing at medium and zoomed out it looks the same to me...Drivers are not optimised for the game yet...so yeah perhaps.
TSfrags
post Feb 23 2009, 05:39 PM

The Wizard
1,640 posts

QUOTE(Cheesenium @ Feb 23 2009, 04:31 PM)
Just finished downloading.

First impression after tutorial: WTF is this? I was completely lost in naval battle.

Then,i replay the navy tutorial to understand the game better.The game gets better now.I was winning already,using broadsides.

I need to learn how to use the wind too now.

Graphics wise,not bad but the animation needs some improvements.
This is just a portion of the game. Grand Campaign is a huge part of the game. You want to keep your admiral safe.

QUOTE(kianweic @ Feb 23 2009, 05:27 PM)
Are they using the same engine with the one they used for Medieval Total War 2?

What resolutions are you guys playing the demo at? Might wanna get this as well.....
It is a brand new engine. I'm playing it at 1024X768. I have issues changing resolution(the game black screens when changing reso) so I'm stuck at that reso rclxub.gif

For those concerned...pre order information. What you will be getting for standard and special forces edition.
http://malaysian-gamer.blogspot.com/2009/0...-order-now.html

Added on February 23, 2009, 5:44 pmBuilding Feature

Star Fort

The basic concept of a star fort is that at least one, and preferably many, field of fire should cover every part of the defence and the approaches to the fort. These killing zones can be extended and made even more deadly by, at the very least, a long sloping glacis around the fort for the attackers to scale. The glacis need not be very steep at all, but the attackers face an uphill struggle with no cover at all, under murderous fire ever step of the way. The glacis also acts as a passive defence, a sloping armoured earthwork for the fort proper. Beyond the glacis a hidden counterscarp awaits: a retaining wall (sometimes with firing positions for the defenders) that drops down deep ditch that must be crossed before the actual approaches to the fort are even reached!

All of these defences are before the military architects add additional ravelins (detached triangular bastions or gun positions) in front of the fort’s own walls and hornworks and crownworks (both elaborations on the basic bastion design). The whole effect, when viewed in plan form, is baroque in its complexity, each projection of the central star giving the defence another firing position towards any attacking force. Wall length is limited to that which can be covered by flanking musket fire, as experience showed that a fort with only cannons in its defence could be taken when the cannons were knocked out.

Unit Feature

Elite Light Infantry

Light infantry forces form a skirmish line to slow the enemy advance and keep their own line unmolested by enemy skirmishers.

Whether they are called light infantry, jaegers, tirailleurs or chasseurs à pied, it is the job of these men to screen the main battle line, harass the enemy and, if possible, pick off important men in the enemy’s ranks. Unlike their fellows in the line infantry, light infantrymen are trained to think for themselves, use the ground and cover intelligently, and not fight in rigid lines. Instead, they form a loose skirmish line and fire independently at their own designated targets. The effect is a constant, low-level barrage rather than the crashing thunder of a volley but the effect is quite deadly as officers and sergeants are picked off and removed from the fight. Against cavalry, however, their best defence is to withdraw to their own battle line.

Historically, the Austrians were widely regarded as producing the finest light infantry forces in Europe. Other nations did catch up, but in the case of Britain and France it was their experiences in fighting in North America that persuaded them of the wisdom of light troops. Battle lines were simply impossible to manage in the dense woodlands, and largely pointless against the native tribes!

This post has been edited by frags: Feb 23 2009, 05:44 PM
TSfrags
post Feb 25 2009, 04:05 PM

The Wizard
1,640 posts

OMG my post dissapeared shakehead.gif

Anyway I was saying that, you graphics option is limited based on your hardware and that the demo is an old build. Some of the bugs have been solved and there is a day zero patch to improve optimisation. Loadings have improved in the retail version.

I know this because someone went to Creative Assembly studio to see the full version in an open day event.

PS : A little hint to everyone...In naval battles, with a ship selected, press insert....you will be surprised...really cool.
TSfrags
post Feb 25 2009, 05:29 PM

The Wizard
1,640 posts

Yeah...full campaign map! rclxms.gif

You can view the map...full resolution here(regions are named in this map):
http://www.pic-upload.de/20.02.09/9u2y6.png

Looks epic..
TSfrags
post Feb 25 2009, 05:52 PM

The Wizard
1,640 posts

QUOTE(Gormaz @ Feb 25 2009, 05:38 PM)
Interesting, but I am a bit surprised big countries like France or Spain were not cut down in smaller provinces, or is there another additional "layer" under the big block we see in the picture? Or maybe this is not the final cut yet?
It is final...regions don't work like in medieval...there are smaller towns in a single region.

PS : I just found out that...there are no General speeches before a battle! rclxub.gif
TSfrags
post Feb 25 2009, 06:47 PM

The Wizard
1,640 posts

QUOTE(Gormaz @ Feb 25 2009, 06:33 PM)
Yar, I read about the smaller towns in the regions (which is one of the biggest change in the Campain mode apparently).

I just though what they now called "regions" would not be equal to countries because otherwise it does not change much (ie: having one big region for france with smaller cities in it is sounds equal to the old system in Medival where France was cut in smaller part each with its city). But maybe I need to see more how it works in the game exactly to get a better idea, I admit I am still not clear on the exact changes they did since the old TW on the general mode.

One stuff that crossed my mind was how it works to know who "control" france for example then, if one other country manage to take some of the smaller cities. Some regions like the eastern border of France changed owner so many times during that period...

note: I am not being negative, just that I was surprised by the size of some of the so-called "regions". Let's see how the game works at release anyway, I trust the TW team to make things great  notworthy.gif
No...I explain to you lah..Your production is outsourced around your region...Say for instance, bristol makes cannons..You are french and you send an army to the london region...if you sit on bristol, you deny your enemy cannons from bristol/tax and trade from that town...To take control of the region you need to take the capital city which is London...WHich isn't easy and don't expect the local populace to be friendly....

A very interesting technique is to sit on a village/town that produces food/farms...you starve that region to submission...The AI can do the same to you...so you can't sit back in your capital city and allow the enemy to raze your country side...

Frankly this is a more interesting system than the previous one...at least it makes sense in the new period..If in the medieval period was about huge castle and entire settlements behind walls, the 18th century saw towns growing outside of these major cities...industrialisation lah tongue.gif
TSfrags
post Feb 25 2009, 07:44 PM

The Wizard
1,640 posts

QUOTE(Edison83 @ Feb 25 2009, 07:42 PM)
i did put the cannon on good position (near the river bank hill) but it take too long time to scare them off.
My horse try to flank them and get ambush (coz i was organizing attack for my main troop and wasnt looking at the flank troop supposed to flank them).

to be frank i love cossack firing type than Empire total war, u can command 1st 2nd or 3rd row fire 1 row by row or u can fire sekali gus. Empire total war "Fire at will look" terrible ><
Remove fire at will and you can control your volleys...Soldiers reload automatically...The second line firing requires a firing drill tech in the campaign game.
TSfrags
post Feb 26 2009, 05:29 PM

The Wizard
1,640 posts

Superior Tactics 3 Trailer with Mark Sutherns and Jim Whitson...

BTW...some retailers sold the game to some customers already...obviously he can't play it yet since Steam hasn't unlocked the game until release date..

Added on February 26, 2009, 5:39 pmJack Lusted's gameplay hints:
A few hints and tips for those playing the demo.

Groups

Grouping ships or units is very useful in Empire, and groups work different in naval and land battles.

Naval battles - at sea when you group units they will try to maintain relative positions an also follow the lead ship around. So if you group your ships in a line they will then move in a line around the map enabling you to more easily control large number of ships. Also using alt + giving attack orders will have your ships in a group prioritise firing on the target ship and not break out of the group formation like a normal attack order.

Land battles - when you group units the group remembers the relative position of each unit so when you give a move order to a group they will end up in the same relative positions as when you grouped them. This, in combination with the new rotate/move buttons on the HUD allow you to quickly and easily move groups around, and even to break off parts of a formation into a new group.

Timing Volleys

You can time when your infantry fires in land battles. Simply turn fire at will off, units will reload even with it off as long as enemies are not too close, and then click fire at will back on and your unit will fire at any enemies in front of them.

Camera Changes

I've seen several people asking what happened to double right click zoom-to camera functionality, this has now moved to double mouse wheel click.

I hope these tips help with your enjoyment of the demo.
So you need to use groups if you want to do the naval battles well.

This post has been edited by frags: Feb 26 2009, 05:39 PM
TSfrags
post Feb 27 2009, 10:05 PM

The Wizard
1,640 posts

QUOTE(Aoshi_88 @ Feb 27 2009, 06:58 PM)
I did the same thing. Stuck them on the the hill to the left, let them take the brunt of the enemy heavy arty while i shifted my infantry into position at the river crossing.

One thing i dislike though, only the front rank of infantry will fire. Haven't found the button for rank-fire yet, or is it not in the demo? And i think you mean Cossacks: Battle for Europe and Napoleonic Wars. I have BoE installed, gonna play tonight.

First impression: Really good. I'm very impressed, they've actually raised the bar yet again since M2TW. Graphics are top-notch, though i be running at all low, it's still very impressive.

The fall: Extremely EXTREMELY SLOW loading times. I could actually go off, brew myself a cup of tea and come back for the time it actually takes to load. I heard this will be fixed in the full release. Unit commands still slightly flunky. Was hoping it would be fixed since M2TW. Gunpowder units in M2TW were rather annoying to use.
That requires a tech research in firing drill...in the campaign mode...you will get the second line firing as the first line crouches.

The tech tree in empire is actually rather good i heard
TSfrags
post Feb 28 2009, 10:54 PM

The Wizard
1,640 posts

QUOTE(Aoshi_88 @ Feb 28 2009, 10:24 PM)
I want fixed formations!!! Give us fixed formations.... yesssss... precioussssssssssssssss.

On another note, i just ordered the Standard Edition = Rm179. Seems like the Special Forces is beyond my reach. sad.gif
Yeah the special forces is crap...IGN review...9.5...Possibly only Starcraft 2 can top this game this year(for PC game lah)...

This post has been edited by frags: Feb 28 2009, 10:55 PM
TSfrags
post Mar 2 2009, 12:12 AM

The Wizard
1,640 posts

QUOTE(Eisenmeteor @ Mar 2 2009, 12:11 AM)
Just wanna confirm..So my graphic card is 128Mb..So my laptop cant play the damn game at all? Even at Low settings?
it is not supported...your own risk...not recommended
TSfrags
post Mar 2 2009, 12:57 PM

The Wizard
1,640 posts

QUOTE(fujkenasai @ Mar 2 2009, 10:20 AM)
You can always try out the demo 1st.
Really not recommended. The demo may not actually be a representation of the final game. Considering the minimum is 256MB VRAM, the developers can always break his experience with patches etc...that is why i don't recommend him buying the game unless he gets a new GC.

PS : FYI The demo/beta of World In Conflict worked for Intel GMA users...the final game didn't...Moral of the story...you should always take the minimum requirement seriously...that is the cut off point that the developers will support.

QUOTE(Abyssio @ Mar 2 2009, 11:08 AM)
+RM30 for an insanely long campaigns (conquer the world as realistic as possible) and singleplayer replayability is quite worth it imo. The multiplayer part too is huge like the singleplayer mode.

But two of em are difficult to compare. One is superfast action and one is slow marching. 

And i heard from gamefaq's forum that the load time in the demo is sooo long because everytime you play the game it need to unzip all the data to load. So in retail the load time should be much faster. Wonder if it is true or not?
Empire has long load times...final version has been optimised(it does load faster than the demo loading times)...the main screen pause doesn't happen in the final version...and yeah it could be because it is compressed.
TSfrags
post Mar 2 2009, 01:37 PM

The Wizard
1,640 posts

QUOTE(Gormaz @ Mar 2 2009, 01:20 PM)
Any idea on the availability in Malaysia? The game is coming out tomorrow (4th) right?

I think temptation is going to be too big for me to resist, the huge single player campain should do the trick...
I have been told by distributer that it should be released on the 6th here.
TSfrags
post Mar 2 2009, 03:35 PM

The Wizard
1,640 posts

QUOTE(Boomeraangkid @ Mar 2 2009, 03:26 PM)
imma buy this game...btw special edition can get 2 special units rite?
Special forces edition...you get 6 extra units

14 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Top

0.0212sec    0.47    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 02:49 AM