Empire: Total War, Multiplayer Campaign Beta Available Now

Cheesenium
post Aug 16 2008, 12:59 PM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

Wow,i want this game now.

This is also counted as a 4X game,right?
TSfrags
post Aug 16 2008, 01:32 PM

The Wizard
1,640 posts

QUOTE(Cheesenium @ Aug 16 2008, 12:59 PM)
Wow,i want this game now.

This is also counted as a 4X game,right?
Well not really...close but not quite...you cant build your own cities remember tongue.gif Total War is a genre by its own. Turn based campaign with real time battles.

Added on August 16, 2008, 1:43 pm
QUOTE(fujkenasai @ Aug 16 2008, 12:58 PM)
I hope they have ships that ram into the spanish armada during Queen Elizabeth the 1st Era.
Ships that crash into each other does do damage. Ships built for ramming? Maybe...Ships are pretty expensive...So i'm not sure if that will be a good strategy using regular ships. Developers still dont want to say whether got fireships in the game...I mean surely they have to have that...

BTW there is a steam ship in that trailer if you look closer...you will see it...Those American ships got p8wned!

This post has been edited by frags: Aug 16 2008, 01:43 PM
Cheesenium
post Aug 16 2008, 02:04 PM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

@frags,

Could you explain how Total War works?

I never play any TW before.

Now,only interested after playing Sins.
TSfrags
post Aug 16 2008, 02:45 PM

The Wizard
1,640 posts

QUOTE(Cheesenium @ Aug 16 2008, 02:04 PM)
@frags,

Could you explain how Total War works?

I never play any TW before.

Now,only interested after playing Sins.
Oh boy not easy but here goes...

Basically you start out on a campaign map. The map is divided by regions and each regions has a single city. This map has many cities/regions and these cities are controlled by you, the other factions as well as rebel factions(small independant cities). On this campaign map you make your upgrade choices(upgrade your cities) and build your armies(each city can build units for you)...each city has a slot for city upgrade and army training and each of this takes a a number of turns to complete. Most units take one turn to train and buildings/infrastructure for cities take much longer. You can group these units you have trained from the cities into an army and these armies are led by generals that have stats of their own. Win more battles and they get better stats that improve the morale of your troops or create shock in the enemy troops.

There are also agent units like spies, assasins, priest, diplomats that you can train and move around the campaign map and they each have their own functionality(you can guess lah what they do).

You can move these armies around the map and they just like Civ have movement points. Not in number but represented by the movement line. Obviously if you have thing like siege equipment...it will make the army able to travel less distance...all cavalry armies can travel further etc. Once you have taken your turn you end turn.

BTW if in your turn your move your army to an enemy army thse two armies will clash and you will go into the real time battle phase where you control your army and must defeat this enemy army. Just like you can, and enemy can move his army to clash with yours when it is taking its turn and you will go into the real time battle phase.

There are some very deep strategic gameplay options due to these gameplay mechanics like you can use spies to spy one neighbouring region and you can discover any attacking force that might plan to attack your region(there is a fog of war). The real time battles follow realistics combat rules...higher ground gives better range for ranged units(archers)...Units become tired running/walking long distances(trekking uphill)...Use forest to cover your army from ranged fire/ to ambush your enemy. Use heavy cavalry to charge weak units to break their morale(oh like DoW units got morale...break them and they will route running for their lives)..Use pikemen to stop and kill these cavalry charges(like in Braveheart). Oh and also if you move an army to an enemy city you siege it and you go into real time battle when you attack it...here you attack the city(what type of walls depends on how upgraded the city is) in real time and control and manuever them by first breaking the walls/gate and taking the town/city center.

Obviously defenders have a huge advantage as they can place their troops at the most advantageous location. There i tried my best to explain..

You can clearly see the different cities here and the armies on the turn based campaign map. Move the army to the enemy city to siege or enemy army to attack them in real time.

Whe you attack them you go into this real time phase...you control units...very tactical and realistic strategies..

This post has been edited by frags: Aug 16 2008, 02:48 PM
fujkenasai
post Aug 16 2008, 02:50 PM

1,137 posts

QUOTE(frags @ Aug 16 2008, 01:32 PM)
Well not really...close but not quite...you cant build your own cities remember tongue.gif  Total War is a genre by its own. Turn based campaign with real time battles.

Added on August 16, 2008, 1:43 pm

Ships that crash into each other does do damage. Ships built for ramming? Maybe...Ships are pretty expensive...So i'm not sure if that will be a good strategy using regular ships. Developers still dont want to say whether got fireships in the game...I mean surely they have to have that...

BTW there is a steam ship in that trailer if you look closer...you will see it...Those American ships got p8wned!
Ahh yeah I mean fireships forgot the term for it, those ships saved Britain from the Spanish Armada.

Whoo hoo Iron Clad. rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif

QUOTE(frags @ Aug 16 2008, 02:45 PM)

Medieval total war rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif
Though they have better graphics my favorite is still rome since the romans have an empire, is it me or does rome total war have higher walls?
TSfrags
post Aug 16 2008, 02:56 PM

The Wizard
1,640 posts

QUOTE(fujkenasai @ Aug 16 2008, 02:50 PM)
Ahh yeah I mean fireships forgot the term for it, those ships saved Britain from the Spanish Armada.

Whoo hoo Iron Clad.  rclxm9.gif  rclxm9.gif
Medieval total war  rclxm9.gif  rclxm9.gif
Though they have better graphics my favorite is still rome since the romans have an empire, is it me or does rome total war have higher walls?
No Iron Clad as far as i know in ETW doh.gif Yeah the walls in Rome did seem higher...maybe because the structures in the city were smaller in Rome? More bigger buildings in M2TW.
Cheesenium
post Aug 16 2008, 04:10 PM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

Thanks for the explanation,frags.

Looking forward to this already.
fujkenasai
post Aug 16 2008, 09:56 PM

1,137 posts

QUOTE(frags @ Aug 16 2008, 02:56 PM)
No Iron Clad as far as i know in ETW doh.gif  Yeah the walls in Rome did seem higher...maybe because the structures in the city were smaller in Rome? More bigger buildings in M2TW.
I think I still like bigger walls than buildings.
Topace111
post Aug 16 2008, 10:55 PM

2,102 posts

What i really like about total war series is that you can really win even with odds stack against you.
Try play the historical campaign you will know exactly what i mean (ie : Hannibal campaign in Rome)
Its not bcos of the weak AI of your opponent.

This game requires you to use your armies effectively (positioning, manoeuvring & technic)
Its not like other genres :
1) Scale : it was big, as you control literally > 10,000 troops at a time plus facing the nemy of the same size (so no isnt everything)
2) Drawbacks : You will not always win with the same type of soldier. If you like to use heavy cavalry (very expensive) or war elephants
you will face crushing defeat if charge head on spearmen with phalanx formation.
Likewise if you use all spartan hoplites to attack your enemy, if they use cavalry archers still you lose.
It requires balance in every sort of way.

I have once face an enemy with odds stack against me (ratio of soldiers 1 to 3), but i literally beat them with clever manoeuvring with the cavalry
& infantry. When you look at the end of the game by "heroic victory", hardcore gamers will know how i feel or luckily scrape through with close victory.

Having said that, i was a bit dissapointed at some of the gameplay with medieval 2. It has gorgeus graphics & vast expansion but the scale was not
there anymore, hope creative assembly brings back the excitement of ROME which has garnered them so many awards.
I know its different era (colonization vs medieval) but creative has done that before, they can do it again.
TSfrags
post Aug 21 2008, 02:21 PM

The Wizard
1,640 posts

An impressive preview(something i have wanted to find out about...AI)
http://pc.gamespy.com/pc/empire-total-war/901296p1.html

A bunch of very interesting new screenshots

More screenshots and hig-res overhere:
http://www.totalwar-zone.de/index2.php?g=etw&id=5
fujkenasai
post Aug 21 2008, 03:12 PM

1,137 posts

I guess I'll still go anti European yet still with enough naval and Land power, probably india if there is no china for this game.
TSfrags
post Aug 21 2008, 03:23 PM

The Wizard
1,640 posts

QUOTE(fujkenasai @ Aug 21 2008, 03:12 PM)
I guess I'll still go anti European yet still with enough naval and Land power, probably india if there is no china for this game.
I dont think China will be in the game...already said...
fujkenasai
post Aug 21 2008, 03:31 PM

1,137 posts

QUOTE(frags @ Aug 21 2008, 03:23 PM)
I dont think China will be in the game...already said...
Then I shall play with india.

I wonder which nation does this ship belongs to.
TSfrags
post Aug 21 2008, 03:44 PM

The Wizard
1,640 posts

Maybe Ottoman(looks middle eastern especially the escort behind it)

Heck maybe even India...no idea really.. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by frags: Aug 21 2008, 03:45 PM
fujkenasai
post Aug 22 2008, 12:50 PM

1,137 posts

QUOTE(frags @ Aug 21 2008, 03:44 PM)
Maybe Ottoman(looks middle eastern especially the escort behind it)

Heck maybe even India...no idea really.. tongue.gif
Yeah Im more intrested in other cultures and design than the western designs got bored with them maybe cos too much of a cliche.
TSfrags
post Aug 22 2008, 01:47 PM

The Wizard
1,640 posts

QUOTE(fujkenasai @ Aug 22 2008, 12:50 PM)
Yeah Im more intrested in other cultures and design than the western designs got bored with them maybe cos too much of a cliche.
Well so far the non european faction than is confirmed to be playable is Ottoman empire and the Mughals. Ottoman I presume would own parts of the middle east and maybe north Africa and the Mughals some parts of northern India...
N33d
post Aug 23 2008, 05:04 PM

896 posts

i am the fan of total war series and looking forward to play this game

alwizbthere
post Aug 24 2008, 12:56 AM

10,222 posts

well, u need to wait bout 1/2 year more for it
TSfrags
post Aug 24 2008, 01:14 PM

The Wizard
1,640 posts

Hi, new info about campaign map etc...these are in German and have been translated by a community member

4Players.de Mike Simpson(Head of CA) Interview
http://www.4players.de/4players.php/spieli..._Total_War.html

Translation

What can fans of the total war franchise expect from Empire? At the GC, we had the opportunity to interview studioboss Mike Simpson on the upcoming title
A chat with the chief dev:

As announced, this time around you will have to prove yourself as ruler in the 18th century - this is the age of enlightment, of the industrial revolution, and ends during the chaotic phase surrounding the french revolution. According to Simpson it will even be possible to have Napoleon amongst your ranks, if you recruit an artillery unit in Corse towards the end of the century...

Two important innovations will make the franchise even more attractive during this turbulent period: Firstly, there will be real time sea battles. Creative Assembly will serve you the same exciting and tactically refined war experience as on land. You can send entire fleets into battle, pound either the rump or the sails with shots, or fire directly at the crews, there will be boarding manoeuvres, and the possibility to sink frigattes quickly with well-positioned shots. Up to 20 ships with each around 100 men on board should provide chaos and a storm of explosions at sea; last but not least also pirates will feature.

Secondly, the engine has been totally overhauled. Besides the jump in graphics Simpson thinks that also the AI mechanisms on the strategic map have been improved. This map will feature in a fresh design the worlds of North America, Central America, the Caribbean, Europe, and India and shall provide more freedom and comfort while developing new strategies and tactics. By the way, Simpson mentioned that the Indian forces are highly efficient and that that part of the world will be very difficult to conquer because of its high cultural level.

Instead of recruiting troops manually from each settlement to be joined later on, each general can now automatically call men to his arms - these come from the cities on the map to him. New agents and diplomacy functions are planned, but Simpson did not want to got into too much detail yet. What we could extract from him was that you will be able to use sea blocades to bring the economy of a nation to its knees.

Fighting on land will feature many new possibilities because of the use of firearms and artillery. You will now only be able to besiege star shaped bastions and not first get the walls down and then storm the cities (like in the middle ages), but on the other hand the environment gains in importance: you can shelter troops, build earth trenches, use walls and buildings as cover, as well as reduce everything on the battlefield to rubble and ashes.

During the fights, the principle of stone-paper-scissors still counts: a cav unit does not stand a chance against densely grouped troops, arranged in a square and equipped with bayonets. These on the other hand are rather cumbersome, and the ideal victim for artillery attacks from the distance. There will of course be a multiplayer mode, but there is no information on that yet.

We are curious whether this game can trump the only good real time strategy for this period, Imperial Glory."
Pcgames.de GC 2008 Empire: Total War Preview(campaign map info)
http://www.pcgames.de/aid,656986/Empire_To..._der_GC/&page=2

Empire: Total War: a flood of info from the GC

After the overwhelming battle, the devs show us the second pillar of this strategy title: The Campaign map. In this turn-based part of the game you draw and move troops, or build cities. Everything like the predecessors. But the game world of Empire is gigantic: Next to Europe there is America and even India to conquer. The territories contain many more cities than the previous titles. Additionally you can now place units with the accuracy of pixels, a tiled map, as in Medieval 2 does not exist anymore.

The building of important buildings has been similarly revised: you no longer have to change into the city view to build, say, a harbour, but do this simply at the desired point of the map. To recruit troops you previously had to go into cities and then draw them together at a point of the map. Also this is part of the past. Each General can now recruit troops within his area of influence, depending on which city is nearby. The forts able to build such armies have a much more strategical role as in Medieval 2: These forts have now a radius of influence that no enemy army can cross. Passes in mountains and rivers can be effectively sealed.

Politik spielt bei Empire: Total War eine gewichtige Rolle.
Politics plays a key role in Empire: Total War.

Of course the devs of Creative Assembly have also given great consideration to the economic system. You not only rise taxes for single regions, but also separately for the lower and upper classes. The proper political work is now carried out by ministers, coming with an opposition. Each of these politicians brings certain advantages to the state, but has also to put himself up for election. The colonies on the other hand are ruled by governors. But also here: if you don't feel like micromanaging, the computer takes over these jobs.

We got to see two new units during the presentation: The "Rake" replaces the spy and the assassins from previous titles. He can make assassination attempts or infiltrate enemy armies. The infiltrated troops are from now - despite the fog of war - on always visible to the enemy. !

The second new unit is the Gentleman: he can challenge opponents to duels and get them out of the way. His input for science is crucial: put the good man into a city with a university, and he will develop new technologies. Typical: also here historic role models are used, such as Isaac Newton.

Regarding science: a Tech-Tree comes into play in Empire: Total War . At the just mentioned universities you can research things such as new troop formations or types of amunition. Also the mine field mentioned in the battles will be developed here. The tech-tree is divided in three parts: Philosophy, technical knowledge and weapons. Particularly important is the first one, because only this can be used to gain prestige and esteem. Prestige you can use in the areas of military, shipping, economy or enlightment. The more powerful your fleet with trading vessels and warships, the more prestige.
What do you need this for? Well, one of the campaigns has the goal of "becoming the most esteemed nation".

Diplomacy: an overview map now helps to distinguish friend from foe Here you now see each country in a colour, red countries do not really like you, and green ones are your allies. You can now make diplomatic suggestions such as the payment of money in a normal or demanding manner..

An enormously important point of the game is the seatrade. You can now exactly observe who is shipping what where and how much money they are earning doing this. If you want to annoy your enemy, just park your fleet in the midst of their trading route, similarly to the blocking of harbours in previous games. Every time the ship of an opponent goes past you, you now earn a substancial part of their income. Of course pirates can not be missing from such a game. The protection of your shipping routes is consequently immensely important!

The last innovation the devs showed us after a good hour of flooding us with info is the revolution. You may know this from previous games. but also here things have changed. If such a rebellion occurs in your capital, you have to decide: do I join the revolution or the loyal troops. You gain control over the corresponding army and go into battle to defend your doctrine. Thus, with a success of the rebellion the state can change from a monarchy to a republic.

So far our first comprehensive insight from the halls of the GC. The love to detail that the devs have put into their baby is daunting. In a side remark we get to know that alone the creation of the seas for the sea battles to over a year to develop. We think: it was worth it!

Monster Hunter G
post Aug 24 2008, 02:49 PM

198 posts

QUOTE(fujkenasai @ Aug 21 2008, 03:31 PM)
Then I shall play with india.

I wonder which nation does this ship belongs to.

Well I'm no medieval warship expert but that ship seems fictitious in nature. It looks like a Nef of a Galleon, a Nef could use oars, Galleons generally didn't however the picture looks like neither. Also look closely it seems to combines a Greek trireme and a 19th century armored warship, with a ram thrown in for extra measure in a position that is pretty much useless for battle lastly note that the cannon facing forward on the poop deck would destroy the men and guns on the foredeck, if ever fired.

This post has been edited by Monster Hunter G: Aug 24 2008, 02:51 PM

57 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Top

0.0180sec    0.63    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 01:29 AM