Professional Electrician, Looking for professional electrician

senscents
post Sep 20 2022, 06:39 PM

418 posts

QUOTE(ceo684 @ Jan 16 2021, 11:00 PM)
Most welcome. Am operating mains RCD at 30mA (0.03A) whole house smile.gif sorry for blur pic.
"HI is usually used to described advanced anti-nuisance trip (protect against switching transients and harmonics).
Those with anti nuisance trip (protect against switching transients) for residential use will suffice."

Thinking to update the RCD, currently on 63/0.1(100mA.)

How do we know if the RCD 30mA are equip with the anti-nuisance trip?
Are there any regulation/mandatory on this RCD to be 30mA?
Afraid after installing the RCD 30nA will cause nuisance tripping 🤔

Thanks for your input.

senscents
post Sep 23 2022, 08:38 PM

418 posts

QUOTE(ceo684 @ Sep 22 2022, 10:41 PM)
a. Current models got datasheet, basically either ABB/Hager current model [not listed as discontinued] will be fine.

b.Yes, Electricity Regulations 1994, MS 1979:2007 and MS1979:2015 for protection of 13A sockets, and since this is the tightest regulation, it only makes sense to have a 30mA fitted for whole hse. Complete protection.

Would you drive at high speed without a seatbelt on?

c. To add on, not just mains 30mA [whole house] but you should get a 10mA RCD per each water heater fitted too.
I'll be more afraid of what happens in page 30 of
https://www.st.gov.my/en/contents/publicati...r%20Systems.pdf
rather than nuisance trip.

FWIW everywhere in AU, SG all use 30mA. I also use 30mA. Life protection more important. Good [top-tier] modern RCD hardly nuisance trip.
Thanks fir the advise 👍
With the regulations for 30mA RCD, I wonder how can most developers get away with it?
Is it just a guideline or compulsory?

Will definitely change to proctect ourselves, since it's just a one time investment on our life.

senscents
post Sep 24 2022, 01:29 PM

418 posts

QUOTE(ceo684 @ Sep 23 2022, 09:24 PM)
See attachment pg 21
Those who know will spec out personal homes to be as tight tolerance as possible, despite high cost [sensitive RCDs cost more], for lives of loved ones are priceless - can't sleep at night if we did a half-assed con job;
those who cincai undercut job of coz spec as loose/cheap as possible to avoid rework calls [since less sensitive RCDs are cheap and trip way lesser]
Is this brand Reliable?
Just install 0.01mA for WH and 0.03mA for wall socket.

Wondering can I use the 25A for water heater ?
Previously was just 16A as the wire are 2.5mm.

senscents
post Sep 24 2022, 02:54 PM

418 posts

QUOTE(stormer.lyn @ Sep 24 2022, 01:39 PM)
An RCCB does not trip on overcurrent. You should be running
Incoming power -> 16 A MCB -> This 25 A, 10 mA RCCB -> Water heater,
so that the MCB trips if more than 16 A flows, and the RCCB trips if there is a leakage approaching 10 mA.

Only an RCBO is like a combination of MCB + RCCB, and will trip if overcurrent or leakage current.

Can't comment on the brand, sorry.
Appreciate it.
So should I change to RCBO, according to the electrician that our place does not provide a water heater point only normal power point and our electric point share with an a/c also.

QUOTE(ceo684 @ Sep 24 2022, 02:27 PM)
Can't find anything related to the brand hence "no comment". The trademark is super generic nothing shows up on a bing/google search for "safety SRA2 RCCB"  :confused:

Follow stormer.lyn post above is correct.
Personally, if own house I'd spec in only ABB/Hager because "you get what you pay for" also applies to components - you get VI type RCD; anything cheaper tend to be VD type RCD.
Most probably will ask to change to a better brand.
Any brand with 16A RCCD or RCBO with 0.01mA for WH and 63A/0.03mA.
Can provide model no. for the VI type RCCD. Appreciate
senscents
post Sep 24 2022, 04:38 PM

418 posts

QUOTE(ceo684 @ Sep 24 2022, 03:35 PM)
So should I change to RCBO
--mostly boils down to space question only "DB box can fit the 10mA RCD [2module width] or not; since can fit should be no problem
--RCBO = RCD+MCB [like washer/dryer two in one - vs a washer+a standalone dryer]

Any brand with 16A RCCD or RCBO with 0.01mA for WH and 63A/0.03mA.
--ABB/Hager  thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif

Can provide model no. for the VI type RCCD. Appreciate

based on ur pics ur on single phase.

mains 63A/0.03A [30mA]
-- ABB RCCB/ELCB FH202 AC-63/0.03 (30mA) | 2 POLE (2P)
-- Hager CD263B = 63A 2P 30mA; or CDA263U

WH 10mA RCD [need to pair with 16A MCB]
-- ABB RCCB/ELCB F202 AC-25/0.01 (10mA) IEC | 2 POLE (2P)
-- HAGER CC225B 2 Pole ELCB / RCCB 25A 10mA
Excellent. Hope the electrician willing to change a better/reputable brand of RCCD.

senscents
post Sep 24 2022, 04:50 PM

418 posts

Incoming power -> New(Safety) 25 A, 10 mA RCCB -> Water heater, Is this OK?

So should I change to RCBO, according to the electrician that our place does not provide a water heater point only normal power point and our electric point share with an a/c also.
senscents
post Sep 24 2022, 07:21 PM

418 posts

QUOTE(ceo684 @ Sep 24 2022, 05:27 PM)
Incoming power -> New(Safety) 25 A, 10 mA RCCB -> Water heater, Is this OK?

Cannot standalone RCCB.
RCCB must pair with a 16A MCB.
Opssss. My bad... Should be

A) Incoming power -> RCCB 63A/0.03mA -> 25 A, 10 mA RCCB -> Water heater. or

B) Incoming power -> RCCB 63A/0.03mA -> 25 A, -> MCB 16A, -> 10 mA RCCB -> Water heater.

As per ST page 11 drawing. To comply A or B?

This post has been edited by senscents: Sep 24 2022, 07:58 PM
senscents
post Sep 29 2022, 05:05 PM

418 posts

QUOTE(senscents @ Sep 24 2022, 04:38 PM)
Excellent. Hope the electrician willing to change a better/reputable  brand of RCCD.
QUOTE(gobiomani @ Sep 26 2022, 10:25 AM)
Why do you still want to go for this "safety" brand? Is it not obvious to you that it is cap ayam? If you feel that you and your family's life is not worth so much to get Hager/ABB, then at least get Maxguard which is cheap and known to be "decent".

If on the other hand if your electrician insist on using this brand, then just change to another electrician. Or go and buy yourself and get a better electrician to install.

My comments may seem harsh, but you made the effort to come to a forum to ask questions and people gave you good answers but it is mind-boggling that you still choose to be ignorant.
Thanks for your advice 👍
As per advised by forum members, I've requested items mention below

mains 63A/0.03A [30mA]
-- Hager CD263B = 63A 2P 30mA; or CDA263U
Water Heater 10mA RCD [need to pair with 16A MCB]
- HAGER CC216B or CC225B /  2 Pole RCCB 16/25A 10mA

Luckily the electrician willing to change the RCCB .
Now waiting for him to change. Hopes no more hiccup. 🤞
senscents
post Oct 3 2022, 12:09 PM

418 posts

Ohhhh

Seems my electrician can not source the HAGER CC216B or CC225B / 2 Pole RCCB 16/25A 10mA.

Anyone know where to purchase it. Thanks
senscents
post Oct 5 2022, 01:09 PM

418 posts

QUOTE(7EN @ Oct 4 2022, 11:16 PM)
not all electrical shops carries them cause hager rccb10ma not cheap.
where are you staying?
Yeah.. That's the reason mention by the electrician. Out of stock
I'm near KL area.

Any prefer physical shop around KL that sell Hager?

QUOTE(ceo684 @ Oct 5 2022, 12:05 AM)
Shopee got many electrical stores selling online (CPE, KJE, Edaran)

My god, really have to spoonfeed ur electrician.
Yes, quite a hassle. When i requested for a better quality/brand RCCB with 30mA and 10mA. He seems to be aware.
He brought up Hager brand and says that's it just slightly more expensive than other but reliable.

Then he bring the Safety(brand) to install. 👀
Luckily he's willing to change. Later inform me that one of the RCCB are out of stock and don't know when the stock will arrive.
Headaches 😩

Any prefer physical shop around KL?

0.0254sec    0.50    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 12:49 PM