8 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Alfa Romeo Club thread, Chat about our sporty Milan cars.

TSSensui
post Aug 20 2007, 10:34 PM, updated 19y ago

482 posts

I like both the 155 and 156.

The 155's design is a standout with its boxy shape but sporty impressions (especially to those who played a lot of Grand Turismo). Is it still worth getting the car now for everyday use? Is maintenance way too expensive? I can't really believe people who say that the car is THAT UNRELIABLE. Assuming a good owner who would maintain the car at the specified intervals, how reliable is the car?

I like the 156 because it has more class. With the right bodykits and stuff, it would look really nice like some GTA model. But I don't like it too low. I want ground clearance. But I hear that the selespeed is unreliable. I never trusted all those semi-auto crap from any new car anyway (eg Honda City, Lancer, Civic, 156 etc) I feel that manual is the way to go. But I also heard that manual 156 is rare and its only in 1.8l engine version. How much would one sell for? Worth getting?

This post has been edited by Sensui: Aug 23 2007, 02:33 PM
samngcheesan
post Aug 21 2007, 12:53 PM

012-3200032
1,175 posts

i like this car also but too old

Shot at 2007-08-20

alfa 146 or 156 also nice

This post has been edited by samngcheesan: Aug 21 2007, 01:05 PM
travis_ckf
post Aug 21 2007, 01:07 PM

ambitious but rubbish......
6,413 posts

Among all alfas i love the 156 the most. Cant deny that is the most sexist saloon car i ever seen. However be prepare to have lots of labor of love when owning an alfa, especially an used one.

Dont just buy an alfa coz u want something different. Make sure u have emotions on it that will last forever. Coz maintaining and running an alfa in mysia is not easy. Only true alfa lovers needed apply. sweat.gif
Nel
post Aug 21 2007, 03:03 PM

379 posts

A155 - spare part cheaper then A156.in the current market is can find new or used parts. less problem then A156 as no selespeed. but most A156 owner love A156 & A147 is because they love the selespeed anything fun thing to play. even sometime when i drive 147 or 156 will play with it rather using the city mode. A156 & A147 still cost around 50K for the '01>, 60K-70K '04> used car. and 155&146 is around 20K-29K depend how well mantain is the owner.
i love A156 new facelifted or 156GTA. Most of the customer now a day like to install the GTA body kits, and some like the cadamuro design and also AutoDelta design~ both is very nice !!

Talking about the sport rims, well 1-2years before it really hard to get the cheap cheap and nice sporty one, but now a day you could get that !!

azxel
post Aug 21 2007, 03:53 PM

moological mooster
3,421 posts

I like the Brera.. tongue.gif

I almost bought the 155 but settled for a 146 Ti. I can say that the 155 drives like a charm. It handles beautifully on the road. Didnt get to try out the 156 because it was out of my budget anyway.

155 has two variations, one is Wide Body. The 8V version comes with Timing Chain instead of Timing Belts so it lasts much longer. Reliability of the car depends on condition of the car (basically applies to all used cars). Alfa parts aren't as cheap as your normal local, korean and jap cars though but you can source for recond parts.

Manual 156s are rare and I really doubt you'd be able to find one that's in good condition (without being in a serious accident before)

I think you should just head to www.italiaauto.net and read up there.
amir_iskandar
post Aug 21 2007, 04:32 PM

723 posts

QUOTE(Nel @ Aug 21 2007, 03:03 PM)
A155 - spare part cheaper then A156.in the current market is can find new or used parts. less problem then A156 as no selespeed. but most A156 owner love A156 & A147 is because they love the selespeed anything fun thing to play. even sometime when i drive 147 or 156 will play with it rather using the city mode. A156 & A147 still cost around 50K for the '01>, 60K-70K '04>  used car.  and 155&146 is around 20K-29K depend how well mantain is the owner.
i love A156 new facelifted or 156GTA. Most of the customer now a day like to install the GTA body kits, and some like the cadamuro design and also AutoDelta design~ both is very nice !!

Talking about the sport rims, well 1-2years before it really hard to get the cheap cheap and nice sporty one, but now a day you could get that !!
cadamuro design rox!!! btw, what is ur manager no..
nerd
post Aug 21 2007, 05:20 PM

another brick in the wall.
3,373 posts

my family had a 156 2.5 V6 with a full auto gearbox, no selespeed, but the gearstick looks like a manual with PRND gears tongue.gif

tried playing with it but it was very awkward playing with the H-gate without a clutch, so i got really bored of it.

it was a really great car though. Alfa's engine note is enough to make anyone fall in love with it, it's just so sweet and distinct... ahh.. the memories.. wub.gif

azxel
post Aug 21 2007, 10:45 PM

moological mooster
3,421 posts

sigh... 2.5 V6... sweet stuff there... but during jam time, sometimes... you'd come to appreciate auto.. hehe
amir_iskandar
post Aug 22 2007, 01:39 PM

723 posts

nerd,

why do u sell ur Alfa, any intermittent problem??
SUSDrifter
post Aug 22 2007, 02:22 PM

1,349 posts

QUOTE(azxel @ Aug 21 2007, 03:53 PM)
I like the Brera.. tongue.gif

I almost bought the 155 but settled for a 146 Ti. I can say that the 155 drives like a charm. It handles beautifully on the road. Didnt get to try out the 156 because it was out of my budget anyway.

155 has two variations, one is Wide Body. The 8V version comes with Timing Chain instead of Timing Belts so it lasts much longer. Reliability of the car depends on condition of the car (basically applies to all used cars). Alfa parts aren't as cheap as your normal local, korean and jap cars though but you can source for recond parts.

Manual 156s are rare and I really doubt you'd be able to find one that's in good condition (without being in a serious accident before)

I think you should just head to www.italiaauto.net and read up there.
i love the 8c

why do ppl always ask wrong things here?
nerd
post Aug 22 2007, 03:13 PM

3,373 posts

QUOTE(amir_iskandar @ Aug 22 2007, 01:39 PM)
nerd,

why do u sell ur Alfa, any intermittent problem??
none, it was one of the most reliable cars our family had, according to my dad. smile.gif

just that it was 6 years old, and that it was time for a change.
Alternation
post Aug 22 2007, 03:24 PM

912 posts

QUOTE(nerd @ Aug 22 2007, 03:13 PM)
none, it was one of the most reliable cars our family had, according to my dad. smile.gif

just that it was 6 years old, and that it was time for a change.
I love the 147 for its boxer engine and 156 for its looks.

for how much did ur family let the 156 go?

Currently its around 60+ for a 2nd hand yr 2000+. Issit worth buying especially considering the parts? How much is the oil filter, air filter and things tht needs to be changed every service?
HonMun
post Aug 22 2007, 03:26 PM

Professor
1,052 posts

16k Rev meter !! Sweet......
azxel
post Aug 22 2007, 03:28 PM

moological mooster
3,421 posts

erm... 147 has Twin Sparks engine, no boxer engine in the 147.
Alternation
post Aug 22 2007, 03:29 PM

912 posts

oppss ... sorry. i gues i'm refering to the 146/145 ver
nerd
post Aug 22 2007, 03:30 PM

3,373 posts

QUOTE(Alternation @ Aug 22 2007, 03:24 PM)
I love the 147 for its boxer engine and 156 for its looks.

for how much did ur family let the 156 go?

Currently its around 60+ for a 2nd hand yr 2000+. Issit worth buying especially considering the parts? How much is the oil filter, air filter and things tht needs to be changed every service?
ours was bought in the year 1999, but December. let go in 2006.. I think just above RM70k. let it go to an Alfa enthusiast who really appreciates the car. we've had ridiculous offers of even RM50k from those 'normal' people who don't know what an Alfa is like.. shakehead.gif

sorry, can't help you on the servicing, I was too young back then to bother tongue.gif
Alternation
post Aug 22 2007, 03:36 PM

912 posts

azxel, ur driving 146 curently? mind to share ur experience regarding the servicing, pricing, reliability and things like tht?
SUSDrifter
post Aug 22 2007, 03:41 PM

1,349 posts

azxel is aka mr 146
azxel
post Aug 22 2007, 04:07 PM

moological mooster
3,421 posts

Let's see...

Servicing?
Oil change every 5000-6000km cost about RM200 (or less) for 4 1/4 litres of ELF semi-synth and oil filter. Mine's a 2.0
other than that, just make sure you check your oil, water levels, tyre pressures.. etc. basic car check ups.. hehe.. it's a car anyway.

Pricing?
146 price varies 1.7 Boxer about RM10k-15k and 1.6-2.0 TwinSparks for about RM20K-RM35K

Reliability?
Ride her hard and you get less problems. That's what most if not all Alfistis say and I tend to agree with that. Never really had any problems when I rode her hard but problems appear when I drive like a granny. Dunno why... so good to redline her when you can. Make sure you have the proper tyres and driving skills when speeding. Stay alert. hehe

Parts?
Not cheap. Damn expensive if you get original new parts. Much cheaper (1/3 of new part price) if you get recond parts.

So far, I've spent... (inclusive of labor charges)
- RM850 for Idling Valve, Power Window rewiring and oil change
- RM550 for motor starter (rosak.. change to recond one. new one quoted at RM1500)
- RM150 for aircon repairs (some hose broke and had to replace that and replace gas again... and again)
- RM120 for 1 disc brake fluid hose near my tyres + brake fluid

Need/Want to replace
- Windscreen cracked kena batu. sad.gif
- New pedals (gas, clutch, brake pedals) that has much better grip
- K&N air filter
- Koni suspensions
- New paint job
- New better window tinting
- better tyres

Bear in mind, I'm driving an 11 year old car which can do 220km/h without any problems (so far, never had the chance to push it further). Highway cruising at a comfortable 140km/h (12 o'clock on the meter). Timing belt life is a bit short at 40k km and they aren't cheap. You're looking at RM1k for timing belt changes compared to a Skyline's that probably cost RM300 (plus labor) for 100k km life. Anyway, my car comes with sporty seats, sunroof, airbags, 4 disc brakes as standard and it cost less than RM30k.

Fuel Consumption = RM110 full tank
Mix driving (highway + driving like granny) = 500+km
Driving like granny = 400+km
Never tried all highway driving yet

My complains...
- No cup holder (hehe)
- Glove compartment though cool is quite small
- Built-in Ashtrays around the car encourages people to dump stuff in them and smoke in my car
- Manual only (driving manual in KL during jam = very tired)
- Lousy visibility of rear (bad for reverse parking)
- A bit noisy (but dem nice growl) and folks everyone wanna lumba with me on highway (usually just leave em behind as I speed up)
- Gets a bit 'hot' in the car if I speed above 160-180km/h (maybe the heat shield problem)

I never bothered with the 1.6 after test driving the 1.8 155 and the 2.0 146. Picked the 146 because of the design and driving position and for its compactness.
Alternation
post Aug 22 2007, 04:27 PM

912 posts

wah, so comprehensive ar haha. thx bro.

the maintenance is ... epensive! but for ur case, u got an 11yr old car below 30k and still drives so good, i think its a good bargain. But i'm not sure the same case if i were to get a 60k 2nd hand 156 tho. any specific known problem which comes with 156? i.e. rubber seals n etc probs?

The condo i live at, there's 1 black 156 with diffuser at the back. Very cool. Summore after watching some ah beng turbo"ed" wira kena smoked by 156 on the genting road on youtube, it appeals even more to me.

8 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0222sec    0.33    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 02:53 AM