225/55/19 X70 Tires, Conti/Yoko/Toyo/Dunlop/Windforce?

TSstevenycs
post Dec 17 2020, 11:45 PM, updated 5y ago

83 posts

It's time to change my 4 donuts (UC6)
Been offered:
Toyo CR1 - $416 - local made
Toyo PXR46 - $544 - Japan
Yoko AE61 - $478 - Japan?
Dunlop D06 - 356
Hankook K125 - 360
Mich Sport 4 SUV - 799

Shop did recommend to try Windforce Catchfors UHP - $289

Any bros tried this before or any comments and feedback is welcome. thumbup.gif

TIA notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by stevenycs: Dec 18 2020, 12:06 AM
jayjaynyc
post Dec 18 2020, 12:11 AM

173 posts

what's your budget? Michelin SUV vs Toyo CR1 big difference in price for 4 pieces.

Also, why not use the Conti UC6 again? I'm happy with it on my X70.
TSstevenycs
post Dec 18 2020, 09:18 AM

83 posts

QUOTE(jayjaynyc @ Dec 18 2020, 12:11 AM)
what's your budget? Michelin SUV vs Toyo CR1 big difference in price for 4 pieces.

Also, why not use the Conti UC6 again? I'm happy with it on my X70.
I don't think going for Mich as I drive a lot and the wear is quiet high for Mich although the grip and comfort is there.
And budget is over for Mich (sorry for putting in the list as a bit misleading)

UC6 so far for me is good. That's my current choice actually.
20months around 45K mileage. Thread almost 80% now.
jayjaynyc
post Dec 18 2020, 01:39 PM

173 posts

If can stick to Conti UC6, just go ahead... this SUV is heavy, so it eats up tires quite fast. I'm happy with the performance on highways as well as on city roads.. Grip and NVH good enough for me.
keyser soze
post Dec 18 2020, 01:43 PM

568 posts

your price get from Klang tyre shop. Try them, they are relatively cheaper. Don't for for some unknown brand, I then ave RM 400 per piece should be reasonable.
IamAHuman
post Dec 18 2020, 01:57 PM

350 posts

QUOTE(stevenycs @ Dec 17 2020, 11:45 PM)
Been offered:
Dunlop D06 - 356
Hankook K125 - 360
Mich Sport 4 SUV - 799

Any bros tried this before or any comments and feedback is welcome.  thumbup.gif

TIA  notworthy.gif
Seems like hankook is a good deal here. Price vs quality.
widget
post Dec 18 2020, 02:37 PM

1,156 posts

Been offered:
Dunlop D06 - 356
Hankook K125 - 360
Mich Sport 4 SUV - 799

Any bros tried this before or any comments and feedback is welcome.  thumbup.gif

TIA  notworthy.gif
Go back to Conti UC6 (Made in M'sia), which you can get around RM500-550/pc (cheaper in Klang) or Hankook K125 (Made in Indon) if you want to save some money.
For K125, they are having promo that by purchasing 4 tyres, can get RM100 cash voucher for Lazada, Grab pay, etc which is
6UE5T
post Dec 18 2020, 10:18 PM

1,704 posts

Been offered:
Dunlop D06 - 356
Hankook K125 - 360
Mich Sport 4 SUV - 799

TIA  notworthy.gif
Don't be a cheap skate on tires and get the cheapest unknown crap out there. If you want decent but reasonable price try find Falken FK510 SUV or Goodyear Efficient Grip SUV., should be better than any on your list above except the PS4.
TSstevenycs
post Dec 20 2020, 12:29 AM

83 posts

QUOTE(jayjaynyc @ Dec 18 2020, 01:39 PM)
If can stick to Conti UC6, just go ahead... this SUV is heavy, so it eats up tires quite fast. I'm happy with the performance on highways as well as on city roads.. Grip and NVH good enough for me.
Ya, I'm very satisfied with UC6 so far .. grip and NVH .. and yes it wore off quite fast due to the weight of the car.
So just surveying the water now thumbup.gif

QUOTE(keyser soze @ Dec 18 2020, 01:43 PM)
your price get from Klang tyre shop. Try them, they are relatively cheaper. Don't for for some unknown brand, I then ave RM 400 per piece should be reasonable.
Yes bro, the price from the shop outside my place, should be considered one of the cheapest in town.
Unknown brands only the china one hence asking if anyone tried before as the price saving is close to 1K for 4 donuts haha~
But thanks for the advise bro thumbsup.gif

QUOTE(IamAHuman @ Dec 18 2020, 01:57 PM)
Seems like hankook is a good deal here. Price vs quality.
Thanks for the feedback bro. Will give it a thought thumbsup.gif

QUOTE(widget @ Dec 18 2020, 02:37 PM)
Go back to Conti UC6 (Made in M'sia), which you can get around RM500-550/pc (cheaper in Klang) or Hankook K125 (Made in Indon) if you want to save some money.
For K125, they are having promo that by purchasing 4 tyres, can get RM100 cash voucher for Lazada, Grab pay, etc which is
Ya, UC6 around $538 now. Now two sifus gave good reviews on K125, will really give it a serious thought thumbsup.gif thumbsup.gif

QUOTE(6UE5T @ Dec 18 2020, 10:18 PM)
Don't be a cheap skate on tires and get the cheapest unknown  crap out there. If you want decent but reasonable price try find Falken FK510 SUV or Goodyear Efficient Grip SUV., should be better than any on your list above except the PS4.
Times are tough bro haha~ but definitely won't go for unknown brands hence asking in here. FK510 and Efficient Grip, will try to get some price tag on these. Thanks for the feedback bro thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by stevenycs: Dec 20 2020, 12:36 AM
luvox
post Dec 23 2020, 11:24 PM

626 posts

Been offered:
Dunlop D06 - 356
Hankook K125 - 360
Mich Sport 4 SUV - 799

TIA  notworthy.gif

Bro the ps4 price 799 is price from osc*r tyre? Mind to tell which shop?
littlefire
post Dec 24 2020, 11:21 AM

2,712 posts

Should also ask for Giti tires for comparison.
One of the better budget tires, i believe certain X70 model is using Giti tires as standard.

FYI Yokohama AE61 EU rating is the same or even better compare to Michelin SUV tires in Europe. A lot of people already give feedback it is the most value SUV tires on market now if you consider Michelin tire at first.

https://www.yokohama-online.com/Tyres/Car-T.../(product)/AE61

Fuel Efficient : C
Wet Grip: A
Noise Class: 1 (68db)

https://www.michelin.co.uk/auto/tyres/miche...lot-sport-4-suv

Fuel Efficient : E (Even worse)
Noise Class: 70db (Even louder compare to AE61)

laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif

That why i always tell people that newer Michelin tires is not that silent nowadays.

This post has been edited by littlefire: Dec 24 2020, 11:27 AM
SUSceo684
post Dec 27 2020, 11:18 AM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

Yokohama on pickup truck also works pretty well (AT tyre). Make sure to see the wet traction rating as well before buying.
6UE5T
post Dec 27 2020, 04:14 PM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(littlefire @ Dec 24 2020, 11:21 AM)
One of the better budget tires, i believe certain X70 model is using Giti tires as standard. 

FYI Yokohama AE61 EU rating is the same or even better compare to Michelin SUV tires in Europe. A lot of people already give feedback it is the most value SUV tires on market now if you consider Michelin tire at first.

laugh.gif  laugh.gif  laugh.gif 

That why i always tell people that newer Michelin tires is not that silent nowadays.
PS4 is designed to be high performance and not so much to be silent and fuel efficient. Michelin has lower category models for those purposes.
littlefire
post Dec 28 2020, 09:50 AM

2,712 posts

QUOTE(6UE5T @ Dec 27 2020, 05:14 PM)
PS4 is designed to be high performance and not so much to be silent and fuel efficient. Michelin has lower category models for those purposes.
You can compare it with the lower range models, from what i know Michelin is no more as silent & comfort as claim before as they already went for the safety route of improving braking distance. Still a lot of tire shop and people still think and promote is as the most silent & comfort tires with premium price.. tongue.gif
littlefire
post Dec 28 2020, 09:57 AM

2,712 posts

QUOTE(ceo684 @ Dec 27 2020, 12:18 PM)
Yokohama on pickup truck also works pretty well (AT tyre). Make sure to see the wet traction rating as well before buying.
Wet traction rating on tires = braking performance in wet condition
I am using 1 on my SUV, Yokohama Geolander G91, wet traction rating B and still survive until now.
Overall very comfort & silent in-term of proper on-road SUV tires. No issue during raining season and use over a year now.
I believe Geolander G91 already obsolete for local market and replaced by the AE61 which improve overall performance.

6UE5T
post Dec 28 2020, 10:04 AM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(littlefire @ Dec 28 2020, 09:50 AM)
You can compare it with the lower range models, from what i know Michelin is no more as silent & comfort as claim before as they already went for the safety route of improving braking distance. Still a lot of tire shop and people still think and promote is as the most silent & comfort tires with premium price..  tongue.gif
Well if that's what Michelin is aiming for then that's even better and I support that even more! Silent and comfort are overrated and secondary anyway. 😅
4WD_er
post Dec 28 2020, 03:41 PM

571 posts

Consider Michelin Primacy SUV instead of Pilot sport 4 SUV
luvox
post Dec 28 2020, 04:23 PM

626 posts

QUOTE(4WD_er @ Dec 28 2020, 03:41 PM)
Consider Michelin Primacy SUV instead of Pilot sport 4 SUV
Primacy suv dont hv size for 225 55 19
TSstevenycs
post Dec 29 2020, 12:51 PM

83 posts

QUOTE(luvox @ Dec 23 2020, 11:24 PM)
Bro the ps4 price 799 is price from osc*r tyre? Mind to tell which shop?
Yes bro, from the same you'd mentioned.
TSstevenycs
post Dec 29 2020, 12:58 PM

83 posts

QUOTE(littlefire @ Dec 24 2020, 11:21 AM)

laugh.gif  laugh.gif  laugh.gif 

One of the shop at Sunway, T-Align actually introduced GITI Comfort 50 which cost RM548.
That is even higher than UC6. But the reason is that, quality is better of course (or so I was informed by the guy).

I was quoted Yoko AE 61 (BluEarth) for around 478 by the shop which I might consider on my next change since it's made from Japan.

PS4 too expensive for me since I drive a lot .. so not in my consideration.
But thanks for the input bro.
Btw, already changed to CR1 last weekend. So far so good in dry and wet road.

0.0220sec    0.75    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 05:13 PM