Sunway Digital Fiber, New ISP?

TSjoeblow
post Dec 15 2020, 04:33 PM, updated 5y ago

1,146 posts

Hi there,

Next year my new house in Sunway Iskandar will be ready and I plan to move there. But to my surprise there's no unifi, maxis or even time. From the agents at Sunway, it seems the fiber is laid by their own IT company Sunway Digital Wave and their package is RM99 for 100mb, contract 2 years. Not sure if price will change back to RM128 after that.

Anyone currently using their fiber residential internet service? Any comments? Personally I don't like this kind of arrangement. I think will have lots of traffic control especially p2p and gaming. But it seems we do not have a choice...
fireballs
post Dec 15 2020, 04:43 PM

5,650 posts

wah thats low for sunway.

if like that i rather use digi unlimited or unifi bebas
Ckmwpy0370
post Dec 15 2020, 08:01 PM

3,821 posts

QUOTE(joeblow @ Dec 15 2020, 04:33 PM)
Hi there,

Next year my new house in Sunway Iskandar will be ready and I plan to move there. But to my surprise there's no unifi, maxis or even time. From the agents at Sunway, it seems the fiber is laid by their own IT company Sunway Digital Wave and their package is RM99 for 100mb, contract 2 years. Not sure if price will change back to RM128 after that.

Anyone currently using their fiber residential internet service? Any comments? Personally I don't like this kind of arrangement. I think will have lots of traffic control especially p2p and gaming. But it seems we do not have a choice...
No is not ISP
another subsidiary company of Sunway dealing with telecommunications
SUSCandy12
post Dec 15 2020, 09:29 PM

1,878 posts

QUOTE(joeblow @ Dec 15 2020, 04:33 PM)
Hi there,

They're like reselling TM Unifi service with backup from ViewQwest.

Here is their upstream bandwidth chart:

50% of their overall bandwidth comes from TM, another 49% from ViewQwest for IPv4.
For IPv6, it's entirely using Hurricane Electric.

Doubt they can provide public IPv4 to their home customers. Their IP blocks can only support like 2048 ip addresses.

They want to follow the developer run ISP model like the company called Arteria Networks in Japan where they force all their projects to use their own company's run ISP bundling the fee into their monthly management fees.

TSjoeblow
post Dec 15 2020, 09:55 PM

1,146 posts

QUOTE(Candy12 @ Dec 15 2020, 09:29 PM)

50% of their overall bandwidth comes from TM, another 49% from ViewQwest for IPv4.

Doubt they can provide public IPv4 to their home customers. Their IP blocks can only support like 2048 ip addresses.

They want to follow the developer run ISP model like the company called Arteria Networks in Japan where they force all their projects to use their own company's run ISP bundling the fee into their monthly management fees.
Wow very impressed! How you get all these information? According to their website they do provide dynamic ip to residential customer.

Anyway I don't use ipv6 for now, future don't know. Do you know how is the performance? I had bad experience before with this kind of resell Internet bandwidth. Worse than maxis since Sunway won't have its own backbone. They are basically like your neighbour subletting the Internet access sharing the same subscribed bandwidth. Not to mention if there is any restrictions or in event of long turnover for downtime fix.

Ckmwpy0370
post Dec 16 2020, 07:54 PM

3,821 posts

QUOTE(joeblow @ Dec 15 2020, 09:55 PM)
Wow very impressed! How you get all these information? According to their website they do provide dynamic ip to residential customer.

Anyway I don't use ipv6 for now, future don't know. Do you know how is the performance? I had bad experience before with this kind of resell Internet bandwidth. Worse than maxis since Sunway won't have its own backbone. They are basically like your neighbour subletting the Internet access sharing the same subscribed bandwidth. Not to mention if there is any restrictions or in event of long turnover for downtime fix.
you dun have choice if they are the only proprietary service in your area.
Ckmwpy0370
post Dec 16 2020, 07:57 PM

3,821 posts

QUOTE(Candy12 @ Dec 15 2020, 09:29 PM)

basically, sunway township are using their services to serve internet
TSjoeblow
post Dec 16 2020, 10:54 PM

1,146 posts

QUOTE(Ckmwpy0370 @ Dec 16 2020, 07:57 PM)
basically, sunway township are using their services to serve internet
Ya I think you are right unfortunately. But it seems this fiber service is quite new. So maybe not so much complain yet.

I will worry about it next year if I move in then. Sucks that when I asked them about internet, they said fiber will be provided but conveniently left out must use their service!
blacktubi
post Dec 17 2020, 12:26 AM

-
8,416 posts

Had that in Sunway GEO, it’s surprisingly decent.

Customer service is good since they are pretty small scale. You can get issues escalated to someone with good technical knowledge easily.

However, the provided router is crap, make sure you buy your own.
TSjoeblow
post Dec 17 2020, 01:20 AM

1,146 posts

QUOTE(blacktubi @ Dec 17 2020, 12:26 AM)
Had that in Sunway GEO, it’s surprisingly decent.

Customer service is good since they are pretty small scale. You can get issues escalated to someone with good technical knowledge easily.

However, the provided router is crap, make sure you buy your own.
Thanks for feedback. Yeah no problem to get my own router. Can I check how's the performance in gaming or if they throttle p2p if you know. Planning to get AX20.
blacktubi
post Dec 17 2020, 01:34 AM

-
8,416 posts

QUOTE(joeblow @ Dec 17 2020, 01:20 AM)
Thanks for feedback. Yeah no problem to get my own router. Can I check how's the performance in gaming or if they throttle p2p if you know. Planning to get AX20.
It was within 15ms range for Steam SG servers which is in line with other ISPs. Pretty stable since I guess there's not much oversell going on.

Considering that most Sunway properties aren't even 80% occupied as well. tongue.gif

I'm not really sure which bandwidth wholesale providers they use and I never tried P2P torrenting.
Alpha_Tay
post Dec 17 2020, 06:43 PM

Beware The Spammer Star!
1,725 posts

QUOTE(blacktubi @ Dec 17 2020, 01:34 AM)
It was within 15ms range for Steam SG servers which is in line with other ISPs. Pretty stable since I guess there's not much oversell going on.

Considering that most Sunway properties aren't even 80% occupied as well. tongue.gif

I'm not really sure which bandwidth wholesale providers they use and I never tried P2P torrenting.
which ip for that Steam SG servers?
Alpha_Tay
post Mar 18 2022, 04:38 PM

Beware The Spammer Star!
1,725 posts

test from unifi fibre johor around 4pm, not unifi speed issue but more of a sunway issue.

speedtest.exe -s 44962

Speedtest by Ookla

Server: Sunway Iskandar - Nusajaya (id = 44962)
ISP: TM Net
Latency: 6.96 ms (1.24 ms jitter)
Download: 210.88 Mbps (data used: 110.4 MB )
Upload: 118.62 Mbps (data used: 163.1 MB )
Packet Loss: Not available.

speedtest.exe -s 49090

Speedtest by Ookla

Server: Sunway Lenang - Johor Bahru (id = 49090)
Latency: 14.45 ms (0.11 ms jitter)
Download: 91.33 Mbps (data used: 107.5 MB )
Upload: 89.79 Mbps (data used: 71.8 MB )

speedtest.exe -s 43941

Speedtest by Ookla

Server: Sunway Bangi - Bangi (id = 43941)
Latency: 47.33 ms (2.59 ms jitter)
Download: 61.36 Mbps (data used: 52.3 MB )
Upload: 69.77 Mbps (data used: 123.1 MB )

speedtest.exe -s 40569

Speedtest by Ookla

Server: Sunway - Subang Jaya (id = 40569)
Latency: 47.56 ms (1.37 ms jitter)
Download: 114.87 Mbps (data used: 170.0 MB )
Upload: 81.33 Mbps (data used: 61.1 MB )

speedtest.exe -s 48997

speedtestset.sunwaytech.com.my

Speedtest by Ookla

Server: Sunway Rawang - Rawang (id = 48997)
Latency: 48.61 ms (2.92 ms jitter)
Download: 23.64 Mbps (data used: 36.2 MB )
Upload: 88.64 Mbps (data used: 150.3 MB )

UPDATE:seem to be improve for some.

speedtest.exe -s 44962

Speedtest by Ookla

Server: Sunway Iskandar - Nusajaya (id = 44962)
Latency: 8.48 ms (0.25 ms jitter)
Download: 264.11 Mbps (data used: 226.0 MB )
Upload: 116.15 Mbps (data used: 202.9 MB )

speedtest.exe -s 49090

Speedtest by Ookla

Server: Sunway Lenang - Johor Bahru (id = 49090)
Latency: 14.32 ms (1.47 ms jitter)
Download: 94.43 Mbps (data used: 92.2 MB )
Upload: 92.49 Mbps (data used: 90.7 MB )

speedtest.exe -s 43941

Speedtest by Ookla

Server: Sunway Bangi - Bangi (id = 43941)
Latency: 18.54 ms (0.53 ms jitter)
Download: 526.13 Mbps (data used: 884.1 MB )
Upload: 113.95 Mbps (data used: 128.6 MB )

speedtest.exe -s 40569

Speedtest by Ookla

Server: Sunway - Subang Jaya (id = 40569)
Latency: 53.16 ms (1.11 ms jitter)
Download: 525.16 Mbps (data used: 888.6 MB )
Upload: 115.16 Mbps (data used: 186.3 MB )

speedtest.exe -s 48997
[error] Configuration - No servers defined (NoServersException)

This post has been edited by Alpha_Tay: Mar 21 2022, 12:36 PM

0.0173sec    0.43    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 06:24 AM