Budget RM3000 notebook/laptop for form 6 study

xerox8908
post Dec 13 2020, 04:29 AM

Look at all my stars
2,725 posts

QUOTE(ceo684 @ Dec 12 2020, 06:28 PM)
Intel is overpriced for the performance. Its like buying a proton saga for RM200k.

Current (4xxx series) Ryzen series much better from performance AND power consumption (vs old ryzen or current gen intel).

Hence get a machine with 16GB RAM. Office work on 8GB machine is suffocating (few excel tabs, remote desktop, copy thousands of lines SQL result). When you actually need to open many tabs and refer many journals and stuff like that for research (in uni), the 16GB will make life much better. Also when you wanna do some actual Excel work involve many tabs and filter function.

I think for the 3k range one can get a FHD screen at least. 1366x768 hurts the eyes because usually constructed of dim screen (not enough nits).

https://www.lenovo.com/my/en/laptops/thinkp...d/p/22TPX13X3A2

The weight of X series (1.3kg) is well appreciated especially if one likes to watch movies with the laptop on chest.
E series is kinda heavy and uncomfortable (1.7kg).

SME/Business grade laptop easily last 10 years. I still have my Dell Vostro (1.86kg THEN from 2008) working with new SSD.
excel is better on tiger lake

Boldnut
post Dec 13 2020, 02:24 PM

2,209 posts

QUOTE(diehard1979 @ Dec 12 2020, 09:01 PM)
ok thanks. I will tell her to consider this.

She dun know much about this.
I also seldom touch laptop/notebook so dunno now how is the laptop/notebook world going.

Plus last time most people will say for notebook go intel rather than AMD.
Outside those brick shop with RM3000 price, mostly give 4gb ram only and 256gb ssd.
Then I see that dell got 8gb and 11th intel i7 so I though is good.
Too many brand for notebook/laptop. Acer/HP/Dell/Lenovo/MSI/.......

Not familiar ppl really hard to know what to buy.

this laptop is literally a gaming laptop, it is on the heavy side. Unless the user want all that bleeding edge performance, it is generally better to get business class laptop like lenovo thinkpad.

This post has been edited by Boldnut: Dec 13 2020, 02:25 PM
TSdiehard1979
post Dec 13 2020, 03:09 PM

1,194 posts

QUOTE(Boldnut @ Dec 13 2020, 02:24 PM)
this laptop is literally a gaming laptop, it is on the heavy side. Unless the user want all that bleeding edge performance, it is generally better to get business class laptop like lenovo thinkpad.
what is the different between those?
lenovo thinkpad is what?

chkwong
post Dec 15 2020, 09:42 AM

411 posts

Legion series -> gaming, high-end, slightly heavier
ThinkPad -> business class, sturdy (reliable), lightweight

If want lightweight, can consider X13 AMD, it's fast and lightweight.
stevendeepdeep
post Dec 15 2020, 11:54 AM

92 posts

top up a little bit extra and you can last till university

acer swift series (11th gen)

14″ FHD IPS display
Intel Core i7-1165G7, Intel Iris Xe Max graphics – RM3,499
Intel Core i5-1135G7, Nvidia MX350 graphics – RM3,099
Intel Core i5-1135G7, Intel Iris Xe Max graphics – RM2,799

15.6″ FHD IPS display
Intel Core i7-1165G7, Nvidia MX350 graphics – RM3,799
Intel Core i7-1165G7, Intel Iris Xe Max graphics – RM3,499
Intel Core i5-1135G7, Intel Iris Xe Max graphics – RM2,899

https://www.soyacincau.com/2020/11/22/acer-...le-in-malaysia/

TSdiehard1979
post Dec 15 2020, 11:55 AM

1,194 posts

QUOTE(chkwong @ Dec 15 2020, 09:42 AM)
Legion series -> gaming, high-end, slightly heavier
ThinkPad -> business class, sturdy (reliable), lightweight

If want lightweight, can consider X13 AMD, it's fast and lightweight.
wah so much. I also blur, my sister sure lagi blur.
Boldnut
post Dec 15 2020, 01:03 PM

2,209 posts

QUOTE(diehard1979 @ Dec 15 2020, 11:55 AM)
wah so much. I also blur, my sister sure lagi blur.

the way I see how you describe her, it is better she get thinkpad.

i recommend thinkpad X13. If can wait, wait for part number 20UFS04100/20UFS04200 restock. (also wait for sale price, price listing is around 3.6K-3.9K during 12/12, I think will sale again in new year). After apply BIGSALE coupon can get down to RM3.1-3.3K. Use shopback app can get another 4.5% cashback. I got mine model 20UFS04100 @ RM2.99K with shopback.

if she get the right model & take care of it, she can use well into her start working. Thinkpad is that reliable.

This post has been edited by Boldnut: Dec 15 2020, 01:07 PM
TSdiehard1979
post Dec 15 2020, 05:47 PM

1,194 posts

QUOTE(Boldnut @ Dec 15 2020, 01:03 PM)
the way I see how you describe her, it is better she get thinkpad.

i recommend thinkpad X13. If can wait, wait for part number 20UFS04100/20UFS04200 restock. (also wait for sale price, price listing is around 3.6K-3.9K during 12/12, I think will sale again in new year). After apply BIGSALE coupon can get down to RM3.1-3.3K. Use shopback app can get another 4.5% cashback. I got mine model 20UFS04100 @ RM2.99K with shopback.

if she get the right model & take care of it, she can use well into her start working. Thinkpad is that reliable.
Need to install shopback app?

Boldnut
post Dec 15 2020, 06:34 PM

2,209 posts

QUOTE(diehard1979 @ Dec 15 2020, 05:47 PM)
Need to install shopback app?

it is a chrome browser extension, visit shopback they will guide you how to get caskback.

my RM3.1K+ laptop purchase they gave me around RM140+

TSdiehard1979
post Dec 15 2020, 06:43 PM

1,194 posts

QUOTE(Boldnut @ Dec 15 2020, 06:34 PM)
it is a chrome browser extension, visit shopback they will guide you how to get caskback.

my RM3.1K+ laptop purchase they gave me around RM140+
ok I tell her.
Let she decide.
Online can get good price but she not so confident buying online.
Offline all expensive low spec.
chkwong
post Dec 16 2020, 08:36 AM

411 posts

QUOTE(diehard1979 @ Dec 15 2020, 06:43 PM)
ok I tell her.
Let she decide.
Was never a fan of business class laptop until my first office work laptop, ThinkPad T series. After that, it's all ThinkPad all the way (3-4 units) over the years. It sure no look sexy, but I can tell you it's lasting. Very good for mobile work. In the course of 2+ decades of work and home use, hv used Dell, Acer, HP, Asus, etc. but none of them are as lasting as ThinkPad for mobile work and reliability. The last ThinkPad was close to 10 years before I gave it away and it was still working like a charm, upgraded SSD, RAM etc.
Boldnut
post Dec 16 2020, 12:52 PM

2,209 posts

QUOTE(diehard1979 @ Dec 15 2020, 06:43 PM)
ok I tell her.
Let she decide.

just make sure get the 16GB RAM version.
both 20UFS04100 & 20UFS04200 part model are 16GB version with finger print login (trust me finger print login feels very good) , coupon code should be BIGSALE or GIVINGUP (try both see which one bigger discount)

depends on how she gonna use pick either.
20UFS04100 is 6 core CPU/processor
20UFS04200 is 8 core CPU/processor for additional ~RM300

X13 has No stock atm, check everyday for restock. If cannot wait try thinkpad T14 & T14s AMD version here. Make sure you get 16GB RAM, fingerprint, 72%NTSC LCD screen for T14/T14s. Get someone who know computer to built for her.
QUOTE(chkwong @ Dec 16 2020, 08:36 AM)
Was never a fan of business class laptop until my first office work laptop, ThinkPad T series. After that, it's all ThinkPad all the way (3-4 units) over the years. It sure no look sexy, but I can tell you it's lasting. Very good for mobile work. In the course of 2+ decades of work and home use, hv used Dell, Acer, HP, Asus, etc. but none of them are as lasting as ThinkPad for mobile work and reliability. The last ThinkPad was close to 10 years before I gave it away and it was still working like a charm, upgraded SSD, RAM etc.

Same I owned a fully specced out T495 from last year(company use), this year I got X13(personal use). Both of them are amazing machines.

This post has been edited by Boldnut: Dec 16 2020, 01:01 PM
TSdiehard1979
post Dec 16 2020, 05:00 PM

1,194 posts

QUOTE(Boldnut @ Dec 16 2020, 12:52 PM)
just make sure get the 16GB RAM version.
both 20UFS04100 & 20UFS04200 part model are 16GB version with finger print login (trust me finger print login feels very good) , coupon code should be BIGSALE or GIVINGUP (try both see which one bigger discount)

depends on how she gonna use pick either.
20UFS04100 is 6 core CPU/processor
20UFS04200 is 8 core CPU/processor for additional ~RM300

X13 has No stock atm, check everyday for restock. If cannot wait try thinkpad T14 & T14s AMD version here. Make sure you get 16GB RAM, fingerprint, 72%NTSC LCD screen for T14/T14s. Get someone who know computer to built for her. 
Same I owned a fully specced out T495 from last year(company use), this year I got X13(personal use). Both of them are amazing machines.
This is still need to build by own?
I though when buy, it will come with whole thing include pre install win 10, ms office. She just need to login and use only right?
Boldnut
post Dec 16 2020, 05:15 PM

2,209 posts

QUOTE(diehard1979 @ Dec 16 2020, 05:00 PM)
I though when buy, it will come with whole thing include pre install win 10, ms office. She just need to login and use only right?

no, I meant for T14/T14s it is better to customized spec on lenovo website.

This post has been edited by Boldnut: Dec 16 2020, 05:18 PM
chkwong
post Dec 20 2020, 10:11 AM

411 posts

QUOTE(diehard1979 @ Dec 16 2020, 05:00 PM)
Make sure you get LCD of sRGB 100% or NTSC 72%, these are much much better colour rendering compared to the usual NTSC 45%.
TSdiehard1979
post Dec 20 2020, 02:18 PM

1,194 posts

QUOTE(chkwong @ Dec 20 2020, 10:11 AM)
Make sure you get LCD of sRGB 100% or NTSC 72%, these are much much better colour rendering compared to the usual NTSC 45%.
BryanTARUC P
post Dec 24 2020, 03:14 AM

Probation
17 posts

I think that Acer Chromebook series could be what your looking for, since be using it for watching videos and doing assignment.
sheerwin
post Dec 30 2020, 12:07 AM

85 posts

the new acer swift 5 all the way!
cmgan72
post Dec 30 2020, 12:35 PM

Daisyoix PC
1,340 posts

can have a look at these

1) Acer Swift 3
Intel® Core i5-1135G7
8GB Onboard LPDDR4X
512GB PCIe NVMe SSD
14" FHD IPS Slim Bezel
Intel® Iris® Xe Graphics
Windows 10 Home
2 yr Local Warranty with 1st yr ITW
Pre-installed MS Office Home & Student

RM3,140 (slightly over but with new-gen processor)

2)Acer Aspire 5
Intel® CoreTM i5-1135G7 Processor
4GB Onboard DDR4 Ram
512G PCIe NVMe SSD
Intel® Iris® Xe Graphics
15.6" IPS, Full HD 1920 x 1080, high-brightness Acer ComfyViewTM LED-backlit TFT LCD 16:9 aspect ratio, 45% NTSC color gamut
Windows 10 Home
3 Years Acer Local Warranty with 1st Year ITW
Pre-installed MS Office Home & Student

RM2,839

3) Lenovo ThinkBook
Intel Core i5-1135G7 Processor
8GB Soldered DDR4-3200 Ram
512GB SSD M.2 2242 PCIe 3.0x4 NVMe
Integrated Intel Iris Xe Graphics
15.6" FHD (1920x1080) IPS 250nits Anti-glare
Windows 10 Pro
1 Year Lenovo Premier Onsite Support Warranty

RM3,189
ze2
post Dec 30 2020, 01:26 PM

319 posts

QUOTE(sHawTY @ Dec 12 2020, 02:01 PM)
Get Legion 5
6 Core & 12 Thread processor
16GB of RAM, enough for whatever editing she needs to do
Dedicated GPU GTX 1650, also good for photo / video editing
256GB SSD for fast operation + 1TB HDD for storing data, document, photo & video
2 year international onsite warranty
Very good cooling with separate heatsink for CPU & GPU

All of this for an extra RM300+

Hi Shaw, sincerely thanks for your recommendation. Bought this wirh HSBC 12 months installment plan. Cheers.

0.0246sec    0.65    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 04:28 AM