Lolx.
Thanks, I didn't know. So, which part of KL?
Hobbies Paintball Thread
Feb 7 2008, 09:10 AM
360 posts Joined: Dec 2006 |
Lolx.
Thanks, I didn't know. So, which part of KL? |
Feb 12 2008, 03:51 PM
1 posts Joined: Jan 2008 |
I'll go, just to practice photography. Out of money already. Well, might be able to play.
What time is it? @ yeehong : Mask maintenance isn't that hard. I have a Vforce Grill, bought because of the really quick lens swap ability. 1. Take the lens out (and the foam/padding out if you can), then douse the whole mask in a bucket of relatively warm water. Room temp is okay, but no soap or any chemicals like that. Weakens it. 2. If you have the foam/padding separate, you can wash it in some soapy liquid, makes it smell nice without compromising mask integrity. 3. Do not dump the lens in water. If it's a thermal lens (like it is), use a towel or something to wipe the front of the lens (use water, but no soap etc). Don't wipe hard, do it softly or you'll damage it. Then use a piece of kleenex or some thin tissue, dab with water and then work on the inside of the lens. Do not wipe it, you'll scratch away the anti-fog coating. Just dab at the dirty spots and leave them to dry. Never use windscreen wiper fluid on the lens, no matter how good an idea it may seem. This post has been edited by Catfish0122: Feb 12 2008, 04:14 PM |
Feb 12 2008, 07:15 PM
147 posts Joined: Jun 2007 From: shah alam |
oh... like tat... lox lot ya~
Feb 15 2008, 11:55 PM
188 posts Joined: Jul 2006 |
Ok people.. calling for new game - 23rd Feb (9am). Venue either TT Sports Park or ASTAKA..!
Feb 16 2008, 09:48 AM
tat day me goin 2 join my-npl wor... haiz... but nid 1 more ppl yet... any1 interested? im joining division 4, if interested plz plz plz... dun hesitate 2 cal me
Feb 16 2008, 04:29 PM
Aiks.. when is ur NPL thingy?
Feb 16 2008, 06:21 PM
23 n 24 lor... haha... interested on joining?
Feb 16 2008, 08:24 PM
May have to be at TT sports park. I think Astaka is taken for NPL.
Feb 17 2008, 01:06 AM
QUOTE(Catfish0122 @ Feb 12 2008, 03:51 PM) I'll go, just to practice photography. Out of money already. Well, might be able to play. I'm using proto Axis rite and my lens got double one. I So I usually just run water through it. I don't even wipe it. Lolx.What time is it? @ yeehong : Mask maintenance isn't that hard. I have a Vforce Grill, bought because of the really quick lens swap ability. 1. Take the lens out (and the foam/padding out if you can), then douse the whole mask in a bucket of relatively warm water. Room temp is okay, but no soap or any chemicals like that. Weakens it. 2. If you have the foam/padding separate, you can wash it in some soapy liquid, makes it smell nice without compromising mask integrity. 3. Do not dump the lens in water. If it's a thermal lens (like it is), use a towel or something to wipe the front of the lens (use water, but no soap etc). Don't wipe hard, do it softly or you'll damage it. Then use a piece of kleenex or some thin tissue, dab with water and then work on the inside of the lens. Do not wipe it, you'll scratch away the anti-fog coating. Just dab at the dirty spots and leave them to dry. Never use windscreen wiper fluid on the lens, no matter how good an idea it may seem. Any tips for my mask? |
Feb 17 2008, 01:53 AM
Whoah, wait. It's a thermal lens?
And you ran it through water? You know thermal lenses are two sheets of lens stuck together... so running it through water may mean that some water seeps in, and you can effectively destroy the antifog. My maintenance tips are for general masks. Not all masks are the same. I find that washing the foam is a neccesity. |
Feb 17 2008, 02:18 PM
910 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia |
Ah... I'm always looking forward to join a paintball group... can a first timer join
Feb 17 2008, 03:24 PM
QUOTE(Catfish0122 @ Feb 17 2008, 01:53 AM) Whoah, wait. It's a thermal lens? Err actually, I read the manual, it says to run water through. That's why i was kinda SHOCKED when I read the guide above And you ran it through water? You know thermal lenses are two sheets of lens stuck together... so running it through water may mean that some water seeps in, and you can effectively destroy the antifog. My maintenance tips are for general masks. Not all masks are the same. I find that washing the foam is a neccesity. However, It didn't destroy the antifog as u said though, so I'm kinda preplexed about this.... |
Feb 18 2008, 01:31 AM
It depends. If the lens is well made, it's not likely.
The way it works is two sheets of lens with an air gap in between.. if water gets into the air gap, the mask will fog up. It depends... running it through water and dumping it into water are different things, I guess... but generally, just dab your mask with a moist, soft cloth to get rid of the paint splats. Also, dump your barrels in hot water. Washes out gelatin residue buildup due to paintballs breaking in your barrel(and yes, if not cleaned properly, builds up over time, even if you run a squeegee through). If you don't do it, it'll result in bad accuracy, over time. |
Feb 18 2008, 08:11 AM
QUOTE(Catfish0122 @ Feb 18 2008, 01:31 AM) It depends. If the lens is well made, it's not likely. Ooo ^^ Thanks for the advise man! Although, I have to say I'm not good enuf to own a marker yet...(nor rich enuff..) The way it works is two sheets of lens with an air gap in between.. if water gets into the air gap, the mask will fog up. It depends... running it through water and dumping it into water are different things, I guess... but generally, just dab your mask with a moist, soft cloth to get rid of the paint splats. Also, dump your barrels in hot water. Washes out gelatin residue buildup due to paintballs breaking in your barrel(and yes, if not cleaned properly, builds up over time, even if you run a squeegee through). If you don't do it, it'll result in bad accuracy, over time. I guesss my antifog doesn't get washed away cause I always leave it out to dry nicely? Phew! Lucky! |
Feb 18 2008, 08:15 AM
652 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: マレーシアと日本とドイツです |
Paintball for noobs.
Feb 18 2008, 02:00 PM
Interested to join?
Feb 20 2008, 12:48 AM
179 posts Joined: Apr 2007 |
hey you guys accept beginners?
Feb 20 2008, 12:55 AM
Forum Admin
44,415 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
if don't accept beginners how to have new blood in the game la?
sure can join wan. |
Feb 20 2008, 10:43 AM
So so.. anyone else wanna join this Sat? Calling.. calling..
Feb 20 2008, 11:38 PM
I'll be there to photograph, maybe.
It's not just leaving the lens out to dry... if you've ever dunked a watch underwater by accident and water got in... notice how the water starts condensing on the inside of the glass? That'd be what would happen to the lens. In any case, I don't have my own marker either. What I plan to do is buy an SP Ion 2nd hand, upgraded completely (with tank and e-hopper). But failing that, I'll just buy a new Proto SLG or Ion XE with a SLY CF 16" barrel and an empire magnadrive. Need to keep the gear costs down. Your first marker should be an E-marker. I know it doesn't sound logical (because you don't need that sort of firepower right now), but E-markers actually last longer than mechanicals in the pouring rain (the board won't fry, but mechanicals will jam up). Also, getting an E-marker means you don't have to buy a new marker later on... makes sure your marker lasts you longer. |
| Change to: | 0.0289sec
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 12:13 AM |