[WTA]is image stabilizer(IS) important in compact?, ppl pls come in and shoot

kelvinyam
post Aug 19 2007, 05:56 PM

May beauty be everywhere around me
1,766 posts

QUOTE(cjtune @ Aug 19 2007, 01:22 PM)
At any rate, GreyPJ has just shown he is an exceptional person when it comes to hand-holding steadiness. Even the 1/10s shot at 438mm focal length shot is unbelievably steady!!

But, again, unless you believe you are the exception, IS will seriously help you. More so after a long photography session holding heavy camera gear or if you are the type that likes to drink coffee. Don't even mention Parkinson's disease... biggrin.gif
No wonder lah. I drink 3 cups of Nescafe a day. One in the morning to kick start my day, one after reaching the office while having the morning meeting, and one after lunch when I feel sleepy.

QUOTE(The Apprentice @ Aug 19 2007, 04:08 PM)
It is better using burst mode with IS, right?
This is a great tip. Never have thought of this before. Thanks greyPJ for the tips.

This post has been edited by kelvinyam: Aug 19 2007, 05:56 PM
mengsuan
post Aug 19 2007, 06:17 PM

9W2NNS
10,459 posts

Oh.. I never tried using burst mode to get clear pics. I'll try it soon. tongue.gif
xiong91
post Aug 19 2007, 09:03 PM

Wassupp
732 posts

QUOTE(mynewuser @ Aug 19 2007, 08:58 AM)
I own the S5Is. But I think better ISO quality much better then IS. Eg, Fuji F31fd
photo taking noobie here... wad is ISO? useful?
NasiLemakMan
post Aug 19 2007, 09:42 PM

oh hai! wan naslemak?
962 posts

ISO=film speed=how fast the film catches light.

I was in a dilemma before IS or ISO. Fate has it if nobody wants to buy my f40fd by 23rd I'll stick to ISO then, ha.
cjtune
post Aug 19 2007, 10:18 PM

Melancholic frog
3,544 posts

QUOTE(NasiLemakMan @ Aug 19 2007, 09:42 PM)

I was in a dilemma before IS or ISO. Fate has it if nobody wants to buy my f40fd by 23rd I'll stick to ISO then, ha.
There's also another factor: image quality at a given ISO setting.
Sure your camera can do ISO1600 or whatever, but are those pictures pleasant to look at?

ISO and IS complement each other. Better to have them both. In a perfect world, I'd go for higher ISO but with very low noise and no other side-effects of anti-noise algorithms (eg. softness) but until that day arrives, IS is already here to help you to better use those low to medium level ISO settings.

NasiLemakMan
post Aug 19 2007, 10:25 PM

oh hai! wan naslemak?
962 posts

What about a film camera that have IS?

All this while whenever I heard IS = digital camera.

Is there such a thing?
cjtune
post Aug 19 2007, 11:31 PM

Melancholic frog
3,544 posts

QUOTE(NasiLemakMan @ Aug 19 2007, 10:25 PM)
What about a film camera that have IS?

All this while whenever I heard IS = digital camera.

Is there such a thing?
For film cameras, the IS is in the lens...
Obviously you cannot move the film - not like today's CCD-shift anti-shake mechanisms.
To support their film customer base, and also to make good profit margins, Canon and Nikon keeps their IS or VR in the lenses for their D/SLRs.

xiong91
post Aug 20 2007, 02:02 PM

Wassupp
732 posts

QUOTE(NasiLemakMan @ Aug 19 2007, 09:42 PM)

thanks 4 ur explaining..means higher ISO, better image quality?
snowmei
post Aug 20 2007, 02:50 PM

Skilless
632 posts

QUOTE(xiong91 @ Aug 20 2007, 02:02 PM)
thanks 4 ur explaining..means higher ISO, better image quality?
for me the higher ISO .. the worst image quality as the noise inside the picture will gonna kill you...
but sometimes you have no choice had to increase the ISO...

0.0136sec    0.96    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 11:17 PM