Q&A Questions on installing Windows on new SSD

TShc7840
post Nov 14 2020, 09:21 AM

349 posts

QUOTE(speedy3210 @ Nov 14 2020, 08:48 AM)
UEFI option has to be enabled from the BIOS side. But then again, you will have to reinstall.... hahaha

not much of a problem as  you hv just finished installing without much app in it.

If using legacy mode, just have to make sure your SATA controller is running in AHCI mode to get the most out of the SSD in terms of performance.

Cheers TS rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif
I don’t see uefi option in bios setup, no secure boot option but it has option for fast boot.
Samsung magician say is running ahci. So should be good?

I guess it just means my mother board don’t support uefi, and I have been using legacy for years. Should not make too much of a difference?
TShc7840
post Nov 14 2020, 09:46 AM

349 posts

QUOTE(PJng @ Nov 14 2020, 09:26 AM)
My current pc year 2012, no uefi, only bios,
When install windows 10 no show uefi or show secure boot is lock
Mine also year 2012.
Last I checked, my motherboard support uefi leh. Maybe is because I didn’t update the latest bios driver (there is a bios update on toshiba website). But then people say computer no problem don’t anyhow go flash bios, later become brick.
I guess for normal usage, legacy bios or uefi should not make any difference. Plus has been using it for past 8 years also no problem.

0.0162sec    0.53    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th November 2025 - 09:03 PM