24 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

Solar Panel for House, Have you install?

TSdarren486
post Nov 9 2020, 01:24 PM

153 posts

QUOTE(MrBaba @ Nov 9 2020, 01:10 PM)
Unless yr house got a power wall to store extra electric,  solar panel is a scam. In theory it will take 10 yr to pay for it self,  but ask yr self this question when yr house hold use more electric day time or night time?  Night time solar panel working?  Morning extra electric go to where?
i'm actually using more in the day, coz me and wife working from home, but i heard that we can even sell it back if underutilize, of can sort of get a discount, i don't think it have any battery pack kuah, coz i remember they say can sell extra to TNB if underutilised, so no need headache
TSdarren486
post Nov 9 2020, 01:25 PM

153 posts

QUOTE(yushin @ Nov 9 2020, 01:10 PM)
How much higher is your tnb bill? solar panel only worth it if you monthly usage is over 600kwh
now trying to cut down also 1 month around 450, if not gonna be slightly outside of 500
Lada Putih
post Nov 9 2020, 01:26 PM

214 posts

QUOTE(darren486 @ Nov 9 2020, 01:04 PM)
Folks, anybody installed the solar panel for home? how much is the cost like? and maintenance ? got lubang?
20k give and take
22k or 48k also got
atong
post Nov 9 2020, 01:26 PM

93 posts

A lot of people talking about something they don't even know.

All of the excess solar power during daytime will go the TNB grid. The inverter only works during daytime. You will use the power from the grid at night. This excess power can be rolled over for the next 2 years.

It is definitely good for long term. Bulan bulan bayar tak sampai RM 20.

Tak tau tanya. Kalau bodo sila simpan sendiri.
TSdarren486
post Nov 9 2020, 01:27 PM

153 posts

QUOTE(atong @ Nov 9 2020, 01:16 PM)
Installed solar panel for my house.

For warranty:
Panel - 20 years
Inverter - 5 + 2 years
Workmanship - 3 years

Cost me around RM 24K for the whole package. Using Maybank 0 interest 24 month installment.
So far so good. Can even monitor power panel from apps.
macam not too bad, whats the company name?
kingdomdemon
post Nov 9 2020, 01:27 PM

897 posts

QUOTE(New Klang @ Nov 9 2020, 01:18 PM)
Which part deteriorate?

Data sheet stated long life as long as the glass isnt broken.
It is like the electricity generated today will not be the same as the amount of electricity generated a year later. The longer it goes, the lesser electricity it generate.
atong
post Nov 9 2020, 01:28 PM

93 posts

QUOTE(darren486 @ Nov 9 2020, 01:24 PM)
i'm actually using more in the day, coz me and wife working from home, but i heard that we can even sell it back if underutilize, of can sort of get a discount, i don't think it have any battery pack kuah, coz i remember they say can sell extra to TNB if underutilised, so no need headache
They stopped that a while ago. You can refer my previous post on how they work. Better install it lah.
TSdarren486
post Nov 9 2020, 01:29 PM

153 posts

QUOTE(narf03 @ Nov 9 2020, 01:24 PM)
did consider, but risk is too high, not worth the effort.

if everything according to plan, it takes 10 years to ROI. and there is no perfect guarantee it will last 10 years, and how much longer it can last after 10 years. cost of the solar panel will keep decreasing and efficiency of panels will keep increasing, in short, the later you install the faster you cover your investment. like maybe 5 years from now, it only take you 2 years to recover your investment(just blindly guess).

major part of the investment is the storage, aka batteries, if you able to strike a deal with tnb, allowing you to connect your solar into tnb(reverse the meter when your solar generate more than your usage) and without batteries, it can be alot cheaper, lesser problems, and more worth it.

technically still not a good investment for money, unless you have so much money and no where else to spend, better dont do it, price of electricity in malaysia isnt that high yet until you need to do that, if 1 day our electricity cost double, then  your ROI will shorten, then you can reconsider.
kind of want to do it now for future lah, electricity also keep increasing in price now, and i'm planning to move to a new house, so want to do it now, as don't plan to move soon, initially wanted to do it on the current house, lucky didn't else, wasted.
ry8128

♣Just a noob♣
3,648 posts

Install before in 1 of my previous house, cost around rm35k. But not easy to install, as u need to apply for permit/license kinda of thing. Every year only few ppl can get.

Its not like i wan to install, then u can install straight. This was >5 years ago though. Not sure whats the current situation now.
atong

93 posts

QUOTE(darren486 @ Nov 9 2020, 01:27 PM)
macam not too bad, whats the company name?
It's called ERS. One of the big fish.
ihm11

62 posts

save ur moneh lah

bad times ahead
un.deux.trois
post Nov 9 2020, 01:31 PM

679 posts

Google net energy metering (NEM) and SEDA. Lots of information online. Last i talked with a solar provider, it will only make sense to install if your monthly bill is more than RM500.
Syie9^_^
post Nov 9 2020, 01:32 PM

Catwoman
1,072 posts

QUOTE(atong @ Nov 9 2020, 02:46 PM)
Installed solar panel for my house.

For warranty:
Panel - 20 years
Inverter - 5 + 2 years
Workmanship - 3 years

Cost me around RM 24K for the whole package. Using Maybank 0 interest 24 month installment.
So far so good. Can even monitor power panel from apps.
how much ROI to date?

atong
post Nov 9 2020, 01:34 PM

93 posts

QUOTE(narf03 @ Nov 9 2020, 01:24 PM)
did consider, but risk is too high, not worth the effort.

if everything according to plan, it takes 10 years to ROI. and there is no perfect guarantee it will last 10 years, and how much longer it can last after 10 years. cost of the solar panel will keep decreasing and efficiency of panels will keep increasing, in short, the later you install the faster you cover your investment. like maybe 5 years from now, it only take you 2 years to recover your investment(just blindly guess).

major part of the investment is the storage, aka batteries, if you able to strike a deal with tnb, allowing you to connect your solar into tnb(reverse the meter when your solar generate more than your usage) and without batteries, it can be alot cheaper, lesser problems, and more worth it.

technically still not a good investment for money, unless you have so much money and no where else to spend, better dont do it, price of electricity in malaysia isnt that high yet until you need to do that, if 1 day our electricity cost double, then  your ROI will shorten, then you can reconsider.
That is different for what I have. It takes around 3-4 years for ROI. You don't need battery if you don't want to. The installer company will apply the license for you. i literally doing nothing on that part. The power will go to the TNB grid. In fact, TNB will come and install new meter for you. The solar panel is cheap and most company provide warranty around 20 years.
atong
post Nov 9 2020, 01:36 PM

93 posts

QUOTE(Syie9^_^ @ Nov 9 2020, 01:32 PM)
how much ROI to date?
Estimated around 3-4 years based on current bill.
My TNB bill was around RM 300++ before. Last month, it was less than RM 10.
ichigo_6091
post Nov 9 2020, 01:44 PM

Renewable energy pls
2,079 posts

It was more worth it when there was the Feed-in-Tariff (FiT) scheme, that scheme you can sell back to TNB at high margins.
with NEM scheme, sure you can recoup your investment, but on average it is about 7-8 years.
Might as well wait a little longer until 2-3 years from now once battery storage price / kWh becomes way cheaper.
now you install solar at your house(residential), its like catching falling knife in my opinion.
but if you install for capacity at larger than 50kWp, it makes more sense economically, you can ROI quicker on average 5-6 years.
I work in solar EPC company, anything can direct PM ask.
weissPC
post Nov 9 2020, 01:45 PM

316 posts

QUOTE(MrBaba @ Nov 9 2020, 01:10 PM)
Unless yr house got a power wall to store extra electric,  solar panel is a scam. In theory it will take 10 yr to pay for it self,  but ask yr self this question when yr house hold use more electric day time or night time?  Night time solar panel working?  Morning extra electric go to where?
I thought got the scheme where TNB have to buy your extra electricity generated - net energy metering. So no worries about when is your usage, day time you generate extra, TNB buy, night time you use extra, you pay the net usage la...
MrBaba

2,506 posts

QUOTE(darren486 @ Nov 9 2020, 01:24 PM)
The sell back scheme long time ago aldy close like 4-5 yr ago, if got extra electric it will discard into ground je. Mal solar seller dont sell battery with it so totally no point getting solar panel.
Syie9^_^

Catwoman
1,072 posts

QUOTE(atong @ Nov 9 2020, 03:06 PM)
Estimated around 3-4 years based on current bill.
My TNB bill was around RM 300++ before. Last month, it was less than RM 10.
that sound nice. thus mean that you will take another 3 years to recoup investment? wub.gif
MrBaba
post Nov 9 2020, 01:46 PM

2,506 posts

QUOTE(weissPC @ Nov 9 2020, 01:45 PM)
I thought got the scheme where TNB have to buy your extra electricity generated - net energy metering. So no worries about when is your usage, day time you generate extra, TNB buy, night time you use extra, you pay the net usage la...
There a dedicated thread about the scheme last check the scheme not taking in new application since 4-5 yr ago dy.

24 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0261sec    1.33    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 10:28 AM