Pengurus kilang mengamuk, Bakar kilang

SUSCandy12
post Nov 6 2020, 10:23 AM

1,878 posts

Speaking as a person from Ipoh. This poor guy being pushed out of his job is pretty much the end of his career at this point of time. There are NO OTHER optical tranceiver manufacturer company in Ipoh except this one, he would probably have to look outstation or even China to get a job replacement which suits his experience? There is no way he's going to be able to jump to the next rival company which does the same kind of business bringing his knowledge over. He's at the end of his wits and highly burdened with commitments.

The optical transceiver industry is pretty much saturated these days with many China companies throwing prices everywhere in the world. Brands such as Hisense and Huawei already controls most of the 10G segment and he was mentioning about they were struggling with 5G product line tells you Finisar is way behind competition.

There are just probably a handful of semiconductor and technology manufacturing factories in Ipoh.

This company Finisar, Unisem and probably Carsem in Ipoh.

The largest contributor to manufacturing GDP in the state are probably Top Glove, Unisem and Toyo Tyres in Kamunting Taiping?

There's nothing much more to look forward in this state that's why last time when I lost my job in Ipoh in one of these companies had no choice but to look elsewhere in the country for employment in different industry starting from scratch. If you're still young fine, there's still hope to switch industry and make it but beyond age of 40 worsened by today's lockdown probably you might want to think of roadside stall business.

This post has been edited by Candy12: Nov 6 2020, 10:33 AM
SUSCandy12
post Nov 6 2020, 10:31 AM

1,878 posts

QUOTE(WindDragon @ Nov 6 2020, 09:47 AM)
Ya, but apparently that company work environment is super toxic. Just google and you can see.
They made 212 million previous quarter la dickhead.
Their revenue was 3 billion not 1.2b
Yeah they make SFP and other telecomms stuff, my office got boxes of SFP.
The western optical tranceiver manufacturers market share has been declining for the past decade.
They've been slowly eaten up by Chinese brands which nowadays offer much advanced 10G beyond transceivers, beaten by price and oversaturated market.

Finisar has branches too overseas in US so the overall parent company you quoted is not just Malaysia side operations.

There are much larger companies in Perak such as Top Glove, Toyo Tyres, Vale, Unisem, Carsem etc.

SUSCandy12
post Nov 6 2020, 10:45 AM

1,878 posts

QUOTE(damonlbs @ Nov 6 2020, 10:36 AM)
he can do like what everyone else is doing

open kedai makan
It's already end of the line of his career to be retrenched at that age. In Ipoh the manufacturing factory sector is very LIMITED. I think you can count the semicon/tech factories which employs almost the entire city's graduating workforce single handedly.

He wants to find job in another optical transceiver manufacturer he probably has to look for employment as far as China and travel restrictions are in full force now unless he starts from almost ZERO in another related field.

SUSCandy12
post Nov 6 2020, 10:52 AM

1,878 posts

QUOTE(zacky chan @ Nov 6 2020, 10:41 AM)
dont say like that la...i may need to find work in ipoh soon  cry.gif
What options are there in Ipoh besides Unisem, Carsem and this Finisar?

Unisem and Carsem are just subcon contractors which does outsourced IC packaging/manufacturing works for mixed tech firms, Finisar does optical tranceivers and components. They don't overlap. If you quit or forced to be retrenched from either companies your career will almost need a full reset because most of them are industry secrets that does not allow you to carry your years of deep knowledge to the other.

SUSCandy12
post Nov 6 2020, 11:01 AM

1,878 posts

Unless you have extensive connections or exposure in the industry the churn rate of staffs in these semicon companies in Ipoh are very high due to their responsibility of having to take in fresh grads every year for employment to keep up their reputation as the city's major work providers.

The average churn rate is about 2 years even before the MCO so the kind of career prospects for factory based manufacturing industry especially in Ipoh is very intense and does not give you good career building paths.
SUSCandy12
post Nov 6 2020, 01:10 PM

1,878 posts

I guess the worst psychological torture is when you have spent so many years contributing your efforts building up a dept from scratch and developing various key products for the company earning millions . You have ZERO misconduct from the first day in your records, never late to work and never did anything bad against the company's code of conduct?

Some newcomer supervisor/manager who is placed in charge of you, badmouths about you behind your back in front of the management board to remove you so that he can bring in his own people.

How do you feel when you're called by HR to be informed about your dismissal by framing you with misconducts and accusations?

After all the years of hard work you put in , they made you look like a bad staff who cheated the company and told to leave?

If you're not prepared it can be very soul crushing and degrading to a person.Worst when you are already burdened by family commitments and debt.

SUSCandy12
post Nov 6 2020, 01:36 PM

1,878 posts

QUOTE(clockpulses @ Nov 6 2020, 01:20 PM)
Yes he was really depressed. Can clearly tell from the video.

What happen to people. Last time got people suicide they said RIP depression is serious matter la, depressed people cannot think clearly la, now terbalik pula
You can see from some of the comments believed to be staffs and their HR here doing damage control from how they post.

Tell you one thing about Ipoh chinese community generally they can be very nasty and sarcastic people. From my experience traveling across Malaysia meeting up many friends and colleagues, I can say that's why a lot of Malaysian Chinese in other states very despise Ipoh chinese. They say Ipoh chinese people like to talk big and very narrow minded kind. Parents always want their children either to study become doctor or lawyers.

I think in /k got one Ipoh member here got kantoi before trying to talk big as a employer and bragged how he made use of people as talents but paid them with peanut salaries.

Maybe the mods here can bring up his name again.

Such is that kind of chinaman mentality you can always find in this city..

SUSCandy12
post Nov 6 2020, 01:51 PM

1,878 posts

QUOTE(9m2w @ Nov 6 2020, 01:38 PM)
Ipoh fucking mali 70

Big? Fuck him sole prop

Upteen number of years and still a sole prop?

I can go on and on about how much he and his company sucks.
You noticed his attitude? That's how the typical Ipoh Chinese you have there. icon_idea.gif

On the road also always like racing. Few secs difference also love to overtake just because they can't stand trailing other people's back. Last also in front traffic light need to stop, I stopped beside the driver and just smiled back at his stupidity.

I've drove so often in KL and so many cities very seldom seen this kind of mentality people before. Could it be because of the laid back culture and lack of activity in the city causing mental disorders like this?

Seriously I'm sometimes ashamed to be a Ipoh Chinese when people ask me why Ipoh people behave like this.
SUSCandy12
post Nov 6 2020, 02:14 PM

1,878 posts

QUOTE(jbcoder @ Nov 6 2020, 01:51 PM)
Finisampah employees have infiltrated this thread.
They call that PR damage control.

Either their HR team or sales team dept doing this to upkeep their company's reputation.

All companies also got such dept to maintain good image for the company.
SUSCandy12
post Nov 6 2020, 02:19 PM

1,878 posts

QUOTE(waghyu @ Nov 6 2020, 02:13 PM)
His actions, what a waste. Should save 7 years worth of salary and give the job to someone else 7 years ago.
Self reflection and moderation.

That's what become of society when people are taught to become over materialistic in life with over expectations/ambitious.

Health, good spirit and sanity cannot be replaced with money.

That si why people flee from cities and rather live a simple life.
SUSCandy12
post Nov 6 2020, 02:22 PM

1,878 posts

QUOTE(C-Fu @ Nov 6 2020, 02:18 PM)
just one of the few annecdotes from my own personal experience about "cina jinjang"

one time I met a mining company in ipoh, wanting to buy their iron ore

ask me to meet in his office, not outside, or middleground. fine, not like it's that far from kl.

came on time. asked to sit in the small crampy meeting room. apparently the guy tak sampai lagi. called, kena marah and asked to wait, "on the way" laugh.gif waited 1/2 hour.

he came. straight I kena bantai because I sit in his "chair" even 1. I just sit the nearest from the door and 2. it's a fucking round table with identical chairs. got lectured into how kids nowadays taktau respect.

then my older managers intro themselves, then intro me the young boss. I told him who I am, and my relation to perak royalty. his face tukar.

It's like once these disgrace of chinese jadi boss je straight away asshole mode turns on
Ipoh has been a stagnated dead town with little economic activity for decades. Added with its slow pace and laid back lifestyle this is the kind of mentality people developed.

They're like still stuck in the golden colonial ages. rclxub.gif
SUSCandy12
post Nov 6 2020, 02:29 PM

1,878 posts

QUOTE(enterthefatdragon @ Nov 6 2020, 02:21 PM)
you should langgar your company building with your car and cry father cry mother...said company racist and mistreated you
sure win
You should be lucky he just did infra damage which can still be covered by insurance.

Got case about over 10 years agoin JB. A nasty factory manager who always played his staffs by finding misconducts among them and laying them off as if they were disposables.

Did you know what happened?

He was found dead in his car strangled to death.
SUSCandy12
post Nov 6 2020, 02:34 PM

1,878 posts

QUOTE(judas @ Nov 6 2020, 02:28 PM)
This guy is from a school in butterworth St. Mark, studied in US before came back. High position personnel, not some kuli kilang, "stuck in ipoh" people.

Go have a read in his linkedin, u will know he is in a deep pockets salary range.
Learn how to do some reading comprehension would you?

Read carefully what I was bringing up about Ipoh chinese bosses mentality which were referring to his superiors.
SUSCandy12
post Nov 6 2020, 02:42 PM

1,878 posts

QUOTE(9m2w @ Nov 6 2020, 02:38 PM)
I'm just curious...why the hell are all these dupes coming to this forum. Finisar really so free to get their marketing team to do PR here? My advice dont..fucking ktards dont care besides half of them on your side haha
Damage control can save your company's reputation which could worth millions. Of course they'll have to take it seriously.
SUSCandy12
post Nov 6 2020, 02:52 PM

1,878 posts

QUOTE(Chrono-Trigger @ Nov 6 2020, 02:32 PM)
not easy being retrenched at that age.

I had been retrenched before, the feeling was painful
In Ipoh, there are no other rival company to absorb you once you leave that company.

Your career in that industry is as good as finished. Unless you're willing to relocate to Penang, Singapore or even China. But at this time chances are slim to none.

Most who have no choice and insist to settle down in Ipoh has to change industry and start from ZERO.

There are still strong willed people around. You can see pilots who have been earning well now needing to open road side food stalls.

That kind of people I must say are the really strong willed ones.OTOH there are also some pilots who took the 14th floor route too anyone remembered few months back in Puchong?
SUSCandy12
post Nov 6 2020, 10:02 PM

1,878 posts

QUOTE(ShadowR1 @ Nov 6 2020, 09:57 PM)
If no noise mute dy lor.
Yes the secret Twitter hidden feature to shadow ban people.

0.0384sec    1.89    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 10:13 AM